Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp that takes the predictable and still makes it fun.
Daniel Addison, the narrator, decides to quit his job as head speechwriter for the opposition leader to teach English at the University of Ottawa. As a condition for deserting his beloved Liberal Party, Daniel promises to find a candidate for a local riding held by the popular Conservative Finance Minister. In desperation, Daniel promises an old professor that he will...
Published on April 21 2011 by Len

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious!
Well, I certainly agree with those who said this book isn't very funny. I've been struggling with this book for over a month now. It tries but just doesn't cut it. For humour it can't compare to the Leacock Awrd winner Ian Ferguson's, 'Village of the Small Houses", a man who I think is funnier than his brother Will.
Published on Dec 1 2011 by TJ


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp that takes the predictable and still makes it fun., April 21 2011
By 
Len (Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
Daniel Addison, the narrator, decides to quit his job as head speechwriter for the opposition leader to teach English at the University of Ottawa. As a condition for deserting his beloved Liberal Party, Daniel promises to find a candidate for a local riding held by the popular Conservative Finance Minister. In desperation, Daniel promises an old professor that he will teach his English for Engineers' class in exchange for the professor's name on the ballot. On the campaign team, he's joined by a retired candidate living in a senior's home and two punk alternative students from his English class. It seems like an unlikely winning combination but of course, the outcome is not as predictable as anticipated. 'Best Laid Plans' is an enjoyable romp that takes the predictable and still makes it fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious!, Dec 1 2011
By 
TJ (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
Well, I certainly agree with those who said this book isn't very funny. I've been struggling with this book for over a month now. It tries but just doesn't cut it. For humour it can't compare to the Leacock Awrd winner Ian Ferguson's, 'Village of the Small Houses", a man who I think is funnier than his brother Will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Politics at its most wonderfully absurd, Dec 10 2007
By 
This book manages to walk comfortably a very fine and funny line between taking a serious look at Canada's political system, warts and all, and telling a truly funny story. It could have so easily slipped into the cynical and rediculous, but it instead makes us want to root for the system and the poor guy who is trying with all his might to run a losing campaign. It is sensative, fun, an easy read and leaves you wanting more. Humour may be the hardest thing to write, but Fallis has a knack that forces you at points to laugh out loud. His description (using Parliamentarty language) of the finding his girlfiend in an her MPs office late at night engaged in "proceedings" is a classic that will be quoted for years by anyone who has ever worked in Parliament.

Buy this book for anyone you know who has an interest in Parliament. Buy it for anyone you know who has an interest in politics. Buy it, even for those we all know who are cynics about our political system. It will make them laugh out loud and make them care about our democracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political Satire at Its Best, Dec 20 2012
By 
Barry Francis (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
The Best Laid Plans
By Terry Fallis

It's not hard to see why author Terry Fallis won the Stephen Leacock Award for his first book "The Best Laid Plans." It is hilariously witty.

A satire on Canadian politics, the book chronicles the rise of reluctant (and supremely unlikely) political candidate and Liberal MP ‒ Angus McLintock ‒ through the eyes of nerdy professor and former political operative David Addison.

McLintock earns fame and respect by defying every conceivable Ottawa convention and speaking truth to power. Aided by an ugly sex scandal and a dishonest budget, he casts the deciding vote that topples the Tory government. Ultimately deceit is punished, honesty is rewarded and the good guy gets the girl.

All in all, a great read. There is a sequel. Watch for it!

Barry Francis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant - full of joy and suspense and delight from beginning to end., May 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am at best a non-fiction reader - what my family likes to call "Dad's boring books!" But when I tell them about this one they may have to tweak the line - it will need to include some reference to brilliant political satire as a type of truthful fiction (and anything but boring).
R^5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, May 16 2011
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
If you're Canadian and into Canadian politics, you just might like this book. There are jokes in here, and some of them are actually funny. The premise is basically "what would happen if somebody who didn't care if they were elected actually was elected, and didn't owe anything to anyone, and could just speak their mind and do whatever they thought was best". Of course, that wouldn't necessarily be a good thing, but in this book it is. The Scottish thing is a little weird if you're not Scottish, but that's pretty minor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review "The best laid plan" by Terry Fallis, Feb. 16 2012
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
A fun and good read. You know what is going to happen very quickly, but don't know how. Fallis makes it an interesting road to travel down. As a "below the 48º'er, I found the contrast bewteen governments intersting. Bought it for my US book club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best for a long time, April 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
Excellent writing, great humour, and well-woven plot on Canadian politics and politicians. A winner all 'round - could'nt put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read!, Aug. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even if you're not a huge fan of Canadian politics, if you know even a little, you'll love this political satire! Laugh-out-loud funny, an unlikely hero that makes you cheer in the end, even if you're a dyed in the wool Tory, you'll cheer for the Liberal back-bencher who rode in on his hover-craft steed to topple the government and save the day! A fun summer read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A funny book about politics?, June 27 2014
By 
Gail B. "Cobalt" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Laid Plans (Paperback)
Yup, it's true. A friend recommended this book to me and I have to admit I was very skeptical. Politics is not a genre I seek to read about. Terry Fallis makes it fun, interesting and I often found myself nodding my head in agreement as I read about the situation of the culture in Canada. We are known for the ability to poke fun at ourselves but I also recommended the books to my father (a very staunch PC supporter from way back) and he enjoyed them so much he recommended them to several of his buddies. Keep the good karma rolling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Laid Plans
The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis (Paperback - Sept. 5 2008)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews