Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of a deserter and a hero
The Karluk's story really is one of a deserter and a hero. The expedition leader Stefansson, realizing his old and run-down vessel will not carry him to the promise land (being trapped in ice), desert ship and left Robert Bartlett holding the faith of the crew in his hand.

Barlett, a couragous, ressourful man takes it upon himself to save those under him, by...
Published on Dec 25 2009 by Marc Ranger

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat unbelievable to say the least...read on
This book is very gipping but there are parts I definatley cannot believe. I read many outdoor adventure books and find some things about this story disturbing. How can a person be crossing a frozen ocean in 40 degress below zero temps wearing only muckluks and deerskins and fall through a lead of water and get totally submerged and then continue on travelling for hours...
Published on Jan. 15 2002 by M. Pierce


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of a deserter and a hero, Dec 25 2009
By 
Marc Ranger "Baseball fan" (québec, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk (Paperback)
The Karluk's story really is one of a deserter and a hero. The expedition leader Stefansson, realizing his old and run-down vessel will not carry him to the promise land (being trapped in ice), desert ship and left Robert Bartlett holding the faith of the crew in his hand.

Barlett, a couragous, ressourful man takes it upon himself to save those under him, by leading a desesperate walk over the ice-flow to Wrangel Island. What makes this desesparate struggle stand apart from other Artic or Antarctic adventure is that 3 of the men under Bartlett (James Murray, Dr Allister Mackay and Henri Beauchat) thought they knew better and slipt rank. Murray (Endurance) and Mackay (Nimrod) had served under Shackelton and coudn't bear being ordered by a "lesser" man like Bartlett (who himself served under Peary).

Result? Bartlett saved most of the men under him and the trio of deserters was never heard of again...
Bartlett ultimatly had to leave most of his charges on Wrangel Island, while he and an Eskimo ally made an extraordinary, unbelievable journey through Siberia, Bering Strait and Alaska to get help.

Bottom line, The Ice Master is a Master of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely riveting!, June 24 2008
By 
M. Pack (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Think you've had a hard day at work? Think again! Have a read of this wonderfully written book and may you never complain again.

Spellbinding in tale and composition... a fabulous job of writing the tale of a practically unimaginable story of hardship and endurance.

The only other book I've read of equal impact concerning the hardship of making a living "on the ice" is "Death on the Ice", by Cassie Brown. The mere fact that "Ice Master" compares with "Death on the Ice" is reason enough to read it.

Get this book, read it, and you can thank me for recommending it later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than fiction., Sept. 10 2006
By 
Melvin Scott "MJS" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk (Paperback)
This is one of those books where you can't put it down until you read one more page, and then it becomes two, and then ten. Excellent book. I would not hesitate to read another offering by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Tue Survival Story - well told!, April 5 2004
By 
John D. Hillmer (Waukesha, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk (Paperback)
I haven't read a book from cover to cover in years. I picked this one up and could not put it down. The other reviews provide a nice summary of the story, so I won't repeat them, but I just wanted to "vote" here to give this my TOP rating. The haunting, cold, survival story has the added dimension that it is a true story - assembled from the diaries and interviews of the actual people who this happened to. This would make for a wonderful PBS movie, or a mini-series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Tue Survival Story - well told!, April 5 2004
By 
John D. Hillmer (Waukesha, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk (Paperback)
I haven't ready a book from cover to cover in years. I picked this one up and could not put it down. The haunting, cold, survival story has the added dimension that is is a true story - assembled from the diaries and interviews of the actual people who this happened to. This would make for a wonderful PBS movie, or a mini-series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! No other Non-Fiction work like it!, April 23 2003
By 
Chris E. Asay (Pleasant Grove, UT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was mesmerized from the first page. Jennifer Niven's narration and superior writing skills have brought this piece of history alive in this fantastic book. I highly recommend it. I am anxiously looking forward to her sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Karluk or Endurance ?, Feb. 10 2003
This review is from: The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk (Paperback)
Great read for any artic Exploration or adventure reader. Comparison to Endurance and the Shackleton story are incredibly interesting. They ocurred at the same time frame, at opposite ends of the Globe. The contrast in leadership between the 2 leaders, or lack there of, is gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring!!!, Jan. 31 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk (Paperback)
This book was absolutely fabulous!!! Ms. Niven is truly an incredible writer. Her descriptions of the men, the families and the conditions tugged at my heart like no other story I've come across. This must become a movie!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put the book down., Jan. 28 2003
By 
James W. Brandt "Jim" (Arkansas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Really well written book. Even though it is non-fictional, it reads as good as any novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply unforgettable, Oct. 29 2002
By 
Louise Kolbeinsen "Louise" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book tells the amazing true story of a doomed expedition to the Arctic.
There is much to recommend about this book, throughout you wonder why anyone would ever venture north again after all the suffering that the crew of this ship endured.
There are a number of different stories being told in this book, including a murder mystery, a missing crew and a harrowing journey to rescue.
The ending actually left me tingling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa845700c)

This product

The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk
The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk by Jennifer Niven (Paperback - Oct. 10 2001)
CDN$ 17.50 CDN$ 12.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews