biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 3, 2015
Great Book of financial knowledge
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2015
Great book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2015
Great read and in great condition. Thanks!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
Great book and it arrived quick
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2014
I couldn't put it down! This was one of the best books I ever read! Every person, Canadian or not, should get a copy and read it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2014
This book is amazing. You think that you know what your doing with your money and future but chances are you really don't. I recommend this book to everyone who wants to retire in the future and be prepared for the events we never see life throwing at us.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2014
Investment books are boring. they are long, full of confusing terminology and math, and leave you feeling puzzled. While this book may not be full of terminology and numbers, it is still needlessly long, and it is boring. The central principle to his system requires you to read through 60 pages full of charming Canadiana. The secret? Save 10% of your income. Over time, this goes up. Invested over time, it compounds.

There. I just saved you a few hours.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
good product in excellent condition. i received within a few days. Thanks! Good for anyone who wants to know a little more about personnal financial planning.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 18, 2013
First off, I should point out that I'm a big fan of David Chilton. He "gets it."

On the topic of basic money management, there is some good advice in this book (pay yourself first, the 10% rule). For anyone struggling to pay down debt, or avoid living beyond their means, they may need more specific guidance and encouragement found elsewhere, perhaps in a Dave Ramsey book.

There's at least one critical flaw in this book, however. When it was written in the late 1980s, Canadians didn't have many options for low cost investment vehicles. Through the narrative of this book, Mr. Chilton advises readers to "pick a mutual fund with a good manager." The author himself has debunked this fallacy in the intervening years. Mr. Chilton does an excellent job explaining this in an interview with the Globe and Mail's Rob Carrick: [...]

Mr. Chilton fights the good fight, going toe to toe with Kevin O'Leary on CBC in an entertaining video here: [...]
I would advise potential readers to pick up a copy of this book's sequel titled "The Wealthy Barber Returns" rather than the original. Here's a link to that: The Wealthy Barber Returns : Dramatically Older and Marginally Wiser, David Chilton Offers His Unique Perspectives on the World of Money

Another book to consider would be Andrew Hallam's "Millionaire Teacher." For more advanced reading, the Canadian Financial Wiki "Finiki" and it's associated "Financial Webring Forum" will steer users toward sound investment strategies.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
Quick shipping and packaging was just fine. This is a used book, but is in very good condition which is what they promised. I am very satisfied and have no problem recommending this seller! Thank you!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse