Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic, The Best
This has to be the best Van Damne movie with Bloodsport and Hard Target, get this movie its Van Damne's best, 4.8/5
Published on June 30 2004 by Chase

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Muy Thai in the 80's
Not to many Muy Thai movies around, this is not the best one, but when this movie came out it was good! This is one of Van Damm's better movies to have in your martial arts collection; although a little cheesy it's still entertaining to this day.
The DVD is not in its original ratio (1.85,I believe) so I would buy the R2 version and skip this one!
Published on Feb. 25 2004 by Rafael Amado


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic, The Best, June 30 2004
This has to be the best Van Damne movie with Bloodsport and Hard Target, get this movie its Van Damne's best, 4.8/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome movie, June 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kickboxer [Import] (DVD)
I saw this movie long ago and have always wanted it. This one I bought for my daughter who was very happy. She has wanted it for so long. I will purchase it again for myself later. You can't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Van Damme classic, March 18 2004
Like its predecessor 'Bloodsport,' 'Kickboxer' is a showcase for the young Belgian karate expert Jean-Claude Van Damme. Like the character he played in 'Bloodsport' (Dux), Van Damme played a likeable, underdog fighter who has to overcome great odds against a hulking fighter who crippled his kickboxing champion brother. The training and trials he goes through to finally avenge his brother is reminescent of numerous Chinese kung fu movies.
'Kickboxer' and 'Bloodsport' are to martial arts what Rocky 1-4 are to boxing. You can't help but cheer for the little guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the movie is pretty good, but i didn't like the music, Aug. 23 2007
"kickboxer" is one of Jean Claude Van Damme's earlier and better
efforts.for a fan of the martial arts,it should satisfy.there aren't a
lot of fight scenes,but what there is--is pretty good.there is however,
one complaint i do have with this movie,and it's not so much the movie
itself.it's the songs.i didn't like them at all.i did like the training
montages.i thought they were kind of cool to watch,although they are
pretty much the same as in "Bloodsport", a previous Van Damme Vehicle.i
don't think this movie is as good as "Bloodsport",but it is still
entertaining.for me,"Kickboxer is a 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Scene Ever!, June 18 2004
By 
"mjkonevich" (Medfield, MA. United States) - See all my reviews
This movie is unbelieveable! The reason it is unbelieveable? One scene, and one scene only. The dancing scene in the middle of the movie. It goes like this...Van Damme and his wily master go to a dive bar. His master makes him drink a mystery liquor. Van Damme, being the dork that he is in this movie (he is wearing a body suit/tank top at the bar that has clamps that connect at the shoulder, this keeps the shirt from falling off and makes Van Damme look like a dink), gets hammered. He is then forced to dance... With a shreek "AYYYEE", his master cues the music and movie history is made! Van Damme shakes his hips and does his splits, attracting all the babes...and Tong Po's gang! But who cares about those hooligans, Van Damme is getting his groove back better than Stella ever thought possible! The gang attacks him, and he pummels those lousy goons. "You got Served!" has nothing on Van Damme! He would serve those suckahs like he does Tong Po at the end! Nut-Sue Cow (White Warrior in Thai) to you all! What this movie teaches us is that Van Damme's ballet lessons did not actually teach him to "cut a rug", and that his brother is Latino? Buy this movie for this scene, trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does it get any better?, May 30 2004
"kick the tree"
I rate this as Van Damme's best movie. Out of all the movies he has done, I think only 8 or so are good.
This movie has a decent story, ok acting and a great performance by a young Van Damme.
Cover is nice, no special features though.
Again, Van Damme is terrific in this action flick, on top of his game.
If you like a good action movie, especially a martial arts one, Kickboxer belongs in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Subpar, May 20 2004
By 
Roman S. Van Allen (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a VanDamme fan, so I've watched this movie several times. Each time, I keep hoping it will be better than the last. I think this movie is a cheap (even though it cost more) ripoff of Bloodsport. I think they just wanted another Bloodsport since that one did so well. Van Damme is a little too self-congratulory. The relationship is fairly unbelievable. And that part at the end when Kurt is angry with his girl (cant remember her name), demanding the truth that she was raped and beaten by TongPo (his nemesis), instead of consoling her. She decided not to tell him because she doesnt want to disturb his concentration, but instead starts crying and begging forgiveness for her inexcusable behavoir. You can tell they filmed it that way to get the "the girl has done him wrong too" feeling going. Ugh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Muy Thai in the 80's, Feb. 25 2004
By 
Rafael Amado (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not to many Muy Thai movies around, this is not the best one, but when this movie came out it was good! This is one of Van Damm's better movies to have in your martial arts collection; although a little cheesy it's still entertaining to this day.
The DVD is not in its original ratio (1.85,I believe) so I would buy the R2 version and skip this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My fav Van Damne movie ever, Nov. 28 2003
This movie kicked ass, with karate fighting.He fights Tong Po and kicks his ass.This is the best Van Damne movie ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Van Damme's best films EVER!, Nov. 27 2003
Very cool film. Revenge, training, corruption and FIGHTING.
This movie stands tall, up there with the best of Van Damme.
Great film, great final fight.
I would recommend buying this movie on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb286f8e8)

This product

Kickboxer [Import]
Kickboxer [Import] by Mark DiSalle (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 26.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews