Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The play's the thing.
"Hamlet belongs into the theater," says Mel Gibson, the star of the tragedy's 1990 adaptation by Franco Zeffirelli, in an interview on that movie's DVD. And while primarily expressing regret over a lacking opportunity to explore the role's complexities by nightly slipping into the prince's skin on stage, he also has a point regarding any screen adaptation's validity: the...
Published on May 4 2005 by Themis-Athena

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars TO RESTORE OR NOT TO RESTORE - THAT IS THE QUESTION!
Criterion laserdiscs used to be top of the line. Their transfers were solid and their committment to extra features very compelling. One didn't mind shelling out upwards of a hundred dollars (or perhaps did, but simply reasoned the issue internally)because what you got for your money was far above what other studios were offering at the time. However, their DVD...
Published on Oct. 25 2003 by Nix Pix


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Overplayed but still classic, Feb. 5 2004
By 
Daniel S. Russell "syzygy121" (Blacksburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Hamlet (DVD)
This used to be the definitive "Hamlet," but I fear it has become quite dated with its painfully obvious Freudian interpretation of the characters and their motivations.
Olivier delivers a great performance, as does the supporting cast, and the production lends a fog-enshrouded creepiness to the matter, but it gets lost a bit in the heavy-handed reading of the work itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mel Gibson can't hold a candle to this, Jan. 5 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Hamlet [Import] (VHS Tape)
In comparing this version to the one with Mel Gibson, I can only say that Olivier's version has a classicism that Gibson lacks. I also definitely prefer that more Elizabethan style of dress used by Olivier to the Medieval and Scandinavian costumes of Gibson. This film is a class of it's own, which I think is only accentuated by the "black-and-white-ness."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film by one of the greatest actors!, Sept. 9 2000
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Hamlet [Import] (VHS Tape)
This is, no doubt, the greatest adaptation of Hamlet! Olivier was a master in bringing Shakespeare's works to the screen and his acting is unsurpassed! Watch Henry V and Richard III to see what a genius Olivier was when it came to Shakespeare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I appreciated very much the Criterion version of this masterpiece ..., Nov. 3 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Hamlet (DVD)
I appreciated very much the Criterion version of this masterpiece as well as the subtitles to help us understand the language of Shakespeare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unviewable, Feb. 16 2011
Ce commentaire est de: Hamlet (DVD)
Unfortunately, I can't view this DVD: it's in the wrong format, even though I am almost sure I checked this before I bought it. I would suggest that every effort possible be made to signal when a DVD is viewable in North America, or elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good rendering of Hamlet!, Aug. 14 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Hamlet (DVD)
Lawrence Olivier's rendition of the imfamous Dane is quite good, I enjoyed the movie very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hamlet
Hamlet by Laurence Olivier (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 24.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews