Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful insight from a talented writer, Aug. 14 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Family Matters (Hardcover)
Family matters is a wonderful book - from insight into India culture to the trials of growing older. The portrayal of a family and the manner in which they handle (or midhandle) family obligations, gives us an intimate connection to all that happens in this book. Mistry's prose draws us in and holds us in fascination as he takes us through the simpilicty and intricacies of the three generations of a family. A masterpiece on the human condition, a must read for anyone interested in deepening their understanding of the "human condition".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the read, Dec 8 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Family Matters (Paperback)
This was a really great book with lots of insight into families and the complicated feelings that we have for our relatives. Mistry is a great writer because his characters are so well developed, you can feel them; and there is always something redeeming in each character and some empathy to be found for even the most vile characters in his stories.
The only reason I gave this only 4 stars is because I have read Mistry's other books and this one is not quite as good. For one of the greatest books I have ever read, check out A Fine Balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 12 2006
Ce commentaire est de: Family Matters (Paperback)
Rohinton Mistry has written yet another exquisite novel that portrays life and all its ups and downs in meticulous detail. It is a stunning work that should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Writer Tells Why Family Matters, Dec 26 2014
By 
Ian Robertson (West Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Family Matters (Paperback)
Seven years after his outstanding and incredibly moving novel A Fine Balance, Mistry returns to Mumbai and weaves readers into the lives of Nariman Vakeel, a 79 year old retired professor, and his family. As the tapestry takes shape a complex thematic pattern emerges of aging, death, family, religion, politics, and duty. A truly immersive book; fantastic on every level, and a must read for lovers of literature.

Like a long, sinuous shot in the opening scene of a movie, Mistry plunges readers into 1990s Mumbai. No sooner do we have our bearings, though, than the family intrigue begins. Nariman’s health is in decline. He lives in the comfortable surroundings of his familial home, Chateau Felicity, along with his stepchildren Coomy and Jal. It is a situation Coomy resents, however, and when he suffers a fall she uses it as an excuse to move him to her stepsister’s - Nariman’s natural daughter’s - smaller and more cramped two bedroom home.

Nariman's biological daughter, Roxana, her husband Yezad and two young boys (Murad and Jehangir) live a short distance away, and his arrival brings out both the best and worst in their family. It strains their finances, cramps their space, and puts demands on their daily routine, and it precipitates some poor choices - especially by Yezad’s - with disastrous consequences. Paradoxically, though, the family treat’s Nariman with a humanity that was lacking at his step-daughter’s, and he is happy there.

Family history is unveiled bit by bit via daydreams, recollections and dialogue, which adds context to the present day’s unfolding events. Mistry’s strong writing skills foster a sense of intimacy with the family, even as we simultaneously get caught up in the sweeping vastness of India and its culture and current events. Through the omniscient narrator we watch family members make their choices, understanding that forces far from their control and events far in their past have led to each decision point. Nariman, for example, drifts into a daydream and we learn of his past - “his ill-considered liaison with that Goan woman” - but with that behind him, he had agreed to settle down. “That Goan woman,” his true love, happened to belong to the wrong religion, and his parents forbade the liaison. Although Nariman later ended up a good father to his unappreciative step-children, Mistry guides readers to ponder the implications of India’s religious, political and social barriers.

In addition to his exceptional character development, Mistry is a master of symbolism and evocation. For example, shortly following Nariman’s relocation from Coomy and Jal’s home to his Roxana’s place, he is disoriented from a sleep and turns his head to look “for the familiar bars on his window, and saw his grandson’s cot instead.” His family home had been a prison, but his daughter’s home - despite the emerging strains - was full of nurturing and life. As with King Lear, who Nariman at one point compares himself to, it is the simple acts of love that endure in family matters, while self-serving actions lead to tragedy.

Family Matters is an excellent addition to Rohinton Mistry’s prize-winning bookshelf (shortlisted four times for the Man Booker Prize), and is storytelling at its literary best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece, Aug. 14 2014
By 
Susan Shepherd "fanatic" (Scarborough,, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Family Matters (Kindle Edition)
Rohinton Mistry is a remarkable author. his tales of ordinary people living in India are so fascinating, interspersed with the language of that country and the customs as well as the political environment. it is all told with unusual but lovable characters who interact in very human but fascinating ways. i love that I am learning so much about a country I know little about,while being thoroughly entertained and enthralled by the story unfolding. Excellent reading. I find ALL of Mistry's books follow the same wonderful formula .I read EVERYTHING he writes and eagerly await more.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and right on for families with issues, Jan. 18 2006
Ce commentaire est de: Family Matters (Paperback)
The colorful characters could be from any culture yet the author has added Bombay's unique flavor to the story. I loved this book and could not put it down.
I was sad when the book ended as I knew I must bid farewell to the characters I had become "close" to.
Thank you to Mistry for a wonderful novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His best work to date, Oct. 29 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Family Matters (Hardcover)
A touching look at family relations and the effect of our choices on the ones closest to us. Straddling cultural boundries the author makes us realize that parents and children have the same motivations and heartbreaks the world over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Matters
Family Matters by Rohinton Mistry (Paperback - Feb. 25 2003)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews