Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A fast-paced sequel that I absolutely loved
Meg was a great book, that I had waited years for, but I didn't have to wait too long for a sequel. The Trench brought back the Megaolodn in style. In the last book the female Meg was killed, but she gave birth to a few pups before she was killed, and in The Trench one of those pups comes back into the picture. In the last book, Jonas Taylor's friend Tanaka who runs a...
Published on June 5 2002 by Thef

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than Meg
I was hoping that Steve Alten's sequel to "Meg" had something more to offer. I was very pleased to see that Alten has added to his talents, by adding some side storylines and cut down on the carnage of his first novel. This is by no means a stellar novel, it will keep you enticed enough to race through to the end.
This story also revolves around Jonas...
Published on July 3 2000 by Jason Birkby


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Alten has done it again!, Aug. 19 2006
By 
Loki Xombi "Nox" (Alberta, ED Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
In this follow-up novel to Steve's remarkable horrific thriller Meg, Jonas Taylor is back in the saddle and ready for more Megalodon mayhem. Angel, the only surviving offspring of the 60+ foot Megalodon shark from the first novel, has been placed in the Tanaka Oceanographic Institute for study and public entertainment. The problem is that Angel has already passed 70 feet in length, surpassing her mother by over 10 feet! Not only is the shark larger than they had expected, but Jonas comes to the conclusion that the Megalodon is in heat; her erg to mate driving her to batter-down the gate keeping her prisoner. After killing a group of teenage boys who had snuck into Angel's Lagoon, she finally manages to smash her way through her pen doors, and out into the Pacific Ocean. Hungry, and driven to mate, Angel carves a bloody and devastating line of carnage up-and-down the Western sea coast. Her list of favorite eateries: a group of whale watching kayakers, a wedding procession onboard an old sailing ship, and a boardwalk-restaurant (underwater seating now available).

Meanwhile Benedict Singer, the wealthy industrialist who now owns the Tanaka Lagoon and Angel, is conducting a search of the Mariana Trench. His goal is to locate the spot which was officially dubbed Devils Purgatory. The only problem for Benedict is the fact that the only person who knows the exact coordinates of the D.P, is Jonas Taylor. In an attempt to gain access to Jonas's information, Benedict has Terry Taylor, Now Jonas's wife, to come aboard his research vessel and assist with converting and relaying sonar data. Terry Taylor, onboard the Benthos - a huge spherical underwater base, comes across the startling fact that Benedict Singer has covered up the deaths of over a dozen people, when their sub - the Proteus, was attacked but a group of unknown and extremely violent predators. The prize Benedict is searching for is so valuable that he is willing to risk the lives of his entire crew to these known monsters of the deep, and use Terry Taylor as a bargaining chip for Jonas's secret.

This book was not only and equal to Meg, but brought a whole new mysterious dynamic to Steve Alten's writing talent. I highly recommend this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Angel of Death bites the dust..., May 16 2004
By 
Jim Warnke (West Palm Beach, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed Alten's debut MEG, despite some 2D supporting characters and a bad epilogue. But it took an effort to finish this sloppy, worse-off sequel.
First off, Alten seems to love to weave in unnecessary sexual and drug scenes. It's getting really annoying, and it's showing up in all of his novels. I mean, we can't ignore the real world and how people really are, but Alten puts too much of the grimy real world into literature. Perhaps it's too attract more audiences, perhaps it's too spice up the boring, badly explained techno-babble, but I feel as if I'm reading a porn novel instead of good prose.
The rest of the book is okay; Jonas is probably the only character who I actually liked, Mac works well as the comedic Al Giordino buddy but somehow he's become sinister in a way. Some characters cuss too much, and Benedict Singer, the main villain, has interesting philosophies but is weak and more of an annoyance than a hateable character. Celeste, the second-ranked bad girl, is way too slutty and I actually laughed at Alten's pathetic attempt to develop her. Terry, Jonas' wife, is too cliche' and somehow makes you want her to die.
But, Alten's saving grace is what started his career: Carcharadon Megalodon (or something like that.) The shark scenes are well-done, and although they are overly gory, it was nice to see the Meg in some new situations. The only problem is that Alten kills off too many characters; I think he cares for the Meg more than he cares for the humans. MEG, Domain, and Goliath are his best, and he seems to be slipping off the track with this and the even dumber Resurrection, so hopefully Primal Waters will redeem him for these literary mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Meg is back and bigger than ever, April 24 2003
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
The giant prehistoric shark, star of Meg, is back.
Meg has been living in a water park as a tourist attraction. People pay to see the incredible shark (especially at feeding time). The lower pressures of the surface and regular feedings have allowed the shark to grow to more than 80 feet in length. It is now the greatest living killer in the water.
Well, guess what? Yup, the shark manages to escape and the hunt is on once again as Jonas Taylor must face the giant one more time.
But this is not just a repeat of the previous book. No, the meg wants to return to the trench it considered home. But there is more in the trench than we knew. A massive research station has traveled to the bottom for purposes to be revealed. There are also other nasty denizens from prehistory that have retreated to the trench bottom.
While the first book was an excellent action adventure, this on adds to that and becomes a techno thriller as the goings on at the trench bottom are revealed to the reader.
More, fun, more action and more giant shark. Another great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, but has its faults, Oct. 21 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Huntsville, AL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
"The Trench", the sequel to Steve Alten's bestselling "Meg", is a great thriller and every bit as good as the first novel in the series. The book starts about four years after the conclusion of the first book with the main characters (Jonas, Terry, Mac, etc.) on board. While the book has an exciting beginning, the middle of the book (the big chase) tends to drag in parts and keeps the book from being an excellent novel worthy of a five star rating.
The book opens with the Megalogon named Angel in captivity and being viewed by the public in a Sea World type atmosphere. The corporation responsible for maintaining Angel is making money hand over fist; however, Jonas (that name has to be a reference to the story of Jonah and the great whale) thinks that Angel is becoming too agitated and could escape. Eventually his fears come true when some teens break into a secure area, tease the shark and cause her to break free of her surroundings.
At this point, Jonas and friends/enemies begin a long trek to retrieve the shark. His wife is back at the Marianas Trench where the megalodons were discovered. There is a secret the trench hides and his wife is caught in the middle. The chase and unraveling of the mystery could have been condensed.
An action-packed ending occurs at the Trench with all parties involved. The ending is not a surprise, but is still well-written and entertaining. Of course, the book is left open for another sequel which will be released in 2003 entitled "Primal Waters". This will supposedly be the end of the planned trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fast-paced sequel that I absolutely loved, June 5 2002
By 
Thef (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trench (Hardcover)
Meg was a great book, that I had waited years for, but I didn't have to wait too long for a sequel. The Trench brought back the Megaolodn in style. In the last book the female Meg was killed, but she gave birth to a few pups before she was killed, and in The Trench one of those pups comes back into the picture. In the last book, Jonas Taylor's friend Tanaka who runs a marine institute, had built a large sea pen in hopes of getting a few whales to migrate into it so the public could see them. Instead, it turns out that the pup that survived was rounded up and put into the pen (that when it was only a few feet long). Now Angel, that's the female shark's name, is huge, and it has escaped.
The Trench moves with the speed of Meg, but has a different setting besides the chasing the shark scene of the first book: a huge underwater "laboratory" in the Marinas Trench, where secret operations are taking place. The Trench not only has the fast paced atmosphere of Meg, but also introduces a new threat: the Meg's food in the Marinas Trench (read the book to find out). The plot and character develoment are quite good, and I loved this one as much as the first book, and the third one is up and coming (can't wait). You have to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you want an exciting book, this is the one to read!, March 10 2002
By 
Katie (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
This book tells about a man who has devoted his life and career to this gigantic shark, and the horror this man goes through. Not to mention what his wife see's and has to live with, and the adventure she get's placed in.
I love this book because it is very action packed and always makes me want to keep reading, I couldn't put the book down!!!
This book is about a man, Jonas, who has studied this pre-historic shark for years. Ever since he thought he saw it down in the Mariana Trench, 7 miles below the surface of the ocean, while he was piloting a submersible. Ever since then he has found interest in this animal, and has took up a career in caputring this animal and trying to keep it held in a man made lagoon.
This is a very packed book, which makes it fun to read. I have really never found a slow spot in this book. Though some of the technical scientific definitions went right over my head, they were quick to explain what it ment, so you were never left guessing on your own.
I recomend every one who even thinks about reading this book, to do so. Even if you don't like books about sharks, because I didn't think I would enjoy a book about a shark, but this book proved me wrong.
READ THIS BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first!, March 8 2002
By 
B. GOODWIN "dragon678" (LIMA, OHIO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
I was reading an article updating the movie that is based on Steve Alten's first book "MEG" when I clicked on a link to the website and found that he had a sequel out called "THE TRENCH". I bought the book that very day and what a thrill ride.
"THE TRENCH" starts out a few years after the first novel with Jonas Taylor now watching over Angel, the baby shark born at the end of the first book. But Angel has grown significantly larger than her mother. She is 72 feet in length which is 12 feet longer than her mother and weighs several tons more. She is the main attraction at an aquarium owned by Masao Tanaka who is now his father-in-law. After repeated warnings about the shark banging her head against the steel doors that kept her from the ocean, she finally breaks free and goes on quest to return to her home in the trench. His wife Terry and her father Masao take his place aboard a mission in which subs plant mechanical type robots in the ground at the bottom of the oecean in the trench to record any activity that might alert them to a coming monsoon or earthquake. But there is secret plot involved in this.
With much suspense, action, and mystery, this book will not let you put it down until you find out what is really going on in the trench.
Just a wonderful book that will keep you wanting more, which you will get when the sequel comes out later this year or the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going Deep with Lizards, Megalodon and worst of all, MAN, Feb. 23 2002
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
Steve Alten has done it again. This uncannily timely thriller includes attempts to obtain fusion weapons by none other than Osama Bin Laden through a man named Benedict and his villainess accomplice, Christine. Neither shows any scruples or mercy in their quest for absolute power. Meg's daughter, Angel has grown and escapes her environs for the freedom of the wide Pacific. There she causes havoc up the Pacific, Canadian Pacific and Alaskan Coasts before proceeding to the Marianas Trench where the above mentioned villains are doing their worst to come up with super fusion material for a terrorist we all know and hate. Anyway, the suspense builds with each shark attack and battle between good men and absolutely horrid men (and women). The deeper the reader goes, the more tense the action becomes. This book is a nail biter, a can't put downer of the most sensational kind. "Domain" was great but "The Trench" is unbelievable. Don't hesitate to purchase this book, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alten Triumphs for the Second Time in a Row, Jan. 13 2002
By 
Scully22 (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
With his debut novel, Meg, Steve Alten chilled us. As we flip the pages to this exciting can't-put-it-down-until-it-is-over-book, an incredibly frightening thought cascades through each of our heads: what if the Charchorodon Megalodon really existed? Anyone who read the book had at least one nightmare after reading it. Now Alten has released the equally terrifying sequel, The Trench.
In The Trench, some of Alten's most loved characters return to fight the battle of the deep, such as fun-loving, not-afraid-of-anything Mac; and the knowledgeable Masao. Of course, the main characters are Jonas Taylor and Terry Tanaka. The two sparked a love interest nearing the end of Meg and were married in between novels. Unfortunately in the four years they have been married, they have fallen upon rough times. Terry loses a baby after eight months of carrying and Jonas has become entirely work obsessed.
Jonas Taylor's work is focused on Meg's offspring; a 72-foot female Megalodon comically named 'Angel.' The prehistoric monster is being held in captivity at the Tanaka Lagoon. Unfortunately, the lagoon has also fallen on hard times due to many suits from angry family members of Meg's meals in the first novel. As a result, the company has joined with Benedict Singer, an emerald-eyed millionaire.
The Trench is absolutely jam-packed with antagonists. Oddly enough, the Megalodon seems to be the least of the reader's worries. Perhaps the most frightening monster in the book would have to be Benedict Singer's protegee, a stunning platinum-blonde beauty queen by the name of Celeste Singer. Celeste's manipulating antics are liable to get someone killed. Also, the newly discovered prehistoric reptile the Pliosaur. This marine-adapted reptile hunts in packs, deadly packs. They have already killed a group of workers aboard the Prometheus, and they are yearning to taste human flesh again.
However benign Angel seems throughout the book, she is killing. Jonas and a group of others are tracking the female and attempting to either kill it or trap it to return to the lagoon. Not to mention the fact that while Jonas is chasing the Angel of Death, Terry has been caught in a web of lies and ends up in the Marianna Trench for over a week. Understanding that there are several people who want Terry dead, she begins to show amazing courage and strength while in the Trench.
This spine-chilling page-turner makes the reader really evaluate life and what life would be like if some of these mind-boggling predators existed in life today. With only two novels left in his path thus far, Alten has already become a very well known and very well liked author. So cheers to Alten, for releasing an excellent, five-star quality novel for the public to read and enjoy for generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Nov. 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Trench (Mass Market Paperback)
"The Trench," by Steve Alten. Alten Takes you down into the deep of the Mariana Trench once again. With new exciting charactars and the great original ones. It all starts with action packed chaos. Sweaty palms, and frantic crew men scrabeling around the computer screens of the four man sub, named Proteus. At thirty-four thousand, seven hundred and eighteen feet down in the Mariana Trench, three unidentified objects aproched, atacked, and destroyed the sub with quik swift movement. Back on the surface of the world, Profeser Jonas Talor captured a baby M.E.G. (a prehistoric shark) in Altens prvios book "M.E.G." The Baby shark grew to full size in captivity of a very large "fish bowl," called the Tanaka Lagoon. Origonaly built to study whales, it was able to hold the giant shark. For the time being. The Lagoon was built off the Monterey coast to attract migrating whales in to mate. Once the whales were in, the doors were shut. The prehistoric shark soon slamed the doors with such force, from sencing the migrating whales pasing by, that the steel doors broke off. A killing machine on the loose once again. Profeser Jonas Talor is going to have his hands full. This book is great. Full of adventure, excitment, and a little romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trench
Trench by Steve Alten (Mass Market Paperback - June 1 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews