Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Tender, Moving Story, June 16 2004
By 
K. Morgan (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Paperback)
Roses for Mama is the story of five siblings left on their own after their parents die a short time apart. The older siblings Thomas and Angela take on the roles as parents to their younger brother and sisters. Thomas tends to the fields while Angela does the running of the house. Times aren't always easy though as Angela realizes Thomas might soon take a wife and she'll be left on her own to deal with the children. Angela finds herself in a bit of a situation herself when she attracts the attention of a neighbor.
This story was very touching and moving. The characters were so real that the reader can't help but feel sorry for them and want so badly for them to succeed. Angela tries so hard to teach her younger siblings the lessons their mom taught her before her death. Readers without a doubt can identify with this young girl who is forced into adulthood and has the challenge of being a mother to three growing children. This book is so well written, as are all Janette Oke books, that is is easy to understand the ups and downs of daily life for these characters. This book was so easy to read that I was able to read it in a day.
It is great to know there are authors who write books about everyday people doing everyday things. This would be a great book for anyone from grandmother to granddaughter. It has likable characters, values, and great settings. A great book to read and share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Perfect, April 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Paperback)
The touching story "Roses for Mama," could not have been written better. Jannete Oke used her warm, comforting style of writing to make her readers laugh with the characters and cry with the characters. Oke described the character's feelings and surrounding so well, it seemed as if you were actually in the story!! None of the story was missing...except the sequel! I can't wait for that to come out (hopefully, she will write one). I mean, she described beautifully every point in the story. In some of her other books, it seems as though she didn't exactly know how to give the details of what she was talking about. Therefore; she would just tell us what happened, not necessarily show us what happened. However, that was most definitely not the case with this book. In other words, I didn't find myself wanting to know more about certain scenes, she described them all. Furthermore, on top of having beautiful, let me emphasize beautiful, writing techniques, the plot was well thought out, charming, and very enjoyable.
This story is about a 17-year-old girl Angela and her struggle to survive. When Angela was 14, her mother and father both died, much to the sadness of her and her siblings. She and Thomas, her 19-year-old brother, were left to fend for themselves, while trying to care for their younger siblings. Although Angela is only 17, it seems as though all of the fun from life has been sucked away. For, she solely, well...with the little bit of help her siblings, has to take over the duties has to take over the duties a grown woman would do,such as washing, ironing, cleaning, and meal preparing, but at age 17. The struggle, however, is not keeping her sibling's bodies healthy, Angela feels she is quite prepared for that job because of the long talks she had with her mother before she died. The struggle is finding the wisdom, courage, and knowledge, to go about giving the children what their souls need. She, to the best of her ability and knowledge, tries teaching the children the truths and lessons she felt her mother would have been teaching the children if she were still living. Even as she struggles with raising her family, she trusts God, believing truly that He will provide for and take care of her little family.
As the days go by, Angela meets and falls in love with the young, attractive, and VERY wealthy Carter Stratton, much to the disappointment of Thane, who has had his Angela for some time now. How Angela wishes her mother was still there to guide and help her thourgh the tough times of courtship. (Thane has been a friend of the family ever since Thomas and Angela were little, bringing the younger one's lemon drops, ribbons, and other little gifts.) Will she marry Carter or will Thane woo her away? Will she find the much needed and much wanted joy in her life? Will the Derek, Louise, and Sarah (her 3 younger siblings) grow up to be the man and women her parents had so wanted them to be? And lastly, where does the title, "Roses for Mama," come in? Read to find out.
p.s. this is my 3rd time reading it! and all three times, i read them in a matter of a few days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Perfect and Unique, April 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Paperback)
The touching story "Roses for Mama," could not have been written better. Jannete Oke used her warm, comforting style of writing to make her readers laugh with the characters and cry with the characters. Oke described the character's feelings and surrounding so well, it seemed as if you were the person she was talking about! None of the story was missing...except the sequel! I can't wait for that to come out (hopefully, she will write one). I mean, she described beautifully every point in the story. In some of her other books, it seems as though she didn't exactly know how to give the details of what she was talking about. Therefore; she would just tell us what happened, not necessarily show us what happened. However, that was most definitely not the case with this book. In other words, I didn't find myself wanting to know more about certain scenes, she described them all. Furthermore, on top of having beautiful, let me emphasize beautiful, writing techniques, the plot was well thought out, charming, and very enjoyable.
This story is about a 17-year-old girl Angela and her struggle to survive. When Angela was about 13, her mother and father both died, much to the sadness of her and her siblings. She and Thomas, her 19-year-old brother, were left to fend for themselves, while trying to care for their younger siblings. Although Angela is only 17, it seems as though all of the fun from life has been sucked away. For, she solely, well...with the little bit of help her siblings, has to take over the duties at age 17, such as washing, ironing, cleaning, and meal preparing. Angela feels she is quite prepared to give her younger siblings what their BODIES need, however; she does worry about giving the children what their SOULS need. She, to the best of her ability and knowledge, tries teaching the children the truths and lessons she felt her mother would have been teaching the children if she were still living. Even as she struggles with raising her family, she trusts God, believing truly that He will provide for and take care of her little family.
As the days go by, Angela meets and falls in love with the young, attractive, and VERY wealthy Carter Stratton, much to the disappointment of Thane, who has had his Angela for some time now. How Angela wishes her mother was still there to guide and help her. (Thane has been a friend of the family ever since Thomas and Angela were little, bringing the younger one's lemon drops, ribbons, and other little gifts.) Will she marry Carter or will Thane woo her away? Will she find the much needed and much wanted joy in her life? Will the Derek, Louise, and Sarah (her 3 younger siblings) grow up to be the man and women her parents had so wanted them to be? And lastly, where does the title, "Roses for Mama," come in? Read to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sooooo Sweet and Comforting, Feb. 11 2003
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Paperback)
Seventeen-year-old Angela Peterson and her nineteen-year-old brother Thomas face a situation that not many their age do. Since they moved West with their parents and siblings after their mother's health declined, they have seen both of their parents die and now manage the family farmstead and raise their younger siblings (Louise, Derek, and Sara)alone. With the help of God and their kindly neigbors, the Andersons, Angela and Thomas find themselves managing to "head" their family well. However, now that Angela is getting older, she is finding that Carter Stratton, a young, handsome rancher who recently moved into the Peterson's hometown, seems to bee looking for more than Angela's friendship. How will Angela respond to this? How will she continue to raise her family if she is married? Can she and Thomas continue to raise their "family" as Derek, Louise, and Sara all seem to be coming to terms with the death of their parents and facing adolescence?
...As you read this plot summary, you are probably thinking, "What a sad book" and "What a predictable plot." Well, first, I must say that this book wasn't sad at all. Janette writes in such a positive way and makes all of her characters face trials with faith and dignity. I really love how she shows in her writing that a bad sitiuation (like the death of parents) can be turned into a learning and growing experience. Thomas and Angela (especially) were both inspiring characters who serve as great role models of how a moral, Christian person lives and acts. Yet Janette never gets "preachy" or fake-sounding with her "do good" message. It is hard to explain this phenomenon, but as I read this book it seems that it is written so honestly and sincerely that its truths just shine through and you feel encouraged and comforted (instead of preached at). And finally, I must say, yes, as you read this book, you will probably see the ending coming. Usually, I am a sucker for a completely brilliant, surprising ending, but in "Roses For Mama," the sweet, simple, "quiet" ending just seems so right that I can't complain. Janette Oke may not win the Pulitzer Prize any time soon, but I can't find grounds for grumbling about a book as satisfying as "Roses for Mama."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, April 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Paperback)
Jannete Oke did a wonderful job of making this story. it was flowing, sweet, enjoyable, and touching. i laughed, cried, and couldn't stop reading it.
The stroy is about Angela Peterson, who is left to take care of her younger siblinbs, because her parents bot died when she was 14ish. She is now seventeen and with the help of her 19-year-old brother, thomas, she struggles to teach the children what they need to be taught, comfort them, and care for them. Meanwhile, Angela is entertaining Carter Stratton, leaving Thane to only dream about Angela. (he likes her). Despite all of Angela's worries and struggles, she trusts in God and relies on him.
i highly reccomend this book. it's a wonderful story of what God can do in people's lives, taking drastic, seeminly hopeless situations, and in the end, givng everybody what they really want! I loved It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Encouragement from Roses for Mama, Dec 18 2000
By 
Wendy Ross (Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Paperback)
This book in my opinion is a very good example of the courageous measure of faith that can be practiced in one`s life if they choose to take that path in their life. Not only is the main character fighting for her life on her deathbed while the family members are praying for the opposite to happen, there was another plan in store for this family and a reason for this incident to happen. When we are faced with tradegy there is always a light at the end of the tunnel if we are willing to hang on in the midst of our questioning. This story is the prime example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reading, June 3 1998
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Paperback)
I have never been so interested in a book before. I have never been very big on reading. Jannette Oke writes in such a way that I felt I was right there living or at least over seeing the events. Although I never wanted to put the book down, there were times when I had too. I had no problem with stopping & starting and knowing the previous events that I had read prior. Not something I can say of other books I have tried. I would recommend this to everyone!! I can't wait to explore the many other books she has written!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Janette Oke Book (so far)!, Oct. 10 2000
By 
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Paperback)
This book was so good! It takes place in the old West, as you probably expect. Angela and her brothers and sisters were left orphans when both of their parents died 3 years ago. Now, Angela and her brother Thomas have to take care of the farm, household, and bring up their younger siblings. Angela keeps up her strength (and sanity!) by trusting that God will always be there for them. A very touching, seemingly 'real' story about a young woman's struggles with growing up, death, and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book for Teenage girls..., Oct. 15 2003
By 
"robinbro" (Tampa, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Hardcover)
This story is about four siblings who learn to live on their own after their parents die. Angela and Tomas must learn to fend for themselves and their three siblings. Angela and Tomas must teach the smaller children how to do chores,cook, and make them do their homework. Eventually they all learn how to depend on each other and get the most rough times together ,even when Angela and Tomas begin to have their own relationships. All in all i think this book is a great book to read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roses for Mama, Jan. 16 2000
This review is from: Roses for Mama (Paperback)
Maybe the best christian fiction book written in a long time. Guys if you haven't got time to read it. May I recomend the auto version. It takes a woman to understand a woman, and this book goes a long way towards answering that most mind bolgeling of all questions known to man. What do women want! Ladies Angela is about as close to perfection as your going to get. Gess thats why it's fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roses for Mama
Roses for Mama by Janette Oke (School & Library Binding - April 1991)
Used & New from: CDN$ 12.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews