Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is well worth of my shelf space.
You should read, at least, a book or two about biographies of such noble people as Nelson Mandela, whose lives have been a blessing to the world. This was a great inspirational book and helped me to realize how simple and small things in life could bring so much joy into one's life. Far too often, I personally take simple pleasures of life for granted. The freedom is not...
Published on July 4 2004 by A. Tserendavaa

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Struggle of One Man Can Change a Nation
Long Walk to Freedom is an experience to be remembered. Although the book is an autobiography, the details are exquisite. It is apparent that Mandela wrote this book not to boast over a life of fame or fortune, but to guide us through a lifetime struggle filled of humiliation and pride, success and defeat. Throughout Mandela's journey, we learn insight into Mandela's...
Published on May 29 2003 by chickita_de_bandera


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is well worth of my shelf space., July 4 2004
By 
A. Tserendavaa (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You should read, at least, a book or two about biographies of such noble people as Nelson Mandela, whose lives have been a blessing to the world. This was a great inspirational book and helped me to realize how simple and small things in life could bring so much joy into one's life. Far too often, I personally take simple pleasures of life for granted. The freedom is not free and the book cites how the freedom is brought at the expense of sacrifices of our fathers. The book is very well written and what impresses me is Nelson Mandela's mastery of English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Struggle of One Man Can Change a Nation, May 29 2003
Long Walk to Freedom is an experience to be remembered. Although the book is an autobiography, the details are exquisite. It is apparent that Mandela wrote this book not to boast over a life of fame or fortune, but to guide us through a lifetime struggle filled of humiliation and pride, success and defeat. Throughout Mandela's journey, we learn insight into Mandela's thoughts, and the long walk he took to overcome the odds. Although his struggle was not easy, Mandela never quit, and for that he is a man to be commended by millions. Perhaps, Mandela wrote this book to teach us all a lesson in the true merit of human heart, "No one is born hating another person because of the color of their skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite." (622) Though the book is long, and at times tedious, it is filled with a variety of storylines that keeps the reader intrigued. Between the fight to keep his family alive and well, Mandela also battles the South African government, other political organizations, oppressors of freedom, and the South African court of law. In doing this, Mandela shows how a man's life is not only a complex event, but also a road with many paths. He also shows us how one man's paths can cross and change the course of history, and the oppression of a nation. This book is bound to keep readers captivated, as it involves more than one element of Mandela's life. No matter your name, your age, or the color of your skin, Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela is a book that will guide you through a struggle that we all are fighting for; the struggle against discrimination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRING!!, Jan. 20 2012
This book was incredibly inspiring. It is the kind of book that you never want to put down. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone, because I think each one of us can learn something from Nelson Mandela's thought provoking life story. Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, July 11 2011
This should be required reading. I won't repeat what others have already said, I'll only join them by encouraging you to read this memoir by THE man of the 20th century, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Hardcover version is ABRIDGED!, March 25 2014
My wife bought this book for me from Amazon. Sadly, this hardcover version is an ABRIDGED version of Nelson Mandela's wonderful book. From comparison with our local library's complete version, it appears as though it was abridged by a South African Boer as most of the descriptive passages detailing the shameful treatment of Africans in South Africa did not find their way into this particular hardcover edition. If you believe in revisionist history, especially from a white South African perspective, then this is the edition for you. If you are looking for the truth you will have to look elsewhere for a complete copy of Mr. Mandela's autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable read, March 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a remarkably humble writing of the life of one of the giants of the 20th and 21st century. The message of tolerance and looking forward in peace rather than violence for past injustices, as hideous as they were, is as compelling as any leader in history. His message is written with the grace and determination that characterizes his accomplishments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book, March 10 2014
By 
C. Coombs "tajibear" (toronto. ON Can) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am just starting reading about Mandela. He was a wonderful but humble man. Should be more like him. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long walk to Freedom, March 2 2014
By 
katzi - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Purchased for a friend. it is attractively designed - priced to sell - arrived promptly - would recommend to others to gleen history from his point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Feb. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is so well written and has so much information. So glad I read it, had a ton of respect for Nelson Mandela before I read this book and have a ton more after reading it. Everyone should read this out of respect for him and the African people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Jan. 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Anyone who would like more info on Mandela this is the book.
Well written easy to read and very visual. Recommend to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad1d53fc)

This product

Long Walk to Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela
Long Walk to Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela by Nelson Mandela (School & Library Binding - Oct. 1995)
Used & New from: CDN$ 25.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews