Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Everyone knows someone like Christopher Creed. He is, after all, the kid you love to hate. He'll treat you like his best friend, hanging onto your every word, following you everywhere you go, even as you tell him to go away. He'll get up, smiling, after you've punched him in the mouth for saying something totally inappropriate. He's the kid we see at every high school:...
Published on Aug. 24 2007 by TeensReadToo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but for older teens
The book is engaging and interesting but there is a lot of cursing and it is fairly sexually explicit. Unfortunately, the editorial reviews do not mention this. I would recommend it to 16 and up, not 12 and up. Just a warning to parents and teachers if you care about this kind of stuff. In an attempt to be "authentic", it seems coarseness is thought to be OK. But the best...
Published on Dec 3 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, Aug. 24 2007
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
Everyone knows someone like Christopher Creed. He is, after all, the kid you love to hate. He'll treat you like his best friend, hanging onto your every word, following you everywhere you go, even as you tell him to go away. He'll get up, smiling, after you've punched him in the mouth for saying something totally inappropriate. He's the kid we see at every high school: the one with no friends, who thinks he knows everything, loathed by all and yet oblivious to our hatred.

Except Christopher Creed wasn't totally oblivious, as shown by the email he sends to the school principal the day he ends up missing. No one seems to know for sure whether Creed was contemplating running away or committing suicide--all they know is that he's gone, disappeared as if he'd never lived in the town of Steepleton at all.

For Victor "Torey" Adams, the day Chris Creed drops off the face of the Earth is a defining, and life-altering, day for him. Suddenly confused by the way he's treated Creed in the past, ashamed by the pure glee that his fellow students seem to get out of speculating what happened to the missing teen, Torey is disillusioned with his life--and so sets out to discover what truly happened to Christopher Creed the day he went missing.

Along with two unlikely allies, a once-popular girl now considered to be an easy lay and a "boon" boy from the wrong side of the tracks, Torey has become obsessed with unearthing clues to Creed's mysterious disappearance. As he learns more about the strange happenings in the Creed home, as he becomes convinced that Christopher's mother is hiding something, as he wanders the woods looking for a body, Torey learns something about the way the world works--and it isn't pretty.

THE BODY OF CHRISTOPHER CREED is an engaging mystery, but it's also a look into the life and times of every high school in the world. The cliques, the drama, the need to belong. The bullying, the hatred, the intense pressure to fit in. Ms. Plum-Ucci has penned a book that goes straight to the heart of the matter. When things are unbearable in your life, when fiction is preferable to fact, how far are you willing to go to change your destiny?

A real winner, this is definitely a recommended read!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For Teens or Anyone, June 6 2004
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
The Body of Christopher Creed Book Summary
By Dylan Schrode
One of the best books that I've read all year would have to be The Body of Christopher Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci. This mystery/thriller novel threw many curveballs at the reader, and always kept you guessing. The author does a great job of plotting out the characters and their motives. At the end of the book, she (Carol) tells the reader an interesting fact about Chris Creed that leaves the reader wanting more.
All in all, this book is directed for an audience of 13 and up. The book starts out in the present life of Torey Adams, a regular High School student who gets caught up in the mystery of where and why Chris Creed had vanished. Torey is writing his story about Chris Creed and publishing it on the internet so people can read it and respond. You don't know why Torey does this until the last chapter of the book, where Carol wraps up the novel.
The flashback of Torey Adam's story begins in his home town of Steepleton, New Jersey. He is an All-American Football star, has a popular girlfriend, friends, a nice car, a good family; all the good things in life. Steepleton is a town that has a reputation of being "perfect." Sure, some people are drug addicts; some are flunkees. But for the most part, there aren't any gangs or bad people terrorizing Steepleton, It's just a easy town to live in. Until Chris Creed is suddenly missing.
Nobody knew why Chris had vanished. Some say that he committed suicide due to the fact he was the geek in school. Chris was always bugging you about the stupidest things that didn't matter. That's why nodoby really liked him, because he was a huge pest. Others say that Chris had ran away and changed his name to get away from his mother. His mother was in the marines and she never let Chris have any social life. Not one bit. She kept him locked in his room, safe from the "bad" things, such as cliques, drugs, alcohol, etc.
Torey had become more and more interested in what had happened to Chris and decided to start investigating the situation. He accidentally ran into his past friend, Allie, while looking for info on Chris. Coincidentally, Allie was also trying to get some scoop on the Chris crisis. Allie had been a neighbor and close friend to Chris for a very long time, and she had predicted Chris would snap any day. But where did he go was the big question.
Throughout the rest of the book, Torey and Allie develop a good relationship among each other and work together to find out more about Chris. Along the way, Allie and Chris meet new people and challenges that all help them in finding out where Creed went. As the book progresses, Torey gives up his jock-like appearance, his relationship with his girlfriend, and even his relationship with his best friends, but will benefit from doing this in the long run.
Many lessons can be learned from this story. The message I got from this book would have to be that being who you are is one of the most important things in life, and you shouldn't let someone rob you of your individuality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but for older teens, Dec 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
The book is engaging and interesting but there is a lot of cursing and it is fairly sexually explicit. Unfortunately, the editorial reviews do not mention this. I would recommend it to 16 and up, not 12 and up. Just a warning to parents and teachers if you care about this kind of stuff. In an attempt to be "authentic", it seems coarseness is thought to be OK. But the best artists don't need to go there to get their point across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review by Ricardo, Govind, Hamed, and Josue, June 13 2006
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book. Probably the most interesting book that we have read this year.

It starts out with the protagonist Torey Adams writing an email describing the story of Christopher Creed. It then quickly turns into a flashback to the events that Torey had that lead him to where he was now. The flashback starts when the perfect little town of Steepleton is shattered to pieces with the disappearance of Christopher Creed, the town oddball. The worst part is that he just disappeared. There's no body to be found. The only evidence is the note Creed sent to his principal before he went missing. Torey Adams was like everyone else; he had the perfect life with the perfect girlfriend, but when creed went missing he seemed to be the only one who cared. He then sets out to find the body of Chris Creed along with a long time friend named Ali, despite the fact that he used to beat Chris. In his search he encounters problems, like being accused of murdering Creed. He also finds new friends in those whom he considered town outcasts, and enemies in those whom he considered friends. In his journey Torey discovers many lessons that mature him change him forever.

The author does a really good job of keeping the reader reading on. She does a very good job of concealing the mysteries of the story. As well, there are many surprises throughout the book, and the ending will leave you in shock. This book has many important life messages as well. The only bad aspect of the book is that it starts out at a really slow pace, but it picks up a bit near the ending, as we approached the climax. Although the book's slow pace made it seem boring at first, it had a mysterious way of making us want to keep reading on. We recomend this book to high school students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Exciting and Very Suspenseful, May 22 2004
By 
Bryan (Pasadena, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
The "Body of Christopher Creed" could possibly go on my all-time favorite mystery book list. The book was suspenseful and chilling from the start of the book to the finish. It was one of those types of books in which I couldn't put down. Every free minute was spend reading this book. Carol Plum-Ucci did a good job in making the book a very intriquing. At times, this book gave me the chills. At the end of each chapter, I was left hanging and wanting to read more to see what happened next. I recommend this book to readers who are especially interested in mystery books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing story, May 21 2004
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
This story is quite fascinating in the way that the author portrays a teenage boy's discovery of truth and deception in a small suburban town in Southern New Jersey. It perfectly describes the way that small towns work, and how society and community can often hide within themselves amazing truths of secrets and power.
This book tells the tale of a boy, named Christopher Creed, who has gone missing, leaving nothing behind but a laminated treasure map, a hidden diary, and a cryptic last letter to his principal. Torey, along with his friends Ali and the outsider Bo, must find a way to exculpate himself as well as Bo, or else be placed in the ridicule and judgement of his tightly knit community.
The most interesting aspect of this book is that it is a quick and easy read, but manages to be incredibly fascinating and exciting. The ending will shock you, since the story eventually becomes an interwoven tale of two outsider's stories and how their lives are affected by the way people treat them.
Overall, this book is one of the best I have ever read. It gets deep into people's minds, and exhibits the way that, during a crisis, bystanders and hypocrites, as well as life-savers and virtue are present, no matter what.
I definitely reccomend this book.
Also reccomended: Monster, Sloppy Firsts and Second Helpings, Harry Potter, anything by Dan Brown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Body of Christopher Creed, March 29 2004
By 
"angel_6656" (Kaneohe, HI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
This book takes place in a small town called Steepleton where everyone knows everybody. There's a boy that lives in Steepleton named Chris who was constantly mocked since he was young and has suddenly disappeared, leaving nothing but a
mysterious letter. No one in Steepleton knows what happened to him, not even his own mother. They don't know whether he was kidnapped, if he committed suicide or if he just left town. Now everyone in Steepleton is blaming each other for Chris'
disappearance and Torey and his friends are trying to get to the bottom of this mystery.
I enjoyed reading this book because it's suspenseful to the very end. There are so many surprises in this book, I enjoyed reading every page. The characters in this story are
complex and they have there own opinions about Chris' disappearance.
The lesson to learn is you shouldn't be cruel to people because it might not seem to affect them, but it hurts inside. Chris wasn't a bad person, he just wanted friends. Nobody cared about him until he disappeared. In this story nobody wanted to admit thatthey treated Chris badly.
I would recommend this book to people that love to read books that keep you on the edge of your seat to the very end. It was honestly one of the best books I have ever read because once you pick up this book up, you wont want to put it down until you read it to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Body of Christopher Creed, March 28 2004
By 
"angel_6656" (Kaneohe, HI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
This book takes place in a small town called Steepleton where everyone knows
everybody. There's a boy that lives in Steepleton named Chris who was constantly
mocked since he was young and has suddenly disappeared, leaving nothing but a
mysterious letter. No one in Steepleton knows what happened to him, not even his own
mother. They don't know whether he was kidnapped, if he committed suicide or if he
just left town. Now everyone in Steepleton is blaming each other for Chris'
disappearance and Torey and his friends are trying to get to the bottom of this mystery.
I enjoyed reading this book because it's suspenseful to the very end. There are so
many surprises in this book, I enjoyed reading every page. The characters in this story are
complex and they have there own opinions about Chris' disappearance.
The lesson to learn is you shouldn't be cruel to people because it might not seem
to affect them, but it hurts inside. Chris wasn't a bad person, he just wanted friends.
Nobody cared about him until he disappeared. In this story nobody wanted to admit that
they treated Chris badly.
I would recommend this book to people that love to read books that keep you on
the edge of your seat to the very end. It was honestly one of the best books I have ever
read because once you pick up this book up, you wont want to put it down until you read
it to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Body???, Feb. 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
The Body of Chistopher Creed is a book of high school level. This book is about a boy who rans away. It's a ver good book.It's a five star rating for me.
The best part is when they find the note book. It's the best part because he had wrote important facts and some fuuny make believe stuff. That is what I think of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Fan, Jan. 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Body of Christopher Creed (Paperback)
I read this book for a course I'm taking and I was blown away. I read it in one sitting, I just couldn't put it down. It was so so good. In particular, I found the author's approach to the concept of reality, fascinating. I would reccomend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Body of Christopher Creed
The Body of Christopher Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci (Paperback - Nov. 1 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews