Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, Don't Sweat the Small Stuff
This is one of the most useful books for a person that is depressed or not understanding of how simple your life can be, if you control it.
Published 14 months ago by Robert T Kew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What about the "big stuff"?
For the most part I enjoyed reading Richard Carlson's book. I've always thought that sweating the small stuff is a major problem in life and that putting things in perspective is an important element in being happy. It was gratifying to have some of these feelings reinforced. Many of his exercises were actually already part of my way of life, but there were also many...
Published on July 22 2001 by ZEV KAPTOWSKY


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, Don't Sweat the Small Stuff, Feb. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Sweat the Small Stuff and It's All Small Stuff: Simple Ways to Keep the Little Things from Taking Over Your Life (Paperback)
This is one of the most useful books for a person that is depressed or not understanding of how simple your life can be, if you control it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helps One Gain Perspective, Sept. 19 2003
By 
Dr. W. G. Covington, Jr. (Edinboro, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Sweat the Small Stuff and It's All Small Stuff: Simple Ways to Keep the Little Things from Taking Over Your Life (Paperback)
Even the title of this book hints at gaining a broader perspective when life's frustrations occur. A famous quote from William James firmly establishes the book's theme: "The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitude" (p. 1). Carlson builds on James' observation by telling us that fear, worry, and doubt eat up a tremendous amount of energy, thus robbing us of creativity and productivity. Getting outside one's self is the route to gaining a fresh perspective. We're reminded that by doing good to others, we feel better about ourselves. Another hint is in living in the present, for fear resides in the future. He includes a section on the Christian virtue of patience. Carlson argues that a clear mind reduces stress and allows for more fun. He tells readers to see difficult situations as challenges in life and goes on to encourage the random acts of kindness we hear about. A lot of his teaching is based on what the Bible teaches, however he doesn't present it in a Christian framework. Since it is largely solid advice, it is to be heeded and as it is, one's quality of life is improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DAILY READ!, Aug. 28 2003
By A Customer
Regardless of what's going on in your busy life, Don't Sweat the Small Stuff is worth a daily look. I make it a point to review at least one topic a day and have always come away with some great advice for the challenges at hand.
You'll want to have a copy on your desk and start the day with one of the many capsules provided Richard Carlson. And despite the simplicity of the advice you will reap big dividends in understanding yourself and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book..., Feb. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Sweat the Small Stuff and It's All Small Stuff: Simple Ways to Keep the Little Things from Taking Over Your Life (Paperback)
I am attempting to live the principles of this book as a human who would like to be more peaceful, less rushed and more relaxed and as a therapist I am recommending the vignettes as homework reading for my clients who would like the same thing. Vignettes encompass many principles of mindfulness, interpersonal effectiveness and cognitive behavioral principles in an easy to digest form. An evidence based read presented in a way that is not intimidating to learn or teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, Dec 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Easy to read and should be read often even one chapter per day. Easy to follow and used several sections in my present job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE this book!, Aug. 17 2013
By 
C. Cruickshank (Whitby, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you ever feel out of sorts, angry, frustrated, basically not "at ease" with yourself or your life, this little book can help put "living" into perspective. It's been part of my regular reading for over 10 years now, and it's been invaluable. Short chapters, succinct writing, and your willingness to take on a different perspective = a much calmer and peaceful YOU.

I'm very sad he died so young, but it was his time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the rest of your life!, July 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great, everyday read. You could pick this up at any time in your life and read it over and over. In fact, I think you should. It will help you at many different points in your life. Read on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring book!!!!, May 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Sweat the Small Stuff and It's All Small Stuff: Simple Ways to Keep the Little Things from Taking Over Your Life (Paperback)
this book is very inspiring and i learned alot from it! i recommend this book to all working or non working peolpe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, April 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Sweat the Small Stuff and It's All Small Stuff: Simple Ways to Keep the Little Things from Taking Over Your Life (Paperback)
Simple and easy to understand and practical tips on how to lead a more joyful and harmonious life -work, home, relationships, tout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, Dec 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
everyone should read it once, some people should read it over and over again for the rest of their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacb8e9b4)

This product

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff and It's All Small Stuff: Simple Ways to Keep the Little Things from Taking Over Your Life
CDN$ 15.50 CDN$ 11.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews