Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, good story, Feb. 3 2003
This review is from: Birthright, The (Paperback)
After being reunited with her birth parents in Nova Scotia and after saying a tearful goodbye to her Louisiana parents, Nicole has a yearning for more. She and Anne become close friends and Nicole loves her parents, but there is something calling to her, dividing her allegiance. Her Uncle Charles has asked for her to go to England and become his heir, and she considers doing just that. After prayer and consideration, she decides to leave.
England is a contrast to all she's ever known . . . its glitter and bustle are almost too much for her, and she feels useless among the rich trappings and servants.
Anne, meanwhile, is dealing with some devastating news. She decides to go to England. Anne adjusts more quickly to England than Nicole.
Nicole and her uncle have to make some hard decisions. . . .
I didn't find this book as exciting as the others in the series (especially Book 1, my favorite so far), but it is still interesting and integral to the series. The writing is still beautiful and thoughtful and this book is worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Good Good, May 23 2002
By 
J. Peterson "jenpeterson" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birthright, The (Paperback)
This book is great! It's been a while since I read the first two books in this series, and I was surprised that it was so easy for me to pick up right where they left off.
This is the story of Nicole's journey to England to take her place as the heir to her Uncle Charles. Her ideas of duty and responsibility, but also her need for change and to find her own place in the world are at the heart of the novel.
I don't want to give away too much of the plot--especially the surprise ending, but needless to say, this book will keep you charmed through the end--through all the heartache, sorrow and joy that comes through in colonial America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine continuation of the series, Feb. 13 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Birthright #3 (Hardcover)
Having enjoyed the first two books in the Song of Acadia series, I was anxiously awaiting the third book and I wasn't disappointed. The authors seamlessly transfer the focus of the story from Catherine and Louisa to Nicole and Anne. Even though I had grown attached to the first two characters, I enjoyed reading about their daughters' lives. The book again reminds people that God works in ways we might not foresee, but if we trust in Him we will always be rewarded. I also enjoyed the geographical change in much of the storyline. It was a very good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful addition to this series, March 15 2001
This review is from: Birthright, The (Paperback)
Oke and Bunn continue their story of the babies who were raised in the "wrong" families, now grown young ladies with lives of their own. Anne feels happy and contented as a doctor's wife and is looking forward to the birth of their first child when tragedy strikes. Nicole, traveling to England to claim her birthright, is torn between her sense of duty and following her heart. Oke and Bunn weave another fine tale of God's love and plan for these two lives as the Song of Acadia series continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Equal treatment in this novel, March 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Birthright, The (Paperback)
This is my second favorite of the series, my very favorite being "The Meeting Place." Unlike "The Sacred Shore", the book preceding it, "The Birthright" brings out the character of Anne as well as that of Nicole, rather like "The Meeting Place" did with their moms, Catherine and Louise. I always felt that Anne is "short-changed" in the other books in the series, and am glad to see her getting more equal treatment here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This series just gets better and better, April 18 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Birthright, The (Paperback)
I have thoroughly enjoyed this series and hope to continue with the next one. Normally, I find Oke's book dull or too detailed to enjoy, but this series with Bunn is outstanding. Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read!, Aug. 24 2001
This review is from: Birthright, The (Paperback)
I really enjoy Janette Oke's books. This is a wonderful novel. It will defintly keep your interest. I highly recommend this. It is good clean Christian fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Birthright
The Birthright by Ann Davis Granger (Hardcover - April 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews