Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE DVD TRANSFER OF AN ADVENTURE CLASSIC
The Alpha DVD of THE MOST DANGEROUS GAME gets 5 stars from this commentator. The price is nearly impossible to pass up, even with a merely acceptable transfer of the film. But what Alpha offers here is superb image and sound quality. The way this 70 year-old film looks on this disc is nothing short of astounding. The blacks are deep and rich, and the image has a silvery,...
Published on Jan. 25 2004 by mackjay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Survival of the Fittest
Richard Connell's famous short story that dates back to 1924 about a deranged Russian nobleman who shipwrecks vessels passing by his remote island and hunts down the survivors is still anthologized today. Like many works of naturalistic fiction, Connell's tale is a disquisition on the thin line separating civilization and the state of nature. When the sportsman Sanger...
Published on Jan. 7 2001 by Dave Clayton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but campy..., Oct. 7 1999
This review is from: The Most Dangerous Game (Criterion Collection) (DVD)
...but then again it was made 67 years ago. Widescreen wasn't invented there ain't much your missing. One thing though. It's a good movie and way ahead of it's time (even if it's only 62 minutes long) and I was pleasantly surprised. It's the first ever movie in which humans are hunted for sport. I reccomend you buy it. Seriously...it's cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moody, classic thriller from KING KONG filmmakers., Oct. 1 1999
By A Customer
Richard Connell's tale of a man who is shipwrecked on a deserted island unaware that it is ruled by a fanatical "big game" hunter. Tense, sometimes unrelentless action film is a must-have for any classic movie collector. Banks performance is terrifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service & product, Feb. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Most Dangerous Game (Criterion Collection) (DVD)
Excellent sur toute la ligne. Produit de première qualité et expédié rapidement !
Exactement comme promis et selon la réputation du fournisseur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most Excellent Release - 75th Anniversary Ed. in Color & B/W, Sept. 19 2012
By 
Movieman, Montreal - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is for the 75th Anniversary Edition of The Most Dangerous Game from Legend Films. This RKO film from 1932 was originally shot at around the same time as the original King Kong, & it was made by many of the same people - Merian C. Cooper, Ernest B.Schoedsack, & it also stars Fay Wray. Many of the same sets were also used in the production. The plot: An evil Russian game hunter traps unsuspecting shipwreck survivors on his remote island and hunts them like animals for sport.
This version has been colorized, but it also features a fully restored black & white version - I am typically NOT a big fan of colorization. However, to produce a color version the producers needed to work from the best source materials available, so the image quality on both is top notch. Ray Harryhaussen oversaw the colorization process & made suggestions. There are tons of extras included, interviews, featurettes, & trailers. Unless you are willing to shell out big bucks for Criterion's excellent release, then this is undoubtedly the best way to go. You've also got the option on how you would like to view the film, I enjoyed both versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Department of Morbid Details, May 30 2000
By 
Milo Miles "doctornork" (Cambridge, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Apparently a favorite of the never-captured Zodiac Killer, who wore a costume based on the hunter's outfit in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Criterion is the best, July 22 2011
By 
Marcia (Vancouver) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Most Dangerous Game (Criterion Collection) (DVD)
Since many have written of the awesome, original story. i will comment on the quality of the dvd. i owned a copy before criterion remastered it from the original 35 mm. composite fine-grain master. What a difference! Made in 1932 the transfer is not perfect and has a few flaws, but on the whole this version is worth every penny to get a decent copy of one of the best horror movies ever created based on a short story by Richard Connel. Audio commentary by film historian Brucce Eder. Subtitles added. 63 min. b & w. monoral. 1:33:1 aspect ratio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Creepy and it's Kooky, it's Altogether Ooky, July 20 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Most Dangerous Game (Criterion Collection) (DVD)
A ship full of mysterious characters is interring a harbor that is either misscharted or mislight. We are introduced to them and in two minutes and they are old friends.

A conversation is struck up on the subject of hunting. Bob Rainsford (Joel McCrea) is asked if it is really fare hunt with superior file power and asked if he would change places with the tiger. He philosophically replies, "That is something I will never have to decide... This world is decided into two kinds of people. The hunter and the hunted. I am a hunter and nothing can ever change that."

I will not give you a detailed review of the movie as that is what you will buy it. However after watching once be sure to listen to the Criterion version voice over by xxx and then watch the movie again.

You can tell right off that this is a David O. Selznick picture as he has his name plastered over the credits.
Screen play by James Ashmore Creelman. From a story by Richard Connell.

I found it interesting that many of the actors and the sets will show up in the 1933 version of King Kong.
I also pretty much guesses the story ahead of time. Not because I saw it or read the book. But I saw most of the remakes and know the formula. Believe me this will not distract from this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars insane count hunts humans on his island, Sept. 4 2007
This review is from: Most Dangerous Game (DVD)
this is an old movie(1932).it's about an insane count who lives in a
castle on an island.every once in a while,a ship wreck occurs on the
island(not accidentally)and the count invites the survivors in,treating
them as guests at first.then,he drops the bombshell.he is the hunter
and they are the hunted.he hunts the people for sport,usually killing
them.i thought the movie dragged a bit in spots,but not enough to quit
watching.Leslie Banks plays the count,and he is definitely creepy,but
at times i think he over exaggerated the creepiness.Faye Wray is in the
movie as a female prisoner.she definitely knows how to scream,but i
also think she overdid it at times.after a while,i found it somewhat
annoying.the music is by Max Steiner and i thought it was very
effective.it elevated the tension,in my opinion.the movie is
co-directed by Ernest B.Schoedsack(who directed "King
Kong"(1933)).Merian C.Cooper("King Kong")is an associate producer on
the film and David O.Selznick(also from "King Kong")is the executive
producer.if you liked the 1933 version of "Kink Kong",you will probably
like this movie.many of the same sets are utilized in this movie.it has
the same look and feel to it.liked King Kong a bit better than this
movie,maybe because of the spectacle.you might also like "Surviving the
Game" and "Hard Target",both of which are contemporary versions(though
"Surviving the Game" is more similar)of"The Most Dangerous Game".for
me,"The Most dangerous Game"is a strong 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Most Dangerous Game (Criterion Collection)
CDN$ 27.99 CDN$ 26.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews