Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Primer for Financial Planning -- Simple and Effective lessons for even the least savvy investor
Chilton's book is well-written and an enjoyable read. I went through the entire book on my day off because I couldn't put it down. The author has devised a very simple investment plan that is both conservative and almost sure to pay off, except he doesn't guarantee exorbitant returns -- only long-term security. Most notable are the "pay your self first" concepts and a "a...
Published on July 7 2010 by J. Feeney

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars skip this one and buy the sequel
First off, I should point out that I'm a big fan of David Chilton. He "gets it."

On the topic of basic money management, there is some good advice in this book (pay yourself first, the 10% rule). For anyone struggling to pay down debt, or avoid living beyond their means, they may need more specific guidance and encouragement found elsewhere, perhaps in a Dave...
Published 20 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Primer for Financial Planning -- Simple and Effective lessons for even the least savvy investor, July 7 2010
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
Chilton's book is well-written and an enjoyable read. I went through the entire book on my day off because I couldn't put it down. The author has devised a very simple investment plan that is both conservative and almost sure to pay off, except he doesn't guarantee exorbitant returns -- only long-term security. Most notable are the "pay your self first" concepts and a "a dollar saved is two dollars earned."

The author covers a wide array of essential topics covering mutual funds, wills, insurance, RRSPs, home ownership, and a little bit on additional savings. It's a great primer and the author makes sure to discuss some of the complexities involved in investing and dispels a few common myths (e.g. that buying a home is ALWAYS better than renting). Just following the lessons in this book, the average person could profit greatly in the long run.

That said, there are some problems with the book. First the book is filled with overly optimistic calculations, using average returns of 12% -- which is actually considered very high in today's standard and by long-term historical returns. Even TD give averages of 8% for international mutual funds and less for domestic. Also for popularity, the author tries to minimize discussion of developing a strong budget and cutting back expenses, and fails to illustrate how much this could add to savings over a lifetime. Finally, he doesn't discuss that it may be appropriate to consider the probability of risk and how this influences insurance decisions, and that it is logical for people to consider waiving insurance depending on their personal situations, even when some liabilities exist.

Overall, the book is a pleasurable read and provides valuable principles for investing. It is a bit simplistic, but even an intermediate investor will learn a trick or two, and it serves as a valuable reminder for the simple things you may forget. Most importantly, these basic lessons are logical and will help even the least savvy investor earn their way to prosperity. In a time of financial illiteracy, this book is a great resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for Canadians who wants to improve their finances (from a former banker), Sept. 10 2011
By 
Eric Putnam (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
I am a former banker who now as a financial coach work with Canadians coast to coast to help them improve their finances by eliminating debt. As a professional with 32 years experience I could not find anything in this book that I disagree with. Believe me when I say that this book is a MUST READ if you are serious in getting ahead with your personal finances so you can achieve your goals. David's writing style is easy to read and the book is full of great tips and pearls of wisdom. This book should be given to our kids in high school before they get their 1st credit cards. Well done David! Eric Putnam, Managing Director, Debt Coach Canada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense Financial Info, July 27 2005
By 
"nangi" (Uganda (Africa)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
This book is an easy read for anyone who is willing to take an initial interest in their financial picture. It is straight forward, easy to read and very uncomplicated. Many people I know get all confused about financial matters. This book will not confuse you, rather, it will entertain you and get you started along the lines of financial planning. I bought 4 copies so I can lend them out to my friends!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars skip this one and buy the sequel, April 18 2013
By 
Chris (Canada's National Capital) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
First off, I should point out that I'm a big fan of David Chilton. He "gets it."

On the topic of basic money management, there is some good advice in this book (pay yourself first, the 10% rule). For anyone struggling to pay down debt, or avoid living beyond their means, they may need more specific guidance and encouragement found elsewhere, perhaps in a Dave Ramsey book.

There's at least one critical flaw in this book, however. When it was written in the late 1980s, Canadians didn't have many options for low cost investment vehicles. Through the narrative of this book, Mr. Chilton advises readers to "pick a mutual fund with a good manager." The author himself has debunked this fallacy in the intervening years. Mr. Chilton does an excellent job explaining this in an interview with the Globe and Mail's Rob Carrick: [...]

Mr. Chilton fights the good fight, going toe to toe with Kevin O'Leary on CBC in an entertaining video here: [...]
I would advise potential readers to pick up a copy of this book's sequel titled "The Wealthy Barber Returns" rather than the original. Here's a link to that: The Wealthy Barber Returns : Dramatically Older and Marginally Wiser, David Chilton Offers His Unique Perspectives on the World of Money

Another book to consider would be Andrew Hallam's "Millionaire Teacher." For more advanced reading, the Canadian Financial Wiki "Finiki" and it's associated "Financial Webring Forum" will steer users toward sound investment strategies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but ..., Aug. 8 2009
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
I thought that this book was fantastic and I have bought it for my fiancee to read; however, that being said, given that this is 2009 and the book was originally written in 1989 there are a few of the points that, while still helpful are a little out-dated. With respect to buying a home and mortgages the book references mortgages that are so low they are laughable to most Canadians now. I think that if the book were edited to take into consideration the new costs of mortgages and such, this book would, no doubt have been a 5 star book for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and to the point..., Jan. 11 2008
By 
Michel Grandmont (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
I have been researching the fiancial world for quite some time and giving advice to friends based on my experience and acquired knowledge. What was not my surprise when I found that most of my tricks are written down in this book and in a format easily understandable even for the most financially-ignorant person. I could not recommend this book enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, July 2 2009
By 
D. Hudson (Halifax, NS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone who would like to get their financial affairs in order. It covers investments, savings, RRSPs, wills, insurance, and real estate. There is enough here to make well informed decisions and gives you the ability to ask the right questions. It also makes researching any of these topics in further depth less intimidating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read This Book!, June 14 2006
By 
Robert Mills - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
This is a really good financial starter book. I implemented Chilton's "10%" golden rule and it really does make a difference in the long-run. Well worth purchasing for the basics on stuff like RRSP's, term vs. fixed insurance, housing etc. Be careful, though: everyone you live with will borrow this book and you might not get it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, March 12 2009
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
I found The Wealthy Barber interesting to read and DIRECTLY APPLICABLE to my own life. As soon as I finished I forced my wife to start reading it (and by force I mean promised to buy her a new work outfit and a manicure - but it will pay off in the end!!).

Pay yourself 10% and bingo - it's all that easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning, Oct. 26 2009
By 
Ehsan "introguy" (Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning (Paperback)
I love this book, it is wonderful source of information for anyone new to financial planning. Book is written in a simple and interesting way that you don't feel bored and at the same time you learn a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews