Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Was missing this from my collection, and its definitely one of my favorite comedies. Dan Ackroyd and John Candy make a hilarious duo.
Published 10 months ago by Amanda

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun-filled adventure
Saturday Night Live alum Dan Aykroyd and his fellow Canadian,the late great John Candy star in this fun-filled adventure about a vacation intruded by a brother. Aykroyd and Candy are brothers in the film. The intruder is Candy. He shows up without advance notice at his brother's family's lakeside retreat. A few years later,a similar scenario would be seen in the Bill...
Published on May 11 2004 by andy8047


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Super bon, June 2 2014
By 
Mart666 (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) (DVD)
J'adore cette comédie, bien des rires et quelques suspens. Ce serait bien de le remasteriser en blu-ray ! Je met 4 étoiles, car l'image pourrait être plus nette sur une tv actuelle, mais ce film n'est pas disponible en blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Sept. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) (DVD)
Was missing this from my collection, and its definitely one of my favorite comedies. Dan Ackroyd and John Candy make a hilarious duo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty decent John Candy film (3.5/5), Dec 10 2007
This review is from: The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) (DVD)
while i don't think this is the best John Candy movie made,it is still
pretty good.i guess it's considered a classic by now,being over 20
years old,and i think it deserves that status.it certainly has its
funny moments.and John Candy is just so likable,how could you not like
him?Dan Akroyd is also in the movie and he does good in his role.it's a
quality family movie,but there is a bit of mild language and implied
sexual innuendo.still,i don't think it's anything the whole family
couldn't watch,except maybe really young kids.there is a lot of
improvisation going on in this movie,which i really liked.the only
negative thing i can say about this movie is that it takes a bit of
time to get going.other than that that,it's a pretty good offering.
3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perennial Favorite, July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) (DVD)
We watch this movie at least once per summer while at the lake in Wisconsin. There's nothing like it to make the entire family crack up laughing with nearly every scene. This movie is as much a part of our family summer vacation as the stay in the Northwoods alone.
You can't go wrong with this classic movie, The Great Outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A play-it-safe kind of comedy, Sept. 16 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) (DVD)
You pretty much know that any film featuring both John Candy and Dan Aykroyd is going to generate some laughs, making The Great Outdoors a pretty safe bet for anyone in the mood for a little comedy - and comedy is basically all you should expect here (any film that supplies subtitles for raccoon conversations isn't really trying to express anything meaningful), despite the fact that John Hughes wrote the script. For once, Hughes' involvement does more harm than good. While The Great Outdoors is certainly a good movie, it's not a very good John Hughes movie. Of course, it's hard to follow 80s classics like The Breakfast Club and Pretty in Pink, but Hughes' heart just didn't seem to be in this one. This is best demonstrated by the teenaged romance part of the story, which stumbles from the start and really goes nowhere at all. When you come right down to it, there just isn't any real depth to any of the characters in this film - and that's just not something you expect to get from John Hughes.

All Chet Ripley (John Candy) wanted was a nice family vacation in the country, a week to relax with his wife and bond with his two boys, especially the older one (frankly, I'm not really sure why the younger son was even in the movie). What he got was a "surprise" in the form of his brother-in-law Roman Craig (Dan Aykroyd) and his rather strange family (with Annette Bening playing Mrs. Craig) turning up out of the blue to vacation right along with him. You can't just tell family to get out, though, even if that family includes an arrogant, rich, know-it-all like Roman. Chet does his best to grin and bear it, but you know it's just a matter of time before he loses it. When the inevitable does happen, it triggers a series of important events that re-draw some of the main characters, even giving Roman a heretofore unsuspected (albeit rather narrow) depth. Despite this, and a strangely insignificant summer romance between Buck (Chris Young) and a local girl (Lucy Deakins), The Great Outdoors really just plays for laughs and nothing else. Some of the more memorable scenes include Chet's wild water ski ride and, of course, the battle pitting Chet and Roman against a bat. You'll definitely laugh at several different moments, but the film never really elevates itself to the side-splitting plateau of comic genius. In many ways, this was a pretty safe comedy - it doesn't break any new ground, but it's a really comfortable fit. That would be okay for many a filmmaker, but The Great Outdoors just doesn't live up to John Hughes' usually higher standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One big laugh riot, June 21 2004
By 
Erica Anderson (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) (DVD)
I adore "The Great Outdoors". This is one of my favorite John Candy movies of all time. Yeah it is no Shakespeare but I wouldn't have it any other way. Dan Ackroyd plays the obnoxious brother-in-law who crashes John Candy's family vacation up in the woods at a cozy little resort. Dan brings his neglected wife played by Annette Benning and their identical twin daughters who are bit on the scary side. The results is a non-stop laugh riot. No many how many times I have watched this film, I still find myself laughing uncontrollably, especially when the raccoons comes out at night to raid the trash cans. I loved it when the young raccoon is told what hot dogs are made of. Anyone familiar with Doug Seuss's bears would know that this is one of the films that the late Bart the Bear made as the bald-headed bear. I loved the final interaction between John Candy's character and the bald-headed bear. It is one of the funniest scenes in the film, next to the water-skiing scene. One of the classic moments in the film is when the entire family goes out to dinner and John Candy decides to order the ol' 96er (this enormous chunk of beef). I personally love "The Great Outdoors". It remains one of my favorite movies from the '80s. It is pure physical comedy. There are a lot worse films than this if you ask me, namely Carrot Top's lone film "Chairman of the Board".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Family Movie, June 2 2004
By 
Gregory Masciola (Carol Stream, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a pretty good John Candy/Dan Aykroyd movie. While it's not as good as Uncle Buck or Planes, Trains & Automobiles, it's not bad at all. It's a great Summer/Family Comedy. It doesn't make me laugh and laugh, it's just fun to watch. I'll never stop liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fun-filled adventure, May 11 2004
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great Outdoors, the (VHS Tape)
Saturday Night Live alum Dan Aykroyd and his fellow Canadian,the late great John Candy star in this fun-filled adventure about a vacation intruded by a brother. Aykroyd and Candy are brothers in the film. The intruder is Candy. He shows up without advance notice at his brother's family's lakeside retreat. A few years later,a similar scenario would be seen in the Bill Murray-Richard Dreyfuss film WHAT ABOUT BOB?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This one is Great, April 16 2004
By 
Chris (St.Louis,MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) (DVD)
John Candy is on vacation and his rich brother Dan Ackroyd comes to visit and they get into it.The critics hate it but it is good entertainment with the Canoe and one of the best scenes ever the ole 96er when candy eats a 96oz Steak.
Story 8 Acting 10 Directing 8 Action 10 Entertainment 10
Overall=46/50 wich is a 4.5 star movie since it is under rated
I will give it a 4 star rating good job Dan and John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Outdoor Comedy, March 10 2004
This review is from: The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is one of the best comedys I have ever seen, ever!!!
Its a laugh out loud comedy which is timeless!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Outdoors (Widescreen)
The Great Outdoors (Widescreen) by Howard Deutch (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 10.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews