Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Will please any Richler fan
This book is classic Mordecai Richler:
His main character, Joshua, is a Montreal Jew who is opinionated, cynical and comes from a seedy background: and yet, is able to survive, become successful and marries into a well-off family that have their own set of closet skeletons. The story has many interesting twists and emotions vary from the serious, sad or sometimes,...
Published on Feb. 7 2003 by R. Nicholson

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read, however borders on homophobic.
The novel is definitely funny. I had the strange luck to read it during my internship at the Royal Victoria Hospital in Montreal, which is where scenes of Joshua's infirm wife took place. Richler easily gets me to belly-laugh. BUT, part of his humor is based on homophobia. Joshua is mistaken for gay and his mother enthusiastically and misguidely marches with PFLAG. I...
Published on Sept. 19 2001 by TLD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Will please any Richler fan, Feb. 7 2003
By 
R. Nicholson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joshua Then and Now (Paperback)
This book is classic Mordecai Richler:
His main character, Joshua, is a Montreal Jew who is opinionated, cynical and comes from a seedy background: and yet, is able to survive, become successful and marries into a well-off family that have their own set of closet skeletons. The story has many interesting twists and emotions vary from the serious, sad or sometimes, to the very funny. Like many of Richler's characters, there is a gutsy determination, a sense of purposeful indignation about Joshua that you can admire and identify with.
The novel is well written and easy to read and uses sporadic explicit language.This is sure to please anyone who has enjoyed other Richler books such as "Barney's Version" or "St. Urbain's Horseman". A recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Richlers novels... eridite and devilishly funny., July 22 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Joshua Then and Now (Paperback)
Through a suspenseful pattern of dramatic flashbacks, Mordecai Richler reassembles the shattered life of one Joshua Shapiro. His father an honest crook, his mother an erotic dancer, Joshua has overcome his inauspicious beginnings in the Jewish Ghetto of Montreal to become a celebrated television writer. But middle-aged Joshua is not a happy man. Incapacitated by a freak accident, anguished by the dissapearance of his wife, Joshua is beleaguered by the press and tormented by the ghosts of his youth. A racous, opinionated, and tendewr novel, Joshua Then and Now is a memorable excursion into Richler's comic universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Joshua Then and Now: Richler's Finest Novel, Nov. 11 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Joshue Then And Now (Paperback)
This book is definately my favourite out of all Richler's books. He uses his wonderful humour throughout the book. The main focus of this book is jokes. Richler has the reader laughing for the whole book. You should definately read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Laughed Out Loud!, May 16 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Joshua Then and Now (Paperback)
This was the first Richler novel I've read and it was wonderful! There were characters and scenarios so well drawn that I could not help myself from laughing out loud. It is one of the few novels I wished never ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Feb. 3 2012
By 
Troy Parfitt "Why China Will Never Rule the W... (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joshua Then and Now (Paperback)
Joshua Then And Now is a compelling novel penned by Canada's most intriguing writer. Joshua now is in hospital with broken limbs and a battered visage. Journalists are snooping around his house looking for tips. Joshua is a local writer, a celebrity of sorts, and there is rumour he has done something illegal, has had a split with his wife, and has been involved in a homosexual affair. Scandal is in the air. His father, Reuben, a former prize fighter (and, as we later find out, an amateur Bible scholar - despite being Jewish) keeps the reporters at bay; he doesn't seem concerned.

The novel flashes back to Joshua then, from his childhood in Montreal to his days spent on Ibiza to the months and weeks prior to his apparent accident - and what a ride it is. Richler fans should delight in the bits about Ibiza, having fun wondering just how much of it is autobiographical. We know Richler lived on the Spanish isle, and we know he had trouble with a German named Mueller (Dr. Dr. Mueller in the novel; in Austria each doctorate deserves a title) and that he had to leave suddenly, like Joshua Shapiro did. We also see Richler's imagination flowing and spinning from his summer home at Lake Memphremagog, featured in Barney's Version. And we see variations on Richler's classic characters: the blue-blooded Hornbys, "rotten to the core" and cognizant of it, Jack Trimble: a man who scraped and clawed his way to the top, ignored by Westmount's and McGill's elite until they needed him to make money for them; Reuben: Joshua's ostensibly dopey but street-savvy (former boxer, Bible quoting, Labatt's drinking) father, Joshua's sex-starved Jewish mother, uncle Oscar: forced to drive a cab at age 69, Joshua's brother-in-law, a 40-year old rich brat (one of the Hornbys) who we think has been horribly framed.

This book really drew me in, but then I got lost a little in the middle. The flashback sequences are not dated, but like with Richler's subsequent Solomon Gursky Was Here it's not so much a matter of figuring out when the time-shift is but why. However, unlike the weightier and more literary Solomon Gursky Was Here, Joshua Then And Now didn't make me wonder if Richler knew where he was going and if his descriptive wanderings weren't inspired by too many glasses of scotch. In Joshua, the storyline straightens out, right on cue, and you see the method in the madness. At page 200, I was thinking, `This might be one of his weaker ones,' but by p. 300, I was marvelling.

What a shame Mordecai Richler is no longer with us. There is no one in Canada writing books like his nowadays, and there is one less erudite social critic to lampoon the politically correct CBC, insincere politicians, the politics of special pleading, or other Canadian silliness. Richler possessed a humour, wit, intellect, and irony that just isn't there now - and he was a better writer than just about anyone who wins the Giller Prize these days. They just don't make `em like that anymore.

4.5 stars, rounded up to 5.

Troy Parfitt is the author of Why China Will Never Rule the World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joshua Then And Now is hilarious, April 3 2000
This review is from: Joshua Then and Now (Paperback)
I am currently reading this novel, and so far, I find it interesting. Joshua is a complex character. He achieved his ambition, and at the same time, he is dwelling on the past. It is quite unfortunate to see a character who has achieved what can be called "success" and at the same time not happy with himself. I think Joshua Then And Now is a funny book, and I highly recommend it for anybody who wants to learn more about the comic world of Mordecai Richler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read, however borders on homophobic., Sept. 19 2001
This review is from: Joshua Then and Now (Paperback)
The novel is definitely funny. I had the strange luck to read it during my internship at the Royal Victoria Hospital in Montreal, which is where scenes of Joshua's infirm wife took place. Richler easily gets me to belly-laugh. BUT, part of his humor is based on homophobia. Joshua is mistaken for gay and his mother enthusiastically and misguidely marches with PFLAG. I think such humour is of the "lowest common denominator" variety. In this as in other books of his, Richler relies on gay people, or misidentified straight people for a cheap laugh, which I don't appreciate.The rest of the book is great and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars *joshua then and now* S U C K S!!!!!!!, Jan. 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Joshua Then and Now (Paperback)
this book is a most difficult read. it is almost like a history lesson. the whole idea of going back and forth from persent to past, made it a most trying excersise to read. if you are a casual reader from age 17 and lower; do not attempt to read this. this was the hardest, most boring and most challenging book i have yet to come across. read with caution and lots of time ahead of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joshua Then and Now
Joshua Then and Now by Mordecai Richler (Paperback - April 10 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews