Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping
Steve Alten is, without doubt, my favorite fiction author. The MEG series feeds off (sorry bout that) everyone's primordial fear of being eaten alive. But he is such a gifted writer that the series never gets old. Steve Alten puts you IN that submersible, makes you feel the pressure of miles of ocean above your head... I've read the whole series and it never disappoints.
Published 5 months ago by Bob Boyle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not yo daddy's shark fiction, not quite mine either
For those who were in love with shark fiction and Steve Alten's sleek genre piece MEG, the TRENCH, no matter what you think of Alten's shortcomings, is manditory reading.
I can't say that this book was really a disappointment (seeing Alten's faults in MEG, is was inevitable that success would blow them out of proportion in TRENCH) but then again, I was at the rather...
Published on Dec 24 2003 by Greg Hirst


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, Oct. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Meg: The Trench (Kindle Edition)
Steve Alten is, without doubt, my favorite fiction author. The MEG series feeds off (sorry bout that) everyone's primordial fear of being eaten alive. But he is such a gifted writer that the series never gets old. Steve Alten puts you IN that submersible, makes you feel the pressure of miles of ocean above your head... I've read the whole series and it never disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequal to MEG, Oct. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Totally impressed with this book, I read it in a few days, could not put it down. If you read MEG you'll love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Meg, Feb. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
I've enjoyed all of Steve Alten's Meg series. For "Jaws" or "deep Blue Sea" fans, you should have fun reading them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the trench, Dec 30 2011
By 
Robert Boutin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
An Amazing Book . What Can I Say More , It's major Scary And it's a must buy ! how the story is told , it's amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trench, July 11 2010
By 
Dorothy Koch "coach dorothy" (Edmonton, AB, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
I was very impressed by the quality of service. The book was received in less time than was estimated and was good value. I will buy from this vendor again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Alten has done it again!, Aug. 19 2006
By 
Loki Xombi "Nox" (Alberta, ED Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
In this follow-up novel to Steve's remarkable horrific thriller Meg, Jonas Taylor is back in the saddle and ready for more Megalodon mayhem. Angel, the only surviving offspring of the 60+ foot Megalodon shark from the first novel, has been placed in the Tanaka Oceanographic Institute for study and public entertainment. The problem is that Angel has already passed 70 feet in length, surpassing her mother by over 10 feet! Not only is the shark larger than they had expected, but Jonas comes to the conclusion that the Megalodon is in heat; her erg to mate driving her to batter-down the gate keeping her prisoner. After killing a group of teenage boys who had snuck into Angel's Lagoon, she finally manages to smash her way through her pen doors, and out into the Pacific Ocean. Hungry, and driven to mate, Angel carves a bloody and devastating line of carnage up-and-down the Western sea coast. Her list of favorite eateries: a group of whale watching kayakers, a wedding procession onboard an old sailing ship, and a boardwalk-restaurant (underwater seating now available).

Meanwhile Benedict Singer, the wealthy industrialist who now owns the Tanaka Lagoon and Angel, is conducting a search of the Mariana Trench. His goal is to locate the spot which was officially dubbed Devils Purgatory. The only problem for Benedict is the fact that the only person who knows the exact coordinates of the D.P, is Jonas Taylor. In an attempt to gain access to Jonas's information, Benedict has Terry Taylor, Now Jonas's wife, to come aboard his research vessel and assist with converting and relaying sonar data. Terry Taylor, onboard the Benthos - a huge spherical underwater base, comes across the startling fact that Benedict Singer has covered up the deaths of over a dozen people, when their sub - the Proteus, was attacked but a group of unknown and extremely violent predators. The prize Benedict is searching for is so valuable that he is willing to risk the lives of his entire crew to these known monsters of the deep, and use Terry Taylor as a bargaining chip for Jonas's secret.

This book was not only and equal to Meg, but brought a whole new mysterious dynamic to Steve Alten's writing talent. I highly recommend this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read!, July 11 2004
By 
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow! What can I say? The sequel to MEG is full of more action, plot twists, and terror! Steve Alten is one of my favorite authors. 'The Trench' is one of the reasons why! Happy swimming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Angel of Death bites the dust..., May 16 2004
By 
Jim Warnke (West Palm Beach, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed Alten's debut MEG, despite some 2D supporting characters and a bad epilogue. But it took an effort to finish this sloppy, worse-off sequel.
First off, Alten seems to love to weave in unnecessary sexual and drug scenes. It's getting really annoying, and it's showing up in all of his novels. I mean, we can't ignore the real world and how people really are, but Alten puts too much of the grimy real world into literature. Perhaps it's too attract more audiences, perhaps it's too spice up the boring, badly explained techno-babble, but I feel as if I'm reading a porn novel instead of good prose.
The rest of the book is okay; Jonas is probably the only character who I actually liked, Mac works well as the comedic Al Giordino buddy but somehow he's become sinister in a way. Some characters cuss too much, and Benedict Singer, the main villain, has interesting philosophies but is weak and more of an annoyance than a hateable character. Celeste, the second-ranked bad girl, is way too slutty and I actually laughed at Alten's pathetic attempt to develop her. Terry, Jonas' wife, is too cliche' and somehow makes you want her to die.
But, Alten's saving grace is what started his career: Carcharadon Megalodon (or something like that.) The shark scenes are well-done, and although they are overly gory, it was nice to see the Meg in some new situations. The only problem is that Alten kills off too many characters; I think he cares for the Meg more than he cares for the humans. MEG, Domain, and Goliath are his best, and he seems to be slipping off the track with this and the even dumber Resurrection, so hopefully Primal Waters will redeem him for these literary mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great creature feature sequel, May 14 2004
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this book and had to go out to the store and buy it after reading Meg. I was not disappointed and I am just having trouble waiting for Primal Waters to come out and if it is as good as the previous 2 I will be very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not yo daddy's shark fiction, not quite mine either, Dec 24 2003
By 
Greg Hirst (Casper, WY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
For those who were in love with shark fiction and Steve Alten's sleek genre piece MEG, the TRENCH, no matter what you think of Alten's shortcomings, is manditory reading.
I can't say that this book was really a disappointment (seeing Alten's faults in MEG, is was inevitable that success would blow them out of proportion in TRENCH) but then again, I was at the rather undemanding age of 13 when I first read it.
Not only is the human fiction in this book wildly pretentious, most of it is unneccessary and distacting. Also not very pleasant
The shark attacks, however, still ring true and will satisfy our lust for carnage. Rather than building tension, Alten perfers to bash us repeatedly with shark mayhem, which is fine by my, if i didn't have to read so much ill-written "human" drama in between. Hopefully Primal Waters will be a more mature and focused book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb13a8ab0)

This product

Trench
Trench by Steve Alten (Mass Market Paperback - June 1 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews