Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Jackie Chan has done it again
MR. NICE GUY has got to be one of Jackie's best, and I know I've said that about several of his movies, but NICE GUY can live up to this boast without a single doubt.
One reason for this is the fact that it is actually an almost literally non-stop action-comedy. The movie is low on dialouge, since it is Jackie's first movie filmed in English (though still produced in...
Published on July 1 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The inscrutable Jackie
Mr. Nice Guy has a lot of flaws. On the downside, the plot is ludicrous, the acting is terrible, and the camera-work is extremely annoying. The slow-motion video sequences are absolutely awful, and detract from Jackie's incredible movement vocabulary.
On the plus-side, we have daredevil choreography and we have Jackie.
Some of the best stunts involve a...
Published on Sept. 24 2001 by Shantell Powell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Jackie Chan has done it again, July 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
MR. NICE GUY has got to be one of Jackie's best, and I know I've said that about several of his movies, but NICE GUY can live up to this boast without a single doubt.
One reason for this is the fact that it is actually an almost literally non-stop action-comedy. The movie is low on dialouge, since it is Jackie's first movie filmed in English (though still produced in Hong Kong) and it simply zips along amazingly quickly from one fantastic action scene to another.
NICE GUY opens with Jackie as Jackie, a TV celebrity chef in Melbourne, Australia. Meanwhile, drug lord Giancarlo (Richard Norton) trying to buy back some cocaine from a rival gang. It isn't long before he realizes that Diana (Gabrielle Fitzpatrick) has video taped him in the act, and soon, she is on the run from Giancarlo's meanies. She encounters Jackie, and through a series of bizarre mismatches, both Diana and Giancarlo believe Jackie has the tape. It's actually wound up in the hands of his half-brother Romeo's (Vince Poletto) kids. Jackie must now recover the tape and save his girlfriend Miki (Miki Lee), whose been kidnapped by Giancarlo.
Okay, the plot is very mush secondary to the action and the comedy in NICE GUY, a bit more so than in some of Jackie's other movies. But, in some ways, this is superior to many of his other martial arts movies. It's up there with RUSH HOUR 1 and 2, SHANGHAI NOON, all of the POLICE STORY films, as well as his ARMOUR OF GOD and DRUNKEN MASTER masterpieces.
It's also quite a surprise that Jackie didn't direct this one. Nope, he left that responsibilty to his longtime friend, the portly chopsocker Sammo Hung. You know him even if you don't think you do. He was Jackie's co-star in his fantastic PROJECT A, and he was even in the Bruce Lee classic, ENTER THE DRAGON, where he played the plump opponent in the opening scene.
But Hung was evidently not content with remaining behind the camera in NICE GUY. He has a brief cameo as the nosey bicycler.
But it's still Jackie's movie. It has some fantastic scenes of acrobatics and kung fu action. One takes place on a horse carriage, another inside of a moving van, but by far, the best in NICE GUY is the one at the construction site, which starts with some funny business involving all the doors, then becomes a huge martial arts battle.
NICE GUY belongs in the Jackie Chan hall of fame, and if you have any interest in seeing one of Jackie's more recent kung fu-comedies, this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Jackie�s Best�, Jan. 19 2002
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
With nearly non-stop action and thrills Jackie Chan's "Mr. Nice Guy" is probably without a doubt one of Jackie Chan's BEST films ever, featuring Chan's trademarked ultra-choreographed but jaw-dropping and awe-inspiring just plain AWESOME action sequences (including the trademarked end-of-film outtakes).
THE MOVIE:
A TV cook Chan unwittingly stumbles into the middle of a drug-related murder between Australian mobsters and a street gang when he saves the life of a woman and unknowingly comes into possession of her incriminating tape. From the get-go it's an all-out adventure ride setting the standard for the amount of action per frame as Jackie battles the mob while trying to save his girlfriend and his other friends.
Notable Scenes:
1. The Horse and Carriage Battle Scene
2. The Warehouse With Many Doors Fight Scene
3. The Ending Battle Which Puts Rumble In The Bronx's Hovercraft scene to shame!!
THE DVD FEATURES:
The DVD is a little sparse on special features, but it does contain a few great extras including a pretty detailed bio (more so than the Rumble in the Bronx DVD) and filmography of Jackie Chan as well as the film's theatrical trailer. Also included are selected scenes from some of Jackie's other films (Rush Hour, Rumble In The Bronx, First Strike, and Police Story all on sale from New Line Cinema).
THE VERDICT:
Action movie/martial arts film fans will love this movie. Fans of Jackie Chan will probably rate this toward the top of his movies as the action standards this film set are just off the charts!!! The action, as well as the story, are solid. New fans of Chan will also love this film and its mind-boggling action sequences. The DVD features, while a bit sparse compared to more recent DVD releases, are alright and are in fact a little better than his other releases with New Line. Overall, whether you rent, borrow or purchase this DVD/movie, it is worth a watch.
Highest Recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle overtones of Marx's struggles of the working class:, Oct. 11 2001
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
The fact that Jackie Chan's character is a provider of sustanence for the masses (on an extrapolated basis, a TV celebrity chef is able to reach and feed, if only by proxy, millions more than than the average soup kitchen hash slinger) goes on to demonstrate the solid foundation of the working class throughout the world. The villainous gangsters who kidnap Chan's girlfriend are a representation of the oppressive wealth that controls society (there are other gangsters of less means who, even though still representing a contrary force to that of Chan's character, still face with Chan a common enemy bent on monopolizing commerce in a Microsoft-esque fashion...this premise was similarly used in the earlier "Rumble In The Bronx").
>
The police, representative of the supposed "order" as provided by government, is portrayed as being incapable (if not completely incompetent) in their attempts to aid Chan (again, he represents society as a whole). The controlling influence of the established bourgeoisie (perfectly housed in an opulent mansion that seems to be more akin to a modern art museum than a home for a single person...this further clarifies the idea that the gang boss is more representative of a class as a whole than his own wants and accomplishments) extends beyond the influence of society as it is taught in primary school.
>
The climax of the movie represents the ultimate triumph of the working class in that the (literal) vehicle used to render the afforementioned mansion to kindling is not, as would be expected in an "ordinary" action movie, a military device (helicopter, rocket launcher, Sherman tank), but instead a monstrous dump truck (a Terex Titan, I believe), a larger-than-life representative device used by those who construct, every bit as representative of the working class as a pair of Dr. Martens' steel-toed boots.
>
Do I seriously believe any of that? Of course not...it's all art school, smoke-filled screening room crap. This is a simply a very good action movie...not the best Jackie Chan offering, but far from the worst. I rate the fight scenes a cut above "Rumble In The Bronx", but "Rumble..." probably had the better stunts. Seriously, anyone who's seen one Jackie Chan film knows what to expect in any of the rest...ENTERTAINMENT. If you don't like his movies, you just don't like action movies, period. If you've never seen any of Jackie's films, this one isn't a bad introduction. I recommend it as a matter of course to any action fan who seeks a fun movie at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The inscrutable Jackie, Sept. 24 2001
By 
Shantell Powell "The ShanMonster" (Kitchener, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Mr. Nice Guy has a lot of flaws. On the downside, the plot is ludicrous, the acting is terrible, and the camera-work is extremely annoying. The slow-motion video sequences are absolutely awful, and detract from Jackie's incredible movement vocabulary.
On the plus-side, we have daredevil choreography and we have Jackie.
Some of the best stunts involve a tablesaw (reminiscent of the cutting laser aimed at James Bond's crotch in Goldfinger), a cement mixer, a fight inside an A-Teamesque van, and an atypical car chase scene involving a team of horses. Once again, the out-takes show a little of what goes on behind the scenes.
Perhaps Jackie, like Rutger Hauer, purposefully chooses bad films. It makes him seem all the more a diamond in the rough, or a pearl in a pigsty. Yet when he appears in a movie with talented actors and a half-decent script, I don't think it detracts from his charm whatsoever. So why does he act in these horrid little movies? I dunno. I'm guessing he just has a warped sense of humour, and delights in being a B-movie king.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Guy!, July 28 2001
By 
"jcfan54" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
As an Aussie, I cringe slightly whenever I see this movie in English! The Australian actors are SO bad - especially the gang leader of the Demons (who thankfully gets killed early!) By the way, is he Australian? He sounded English to me! This aside, the action and stunts are great - typical crazy Jackie, very fast paced. The cameo with Sammo Hung on the bicycle is also very funny. I must mention that I have also seen the Chinese version of this movie. Believe it or not it is so much better to hear the Canontese dubbing and read the English subs! Covers up the bad acting by the Aussies. The music surprisingly in the Cantonese version is also better, very tense and adds some atmosphere to the story of Miki's kidnapping. I think when the movie was released in the West they wanted to reclassify it for general release, so the movie was "watered down" considerably. Some quite violent scenes involving the women actors getting beaten up were deleted, especially one scene with Miki and Richard Norton, the bad guy. Also, one scene where Jackie was fighting the Demons in the van is a scream but was deleted. Jackie actually BITES one of the bad guys in an unmentionable place on the chest! Ouch!! Good movie for Jackie fans who don't like reading subtitles, but I think the Chinese version is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bad movie, but...., June 29 2001
By 
"jackiechanfan24" (New Rochelle, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Lets face it. This is a bad movie. The plot is terrible and hard to follow, plus the dialogue is atrocious. However, this movie does have some saving graces.
This movie is filled with action. I mean good action and well chorographed fight sequences. That is a sign of director Sammo Hung's extraordinary ability to creative mind blowing fights. The best of the lot is a scene inside a van where Jackie messes up a bunch of baddies with limited space to move around. An honorable mention is the escape on a horse drawn carriage.
Another feature to look for in this film is Richard Norton, the Aussie martial artist who has starred in dozens of Hong Kong action flicks. His performance is terrible, but he gets his face rearranged towards the end courtesy of Mr. Chan, which is worth the wait.
If you are in dire need of Jackie Chan fix then this movie is right up your alley. If you are looking for a good story and acting, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Of course the plot is stupid, April 4 2001
By 
Sarah Glen "dreamypickles" (Oakland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
The plot should be stupid. I think the common misconception about Jackie Chan is that he wanted his films to have engaging plots and failed. Ummm, Jackie Chan is as much a comedian as he is a martial artist. In fact, if you want martial arts without the comedy you'd be better off with Jet Li or *cringe* Jean Claude Van Damme. Ouch, okay now that I've shaken that one off, Jackie Chan is one of the great Kings of B-Moviedom. The most famous are the horror Kings (Bruce Campbell, John Carpenter), but the archetypal Hong Kong action flick of yesteryear was hideously low budget (still is) and the choices are limited. Does one make a high action film with no plot, or a no action film with all plot. These are the two main choices in most of Asia. But I think Jackie has found the best option: Make a funny action movie with a deliberately weak plot and laughably cheesy acting. And voila. A unique and value-budgeted movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a nice guy, May 13 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
mr. nice guy is one of the later jackie chan movies. for some reason, chan gets faster, funnier, and crazier as he gets older. this one is filmed in english too. but some people say they hate this movie because it has no story. that's just too bad for them, this is an action movie, not a story. one problem though, the hong kong version of a nice guy is much better. new line cinema redid many scenes and completely changed the symphonic, jazzy musical soundtrack. they cut out many scenes where miki is being slapped. they also cut the construction fight into pieces. they cut out some funny one-liners and physical humor, which i don't understand. they even cut out jackie's singing during the out takes. but what can i do about it. jackie broke his neck while messing up a back flip, that's always good. phenominal choreography and stunt coordination. i thought this was just the perfect action movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice unlisted bonus feature, Feb. 4 2003
By 
K. Byerly (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
This film is a middling effort from Jackie Chan--it doesn't disappoint. It's not his best but far from his worst.
That said, this disc is worth it for a couple of reasons: First, it is priced cheaply. Second, the Jackie Chan filmography feature contains clips from other films that you can view by clicking on them. These include a Rush Hour trailer and a scene from Rumble in the Bronx, but most notably, the *entire* ladder fight sequence from First Strike. Considering that the ladder fight is easily the best scene in First Strike, this to me was almost like getting both movies at once. For a low price you get one solid full-length film, as well as the standout fight sequence from another film which was otherwise less remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Jackie rules....this movie, however, is awful., March 30 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Jackie Chan is one of the most talented people working in entertainment today, and probably the greatest action star ever. Mr. Nice Guy however, is a horrible movie. Combine a cheesy and absurd script with 90% brain-dead actors and you get Mr. Nice Guy. The only thing that saves this is a few cool stunts and fights, although there is nothing here that would make any of his Hong Kong films look outclassed in the least. Also notable is a humorous cameo with the director, Samo Hung, who is also Jackie's lifetime friend. If you want to see some of Jackie's great work, check out Police Story, Drunken Master 2, Project A or Armor Of God 2 (AKA Operation Condor). Unless your a serious Jackie fan, don't bother with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Nice Guy (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 10.71 CDN$ 9.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews