Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stir of Echoes
One of the most under rated movies to be released!! LIke thrillers? you will love this movie that should have never been released to compete with the sixth sense...... not even close. Amazing acting genuinely one of the best thrillers I have seen and I have a movie collection of over 1000 titles so I have seen a few
Published on Nov. 23 2009 by Alison Johnson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Defect
Love this movie, but it came with a scratch big enough that it will not play. I've never had trouble with Amazon before, so I let it slide. The movie wasn't expensive, and not worth the trouble of the return.
Published 9 months ago by Sascha Lipinski


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stir of Echoes, Nov. 23 2009
By 
Alison Johnson "Allie kat" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the most under rated movies to be released!! LIke thrillers? you will love this movie that should have never been released to compete with the sixth sense...... not even close. Amazing acting genuinely one of the best thrillers I have seen and I have a movie collection of over 1000 titles so I have seen a few
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice n Scary, April 28 2014
By 
Genny Walker (Toronto, Ontario, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kevin Bacon et al are great. i love the simplicity of the script and it's subtle twists n turns

received promptly and undamaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Defect, Oct. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stir of Echoes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love this movie, but it came with a scratch big enough that it will not play. I've never had trouble with Amazon before, so I let it slide. The movie wasn't expensive, and not worth the trouble of the return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ouuohuo!, June 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Moi et les films d'esprit, sauf que lui est un peu dur à digérer, on rentre vraiment dedans..et quand on apprend la fin..bleh! Film à voir si on aime écouter les films dans le noir et avoir la chair de poule!! Très bon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, June 15 2004
By 
chicoer2003 "chicoer2003" (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stir of Echoes [Import] (DVD)
Stir of Echoes is a good, supernatural thriller. It's above the other movies nowadays. Bacon is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Bacon? Never seen him so good., June 6 2004
By 
D S H (Upstate New York, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stir of Echoes [Import] (DVD)
This is a very clever film. I was a bit skeptical both because of it's lack of popularity and the fact that Kevin Bacon is in it. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Not only is this is a great story, it is well put together with many good actors/actresses.
There's not much to say, other than: If you want a good, rare movie pick this. I warn you however that I'm not promising your liking it. Although with the right mindset, anyone can enjoy this film. Just remember: "Don't be afraid."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Eerie and interesting... a good rental, April 1 2004
By 
SandmanVI (Glen Allen, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stir of Echoes [Import] (DVD)
A very watchable film that suffers from unfortunate timing of its release (so close to "Sixth Sense"). "Stir of Echoes" is based on a novel written long before "Sixth Sense" ever came out but this film will still be compared to the other due to obvious similarities and the fact the Bruce Willis film was seen by more people. Supernatural abilities involving interaction with the dead are central to the plot. This movie is pretty good and moves along rapidly but is not a must see by any means.
Rent it first. If you love this type of thing then maybe it's worth buying. Disclaimer: I don't own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, Feb. 10 2004
By 
K. Stuckey "kateling" (Port Huron, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stir of Echoes [Import] (DVD)
I rented this DVD after catching the beginning of this movie on TV. Kevin Bacon and Kathryn Erbe are a realistic couple - not overly attractive, they live in a gritty Chicago neighborhood and they like to party. During one party Kevin Bacon is hypnotized by his sister-in-law (played divinely by Illeana Douglas) and he starts seeing strange things. Quite convinced he is freaking out, he is haunted by the disturbing visions, until he finally embraces them and the pieces of the puzzle fall together and a neighborhood murder is solved. During the course of the film, it is also discovered his son has the gift.

This movie's best point is that it is scary without being gross-out gory, but the ending is kind of weird. The special features are decent enough and it holds up for repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TASTY BACON, Feb. 6 2004
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stir of Echoes [Import] (DVD)
STIR OF ECHOES demonstrates just how far Kevin Bacon has grown as an actor. Hard to believe this is the same guy who started out in FRIDAY THE 13TH, FOOTLOOSE and other mindless fluff. In his recent MYSTIC RIVER, I'm sure the only reason he didn't get an Oscar nomination is because Tim Robbins did and they didn't wanna do both of them? Anyway, in this highly atmospheric and chilling thriller, Director David Koepp leads Bacon, Kathryn Erbe and cast on a psychic journey of really creepy proportions. Kevin's scenes in digging up his yard, his house and the past of a ghostly scepter are riveting. A chilling and worthwhile adaptation of Matheson's masterful work.
As far as SIXTH SENSE goes, the similarities are minimal and both are great movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does it hurt to be dead?, Jan. 16 2004
By 
This review is from: Stir of Echoes [Import] (DVD)
How freaky was that line?(Zachary David Cope)who plays the little boy as Jake,and Kevin Bacon gives one of his better Performances as he gets hypnotized and goes crazy it seemes but really leads to a murder which is spine-chilling to follow and makes you watch it until the end.So dig this one up and Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stir of Echoes [Import]
Stir of Echoes [Import] by David Koepp (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 23.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews