Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp that takes the predictable and still makes it fun.
Daniel Addison, the narrator, decides to quit his job as head speechwriter for the opposition leader to teach English at the University of Ottawa. As a condition for deserting his beloved Liberal Party, Daniel promises to find a candidate for a local riding held by the popular Conservative Finance Minister. In desperation, Daniel promises an old professor that he will...
Published on April 21 2011 by Len

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
If you're Canadian and into Canadian politics, you just might like this book. There are jokes in here, and some of them are actually funny. The premise is basically "what would happen if somebody who didn't care if they were elected actually was elected, and didn't owe anything to anyone, and could just speak their mind and do whatever they thought was best". Of course,...
Published on May 16 2011 by Rodge


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, May 16 2011
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
If you're Canadian and into Canadian politics, you just might like this book. There are jokes in here, and some of them are actually funny. The premise is basically "what would happen if somebody who didn't care if they were elected actually was elected, and didn't owe anything to anyone, and could just speak their mind and do whatever they thought was best". Of course, that wouldn't necessarily be a good thing, but in this book it is. The Scottish thing is a little weird if you're not Scottish, but that's pretty minor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp that takes the predictable and still makes it fun., April 21 2011
By 
Len (Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
Daniel Addison, the narrator, decides to quit his job as head speechwriter for the opposition leader to teach English at the University of Ottawa. As a condition for deserting his beloved Liberal Party, Daniel promises to find a candidate for a local riding held by the popular Conservative Finance Minister. In desperation, Daniel promises an old professor that he will teach his English for Engineers' class in exchange for the professor's name on the ballot. On the campaign team, he's joined by a retired candidate living in a senior's home and two punk alternative students from his English class. It seems like an unlikely winning combination but of course, the outcome is not as predictable as anticipated. 'Best Laid Plans' is an enjoyable romp that takes the predictable and still makes it fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious!, Dec 1 2011
By 
TJ (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
Well, I certainly agree with those who said this book isn't very funny. I've been struggling with this book for over a month now. It tries but just doesn't cut it. For humour it can't compare to the Leacock Awrd winner Ian Ferguson's, 'Village of the Small Houses", a man who I think is funnier than his brother Will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political Satire at Its Best, Dec 20 2012
By 
Barry Francis (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
The Best Laid Plans
By Terry Fallis

It's not hard to see why author Terry Fallis won the Stephen Leacock Award for his first book "The Best Laid Plans." It is hilariously witty.

A satire on Canadian politics, the book chronicles the rise of reluctant (and supremely unlikely) political candidate and Liberal MP ‒ Angus McLintock ‒ through the eyes of nerdy professor and former political operative David Addison.

McLintock earns fame and respect by defying every conceivable Ottawa convention and speaking truth to power. Aided by an ugly sex scandal and a dishonest budget, he casts the deciding vote that topples the Tory government. Ultimately deceit is punished, honesty is rewarded and the good guy gets the girl.

All in all, a great read. There is a sequel. Watch for it!

Barry Francis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Politics at its most wonderfully absurd, Dec 10 2007
By 
This book manages to walk comfortably a very fine and funny line between taking a serious look at Canada's political system, warts and all, and telling a truly funny story. It could have so easily slipped into the cynical and rediculous, but it instead makes us want to root for the system and the poor guy who is trying with all his might to run a losing campaign. It is sensative, fun, an easy read and leaves you wanting more. Humour may be the hardest thing to write, but Fallis has a knack that forces you at points to laugh out loud. His description (using Parliamentarty language) of the finding his girlfiend in an her MPs office late at night engaged in "proceedings" is a classic that will be quoted for years by anyone who has ever worked in Parliament.

Buy this book for anyone you know who has an interest in Parliament. Buy it for anyone you know who has an interest in politics. Buy it, even for those we all know who are cynics about our political system. It will make them laugh out loud and make them care about our democracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review "The best laid plan" by Terry Fallis, Feb. 16 2012
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
A fun and good read. You know what is going to happen very quickly, but don't know how. Fallis makes it an interesting road to travel down. As a "below the 48º'er, I found the contrast bewteen governments intersting. Bought it for my US book club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best for a long time, April 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
Excellent writing, great humour, and well-woven plot on Canadian politics and politicians. A winner all 'round - could'nt put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must 'Canadian' read, March 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great tale for political lovers. Refreshing to read about Canadian politics rather than our cousins south of the boarder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, March 8 2014
By 
Gordon Ritchie "Woodpusher" (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
With very few exceptions (notably House of Cards in its original British and current American versions), attempts at political fiction fall flat. They are either strictly by and for insiders and are poorly written; or they are written by authors who have no real appreciation for the intricacies of modern politics and settle instead for cardboard cutout characters.
This is a remarkable exception, doubly exceptional in that it is Canadian. I can think of no other Canadian political fiction that achieves the same quality. It is very well written and, in places, absolutely belly-laughing hilarious. Yet is does bear a recognizable resemblance to actual goings on in Canada's capital.
I first came across this in the form of a very well done CBC miniseries of the same title which I very much enjoyed. That led me to the book on which the television production was, at least in part, based. The book was, in its own way, excellent and the quality was continued in the highly entertaining sequel, High Road. I cannot remember when I have laughed so hard at any account of the tragi-comic world of Canadian political shenanigans.
I highly recommend both these excellent books to Canadian readers.
(I am afraid much of the humour will be missed by those "from away".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, Feb. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well written, humerous and probably a fairly accurate account of parliament.......sad though it is to believe. Good characters and lots of action. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8c53bdc)

This product

The Best Laid Plans
The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis (Paperback - Sept. 5 2008)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews