Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Van Damme classic
Like its predecessor 'Bloodsport,' 'Kickboxer' is a showcase for the young Belgian karate expert Jean-Claude Van Damme. Like the character he played in 'Bloodsport' (Dux), Van Damme played a likeable, underdog fighter who has to overcome great odds against a hulking fighter who crippled his kickboxing champion brother. The training and trials he goes through to finally...
Published on March 18 2004 by urnotinkansasanymore

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Subpar
I am a VanDamme fan, so I've watched this movie several times. Each time, I keep hoping it will be better than the last. I think this movie is a cheap (even though it cost more) ripoff of Bloodsport. I think they just wanted another Bloodsport since that one did so well. Van Damme is a little too self-congratulory. The relationship is fairly unbelievable. And that part at...
Published on May 20 2004 by Roman S. Van Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Van Damme classic, March 18 2004
Like its predecessor 'Bloodsport,' 'Kickboxer' is a showcase for the young Belgian karate expert Jean-Claude Van Damme. Like the character he played in 'Bloodsport' (Dux), Van Damme played a likeable, underdog fighter who has to overcome great odds against a hulking fighter who crippled his kickboxing champion brother. The training and trials he goes through to finally avenge his brother is reminescent of numerous Chinese kung fu movies.
'Kickboxer' and 'Bloodsport' are to martial arts what Rocky 1-4 are to boxing. You can't help but cheer for the little guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Scene Ever!, June 18 2004
By 
"mjkonevich" (Medfield, MA. United States) - See all my reviews
This movie is unbelieveable! The reason it is unbelieveable? One scene, and one scene only. The dancing scene in the middle of the movie. It goes like this...Van Damme and his wily master go to a dive bar. His master makes him drink a mystery liquor. Van Damme, being the dork that he is in this movie (he is wearing a body suit/tank top at the bar that has clamps that connect at the shoulder, this keeps the shirt from falling off and makes Van Damme look like a dink), gets hammered. He is then forced to dance... With a shreek "AYYYEE", his master cues the music and movie history is made! Van Damme shakes his hips and does his splits, attracting all the babes...and Tong Po's gang! But who cares about those hooligans, Van Damme is getting his groove back better than Stella ever thought possible! The gang attacks him, and he pummels those lousy goons. "You got Served!" has nothing on Van Damme! He would serve those suckahs like he does Tong Po at the end! Nut-Sue Cow (White Warrior in Thai) to you all! What this movie teaches us is that Van Damme's ballet lessons did not actually teach him to "cut a rug", and that his brother is Latino? Buy this movie for this scene, trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a martial arts flick, July 28 2003
Ok, so this movie came out in the 80s when every sports-oriented movie featured some rip-off song that was supposed to sound like "Eye of the Tiger," and the men had blow-dried hair and the acting was way too melodramatic...and yet, Kickboxer is still a damn good movie despite having these inherent flaws. Van Damme is mainly a martial artist, not an actor, but he does one thing that none of the other action stars could ever do---he makes you feel sympathetic towards him. He can act distressed, scared, out of control with fear, and we actually believe him. Stallone, Schwartzenegger and Segal sure as hell couldn't do it, but Van Damme can. Because of this, you really feel for his character in this film. We follow him during his training to become a kickboxer and we feel his pain and his frustration. His "master," by the way, does some of the best acting of any person who has ever starred in any martial arts film. He's hilarious! While the fight scenes are good, they only make up about 20 minutes of this 90 minute movie. Although there are some really cheesy moments and a few bits of ridiculously bad dialogue, all in all this movie should be rated tops in the genre or martial arts flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting and underrated fighting movie, Nov. 22 2000
This review is from: Kickboxer [Import] (VHS Tape)
"Kickboxer" was one of Jean-Claude Van Damme's first good fighting movies. Now he's made several, but this is one of the movies that got him recognized as a great actor and a great fighter in movies. Kurt Sloane (Jean-Claude Van Damme) makes it his mission to seek revenge and ultimately fight Tong Po, the Thai kickboxer that paralyzed his brother Eric Sloane (Dennis Alexio). But if Kurt wants to earn a fight with Tong Po, he has to train and learn the style of Thai fighting. With the help of Xian (Dennis Chan), he just might have the chance.
I've seen just about all of Van Damme's movies, and I still think that "Kickboxer" is one of his best. It has a lot of great fighting in it, and the training that Xian puts Kurt through to get him prepared for the big fight was another great thing about the movie. The training sequences seemed a lot like real karate training. When Tong Po and Kurt finally fight, it was some of the best fighting action I've ever seen in a movie.
"Kickboxer" isn't the best Van Damme movie, but it is exciting and it's one of his best. It was a great movie to kickstart Jean-Claude Van Damme's career as an actor in fighting movies. It's hard to believe that the directors didn't pick Van Damme to be in any of the other Kickboxer movies because he did a good job in this one. If you like fighting movies, I definitely recommend getting "Kickboxer."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic, The Best, June 30 2004
This has to be the best Van Damne movie with Bloodsport and Hard Target, get this movie its Van Damne's best, 4.8/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Subpar, May 20 2004
By 
Roman S. Van Allen (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a VanDamme fan, so I've watched this movie several times. Each time, I keep hoping it will be better than the last. I think this movie is a cheap (even though it cost more) ripoff of Bloodsport. I think they just wanted another Bloodsport since that one did so well. Van Damme is a little too self-congratulory. The relationship is fairly unbelievable. And that part at the end when Kurt is angry with his girl (cant remember her name), demanding the truth that she was raped and beaten by TongPo (his nemesis), instead of consoling her. She decided not to tell him because she doesnt want to disturb his concentration, but instead starts crying and begging forgiveness for her inexcusable behavoir. You can tell they filmed it that way to get the "the girl has done him wrong too" feeling going. Ugh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Action Movie!, Dec 15 2000
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kickboxer [Import] (VHS Tape)
This was a very good movie about karate fighting. Van Damme's brother who is champion of the arena takes on a new challenger. After watching the new challenger warming up Van Damme urges his brother to drop out of the fight. Van Damme's brother loses the fight and his title. He is also paralyzed as a result of the beating that he recieves from the Thai fighter. Van Damme decides to seek vengance for his brother's injury. He learns the Thai method of karate from a master. He has a few fights before he fights the man who crippled hid brother. Van Damme is finally able to gain vengance after a wild battle. Once again Van Damme prevails. This is a very good movie that you should watch. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Van Damme was never in better shape than in this film., July 14 2000
By 
"jmoyer5" (Van Hornesville, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kickboxer [Import] (VHS Tape)
NO, it is not a great film and it is corny. However due to Van Damme's fantastic build in this film as well as supporting roles by real kickboxer Dennis Alexio and the great "Tiger" Tong Po playing himself, the film is entertaining for a fan of the genre. I also found the training sequences to be very inspiring if watched while working out. Overall, an engaging movie with bad acting (JCVD must do the worst job of acting drunk in all of film history, but hey, he's never gonna be Foster Brooks.) that a martial arts fan can appreciate. It also brought Muay Tai into the bad action movie spotlight for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a marvellous stuff!, July 20 2000
This review is from: Kickboxer [Import] (VHS Tape)
Well, to be honest, I think this is an excellent film. It has lots of fighting scenes. My favourite bit of this film is when Jean Claude Vandamme training with his master. I have actually watched it about seven times now and I still not get enough of it. Some other people say this film only worth four stars, but in my opinion this film worth at least four and half stars. I am actually is a karate kid, so when I was watching this film, I could learn a lot of kicks from it. So if anyone is very keen at karate, they should definitely buy this, not just rent it! Fool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a marvellous stuff!, July 20 2000
This review is from: Kickboxer [Import] (VHS Tape)
Well, to be honest, I think this is an excellent film. It has lots of fighting scenes. My favourite bit of this film is when Jean Claude Vandamme training with his master. I have actually watched it about seven times now and I still not get enough of it. Some other people say this film only worth four stars, but in my opinion this film worth at least four and half stars. I am actually is a karate kid, so when I was watching this film, I could learn a lot of kicks from it. So if anyone is very keen at karate, they should definitely buy this, not just rent it! Fool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kickboxer
Kickboxer by Mark DiSalle (DVD)
CDN$ 59.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews