Customer Reviews


915 Reviews
5 star:
 (504)
4 star:
 (195)
3 star:
 (93)
2 star:
 (63)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Giggle fest
A must read for every woman!!!!! This book tells the truth about what every woman goes through during long periods of being single. All the drinking, smoking, calories counting, and lusting, is what makes this book truly like a diary. This is one book you will not want to put down once you've started it.
Bridget Jones is a British woman turning 30 and still...
Published on Sept. 7 2005 by Chelsea Hammond

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A pretty successful remake`
I enjoyed the book, but thought it smacked of "Sheila Levine is dead and living in New York City", a book I read in the 70's.
Published on Feb. 9 2002


‹ Previous | 1 292 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and fun read, April 2 2014
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Paperback)
For those of you who have been hiding under a rock for the last 20 years and haven’t read the book or seen the movie, Bridget Jones’s Diary is the story of a single woman in her thirties in London, England. This is a hilarious book about failed relationships and unsuccessful attempts at losing weight. It is also a sharp critique of modern society where women have to have a husband, children, a house in the suburbs and a fulfilling job to be considered a success. While the story feels a bit dated (no cell phones!), the issues are still very much what a single woman would experience nowadays. In addition, Bridget Jones is a lovable character because she is not perfect, and she makes mistakes. As a result, we identify with her and understand her struggles.

Bridget Jones’s Diary has paved the way for many romantic comedies and TV series (Sex and the City anyone?), and I am really grateful for the laughs and tears it has brought on.

Please go to my blog, Cecile Sune - Bookobsessed, if you would like to read more reviews or discover fun facts about books and authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love Bridget!, Feb. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this story, I think most adult women can relate to Bridget on some level. I really liked how she connected to the reader by sharing her thoughts.
The one thing I would change is the daily health assessment. I got tired of that after a few chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giggle fest, Sept. 7 2005
By 
A must read for every woman!!!!! This book tells the truth about what every woman goes through during long periods of being single. All the drinking, smoking, calories counting, and lusting, is what makes this book truly like a diary. This is one book you will not want to put down once you've started it.
Bridget Jones is a British woman turning 30 and still single. She not the brightest crayon in the box, and not the prettiest either, making it a lot easier to relate to character. This is not a white knight story, no unrealistic things happen to her. Everything that happens to her can happen to anyone on a day-to-day base. And never in this book does Bridget play cat and mouse with a man
Although this book will not tease you intellectually, it will most certainly entertain you. If you loved the movie the book is one step up. Helen Fieldings is pure genius when it comes to describing the horrors woman put themselves through daily. I would recommend this book to anyone willing to laugh. Anyone who likes the old love story with a twisted will enjoy this book immensely, it pride and prejudice meets Alice and wonderland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hurray for "Singleton" Bridget!, May 29 2002
By 
Jennifer J. (Okemos, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This is an awesome book! I had first heard about this book by seeing the movie, which was very funny. I then decided to read the book which I had heard was based upon Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. Having read Austen's novel (which i did not like) I hoped that this version would be much more appealing to the 21st century reader. And, luckily it was. Bridget(a clumsy, insecure, chain-smoking Elizabeth Bennet) was lovable because of her flaws and self questioning. I think that anyone can identify with her obsessiveness over her weight, love life, and career. I thought that Bridget was also a complex character who was just trying to find her own definition of happiness in a world where TV and aquaintances are constantly trying to define happiness for her. The idea of telling the story of Bridget Jones through a diary was ingenious of Helen Fielding. It allowed the reader to go into the mind of the main character and see what she was really like without the facade of confidence that we all wear in front of others. I also enjoyed Bridget's lovable and also confused friends Sharon, Jude, and Tom. Their prescence made Bridget's behavior seem more normal and everyday. And I laughed out loud at Bridget's midlife crisis mother who is a great modern day parallel to Austen's marriage-crazed Mrs. Bennet. Her carefree and nonchalant attitude toward everything, including her own conviction, was hilarious! Her crazy antics were an overexaggeration of the things that mothers do that drive us crazy! While laughing at Mrs. Jones' crazy antics, i could also sympathize with poor Mr. Colin Jones, who was hung-out-to-dry by his wife. The last main characters are to me the most important beside Bridget herself. Daniel Cleaver is the epitomy of a modern day Mr. Wickham, a "player" or a man who uses a women for his own selfish fulfillment and then leaves without a trace. The reader can sypathize with Bridget because we have all known someone who has been used and then been left out in cold. But then, there is Mark Darcy, a modern day protrayal of (guess who) Mr. Dacry. He appears as a knight on a white horse, ready to sweep Bridget away from her annoying family and embarrasing carrer in TV. But the way he appears is very subtle but realistic. He is a shy man who does things that silent manner that seems to make the action all the more important and endearing. This novel was a joy to read, i recomend to everyone that wishes to read a book that is more about examining your own flaws and laughing at them through the main character, Bridget Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a hilarious and captivating read, June 18 2001
By 
Amazon Customer "ztaspears" (St. Petersburg, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Bridget Jones is one of the funniest books I have ever read. We have all had our "Bridget moments". She is a thirty-something who writes down everything she eats, her weight gain and loss, her daily intake of fags (cigarrettes) and alcohol consumption. The diary starts off detailing Una's New Year's Day Curry Buffet where she's asked "How's your love life?" She thinks to herself, "Oh God. Why can't married people understand that this is no longer a polite question to ask? We wouldn't walk up to them and roar, 'How's your marriage going? Still having sex?'" This is just one example of her engaging humor. While at the party, her parents try to set her up with Mark Darcy, a boy that she used to play in the wading pool with as a child while she was running around naked. She sees him and immediately disqualifies him as a potential candidate because he is wearing a V-neck diamond patterned sweater. "As my friend Tom often remarks, it's amazing how much time and money can be saved in the world of dating by close attention to detail. A white sock here, a pair of red braces there, a gray slip-on shoe, a swastika, are as often as not all one needs to tell you there's no point writing down phone numbers and forking out for expensive lunches because it's never going to be a runner." And so the diary goes. She later talks about her moments at work where she has ongoing e-mails with her boss's boss, Daniel, about the length of her skirt. This book is a must-read! I have already purchased Edge of Reason and can't wait to begin reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bridget Jones: realistic and hilarious!, May 31 2002
By 
Ashley (Okemos, MI USA) - See all my reviews
For my British Literature class, I just finished Bridget Jones's Diary by Helen Fielding, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The book tells the story of a year in the life of an average, single, thirty-something British woman, who, armed with only her wits and charm (and a diary), goes in search of the ever-elusive Mr. Right. Unlucky-in-love Bridget has two candidates: the fun and sexy Daniel Cleaver and the unfriendly Mark Darcy. Not surprisingly, she goes for Daniel, but he turns out to be a less-than-perfect catch. Then, just when she becomes interested in Mark (following his statement that he likes her just as she is), he begins dating Natasha, another lawyer, who is determined to marry him. Meanwhile, her parents' marriage is on the rocks and she embarks upon a career in television news.
There are many similarities between Bridget Jones's Diary and Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. In both stories, the heroine is attracted to a charming rogue and repelled by his haughty former friend (whose name happens to be Darcy in both cases.) In both stories, the rogue wins her sympathy by telling her about all the rotten things his ex-friend did to him. But both heroines later discover that you can't believe everything you hear - and Darcy turns out to be the real charmer. With all these parallels, it isn't hard to determine that Helen Fielding is an Austen admirer, and that all of these similarities to Pride and Prejudice are intentional.
This book is witty and hilarious, from Bridget's list of New Years Resolutions on page 1 to her summary of the year on page 271. Furthermore, each of the characters is incredibly believable (especially Bridget), which makes it very easy for the reader to relate to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't relate, you should give back an X chromosome, Feb. 4 2002
By 
Have you ever wondered how your crush felt? Thought your life would be perfect if you could only lose a few more pounds? Fell into bed with a guy too soon? Looked like a moron during a presentation? Been consoled by your outrageous but loving friends?
Congratulations -- you're Bridget Jones. I suspect most single women are -- except for those who are always completely confident, model-thin and intellectually dazzling. (I don't know those women. Do you?)
Told in diary form, this hilarious (and quick-reading) book tells a "Pride and Prejudice"-like story of love and mishaps. Bridget works in a go-nowhere publishing job. She's madly in lust with office scoundrel Daniel and despises Mark Darcy, the divorced lawyer her mother keeps trying to set her up with.
Along the way, Bridget drinks and smokes too much, finds a new job that may or may not be better than her old one, helps her parents patch up their own problems, and watches her weight fluctuate wildly. In short: It's just like real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it loved it loved it!, Jan. 31 2002
By 
This is the watershed book. It's the book that started the British-girl-30ish-singleton craze. I loved every page. I (along with millions of others) totally related to the character. It is one of my top ten favorites of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!, Dec 6 2001
By 
I laughed out loud!! I recommend reading the book before seeing the movie, they've left out quite a bit in the film. The book is fantastic, I had borrowed it from a friend and liked it so much that I bought a copy for my bookshelf and a few others for some friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest books ever written, Dec 3 2001
By A Customer
If you don't like this book you have no sense of humor whatsoever and should seek medical attention immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 292 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary by Helen Fielding (Hardcover - Nov. 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews