march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Kitchen Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars31
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$27.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 30, 2000
Still exciting 67 years after it was first made, this is the movie where Fay Wray first showed off just how good she is at screaming. Certain campy elements aside, there are several moments which are surprising to find in a movie this old -- heads floating in jars for example. Bruce Eder's commentary plays up the serial killing element of this movie, drawing repeated comparison to Silence of the Lambs. But for me his insanity is an excuse for the hero, Bob Rainsford, to feel genuine sympathy for the animals he himself had hunted. Highly recommended, and less expensive than most other Criterion disks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2001
Fay Wray, Joel McCrea and Leslie Banks star in the entetaining adventure-thriller THE MOST DANGEROUS GAME.
Wray and McCrea are two people stranded on a lush tropical island, inhabited by the mad Count Zaroff who has a very strange hobby. He hunts humans, and proposes a dangerous mission in that if they survive, they will be free to leave the island. If not, Wray is his, and McCrea will be killed...
A fast-moving finale makes up for the creaky, talky start. The story really gets going after the first forty mintutes.
With Robert Armstrong, Noble Johnson and Hale Hamilton.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 22, 2011
Since many have written of the awesome, original story. i will comment on the quality of the dvd. i owned a copy before criterion remastered it from the original 35 mm. composite fine-grain master. What a difference! Made in 1932 the transfer is not perfect and has a few flaws, but on the whole this version is worth every penny to get a decent copy of one of the best horror movies ever created based on a short story by Richard Connel. Audio commentary by film historian Brucce Eder. Subtitles added. 63 min. b & w. monoral. 1:33:1 aspect ratio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2001
Shipwrecked McRae washed ashore on the island of Banks' Count Zaroff, a deranged sportsman with a flair for tracking humans. Guess who becomes the mad count's next target. Oft-told tale is compellingly related in this, the first of many using Richard Connell's famous short story. If deja vu sets in, don't worry. This production uses most of the scenery, staff, and cast from its studio cousin, "King Kong." Remade in 1945 as "A Game of Death" and in 1956 as "Run for the Sun." The Criterion Collection is a Must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 1999
...but then again it was made 67 years ago. Widescreen wasn't invented there ain't much your missing. One thing though. It's a good movie and way ahead of it's time (even if it's only 62 minutes long) and I was pleasantly surprised. It's the first ever movie in which humans are hunted for sport. I reccomend you buy it. Seriously...it's cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2015
By today's standards, it's pretty cheezy, but it's still the "best" interpretation of a great short story. My students love to compare it to the story and we have good discussions about what makes movies popular. They always complained about the grainy black and white so now we have a colour version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 1999
Richard Connell's tale of a man who is shipwrecked on a deserted island unaware that it is ruled by a fanatical "big game" hunter. Tense, sometimes unrelentless action film is a must-have for any classic movie collector. Banks performance is terrifying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
Excellent sur toute la ligne. Produit de première qualité et expédié rapidement !
Exactement comme promis et selon la réputation du fournisseur.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2000
Apparently a favorite of the never-captured Zodiac Killer, who wore a costume based on the hunter's outfit in this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2016
bon service avec version colorisée je n'ai pas encore eu l'occasion de le visionner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items