Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure delight
This movie is a bit of a forgotten gem featuring the same main cast from A Fish Called Wanda, but with different characters in a different setting. When a large American corporation takes over a small British zoo, shenanigans follow when the new director decides the best way to increase the number of visitors (and profits) is to only feature "fierce animals." The...
Published on May 24 2012 by almondesque

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not-So-Beautiful plumage
I won't compare this movie to Wanda, I promise. But while Fierce creatures has many hilarious moments, that doesn't really help classify it as a 4 star movie - 3.5 at the most.

My main problem is that most of the jokes simply seem too weak - I find this hard to explain, other than trying to compare it with Oscar - both have funny moments, but most of the humor...
Published on March 3 2002 by impitbosshereonlevel2


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not-So-Beautiful plumage, March 3 2002
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
I won't compare this movie to Wanda, I promise. But while Fierce creatures has many hilarious moments, that doesn't really help classify it as a 4 star movie - 3.5 at the most.

My main problem is that most of the jokes simply seem too weak - I find this hard to explain, other than trying to compare it with Oscar - both have funny moments, but most of the humor simply falls flat.

And while I promised to leave Wanda out of this, I must say that had I rented this movie first, and had it not been a "sequel" to one of the funniest comedies, I would not have bought it (even though I'm a big fan of Monty Python and the great John Cleese).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fiercely Painful, Sept. 6 2001
By 
Leonard Lato (Quogue, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (VHS Tape)
The acting of the talented John Cleese and Michael Palin cannot save this movie, which lacks even a single funny moment. The movie's premise -- pretend that tame zoo animals are fierce to attract visitors and increase profitability -- is bad enough, but the dialogue is about the worst I've ever heard. Jamie Lee Curtis can be excellent, but she is terrible here because of the abysmal script. The same sexual jokes are repeated over and over, and when Kevin Kline passes gas over and over, the viewer is reminded not of Blazing Saddles but of a moviemaker attempting to force a laugh when there is nothing to laugh about. Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure delight, May 24 2012
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
This movie is a bit of a forgotten gem featuring the same main cast from A Fish Called Wanda, but with different characters in a different setting. When a large American corporation takes over a small British zoo, shenanigans follow when the new director decides the best way to increase the number of visitors (and profits) is to only feature "fierce animals." The keepers go to extreme lengths to save the zoo and their beloved furry friends who don't fall under the category of "fierce."

Not exactly a movie for kids, as there is a lot of sexual innuendo, and some coarse language, but it's a fun movie and one of my personal favourites. It always puts me in a good mood and is my go-to movie when I need a pick-me-up. The zookeeper in the porcupine costume never fails to make me smile, and the scene with the tarantula is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movies presented badly, July 14 2004
By 
Chris Truax (Cadillac, Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
This is a very good movie but to get the feel of the full story it needs to be seen in the original aspect ratio of 2.35 to 1.Many scenes edges are chopped off and distractingly paned across.
Universal releases several other of its popular (and not so popular)films in widesceen format so why not this popular movie. I would recommend the widescreen version of the video tape if you can find it over the full screen dvd.
So to Universal get this movie on dvd the way it was filmed and intended to be seen, please !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pan and Scan Caution, March 31 2010
By 
D. George "KootenayFilmFan" (Kootenay Lake, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
I was not aware at first that this DVD would be a Pan-and-scanned version, so called Full Frame (1.33:1). This film was originally released in Cinemascope with a ratio of 2.40:1, and it is an insult to us fans of Michael Palin, John Cleese, Jamie Lee Curtis and Kevin Kline to only offer us 55 per cent of the original image. Yes, when a Cinemascope film is pan-and-scanned, it is cropped horizontally so that one does not see 45 per cent of the picture. Would you go to a movie theatre to see only 55 per cent of a movie? I think not.
Perhaps the process should be call Pan-and Scam. Two thumbs down to Universal for inflicting this on us. Write or email Universal if you want a widescreen release. Meantime, remember that MGM released A Fish Called Wanda with the same cast in the original proper ratio of 1.85:1. Four stars for the movie itself, two stars for the lack of a widescreen version; average three stars. (Note: this is the third time I have tried to post a similar review of this film. First two were apparently rejected by Amazon with no feedback to me about why...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Cleese at his best, March 11 2004
By 
Joseph J. Slevin (Carlsbad, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
This movie caught me by surprise. Having not seen "A Fish Called Wanda" I was greatly surprised by the interaction of the characters in this very funny movie.
The movie starts a little slow at first with Cline and Curtis and Kevin Cline is not at his best in this film, he plays more of a straight man and does that well.
The movie is a take off of the Rupert Murdoch empire and is a slam at the Merger and Acquisition frenzy of the mid to late 90s where companies were acquired then sold off if not a cash cow and the proceeds used to buy other companies.
In this case the company that Octopus - The name of Kevin Cline's company- acquires is a zoo in London.
There are some great plays with the animals and the scenes where Cline and Curtis think that Rollo Lee (Cleese) is a casanova are just hilarious.
I was in stiches watching this funny and even heart warming film. The animals will make you go ahhhhh. The fluffy zoo animals, the not fierce ones, are what make it a guy/girl movie and Cleese does a great job of bringing his characters together.
This is a must if you want to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Apparently, a minority opinion, Feb. 16 2004
By 
Bob Stout (Houston, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
Unlike others, I liked this much more than "A Fish Called Wanda". I can't really say why - all the principal actors are the same. Perhaps it's just that it's not as edgy as "Wanda" and I'm a sucker for a comedy with a streak of sweetness. Michael Palin was funnier in Wanda, but Kevin Kline's dual role here is suitably smarmy and villainous without going as far over the top as I felt he did in "Wanda". Jamie Lee Curtis is good in both, but John Cleese really won me over with his hapless charm as the wannabe corporate exec with a heart of gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly dreadful, Feb. 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (VHS Tape)
The only explanation for so many positive reviews here is the existence of some sort of negative universe where up is down and bad is good. The whole premise is completely lame and the execution is even worse. The usual dependable Kline is just horrible here. He's trying to revive his dumb guy role from Wanda but he's WAY over the top, almost shouting every line. Everything about this movie is forced and awkward. Cleese, while hilarious in Fawlty Towers, simply tries to use the same elements from that show here but his performance falls totally flat given the abysmal script, that apparently only he is to blame. His performance looks forced and out of place. There isn't a single funny scene or performance in this entire mess. What a waste of so much talent.
Buy Fawlty Towers to see top notch writing and razor sharp acting and Cleese at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kline is very good but Cleese and Curtis aren't in bad form., Aug. 26 2003
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
Only four stars because one tends to compare it with "A FISH CALLED WANDA" (wich is perfect slapstick), but if it was'nt for that could have rated five stars.
Anyway a good laugh without been overtly offensive or gross (qite a trick nowadays mind...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Startlingly Weak Follow-Up to a Classic Comedy, April 6 2003
By 
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
Fierce Creatures is a follow-up (not, strictly speaking, a sequel - the storyline is different and no previous characters appear) to the extremely successful British comedy film A Fish Called Wanda.
A Fish Called Wanda is a minor classic.
This isn't.
Presumably the cast (John Cleese, Michael Palin, Kevin Kline and Jamie Lee-Curtis were all in A Fish Called Wanda) had a lot of fun the first time round because they have all turned out for this attempt. It falls pretty flat, unfortunately. The story is fairly weak and cliched (repressed British man takes over running a zoo for an American corporation, has to improve profits or zoo will close, decides to get rid of all non-fierce creatures [and their handlers] to improve visitor numbers...), as are the characters. In fairness, nobody expects this to be Merchant-Ivory, but it happens not to be funny either, and that's a pretty big stumbling block. Whereas A Fish Called Wanda has aged well, this feels like a throwback to the worst of British television comedy of the 1970s. Lots of mugging and some inelegant slapstick. I'm a fan of both Cleese and Palin, but the feeling in this film is that they've just dusted off a couple of old stock routines (gurning and funny voices from Palin, lots of flapping around and generally looking gangly and harrassed from Cleese) and phoned them in.
In fairness, there are a couple of genuinely funny moments. If the film is on TV and there's nothing else to do it's the sort of thing that will kill a couple of hours fairly well. But I wouldn't spend money on it. Not beyond a one-off rental fee anyway.
The film has received mixed reviews on this website. Some people seem to quite like it. Maybe I'm just turning into a tired, embittered jade. Who knows. But I think the advice here really does have to be "try before you buy". And if you are expecting something int he A Fish Called Wanda league, I would counsel you to play down your expectations now to avoid disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fierce Creatures
Fierce Creatures by Robert Young (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 12.95 CDN$ 9.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews