Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Another End-of-the-world Flick
Well made movie, this time God's killing us off. When the Four Horsemen come, there are those who accept Him, those who reject Him, and each has their reasons. Good flick for those with an inclination to question Christianity, IMO.
Published 12 months ago by Dan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thou shalt not be boring.
Although long and slow in parts this is an intriguing film. I saw it at a Drive-In along with The Ten Commandments--and the couple in the car next to us broke six! But seriously, was it Mark Twain who said "Faith is believing what you know ain't so". Well Mimi Rogers' character in this movie does that, big time.
But see it--Mimi's cute! And you won't go...
Published on July 6 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Another End-of-the-world Flick, April 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapture [Import] (DVD)
Well made movie, this time God's killing us off. When the Four Horsemen come, there are those who accept Him, those who reject Him, and each has their reasons. Good flick for those with an inclination to question Christianity, IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why is this movie not on DVD?, July 19 2004
By 
M. G. Mora "Bad Wolf" (San Leandro, CA. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rapture, the (VHS Tape)
One of the most powerful movies I have ever seen and to think Mimi Rogers didn't become a Big Star after this. She didnt even get a nomination but that tells you a lot about the Academy. Her performance outweighs anything Julia Roberts or Gweneth Paltrow has ever done.
This movie is not just about religion but being lost in a world that's not always kind.
Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not an angry review with many spelling errors, Dec 9 2003
By 
Kevin Freeman (Pacifica, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rapture, the (VHS Tape)
Good to see that this film is still the subject of so much bitter debate, a decade and more after it appeared. Let me engage in some contradictions to say that this is a totally entertaining and totally disturbing movie to watch. You can look at it from several angles, but the doctrinally pure "rapture-believin'" Christian angle is probably not one of them. At very least it addresses the enduring problem of spiritual emptiness and the lure of "easy answer" end-times beliefs. As our world becomes more unhinged and uncertain the visibility of these societal phenomena only increases. Best of all we get to see David Duchovny before he fell in with a bad UFO crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is a limit of five stars, so that is all., Aug. 21 2003
This review is from: Rapture, the (VHS Tape)
This is a low budget movie, and still it is a phenomenal.
It is a great story, an important messagge, and an incredible and unexpectedly fast-paced movie.
I would rent it for sure, I bought it, and I wish they will do it in DVD, if they do I will buy it for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thou shalt not be boring., July 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rapture, the (VHS Tape)
Although long and slow in parts this is an intriguing film. I saw it at a Drive-In along with The Ten Commandments--and the couple in the car next to us broke six! But seriously, was it Mark Twain who said "Faith is believing what you know ain't so". Well Mimi Rogers' character in this movie does that, big time.
But see it--Mimi's cute! And you won't go blind watching the naughty parts since she atones in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, April 7 2003
By 
W. Pender "honuscat" (Cathedral City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rapture, the (VHS Tape)
One of my favorite all time favorite films. Buck the taboo of religion in film and gives one perspective of how God 'deals' with those who lose the 'faith'. A stunning film, brilliantly written and acted. Some will find it offensive or blasphemous, but they'll get over it. It is a gem of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh! The rapture....., Aug. 24 2002
By 
ReeQueen (Salt Lake City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rapture, the (VHS Tape)
When I first saw The Rapture (when it first came out), I was struck by how meticulous (and amusing) the (non-denominational) portrayals of the Born Agains (or, as I prefer to call this particular stripe of same, Apocalyptic Wowsers) were, from the faux Mormon missionaries to the painful earnestness of the young daughter asking to be with God and her daddy. This movie was saying everything I had wanted to say about religious Millenialism, and saying it (I thought) loud and clear.
Sharon, the character played by Mimi Rogers, was not living a life she was happy with, so, like so many others, instead of looking within herself to see what she could do to fix it, she (however unconsciously) sought without. Naturally there are always people willing to provide a sense of safety, surety, and surface happiness, or to show you how to achieve those things. All you have to do is give up what you are, and put all your faith in something that demands everything (and everything most certainly is demanded) of you, not only your life, but your soul.
Michael Tolkin is laughing at Born Again-ism, Millenialists, and fundies of the Christian persuasion in this movie. The Rapture is a primer on getting just what you pray for - here is what will happen if this is what you truly believe. Fortunately, he is also able to show us a woman who is strong enough to resist, at the end, although it means spending her eternity caught between Heaven and Hell.
When looking for meaning or layers, or subtext, or whatever, in a movie (or any other work of art, for that matter), it always helps to put the thing in context with other works by the same person. It may be well to remember that Michael Tolkin is also responsible for The Player and The New Age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Version of Rapture, July 2 2002
By 
This review is from: Rapture, the (VHS Tape)
Although not exactly Biblical, this movie did have some interesting Christian themes. I would have liked to have seen a different ending to the movie and agree with others that it didnt potray the God of the Bible. The "purgatory" version of
the afterlife of lead role was confusing at best. Overall, the movie demonstrated some good choices Mimi Rogers made with her life and a frightening look at the Apocalypse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Once again Hollywood inadequatly depicts Christianity, April 19 2002
This review is from: Rapture, the (VHS Tape)
Although this movie does have some intriguing points and does a good job of bringing up age old scepticism,it inadequatly depicts Christianity by demonizing religon and lionizing the proud and rebelious.Mimi Rogers who plays Sharon does a few things that make me wonder why so many people would feel sorry for her.First of all(and I blame this largely on Hollywood)when Sharon decides to turn a new leaf and try to better herself AKA not sleeping around in promiscuous group sex,she instantly goes to a 180 extreme by rigid rules and preaching to others instead of knowing God,loving God,treating herself and others with reaspect and trying to lead a decent life.Hollywood always makes this statement that you're either extremely pious or you indulge in every kind of sin;no inbetween,how unoriginal and closeminded.
Secondly,she kills her daughter one day before the rapture not because God told her to,but because of her own lack of faith.All she had to do was wait ONE DAY!That in itself shows her selfishness and how shallow her soul is.
Lastly,near the end of the movie,when she is sooo angry with God(
why I don't know,God did not order her to kill her daughter)
she has the chance to be reunited with her daughter in Heaven if she would just accept God and His commandments.Naturally being the idiot that she is,she refuses.If any human is that proud and that self-absorbed then they don't deserve to be in Paradise.
I really like Mimi Rogers,but this script was so sterotypical and biased that it would turn away anyone who was considering a religous life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good film?, April 1 2002
By 
William H. Bagot (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rapture, the (VHS Tape)
If you yawned you missed this one when it first came out in the movies years ago. An "R" rated look at the Christian Rapture, it scared off Christians with its rating and heathens with its topic matter, so basically had no audience.
After watching it twice now, I still don't know what to make of it. The life of sexual hedonism and its emptiness is shown, but not to a degree that you really got the feeling she would be suicidal. Her Christian conversion and subsequent life changes were interesting, and true in many respects, but with the typical hollywood portrayal of all personal Christianity -- rather shallow. It had the feel that "7th Heaven" has as a TV show showing Christianity. The people trying to show what it's like are on the outside looking in, not those who trully experience it.
The main character's turning back away from God is equally as puzzling. Things don't happen the way she expects "We'll give God one more chance", then she chooses actions that she can't forgive God for. She's in the desert several weeks, then shoots her daughter the day before the Rapture comes. Oddly, she never seems to figure out that if she waited one more day everything would have been fine, and God didn't ask her to shoot her daughter.
The Rapture scenes are cursory and not filled out, which fits the movie. It's not deep theology and isn't meant to be. The film is much more about concepts than specifics. Some of the lines will make Christians cringe because they don't match Christian thought "God loves us because we love Him", but overall for a Hollywood movie they do a good job.
I recommend the film, but I'm not sure why. You'll either like it or you won't, but for a semi shallow undertaking if does create a depth of thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad73f714)

This product

Rapture, the
Rapture, the by Michael Tolkin (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 21.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews