Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Another of Mrs. Michaels strong Women at her best.
Fern Michaels has always written about strong women, but like all of us her women have one weak spot and that is their heart. Lily Harper isn't an exception although she is exceptional.
This is a great story of love, hurt, forgivness, and survival. I truly enjoyed ever aspect of this book, and I am glad to see that the woman is sometimes the survivalist and the man...
Published on Oct. 3 2003 by S. K. Leggate

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My Vacation Read
The cottage I rented on my vacation held a copy of "Charming Lily" in it's very full bookcases. Why did I chose this over the great library in the Summer vacation house?
I knew the name Fern Michaels vaguely, and I had never read any of her books before. I figured it would be a light, easy to read and follow book that I could read in the five days I was...
Published on Aug. 23 2002 by Ei


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars chaarming lily, Sept. 13 2011
By 
D. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
very good read...would recommend this book if you like fern michaels writing this is another of her great books for you to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Totally wooden with really unattractive characters, Feb. 17 2004
The dialogue in this book easily has to be the worst I have ever read. It is the sort you hear on really bad sci fi programs like the old Star Trek, where everything is explained in a really long winded fashion to give you the background information on who these character are and what their situation, likes and dislikes. Endless comments about wine, his clothes, prime rib being Matt's favorite meal, and the hole in the big toe of his sneaker are just not romance worthy and bog down an already dull book.
His whole dumping her at the altar and second chance and engagement to Lily in the wilderness survival course, should have been shown, not told in a paragraph or two. Let alone dumping her at the altar again. Tedious.
This author breaks every rule of good story telling and is really starting to show her sell by date. I am heartily sick of pseudo paranormal stuff in supposedly mainstream contemporary fiction. Is this really the only way they can solve the messes they put their characters in?
And not especially interesting characters at that? Where is heat, sensuality?
I am also sick of books where the characters are rarely ever in the same room with each other, and only ever fighting most of the time even when they are.
Also, if they are already in love then where is the romance? This novel fails on every level a romance needs to function, and it is total fluff so can't be labelled women's fiction. I would give it minus stars if I could, it is so mediocre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another of Mrs. Michaels strong Women at her best., Oct. 3 2003
By 
S. K. Leggate "Sunni" (Fernley, NV United States) - See all my reviews
Fern Michaels has always written about strong women, but like all of us her women have one weak spot and that is their heart. Lily Harper isn't an exception although she is exceptional.
This is a great story of love, hurt, forgivness, and survival. I truly enjoyed ever aspect of this book, and I am glad to see that the woman is sometimes the survivalist and the man is the one lost in the wilderness. This is a very enjoyable novel, and a very quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't start until you have plenty of time to read!, March 14 2003
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Lily Harper had been left at the alter by Matt Starr before. It took him a long time to convince her to give him a second chance. During their time apart Matt had built Digitech, a now famous software company. Dennis Wagner and Marcus Collins were his most trusted men. They had been with Matt since the beginning. Yet one of them was selling secrets to the competition. Marcus was trying to convince Matt it was Dennis. But Marcus was the one in major financial trouble and desperate for money despite the huge salary, bonuses, and company perks. As soon as the new software was announced, which would change the high-tech world, Matt would retire. He had only to marry Lily and fire one of his best friends. That was...until he was kidnapped!
When Matt did not show up for the wedding, Lily was left standing at the alter for the second time by the same man! She was deeply hurt until foul play became obvious. A necklace given to her (called a "Wish Keeper") was sending her short visions of Matt. The necklace and Matt's dog, Gracie, was the only hope Lily and her friends had of locating him.
Awesome story! Just a touch of the super natural (in the necklace) and combined with modern day computer geniuses...makes an excellent story for everyone! I could not bring myself to stop reading, so I finished it in less than a day! Be warned, don't start this one until you have plenty of reading time ahead of you! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My Vacation Read, Aug. 23 2002
By 
Ei "crzybookmoovielover" (Seekonk, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
The cottage I rented on my vacation held a copy of "Charming Lily" in it's very full bookcases. Why did I chose this over the great library in the Summer vacation house?
I knew the name Fern Michaels vaguely, and I had never read any of her books before. I figured it would be a light, easy to read and follow book that I could read in the five days I was there.
Fern Michaels, I quote, "likes to write about strong women". The "Lily" of the title is a woman of small stature(from her description) but large on determination. I don't know about strength. The end of the story doesn't make her out to be such a strong woman. his is the one and only book I will read by Michaels just because of her quote because I don't agree with her at all that Lily was a strong woman. She was a kind hearted, and broken hearted woman who buckles under loves strap.
Lily is stood up at the altar by the male romantic lead in the story, Matt Starr(a perfect male romantic lead name), she vows never to get involved again and moves on. Her and Sadie, her best friend since childhood, both embark on careers as Survival Camp Counselors. Matt is among one of the group Lily is leading in the beginning of the story, and it's been a few years since he blew her off at the altar.
The get involved again, and chaos ensues. Matt is kidnapped by three brothers who sound like something out of a gangster movie. He is saved after days of real "survival" by Lily, Sadie, and Matt's best friend, Dennis. Eventually it all ends tragically happy, like most romance novels. A charm called a "wish keeper" is worn around Lily's neck throughout most of the story, and she has the "seizures" that make her see the future and see things that are happening. That is how they all find Matt Starr. The secondary story aside from ooey gooey love kept me interested enough to keep reading.
Every character in the story gets what they eventually deserve depending on their circumstances throughout the story. It's a perfect book for people who like a nicely wrapped up ending, those that want closure are far below their reading level here. But at least you get form of closure.
The love story of this is very predictable, but like I said, it was light reading for summer vacation that was easy to get through in five days.
Recommended for vacation read!
Eileen Famiglietti
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My Vacation Read, Aug. 23 2002
By 
Ei "crzybookmoovielover" (Seekonk, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
The cottage I rented on my vacation held a copy of "Charming Lily" in it's very full bookcases. Why did I chose this over the great library in the Summer vacation house?
I knew the name Fern Michaels vaguely, and I had never read any of her books before. I figured it would be a light, easy to read and follow book that I could read in the five days I was there.
Fern Michaels, I quote, "likes to write about strong women". The "Lily" of the title is a woman of small stature(from her description) but large on determination. I don't know about strength. The end of the story doesn't make her out to be such a strong woman. his is the one and only book I will read by Michaels just because of her quote because I don't agree with her at all that Lily was a strong woman. She was a kind hearted, and broken hearted woman who buckles under loves strap.
Lily is stood up at the altar by the male romantic lead in the story, Matt Starr(a perfect male romantic lead name), she vows never to get involved again and moves on. Her and Sadie, her best friend since childhood, both embark on careers as Survival Camp Counselors. Matt is among one of the group Lily is leading in the beginning of the story, and it's been a few years since he blew her off at the altar.
The get involved again, and chaos ensues. Matt is kidnapped by three brothers who sound like something out of a gangster movie. He is saved after days of real "survival" by Lily, Sadie, and Matt's best friend, Dennis. Eventually it all ends tragically happy, like most romance novels. A charm called a "wish keeper" is worn around Lily's neck throughout most of the story, and she has the "seizures" that make her see the future and see things that are happening. That is how they all find Matt Starr. The secondary story aside from ooey gooey love kept me interested enough to keep reading.
Every character in the story gets what they eventually deserve depending on their circumstances throughout the story. It's a perfect book for people who like a nicely wrapped up ending, those that want closure are far below their reading level here. But at least you get form of closure.
The love story of this is very predictable, but like I said, it was light reading for summer vacation that was easy to get through in five days.
Recommended for vacation read!
Eileen Famiglietti
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars boring and immature, July 14 2002
By 
"dimity8" (Egg Harbor Twp., NJ United States) - See all my reviews
I can't believe anyone would like this book. I agree with others who said the dialogue drags, adds nothing to the plot, and seems as if it was a high school student's first attempt to write. This is not worth the time. The characters and plot are underdeveloped and there is nothing to keep you hanging on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I can't beleive this book was rated so highly by others!, March 29 2002
By A Customer
I was astonished to see how highly this book was rated. It's the worst book I've read in a long time. The story line had the
potential to be interesting but the author failed to bring it to
life. The characters were one dimentional and the dialog between them was just silly. It read like a high school student's first attempt at a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lily's fiance comes up missing a second time., July 7 2001
Lily Harper is an expert at wilderness survival. Matt Starr is a wealthy computer whiz. Left standing at the altar once before by Matt, Lily is none too pleased when he disappears for a second time, just days before their wedding. Despite the efforts of Matt's best friend Dennis Wagner to convince her that something is wrong, it isn't until Matt's dog appears on the scene that Lily realizes Dennis is right and sets out to find her missing man. Lily is aided in her search by Dennis, her best friend Sadie, and canine sleuths Buzz and Gracie. The search is going nowhere fast until Lily comes into possession of the Secret Keeper's amulet. Suddenly she's having visions associated with Matt's disappearance. At times the dialogue drags on adding nothing to the story. The reader learns early on of the connection between Lily's visions and the amulet, whereas it takes Lily more than 100 pages to figure it out. These minor annoyances didn't prevent Charming Lily from being an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely charming story! Very highly recommended, May 6 2001
By 
C. Penn "WordWeaving" (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thirty years old, Lily Harper has been left at the altar twice by the same man! Lily thinks that she should've known that Matt Starr would leave her at the altar again. All the signs had been there. She hadn't seen him in a month. He'd missed Christmas, barely called, and then put a million he put in her bank account for the kiss-off.
Suits and ties are for others, and although he's the CEO of Digitech, Matt has no qualms about looking like a vagabond even though he has millions tucked in various accounts. Matt can't wait to marry the love of his life. When he leaves the Digitech offices on New Year's Eve, Matt plans to drive to Natchez along with his dog Gracie. Ten years ago he left Lily at the altar, but on New Year's Day, he's finally going to place his ring on her finger. Or so he thinks. But when Matt stops at an ATM on the edge of town, the nefarious activities of three well-dressed thieves results in his being kidnapped, drugged, and missing on his wedding day. Again.
Best man and business partner Dennis finds it strange that no one picked him up at the airport. Closer to Matt than most brothers, Dennis staunchly believes Matt would never repeat his mistake of ten years ago. So when the beautiful Matt's dog mysteriously turns up nearly starved and obviously neglected, Dennis joins forces with Lily and best friend Sadie to find Matt.
As tangled as the plot becomes, the subplot becomes even more fun as a necklace comes to Lily's hands. The "wish keeper" brings about extraordinary events, lending an element of magic to an already entrancing tale. Indeed, Fern Michael's charming storytelling becomes an absolute delight, weaving just the right elements of magic to create a memorable tale of love. The depth of characterizations, not only in the main characters but also the secondary characters and even the animals, results in remarkable novel that you won't be able to put down. CHARMING LILY is very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charming Lily
Charming Lily by Fern Michaels (Hardcover - Dec 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews