Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough review of historico-legal precedent.
This is a historico-legal research and summary of the applicable treason law--as actually applied to convict and sentence other American citizens who gave aid and comfort to our enemies during armed conflict.
The author clearly shows that Jane Fonda's actions in 1972 would have brought her case to a grand jury. Based on comparison to the actions of convicted...
Published on June 14 2002 by Phil Dragoo

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Misplaced priorities
As a young and idealistic man in the mid sixties I had strongly opposed the Vietnam War particularly after reports of attrocities committed by US troops started to trickle in. As the war dragged on I felt that there was no act of civil disobedience or non-violent public protest strong enough to convey the anti-war message to the Government. In that respect I felt an...
Published on Dec 1 2003 by Manfred W Vogel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Misplaced priorities, Dec 1 2003
By 
Manfred W Vogel "corbin38" (Spanaway, Washington United States) - See all my reviews
As a young and idealistic man in the mid sixties I had strongly opposed the Vietnam War particularly after reports of attrocities committed by US troops started to trickle in. As the war dragged on I felt that there was no act of civil disobedience or non-violent public protest strong enough to convey the anti-war message to the Government. In that respect I felt an admiration and a form of kinship for Jane Fonda. Her broadcast highlighted the contrast of the realities of Vietnam, the determination of the 'enemy' and the ongoing assertions by the Government that victory was just around the corner. The claim that her actions lengthened the war and, thus, amounted to a betrayal of the US soldiers is aburd because it totally ignores the timeline. Her visit took place in August 1972, while US troop withdrawals demanded by Congress started in January of 1973. If her visit to Vietnam represented in some way a final nail in the coffin of the pro-war sentiment than I say: More power to her.
In view of the attrocities committed in Vietnam, the massive bombing campaigns against rural civilians, the use of noxcious chemicals that have created over one million birth defects it would seem that there is ample room for bringing legal actions against those who have perpetrated these acts and have brought shame on this country. But Mr. Holzer's picking on Jane Fonda typically represents the corporate mentality of punishing whistle blowers rather than wrong doers. Mr. Holzer with all his credentials in jurisprudence should seriously reexamine his sense of justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It was 30 years ago!, Oct. 21 2003
By A Customer
This book concentrates on Jane Fonda's trip to Hanoi to protest the Vietnamise American war. Though they appear to create a fair argument, there are many things they fail to consider or mention.
What some of the American army did to Vietnamise people which was revealed last year in a court hearing after 1970 US files were finally released, that some army members did play games such as throwing out Vietnamise people from chopers, betting the sex of an unborn child, then cutting the pregnant women open to see who was right(this had two reported instances), drowning them, cutting off their ears, etc, it makes you realize that this was a different time the response from the ones involved? "It was a different time"
Exactly, it was a different time.
Hanoi Jane's protesting seems pale in comparrison to what others did 30 years ago. It was a different time, we have so much to consider with what is going on now-a-days, that this book is just irelevant tattle in today's world.
If you are one of those prople beleive that fwd'd email that has been floating around the net claiming she did much worst but was proven to be false, then is book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough review of historico-legal precedent., June 14 2002
By 
Phil Dragoo (Santa Fe, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
This is a historico-legal research and summary of the applicable treason law--as actually applied to convict and sentence other American citizens who gave aid and comfort to our enemies during armed conflict.
The author clearly shows that Jane Fonda's actions in 1972 would have brought her case to a grand jury. Based on comparison to the actions of convicted American citizens during WWII, Jane Fonda would likely have been convicted as well.
The eight-minute O'Reilly Factor in which author Professor Henry Mark Holzer confronted Fonda's former husband and comrade Tom Hayden is devastating to observe. Hayden falls back on a lame First Amendment defense, and cannot even grasp that North Vietnamese leaders themselves said Fonda had given them the strength to continue.
The American citizens who broadcast for the Nazis and Japanese propaganda radio in WWII were convicted on less evidence than is displayed concerning Fonda's July, 1972 work for the North Vietnamese.
That the U.S. Department of Justice failed to prosecute for fear of a public relations backlash seems in retrospect cowardly and badly reasoned.
The service of our soldiers, sailors, airmen and Marines was valiant, and their betrayal by Fonda is a vile thing to behold. Her betrayal of the duties of a citizen is clear, and resonates in the cases of John Walker Lindh and Jose Padilla.
Aid and Comfort is relevant for then and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Traitor, Dec 11 2003
By 
John R. Vitikacs (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It was stupid of Jane Fonda to make a statement against the war from the seat of an anti-aircraft gun. The authors make a good case for treason, but the United States was not officially at war, which questions the validity of the charges.
I served in Vietnam from 1970-71 and can tell you that the troops would have welcomed Jane Fonda as a performer in a USO show much more than her eventual 1972 performance.
For all who now say that the events of 1972 are immaterial, what would be the consequence today of a Hollywood personality appearing in Bhagdad in support of the Baathist Party?
Never forget that after the fall of South Vietnam, over 80,000 of their people were systematically murdered by the communists that Jane Fonda supported.
For those who really care, we would love to hear Jane Fonda say that she made a mistake. Afterall, Jimmy Carter granted amnesty to thousands of draft dodgers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Time to Move On, June 8 2003
Where have the authors been for the past 30 years?
Times have moved on. Yet the writers seem to be stuck in this time warp where this matter is still relevant. Like it or not, Jane Fonda's visit happend - end of story.
The US goverment have bigger fish to fry than a 65 year old actress living in Georgia.
-- This book is great for Vets and patriots that just wont move on, or atlease feel the world still owes them some thing.
Though I disagree with the book's conclusions, in fairness, the authors set a clear argument with their reasons why Jane Fonda should be tried for treason and use as many facts as possible (instead of lies)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, Dec 8 2002
By 
This text is a superbly written and seriously scholarly product that provides the fundamental basis, based on a foundation of thorough legal analysis of documented events, for formulating what amounts to an indictment of the behaviors of a traitor. The text is fascinating but nevertheless maintains a rigorous adherence to analyses of various data bases, and provides the reader with a fine example of integrated logic and reasoning in what could easily have been be a purely emotional treatise which typically characterizes much of the published articles concerning Ms. Fonda's behaviors in time of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Time to Move On--Get Relevant, Sept. 16 2002
By 
J. Allen (Forsyth County, Georgia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't know where the Holzers have been living since the Seventies but America and the world have a whole new set of problems and responsibilities without harping on ancient history. This mountain-from-a-molehill--from its arcane "reasoning" to its surgical slicing and dicing of quotes--is a diatribe by some sad old zealots unable to accept that time and public opinon have left them behind in the ash pile of cultural irrelevance. Published by a vanity press--what more do you need to say? Move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unmasking Jane Fonda, Sept. 23 2002
By A Customer
This book should be read by everyone like myself who, at one time, felt that Jane Fonda was an American idol. The revelations described here, with the irrefutable primary source evidence, will convince even the most diehard supporters that Jane Fonda committed treason as defined by the U.S. Constitution. Instead of being deified by women's groups and opponents of the Vietnam War ( of which I number myself) she should be indicted for treason. The treachery and malevolence of this woman is a revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its not "ancient" history, Sept. 25 2002
By 
alan miller (nashville, tn United States) - See all my reviews
...A lot of US soldiers were betrayed by what Ms Fonda said and did during her trip to Vietnam. Many of her ilk (for example Bill Clinton)protested our involvement in Vietnam because it was fashionable. Unfortunately, Vietnam vets weren't allowed to be fashionable as they were dying overseas to the tune of 58 thousand over 10 years.The purpose of the book as I see it is "He who forgets history is doomed to repeat it"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Time, July 3 2002
By 
A. Myers "mearsly" (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a waste of time. Jane Fonda has no relevance to current politics or culture. This book probably was begun a long time ago, and "back-burnered" by the authors while they worked on other projects. Now, in 2003, it reeks with irrelevance. Have the authors nothing better to do with their time? This is a huge disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aid and Comfort: Jane Fonda in North Vietnam
Aid and Comfort: Jane Fonda in North Vietnam by Erika Holzer (Paperback - April 1 2006)
Used & New from: CDN$ 44.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews