Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Vicky and John (and Schmidt) go to Egypt
and have many interesting adventures there.
In this 1994 adventure, the 5th, and unfortunately latest, in the Vicky Bliss series Dr. Vicky Bliss is approached to foil a planned robbery of Egyptian artifacts from the Cario museum. She is asked to pose as an expert on a Nile cruise, a cruise geared for amateur Egyptolists. Vicky protested her unsuitablity for this...
Published on June 9 2004 by Jeanne Tassotto

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
Having read all of the Amelia Peabody books and having enjoyed all but the latest two immensely, I was looking forward to exploring Peters' Vicky Bliss books. She is touted as being an intelligent and capable female and the mysteries are said to be interesting and the love interest is said to be interesting as well. The mystery was good, John is wonderful, Vicky is... a...
Published on March 15 2001 by Shymsal


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and annoying, July 24 2001
By A Customer
Nothing in the descriptions or reviews I read here prepared me for the important fact that some crucial characters are left over from Peters' previous novels and that this is a sort of sequel. Although other adventures and enemies of the heroine Vicky Bliss are mentioned in passing in this story, having them turn up in this book as if the reader is supposed to be familiar with them is very annoying. One bad guy even pays back a debt incurred in a previous book without explanation to the reader. The story itself isn't too bad, but is rather lame in comparison with Dick Francis, P.D. James, Sue Grafton, Sara Paretsky, Michael Crichton, Robert B. Parker, etc. The supposedly cute bantering between Vicky and her boyfriend is forced and unpleasant and not as fetching as the author seems to intend. The heroine doesn't seem to have any particular talents to distinquish her (other than being tall) or make her interesting or clever. The country music (I listened to the audio edition) is jarring and incongruous in the Eqyptian setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, March 15 2001
By 
Shymsal (Allentown, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
Having read all of the Amelia Peabody books and having enjoyed all but the latest two immensely, I was looking forward to exploring Peters' Vicky Bliss books. She is touted as being an intelligent and capable female and the mysteries are said to be interesting and the love interest is said to be interesting as well. The mystery was good, John is wonderful, Vicky is... a bit of a disappointment. She left me screaming with rage at how often she jumped to conclusions, was reactive rather than proactive (and then frequently reacted in the wrong fashion), and she frequently didn't bother to think things through to a logical conclusion. The bad guys were one step ahead of her at every turn. Too many times she would adamantly stand up for her rights and then trip over her own feet. Amelia would have been ashamed of her. Don't get me wrong. She's brave, she can be capable, she is witty, but she's a disgrace to logical women everywhere. Allowing things to get off track at the end and marching right into the lion's den (read American embassy) without realising the lion would be waiting with open lips to receive her was quite the outside of enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vicky and John (and Schmidt) go to Egypt, June 9 2004
By 
Jeanne Tassotto (Trapped in the Midwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Train to Memphis (Hardcover)
and have many interesting adventures there.
In this 1994 adventure, the 5th, and unfortunately latest, in the Vicky Bliss series Dr. Vicky Bliss is approached to foil a planned robbery of Egyptian artifacts from the Cario museum. She is asked to pose as an expert on a Nile cruise, a cruise geared for amateur Egyptolists. Vicky protested her unsuitablity for this assignment until she realized that the suspected thief was none other than her sometime lover, the mysterious "Sir John Smythe".
Naturally Vicky does join the group, and does find her lover there - along with his mother and new bride. The adventure then takes off at a typical Peters breakneck pace, filled with bodies, false identities, lies, wild chases through the desert night, fantastic escapes and....well if you've read any of Peter's work you get the picture and if you haven't you should, just don't start with this one.
For fans of Peter's work there are many wonderful little treats in this one, John claims a name from his past as his own, hints at a long family connection to Egypt (could his real last name be Emerson?), Schmidt is developed as more than a cardboard comic character, a husband and wife Egyptologist team of the past century is mentioned and a 'writer of popular Egyptian mystery adventures' makes a cameo apprearance.
This is a particularly fun read, only marred by the fact that it is the last Vicky Bliss - so far - I refuse to give up hope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars --Thrilling Story--, March 12 2003
By 
Judith Miller (Bluemont, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm so delighted that I discovered these Vicky Bliss mysteries. The characters are good and Elizabeth Peters always provides fascinating settings for her stories.
In NIGHT TRAIN TO MEMPHIS, Vicky Bliss is asked by a police agency to be a part of a tour group as they cruise down the Nile River seeing the beautiful monuments and ancient pyramids of Egypt. The police suspect that some professional thieves will be on board and hope that Vicky can assist in identifying them. The characters are diverse and of course, Sir John Smythe also shows up for the tour. Vicky's dismayed to find him using a different name and traveling with a sweet young woman. Just a few months before the tour, John and Vicky had resumed their love affair and now she's thoroughly confused by the way that he's acting. There are a lot of surprises in this story.
I found it amazing to see that out of 32 reviews on this book, 30 reviewers gave this story a Five Star Rating. That has got to be some kind of a record. It shows what an excellent writer that Elizabeth Peters is and how she always delivers great fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't stop here, Feb. 17 2003
By A Customer
I so loved this book and I think it is a shame that Peters has not done a 6 yet. I really hope she will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! Lovely! One of the best books I have ever read!, Nov. 2 2002
This is a wonderful book whether you are an avid mystery reader or a fan of suspenful and witty romance. Both will keep you from putting this book down. I have to read the others in the series now, but I would reccomend reading the ther in the seried before this one. You will be more interested in the romance part of the novel. It is not a romanctic book by any strech of the meaning, but there is just enough to keep you wondering, hoping, and waiting for it. I love this book. I cannot say anything more except that you, whoever you are must read this book. I reccomend it to anyone. I woke up early in the morning so that I could read for an hour before going to work. It is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tale of the Egyptian Cowboy, Jan. 12 2002
While I'm a long term fan of Elizabeth Peters and her delightful stories of Amelia Peabody and her mad, archeological family, I have never thought to pick up one of the Vicky Bliss mysteries. Due, I think to cover blurbs that played up the romance and played down the mystery. Faced with a long trip I decided to try 'Night Train to Memphis' on audio tape. The tape failed at a crucial juncture, and I had to pick up a copy of the book in order to finish the novel, so this review actually covers both media.
Peters has a great affection for quirky, unforgettable lead women. They are always strong characters and frequently outdo their male counterparts. Vicky Bliss is no exception. She is an attractive woman, an American who has the intelligence and knowledge to hold a position at the National Museum at Munich working with Professor Anton Schimdt. The latter is one of those characters that combine inestimable knowledge with an almost irritating roly-poly cuteness. Vicky is considerably less saccharine and lacks his compulsive fascination with American country music, the lyrics of which haunt this novel.
Vicki is asked by German intelligence to take part in a fabulous cruise of the Nile River, posing as a lecturer in Egyptian history. They have information is that something unpleasant was due to happen on that cruise, but, do to the death of their agent, they have no idea what. Vicky's job was to help keep whatever it is from happening. When they refuse to accept her lack of knowledge of ancient Egypt as an excuse, Vicki gives in. A chance to escape Schmidt for a bit if nothing else.
To her chagrin, she finds that one of the passengers on the cruise is her lover, noted jewel thief John Smythe. She hadn't heard from him is six weeks, but she didn't expect him to turn up with a new wife, Mary, as well as Mary's mother. Also on board is a cast of characters, from Larry Blenkiron, the fabulously wealthy aficionado of Egyptian artifacts and lore, to Luisa Ferncliffe, a romance novel maven. Oh, lest I forget, Professor Schmidt shows up at the last moment.
What follows is comedy and seeming chaos. Vicky finds herself the object of falling flowerpots, missing attendants, and dead archeologists. While the pattern points to a master thief preparing to abscond with a fortune in Egyptian museum pieces almost anyone could fill the part or be working in aid of the plot. Vicky shows a knack for disastrous heroics that inevitably get herself and her two timing jewel thief into deadly fixes. By the time they have identified the guilty party most of Egypt is chasing them down the Nile.
Peter's really outdoes herself, coming up with one plot gimmick after another, each character more astounding than the next. Often, in a Peter's novel, we are lulled into thinking that chaos is the rule, but 'Night Train to Memphis' shows a sure hand at the helm. While I survived this being the first Vicky Bliss novel I would suggest that the reader consider reading something earlier in the series, a significant number of characters actually received their development in earlier novels, and that knowledge would greatly increase ones enjoyment.
A word on the audio tapes. Kathleen Turner does a wonderful job being the voice of Vicky Bliss, managing to bring out many nuances that one might miss in reading. While she does have a good ear for speech patterns and accents she overplays this slightly too much. I did not care at all for her Professor Schmidt, who comes over as an overly comic Dutch uncle. And John Smythe's voice is a bit more upper class than need be. On the other hand, few actresses or actors have the range of voice necessary to do justice to such a diverse set of characters. That Turner can come as close as she did is admirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Peters at her Best!!!, Feb. 28 2001
By 
First of all: If this is your first Vicky Bliss stop reading this review right now. Go back and read the others in the series starting with "Street of Five Moons" (Borrower of the Night was actually first but it isn't nearly as good as the others. Maybe I think think this because I am in love with John though....) Follow "Street of Five Moons" with "Sillouette in Scarlet" and "Trojan Gold". After those, this book will be much more fun to read. After I read Trojan Gold I thought that Ms. Peter's books just couldn't get any better. "Night Train to Memphis" is absolutely amazing. I started it and couldn't put it down until I knew what happened. The characters all seemed like old friends and even after I read it again and again I would laugh out loud at the witty remarks made by John and Vicky. If the rest of the Bliss fans are suffering as much as I am from the authors failure to produce anymore Vicky Bliss mysteries ( I hope it isn't permanent) I thoroughly recommend "The Camelot Caper". I read it before "Night Train to Memphis" and didn't recognize it until it was pointed out to me, but this is John's first scam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Savor the Style, the Energy, the Wit...., Jan. 13 2001
By A Customer
....because we aren't getting any new Vicky Bliss for a looooong time! The author says her publisher is making her stick to that tiresome (my word, not hers) Peabody/Emerson saga. Bliss fans have no recourse but to reread and commit to memory the existing Vicky books. Me, I'm not taking this awful news lying down. As soon as I climb out of my box of chocolates (medicinal purposes), I'm going to compose a sharp letter to Peters' tyrannical publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure Cruise, Nov. 13 2000
By 
Amanda (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
John and Vicky are back! This is the fourth book in the wonderful Vicky Bliss series by Elizabeth Peters. If you haven't read any of the novels, the book you should be purchasing is the Street of the Five Moons. That said, Vicky receives an assignment in coordination with the Munich Police Force to travel to Egypt under the guise of a tour guide on a small luxury cruise. One of the best men in literature, the enigmatic John Smythe, also appears on the scene. The plot is superbly exexcuted, the novel is set in the Peters' area of expertise(Egypt/Egyptology), and the story flies. Peters' characters make the novel: Vicky as our sassy and intelligent heroine, John as the mysterious and witty art thief, Schmidt-the intelligent if highly eccentrict museumcurator for whom Vicky works, and villains galore. New readers really must start at the beginning. If you've read the previous Vicky Bliss novels, after finishing Night Train to Memphis, I highly reccommend you take out Camelot Caper from your local library. John DID come before Vicky, and this shows him as Peters began to form him, and explains that "first scam" John loves to makes allusions to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Train to Memphis
Night Train to Memphis by Elizabeth Peters (MP3 CD - May 1 2010)
CDN$ 32.14 CDN$ 31.94
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews