march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage scflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars309
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$70.69+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on February 16, 2001
The Seven Samurai is Akira Kurosawa's great masterpiece (remade into the western The Magnificent Seven). It's set four hundred years ago, in Japan, when bandits stormed the land stealing the possessions of peasants. The focus is on one particular village. In an attempt to save the village, from a horde of bandits, the peasants decide to hire the service of hungry samurai.
What's noticeable in The Seven Samurai is the way in which the peasants are portrayed. They are shown as having extreme emotions, being ragged and miserable. The nature of humanity is shown as peasants argue and steal amongst themselves. They are curious and gossip about everything they see.
When Toshiro Mifune first appears he captures the moment. Up to that point the action is frantic. His character is intense, excited at everything, even death, shown scratching himself with anxiety.
Kambei Shimada is the wise old samurai, Katsushiro Okamoto is the young samurai who becomes a follower of Kambei, Katayama Gorobei (strong man) is the jolly samurai, Shichiroji is a good friend of Kambei who looks for a challenge despite the lack of compensation, Heihachi is the clown, Kyuzo the masterful samurai, and Kikuchiyo who is animalistic, the essence of life.
I think an enjoyable film is a film that tells a story in such a way it draws you into its world. The story is magically told in The Seven Samurai. The camera observes every moment, movement and reaction without every becoming boring. In a way, it's an allegory about the nature of man. The attention is never just focused on Mifune's character, Kikuchiyo, as even the peasants are interesting to watch. Like reading a great book that's hard to put down, I felt sorry when The Seven Samurai finished. Truly, one of greatest films.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2003
Would not play on one of our DVD players. Screen message
" please insert a disk" Disk is inserted.
Used second DVD player and it worked until intermission.
Disk stopped and would not run. We tried everything.
Since I love this story~ How do i get it replaced with a good DVD
MIchael Karaffa
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2001
kurosawa is one of the great directors of all-time - this is an almost undisputed fact, even by me. however, people fail to mention that all but 1 or 2 of his movies are deathly boring. seven samurai goes on for 3 hours, and even with action sequences, fails to enthrall. truly boring and not worth the time unless you're a scholar of good direction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2000
Lackluster HongKong export about a bunch of guys defending a Chinese village from bandits. I would prefer to watch "Wing Commander" rather than this trash. At least WC has some cool special effects and great action. I would give this sad excuse of a movie one star.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2001
If you're having trouble with insomnia, retn this one, Your troubles will be cured. I have the greatest patience with non-American movies that sets well out of the mainstream. But this 1956 production definitely is not the great movie the critics say it this. It's just a boring Japanese production, totally uninspired, slow paced. Ok, the famous fighting under the rain is a very well-shot sequence, but to reach that far one must be really determinated !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2004
I guess I should preface this by saying that I'm really not an Asian-movie person. I just don't "get" them, and I'm sure it's a cultural thing. "Tampopo," "Crouching Tiger," "In the Realm of the Senses" and now this one -- I couldn't sit through any of them. Unless you are a martial arts or samurai fanatic, or a big lover of Japanese culture and history, I would say definitely skip this -- especially if you are female. I think this is one of those "Emperor's New Movies" that we're all supposed to like, and no one will admit to NOT liking it for fear of being thought ignorant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2001
Save your money and time by not watching this badly made kung-fu movie. The guys in this movie do not know martial arts at all. The story goes as follows: Some shaolin monk gets hired by some korean guys to protect their village. He recruits some other kung-fu fighters and goes to the village and kills all bandits. End of story. The fight scenes are so bad that it is laughable. I have seen movies by bruce lee and Jet Lee and they are vastly superior. Even the recent movie "the Matrix" has great hong kong type fight scenes, but this hong kong movie does not have any.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2000
no special effects at all. This movie could learn some tricks from the recent movie "The haunting".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2003
This movie is slow. It doesn't make any sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2001
This movie seems to be a scene-by-scene copy of one of my favorite movies-"Magnificent Seven". Magnificent seven is a classic movie that has been copied many times, but I didn't know westerns were popular enough in japan to be copied. Not a bad copy but doesn't hold a candle to the original!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse