Customer Reviews


916 Reviews
5 star:
 (504)
4 star:
 (196)
3 star:
 (93)
2 star:
 (63)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't relate, you should give back an X chromosome
Have you ever wondered how your crush felt? Thought your life would be perfect if you could only lose a few more pounds? Fell into bed with a guy too soon? Looked like a moron during a presentation? Been consoled by your outrageous but loving friends?
Congratulations -- you're Bridget Jones. I suspect most single women are -- except for those who are always...
Published on Feb. 4 2002 by Alexis Coxon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars funny yet strangely depressing
Maybe it's just me, but I really don't know any single woman (or anyone else) who's quite as pathetic as Bridget. It's not that she smokes and drinks too much, obsesses over her weight and her love life, is incompetent at both her jobs, and allows her mother to manipulate her -- it's that she obviously hates the fact that she does all these things, and yet she never...
Published on Nov. 23 2001 by aliceck


‹ Previous | 1 292 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bridget Jones: realistic and hilarious!, May 31 2002
By 
Ashley (Okemos, MI USA) - See all my reviews
For my British Literature class, I just finished Bridget Jones's Diary by Helen Fielding, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The book tells the story of a year in the life of an average, single, thirty-something British woman, who, armed with only her wits and charm (and a diary), goes in search of the ever-elusive Mr. Right. Unlucky-in-love Bridget has two candidates: the fun and sexy Daniel Cleaver and the unfriendly Mark Darcy. Not surprisingly, she goes for Daniel, but he turns out to be a less-than-perfect catch. Then, just when she becomes interested in Mark (following his statement that he likes her just as she is), he begins dating Natasha, another lawyer, who is determined to marry him. Meanwhile, her parents' marriage is on the rocks and she embarks upon a career in television news.
There are many similarities between Bridget Jones's Diary and Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. In both stories, the heroine is attracted to a charming rogue and repelled by his haughty former friend (whose name happens to be Darcy in both cases.) In both stories, the rogue wins her sympathy by telling her about all the rotten things his ex-friend did to him. But both heroines later discover that you can't believe everything you hear - and Darcy turns out to be the real charmer. With all these parallels, it isn't hard to determine that Helen Fielding is an Austen admirer, and that all of these similarities to Pride and Prejudice are intentional.
This book is witty and hilarious, from Bridget's list of New Years Resolutions on page 1 to her summary of the year on page 271. Furthermore, each of the characters is incredibly believable (especially Bridget), which makes it very easy for the reader to relate to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't relate, you should give back an X chromosome, Feb. 4 2002
By 
Have you ever wondered how your crush felt? Thought your life would be perfect if you could only lose a few more pounds? Fell into bed with a guy too soon? Looked like a moron during a presentation? Been consoled by your outrageous but loving friends?
Congratulations -- you're Bridget Jones. I suspect most single women are -- except for those who are always completely confident, model-thin and intellectually dazzling. (I don't know those women. Do you?)
Told in diary form, this hilarious (and quick-reading) book tells a "Pride and Prejudice"-like story of love and mishaps. Bridget works in a go-nowhere publishing job. She's madly in lust with office scoundrel Daniel and despises Mark Darcy, the divorced lawyer her mother keeps trying to set her up with.
Along the way, Bridget drinks and smokes too much, finds a new job that may or may not be better than her old one, helps her parents patch up their own problems, and watches her weight fluctuate wildly. In short: It's just like real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Literary Masterpiece!!!, Oct. 24 2001
Where do I begin???? I'm angry that I can only give this amazing novel 5 stars...it deserves at least 5 times that amount! Bridget Jones is one of the best female characters ever created! She's witty and hilarious, and heart-warming at the same time. A year in her life would be one of the most hectic experiences a person could have, and yet she handles it with grace (and wine and self-help books). She flies through a "f**kwit" boyfriend, a beastly human rights barrister being forced down her throat by a mother who runs off with a rather nasty fellow with a gentleman's handbag, a new job with a boss who starts most sentences with "I'm thinking...", and a permanent weight crisis that never seems to be resolved. Overall, this is a wonderful book, especially for any "Singletons" who are sick and tired of hearing "How's your love life?". If you don't laugh at Bridget and her escapades, there must be something wrong...maybe you didn't read her right. Anyway, pick up this jewel...you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do I love this book so much? Because it tells the truth!, Nov. 4 2001
By 
Adriane Miles (Phoenix, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I will admit that when this book first came out, I thought it was about a model. Then a friend told me she loved it, I read it and laughed so hard!! I saw the movie in the theater, loved it, and of course I now own the DVD. Fielding writes with no holds barred, not afraid to put exactly what she is feeling in ink, and as it turns out, she is pretty much right on just about everything. All women obsess over their weight, why that guy hasn't called, if they look fat, and why is everyone else happy but me?! Bravo, Helen for writing one of the best and funniest books I have ever read. It is now one of my top 5 favorite books of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "cigarettes 0 (v.g.), calories 4825 (oh dear)", June 15 2006
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bridget Jones' Diary (Paperback)
This delightful book, written in diary form, follows a hectic and very funny year in the life of Ms Bridget Jones, 30-something English Singleton. Bridget obsesses constantly about her weight and unmarried state, and as the year begins, she also obsesses about her playboy boss, Daniel Cleaver. They flirt madly and have an on-again, off-again relationship, but he is a commitment-phobe (and a bounder!).

All through the year, Bridget's flighty mother, Pam, tries to pair her up with successful barrister, Mark Darcy, but Bridget will have none of it. As the year comes to a close, however, Pam's legal woes bring Mark to the rescue, and the diary ends on a happy note.

Every page is filled with situations and emotions that all women who have dated, dreamed, been disappointed, and found solace in ice cream will find utterly hilarious. Bridget's descriptions of daily exasperation, desperation, and moments of sheer bliss make her very likeable and real. The short diary entries make this book perfect for reading when you just have a few minutes, although you'll find it hard to put down, and may find yourself laughing out loud (a lot).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giggle fest, Sept. 7 2005
By 
A must read for every woman!!!!! This book tells the truth about what every woman goes through during long periods of being single. All the drinking, smoking, calories counting, and lusting, is what makes this book truly like a diary. This is one book you will not want to put down once you've started it.
Bridget Jones is a British woman turning 30 and still single. She not the brightest crayon in the box, and not the prettiest either, making it a lot easier to relate to character. This is not a white knight story, no unrealistic things happen to her. Everything that happens to her can happen to anyone on a day-to-day base. And never in this book does Bridget play cat and mouse with a man
Although this book will not tease you intellectually, it will most certainly entertain you. If you loved the movie the book is one step up. Helen Fieldings is pure genius when it comes to describing the horrors woman put themselves through daily. I would recommend this book to anyone willing to laugh. Anyone who likes the old love story with a twisted will enjoy this book immensely, it pride and prejudice meets Alice and wonderland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giggle fest, Sept. 7 2005
By 
A must read for every woman!!!!! This book tells the truth about what every woman goes through during long periods of being single. All the drinking, smoking, calories counting, and lusting, is what makes this book truly like a diary. This is one book you will not want to put down once you've started it.
Bridget Jones is a British woman turning 30 and still single. She not the brightest crayon in the box, and not the prettiest either, making it a lot easier to relate to character. This is not a white knight story, no unrealistic things happen to her. Everything that happens to her can happen to anyone on a day-to-day base. And never in this book does Bridget play cat and mouse with a man
Although this book will not tease you intellectually, it will most certainly entertain you. If you loved the movie the book is one step up. Helen Fieldings is pure genius when it comes to describing the horrors woman put themselves through daily. I would recommend this book to anyone willing to laugh. Anyone who likes the old love story with a twisted will enjoy this book immensely, it pride and prejudice meets Alice and wonderland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic, Sept. 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Hardcover)
"Bridget Jones's Diary" was the beginning of a small revolution in women's literature. It is the book that has begat dozens - if not hundreds - of other books as well as entire publishing labels. They are modeled after it in style (self-deprecation and self-defeating behaviour) as well as plot (aging single girl in the big city seeks love against parental, employment, and self-induced obstacles).
But none of them are quite as good! Bridget's story has a distinctive tone comprised of an epistolary style, obsessive counting behavior (calories, cigarettes, alcohol units, calls to the British equivalent of *-69), and an unsual diction that makes it a highly entertaining read. And Fielding has mastered the trick of romantic comedy - making the heroine so flawed and winning that we're rooting for her to find love at all costs no matter how much we believe she should be complete without it.
Most first-time readers of "Bridget Jones's Diary" will have seen the movie already. This shouldn't hinder their enjoyment of the book; the two are more complementary than identical. The book misses the movie's sheer narrative neatness and obvious resemblance to Austen's "Pride and Prejudice". However, it's much more complex (the filmmakers altered the plot a great deal) and far more humorous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hurray for "Singleton" Bridget!, May 29 2002
By 
Jennifer J. (Okemos, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This is an awesome book! I had first heard about this book by seeing the movie, which was very funny. I then decided to read the book which I had heard was based upon Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. Having read Austen's novel (which i did not like) I hoped that this version would be much more appealing to the 21st century reader. And, luckily it was. Bridget(a clumsy, insecure, chain-smoking Elizabeth Bennet) was lovable because of her flaws and self questioning. I think that anyone can identify with her obsessiveness over her weight, love life, and career. I thought that Bridget was also a complex character who was just trying to find her own definition of happiness in a world where TV and aquaintances are constantly trying to define happiness for her. The idea of telling the story of Bridget Jones through a diary was ingenious of Helen Fielding. It allowed the reader to go into the mind of the main character and see what she was really like without the facade of confidence that we all wear in front of others. I also enjoyed Bridget's lovable and also confused friends Sharon, Jude, and Tom. Their prescence made Bridget's behavior seem more normal and everyday. And I laughed out loud at Bridget's midlife crisis mother who is a great modern day parallel to Austen's marriage-crazed Mrs. Bennet. Her carefree and nonchalant attitude toward everything, including her own conviction, was hilarious! Her crazy antics were an overexaggeration of the things that mothers do that drive us crazy! While laughing at Mrs. Jones' crazy antics, i could also sympathize with poor Mr. Colin Jones, who was hung-out-to-dry by his wife. The last main characters are to me the most important beside Bridget herself. Daniel Cleaver is the epitomy of a modern day Mr. Wickham, a "player" or a man who uses a women for his own selfish fulfillment and then leaves without a trace. The reader can sypathize with Bridget because we have all known someone who has been used and then been left out in cold. But then, there is Mark Darcy, a modern day protrayal of (guess who) Mr. Dacry. He appears as a knight on a white horse, ready to sweep Bridget away from her annoying family and embarrasing carrer in TV. But the way he appears is very subtle but realistic. He is a shy man who does things that silent manner that seems to make the action all the more important and endearing. This novel was a joy to read, i recomend to everyone that wishes to read a book that is more about examining your own flaws and laughing at them through the main character, Bridget Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There is even a little Bridget Jones in you!, May 23 2002
By 
Yvonne Stadler (Wels, Oberösterreich Österreich) - See all my reviews
This was one of the funniest books I have ever read!
It is a story of one year in the life of a 30 years old, single London girl. Bridget Jones -much given to irony -is a single who eats, drinks and smokes too much.
She is disorganized, insecure, weight obsessed- a woman trying to cope with her crazy boss and crazier assignments in her job.
The book, which chronicles one year in her life, starts with a series of New Year's resolutions to quit smoking, loose 10 pounds, find a decent boyfriend, and develop ''inner poise.'' Or as she puts it: ''I will not sulk about having no boyfriend and instead develop inner poise and authority and sense of self as woman of substance, complete without boyfriend, as best way to obtain boyfriend.''
Moreover she starts to write a diary and each diary entry begins with her weight, number of calories eaten, the alcohol units she consumed, cigarettes smoked, and moments spent on having negative thoughts.
Bridget Jones fights with the daily problems of life. Every girl and woman could identify with her very well, because she is a girl like you and me. A real problem for Bridget is her mother. She always wants to find a new boyfriend for her, which makes family celebrations so gruesome for her. Her mother always knows everything better and wants to start a new life with already 60 years. She has a boyfriend which is an additional problem for Bridget and her parents.
Ms. Jones best friend is homosexual and so both of them have nearly the same problem. No man! He helps her to manage daily problems and the other way round.
Bridget slips from one embarrassing situation into the next. There are a lot of funny parts to read in the book. For example the situation as Bridget should report something from a fire department and she is- how else could it be- too late. But this is not the only situation where she shows us how clumsy a human being could be.
Well, it's hard not to laugh with and at Bridget's problems. Any woman who has ever had weight woes or relationship woes will feel Bridget's pain. This book taught me to look at the bright side of life and not take things too seriously. Especially as I read the result of one year diet, she lost 33kg but get 32,5kg back so all in all she lost 0,5kg. No chocolate for the whole year and the favourite jeans doesn't fit anyway.
The same with smoking! She can not give it up!
I personally recommend this book to everyone who likes reading about a woman who is a little bit like everybody of us. I am sure, guys will find it amusing and entertaining as well, especially in getting to know the "backstage" of a woman's lifestyle and her innermost thoughts and obsessions. It is so unbelievably true to our nature.
There's even a little Bridget Jones in you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 292 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary by Helen Fielding (Hardcover - Nov. 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews