Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's magic behind those walls and inside of this book
Coraline Jones is a little girl (precise age unknown) who has recently moved into a big old house with her parents. It is the summer break from school and Coraline is bored. To pass the time she likes to explore the big house and its surroundings. One afternoon, she finds a door that leads into a black corridor. This black corridor in turn leads into a house that is...
Published on July 10 2004 by Matthew King

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book! M.B
I recently read Coraline, by award-winning author, Neil Gaiman. Some of his books include American Gods, The Wolves in the Walls, and Endless Nights. Like most of his books, this one is directed to children and young adults. This is a fiction book with many themes; love, hate, curiosity, and many more.
Coraline and her family just moved out of their home and into a...
Published on Jan. 9 2004


‹ Previous | 117 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, July 8 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Coraline (Hardcover)
An amazing story of an explorer who loves her parents very much, knows chocolate is bad for dogs, has no fear of buttons and knows how to handle a cat. Very fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, Sept. 19 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Coraline (Hardcover)
It was a fun read but it could have been better. I expect more from Gaimen. And it was a little too simple, even for a YA novel. But it kept me reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a fab book, Jan. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Coraline (Hardcover)
I first read this book in 2002, and I loved it. With its creepy storylines and mysterious characters, Coraline is definatley my favourite book so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MYSTERIOUS, CREEPY,but...... GREAT!!!*****, Nov. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Coraline (Hardcover)
This book is very good.I like mystery, and weirdness, and this book is exactly that.deffinantly a great book for middle schoolers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, Feb. 13 2004
By 
amhaning (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coraline (Hardcover)
Great book full of mystery and horror about a ten year old girl in a twisted world. A fabulous read for 9+ years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, Aug. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coraline (Kindle Edition)
Great book: a strange, adventurous, fun, and an easy read.
I also really enjoyed the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 28 2014
This review is from: Coraline (Kindle Edition)
A very good short story easy to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MYSTERY, MAGIC, AND SUSPENSE, Nov. 8 2008
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
It's coming out as a film next year with a sterling cast (Dakota Fanning, Teri Hatcher, etc), but you can treat yourself now by listening to the audio version of Coraline narrated by the author himself.

First off, the voice - quite listenable with barely a hint of an accent, although a decided British accent wouldn't have been at all out of place. This is a chilling story and Gaiman wisely gives it a straighforward reading, allowing his words as well as a bit of other worldly music by The Gothic Archies to reel a listener in. And, reeled in we assuredly were as I found myself sitting stock still for about three hours, totally enthralled.

Coraline is very much a normal little girl not usually given to make believe. She moves with her family into a new apartment, which she explores. She doesn't appear surprised one day when a door which once led nowhere now leads to a place that resembles her apartment but in a very odd, almost disjointed way. The inhabitants of this place are two button-eyed people who claim to be her other parents.

At first, this unlikely place is a bit of a treat as she has amazing toys here that she has never had before and even the food seems more tempting. It's not long before these seemingly loving other parents want her to stay with them forever. However, Coraline chooses to go to her real home only to discover that her actual parents have been stolen. There's little doubt as to who is behind the kidnaping as well the theft of a number of children's souls.

Coraline knows that somehow she must rescue her parents.

There's a lot of mystery in this story, a bit of magic, considerable suspense, and total enjoyment for listeners of all ages.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Boring book, Jan. 29 2003
By 
This review is from: Coraline (Hardcover)
I am a huge fan of Neil Gaiman, so it pains me to say this, but I found this book extremely boring and a tad too dark for young children. Coraline is not a very likable character. She doesn't have much going on that makes her interesting. Mr. Gaiman also doesn't do enough explore the other characters in the book, the two sisters, the man with the circus mice upstairs. I liked American Gods and Neverwhere much more. The characters were more interesting and there was more action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Came on time and was in perfect condition. I bought it for a class but I did not even read it, I watched the movie instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coraline
Coraline by Neil Gaiman (Hardcover - Aug. 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews