Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book
I've been following the Better Food For Dogs book for a year now. My dog has had 2 wellness tests within the past year and both prove that he is in perfect health due to a home cooked diet. This book breaks down how much fat, carbohydrates, protein, vitamins and minerals your dogs needs depending on what your dog weighs. They also have fun treat recipes for your dog...
Published on Dec 11 2006 by Liana Primerano

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great info, but the recipes are problematic.
My pooch was a reluctant eater and he had a lot of digestive upsets and so I decided to try home cooking, but I really didn't know how much to feed him or what his needs were as far as protein and carbs etc. The strength of this book lies in its explanations regarding how dogs' nutritional needs are different from ours and its information on doggy nutrition and dietary...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, Dec 11 2006
By 
Liana Primerano (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide (Paperback)
I've been following the Better Food For Dogs book for a year now. My dog has had 2 wellness tests within the past year and both prove that he is in perfect health due to a home cooked diet. This book breaks down how much fat, carbohydrates, protein, vitamins and minerals your dogs needs depending on what your dog weighs. They also have fun treat recipes for your dog. More people need to understand what REALLY is in processed pet food and once they do, hopefully they to will start cooking for their pets as well. Most people think kibble is the only way. Kibble (which isn't regulated) hasn't been around for that long and before kibble, pets were feed table scraps and lived longer healthier lives. BUT, the Better Food For Dogs book will help you feed your dog the exact requirements that he/she needs, with the right amount of supplements added in. It's all done for you. The authors are amazing for putting this AMAZING book together. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real advice, Nov. 28 2010
This review is from: Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide (Paperback)
Of the dog nutrition information I have read, I have found this one to be the most useful. It is written by two dog owners, with input from their vet, who have tested and researched dog nutrition over a number of years. As a result, I find they offer practical advice from a common sense perspective, rather than trying to show off how clever they are. The success stories they add in are also fun to read.

The recipies given are realistic and can be altered as needed. I found this to be one of the few dog nutrition books I have actually used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great info, but the recipes are problematic., Nov. 19 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide (Paperback)
My pooch was a reluctant eater and he had a lot of digestive upsets and so I decided to try home cooking, but I really didn't know how much to feed him or what his needs were as far as protein and carbs etc. The strength of this book lies in its explanations regarding how dogs' nutritional needs are different from ours and its information on doggy nutrition and dietary requirements. Now I know how much protein, carbs, and fats my boy needs and I also make sure he gets the vitamin and mineral supplements he needs.

The recipe section of the book, however, leaves much to be desired. There are 76 pages of dinner recipes plus another 15 pages of treat recipes. However, the 76 pages of dinner recipes amount to about 4 recipes for each of 20 weight classes of dogs (from 5lbs to 150lbs). Now, the idea of recipes tailored for a certain weight seems sensible at first, but it ends up being impractical when you actually try to work with the recipes. No one is going to buy a book for 4 recipes, so you have to look outside your dog's weight class at recipes tailored for dogs of other sizes and that's when things become a little obnoxious because the recipes repeat in many cases, but with new recipes being added in occasionally as you go up in weight classes. So locating recipes means a lot of flipping and searching. Then, because the recipes are all for different weight classes, the process of adapting the recipes is all over the map. It's not impossible to work with, but it is a bit frustrating and time consuming.

For each weight class there is one "basic" recipe and three "gourmet" recipes. There are essentially 4 "basic" recipes in the book that keep cycling through: 1)turkey and rice; 2)beef and rice; 3)lamb and rice; 4)chicken and rice. The "gourmet" recipes include: stir-fried ginger beef with greens; barbecued hamburgers; lamb souvlaki in a pita; chicken fricassee; breakfast burrito; luscious lasagna; scrambled eggs with whole wheat toast; rotini with meat sauce; chicken fried rice; Texas-style chili; beef stew; cottage cheese, fruit, and toast; red snapper stew; tomato and chicken rotini; salmon and dill pasta; basil chicken and vegetable pasta; divine dinner burrito.

I tend toward "basic" cooking for my dog, but I do my own thing entirely and end up making doggy casseroles, doggy meat loaf, and doggy stews with a vareity of meats, veggies, fruits, and grains that my boy LOVES. He's no longer a reluctant eater and we are not missing the digestive issues. So, if you're new to home cooked dog food and need nutritional info, you will find the info in this book (or you might want to check out the 2012 edition) useful. If you already know the nutritional stuff and are just looking for recipes...hopefully I have provided enough info for you to know whether or not the book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's just OK, Oct. 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide (Paperback)
Think I'd prefer a recipe book, focused on cooked meals (not raw). But, it's OK enough and cheap enough that it's offers a good introduction to anyone thinking about getting your pup off of 'dog food'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better Food For Dogs: An Outstanding Book for Preparing Canine Home Food, Dec 9 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide (Paperback)
I purchased three books on canine home feeding, specifically:

1. The Whole Pet Diet: Eight Weeks to Great Health for Dogs and Cats

2. Dr. Pitcairn's New Complete Guide to Natural Health for Dogs and Cats

3. Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide

Better Food For Dogs was by far the best of the three. The information was CONCISE and ACCURATE, resulting in a book that was easy to digest without an excessive amount of reading. Furthermore, the information on calcium:phosphorus ratios of 1.2:1 to 1.4:1 agrees exactly with the CRC [Canine Research Council] data, while Dr. Pitcairn's suggested calcium:phosphorus ratio of 2:1 does not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book -, Nov. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide (Paperback)
love how it breaks down the recipes for the weight of your dog. Wish there were more gluten free receipes, have a dog that doesnt do well with barley, wheat - but have been subbing the ingredients for suitable ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better food for dogs, Feb. 7 2010
By 
This review is from: Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide (Paperback)
The book is very easy to read and recipes are easy to follow. It does not call for a lot of complicated ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, March 28 2003
This review is from: Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide (Paperback)
Bastin (et al) have codified in a single book what I have spent my whole life thus far trying to perfect: how to make the perfect dog's breakfast. The prawn rissoles in balsamic reduction were outstanding, though Rex (my unimaginatively-named pet) was unenthusiastic. But the lamb tagine with pickled lemon seemed to hit the spot (the minted cous cous with sultanas and green tea admittedly less so), as did the oranges in cointreau followed by brandy and coffee. I look forward to a follow up book explaining how to tell your kids that the reasons that the dog eats better than they do should be perfectly obvious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad3f36d8)

This product

Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide
Better Food for Dogs: A Complete Cookbook and Nutrition Guide by Grant Nixon (Paperback - Oct. 5 2002)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 14.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews