Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Leave it to Beaver
Leave it to Beaver. I think everyone has seen that television show at least once, and I know that I, for one, loved it... even though it was completely unrealistic. But who cares? It was a cute little show.
The movie is the exact same way; don't expect something COMPLETELY lifelike... but DO expect something a bit different from the original show. The Cleavers have...
Published on July 10 2004 by Theatre Kidd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Meta-Beav?
It's interesting to compare this film with "The Brady Bunch Movie", another big-screen adaptation of a ubiquitous old TV sitcom that appeared in theaters a year or two earlier.
Both movies take a postmodern approach, self-consciously referencing the period origins of the source material. But whereas "Brady" used this to a comically dichotomous...
Published on April 29 2004 by mister big


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Leave it to Beaver, July 10 2004
Leave it to Beaver. I think everyone has seen that television show at least once, and I know that I, for one, loved it... even though it was completely unrealistic. But who cares? It was a cute little show.
The movie is the exact same way; don't expect something COMPLETELY lifelike... but DO expect something a bit different from the original show. The Cleavers have been updated... and I think my favorite part was when Mrs. Cleaver told Eddie Haskill off... that was great.
The characters have a great performance, too... Adam Zolotin was a great Eddie Haskill, and Christopher McDonald was the perfect Ward.
And watch out for cameo appearances from a couple of the original stars of the series. Those were great to see.
All in all, if you want to see a movie that makes you think, don't get it. It isn't that kind of a thing... but for a family movie, I don't think that there's a better one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meta-Beav?, April 29 2004
By 
mister big "misterbig" (Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
It's interesting to compare this film with "The Brady Bunch Movie", another big-screen adaptation of a ubiquitous old TV sitcom that appeared in theaters a year or two earlier.
Both movies take a postmodern approach, self-consciously referencing the period origins of the source material. But whereas "Brady" used this to a comically dichotomous effect (placing the literally-stuck-in-the-'70s clan inside a dysfunctional '90s Los Angeles), "Beaver" attempts a synthesis in which '50s cultural mores and aesthetic values still hold sway in the present day. Thus, we're treated on the one hand to such contemporary accoutrements as home PCs, cell phones, and flat-screen televisions--at one point Ward and a miniskirted(?!) June are seen watching a "Home Improvement" episode--and on the other hand to such iconic '50s paraphernalia as white picket fences, soda shops, pigtailed little girls, teenage guys in letterman sweaters, and women in ever-present pearls and high heels.
While the overall tone of this film is sweetly nostalgic rather than abrasively ironic a la the "Brady" movie, one can't help feeling that at some level we're being winked at; viewed in a certain light, this "Beaver" could almost be taken as a sly satire of Republican family values posturing and '50s fetishism. There's a decidedly Stepfordian quality to much of the film, particularly in Janine Turner's portrayal of June. On the other hand, it's difficult to imagine a "straight" update of the show that wouldn't in some way have sacrificed either plausibility or the spirit of the original.
Nonetheless, on a less critical level this movie works as serviceable family entertainment. Parents, especially those put off by the aforementioned "Brady Bunch" film, will be relieved at "Beaver"'s gentle, kid-friendly quality; and fans of the original will delight in some well-placed cameo appearances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a winner!;), March 25 2004
By 
Drew T. Roe (Murray, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, I definitely liked this movie! I know many of the reviews on this page seem to think it was terrible, and perhaps if I had grown up with the TV show, I would agree. However, I didn't, and so I don't! I really enjoyed this movie. I thought it was just a fun, heartwarming movie that will make anyone laugh, if only a little bit. At the end of watching this movie, I was happy. That's all I can say. I didn't try comparing it to the TV show, I just decided to watch a movie, and I have no regrets. It was fun, and it would always be what I would recommend to relieve some stress at the end of a long day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars "Hey, Wally,I Think We Got Tooken", Jan. 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Leave It to Beaver (VHS Tape)
"Yeah,Beav, this is a real gyp." This sad effort resembles the original in name only; the cast, script, and direction all reek of pure incompetence, and the ineptitude of all those connected with this film is clearly demonstrated at every turn. This horrific mess is nothing less than a travesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No, Beaver, Just Leave It!, Dec 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Leave It to Beaver (VHS Tape)
Fans of the original sitcom will find this sorry little film to be an outright travesty. The premise is silly, the script is dreadful, the acting is deplorable, and director Andy Cadiff clearly does not know what he is doing. Stick with the original series, which is light-years ahead of this piece of junk. "Hey, Gilbert, let's take this crummy movie over to Metzger's Field and bury it." "I don't know, Beav - I don't think it's worth burying - let's burn it."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Effort, But With Some Enlightening Moments, July 30 2003
By 
J. Reynolds (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This was a crumby remake of a bona fide classic television show, and might be considered okay if you never saw the real thing. For old Beaver fans, though, the film had its (rare) moments. Christopher McDonald's portrayal of Ward Cleaver was very close, and he truly shone a couple of times when expressing irritation -- he captured the exact tone we used to hear from Hugh Beaumont, when his "Ward" was upset or angry. The effect, though brief, was hilarious.
And we realize from this film that Ken Osmond's "Eddie Haskell" was a superstar of a television character, an unforgettable icon of teenage obnoxiousness -- and no one in the universe could ever portray Eddie with the same gusto, spirit and benign teen sleaze as Ken Osmond did.
It's time for the old Beaver episodes to be put on DVD, so new generations can enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars We want the original Beaver!, Feb. 5 2003
By A Customer
When I searched on "Leave it to Beaver" I was hoping to find the original episodes. So many t.v. shows are now available on sets of DVDs, I thought for sure Beaver would be. After all, it is one of the most popular shows ever. How disappointing. I guess we can only hope the owners and current producers see fit to put it out in that form...soon! I can't imagine it not making them a tidy sum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars "Ward, I'm Worried About The Beaver", Dec 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Leave It to Beaver (VHS Tape)
Well, June, you should be worried. Once again, a bunch of Hollywood quick-buck artists have succeeded in producing a dreadful film supposedly based upon a classic sitcom. This sad little piece of junk has no redeeming qualities, as the cast, script, and direction are all equally atrocious. The persons who produced this sorry mess should be profoundly embarrassed and ashamed, but they are probably as lacking in shame as they are in talent.
"Hey, Wally, who do you think did this to me? Do ya think it mighta been Eddie or Lumpy?" "Naw, Beav, Eddie's a wise guy, but he's not that mean, and Lumpy's pretty dumb, but even he's not stupid enough to have done this; I guess somebody's out to get ya." "I don't know, Wally; it's kinda scary. Larry Mondello could have done better than this." "Yeah, Beav, somebody sure gave ya the business this time."
Yes, Andy Cadiff and his accomplices gave us all the business when they turned out this garbage; there is simply no excuse for a film this bad. Watch the re-runs on TV, and skip this disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming and entertaining, Nov. 14 2002
By 
This review is from: Leave It to Beaver (VHS Tape)
.
The cynics of this world will never understand this movie, as it presents reality through the eyes of one who is innocent and without guile of any sort. In short, it is a world seen throught the innocent eyes of "The Beav". There are no killings, there is no swearing, and people in the movie represent virtues that seem alien and foreign in today's society. (Stepping off soapbox...)
The movie is thoroughly entertaining and heart warming. The depiction of the Cleaver family is truly a study in the values of simple people trying to cope with the everyday problems of doing the right thing, and adapting to situations which require the ultimate sacrafice...their own ambitions and agenda for their love of each other. The director has done a great job in preventing the movie from being campy. He skirts this invisible line in the sand a few times, but pulls back just in time to maintain real innocense
Cameos by some of the former stars of the original television series make their re-debut in the film, which is great.
The portrayal of Beaver and Wally by the actors is fantastic. There genuinely seems to be a strong rapport between these two movie brothers and this comes through on the screen. The other characters in the movie are well casted. You'll see the "new" Eddie Haskel (the original Eddie is this movies' Eddie's father), the new Gilbert, Larry, and Fred Rutherford among others. Each one doesn't try to overplay their part, but they all give a nice rendition of the original members of the television show.
The music scoring is wonderful as well. Some of the passages are slightly overdone, but never intruding. The composer has really done a great job in fitting the mood of the movie with music that moving and warm. The score is very strong and adds quite a bit to the feeling of the movie.
The movie moves along quite well, and gives you the gist of what the original television series was about without being too much of a clone. There are a few twists here and there to make you smile.
The movie is quite a departure from your standard fair of violence and "reality" based television and film. If you are able to pull down the strongholds of cynicism, you will enjoy this movie. This is a wonderful film and a diamond in the rough. It serves as a reminder to by-gone days where simple values were the norm and not the exception. Loyalty, love, family unity, honesty, sucess, and determination...walk into the past and go back to a time and place where things are so different that you'll swear that you've entered another dimension...a dimension of of space and time...A place called Mayfield, USA. (Apologies to Rod Serling)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Gee wiz, Wally. That was a bad movie., Aug. 7 2002
By A Customer
This was one of the worst movies ever made. I enjoy watching the Leave it to Beaver shows, but the characters in the movie were nothing like they are in the shows. I was very dissapointed. Also, Eddie Hascel in the movie was a terrible actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leave It to Beaver [Import]
Leave It to Beaver [Import] by Andy Cadiff (DVD - 1998)
CDN$ 56.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews