Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars WELL DONE TROY DENNING!!!
If you enjoyed The Avatar Trilogy- Shadowdale, Tantras, and Waterdeep, and the Prince of Lies, you will love Crucible: the Trial of Cyric the Mad, which is the conclusion to this wonderful series set in the magical world of Toril! The books are so incredibly well written that the reader feels that they have been transported to another plane of existence and are actually...
Published on June 4 2004 by L Gontzes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but...
...it's told by Malik, a follower of a mad god (and I have doubts about this fellow's sanity). In fact, I have nothing against this style but then, the story is as twisted as Cyrinishad.
Published on April 18 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars WELL DONE TROY DENNING!!!, June 4 2004
By 
L Gontzes (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crucible: Trial Of Cyri (Mass Market Paperback)
If you enjoyed The Avatar Trilogy- Shadowdale, Tantras, and Waterdeep, and the Prince of Lies, you will love Crucible: the Trial of Cyric the Mad, which is the conclusion to this wonderful series set in the magical world of Toril! The books are so incredibly well written that the reader feels that they have been transported to another plane of existence and are actually present among the characters, seeing what they see, feeling what they feel, sensing what they sense. The authors have truly outdone themselves and have presented us with a masterpiece of literature the likes of which we have seen only in JRR Tolkien's work, RA Salvatore's The Dark Elf and Icewind Dale trilogies, and in authors Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends trilogies. Magic, Gods and Heroes are all about. In conclusion, it's what Fantasy reading SHOULD be. A GREAT book indeed and a "must read" if you love Fantasy and especially if you love the Forgotten Realms! DON'T MISS IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vraiment excellent, May 22 2004
Bon un petit commentaire en français sur ce livre en anglais étant donné la rapidité incroyable de la traduction...
Je dois dire que en tant que 5ème livre sur cyric, ce livre est vraiment super bon et remonte le niveau de cette suite après le prince du mensonge que je trouves moins bon... Je conseil ce livre à tout ceux aimant Cyric, voulant savoir ce qu'il devient une fois fou ou qui aime tout simplement les royaumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, Jan. 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Crucible: Trial Of Cyri (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is the most amazing fantasy book I have ever read. I loved the first three books of the Avatar series, 4 was good. But this, it takes the cake without question.
The intrgue created and the complexity of the trial allows you to see who the great powers really are. You can see at times, they are quite human and at times blind to anything that is not them.
I couldn't put this down and the last 20 pages made my heart jump out of my chest. I didn't want this one to end. That is for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Unorthodox from the Bad Guy's POV, April 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Crucible: Trial Of Cyri (Mass Market Paperback)
But unlike the Cyrinishad, this will not make you into a Follower of the One. Yes, Midnight, Kelemvor, Adon, and Cyric (and even Fzoul) are back again, albeit somewhat changed. But our hero, and narrator, is Malik, a merchant turned spy, devoted faithful of the mad god Cyric, riding forth on his not-really-that-faithful bone-crunching steed Halah (named after his not-really-that-faithful prince-dallying wife). With his Inspector Clouseau like antics, his god-given inability to suffer harm, and his "Liar Liar" like inability to say anything but the truth (even to his god), he provides us with a presumably accurate, sometimes touching, often gruesome, and occasionally humorous account of the time of Cyric's madness. Of course Midnight is now known as the Harlot, Kelemvor is the Ursurper, etc. etc. but their dialogue and actions are still familiar to those of us who have known them since Shadowdale. Mystra's love and devotion to Kelemvor, Adon, and her followers stands out, as do her frustrations in being reprimanded by the gods for her lack of objectivity or neutrality concerning good and evil. The story of the gods is interwoven with Malik's story of his quest to cure his god's madness while being pursued by the veiled Harper witch, Ruha, from Troy Denning's "The Parched Sea." We don't see enough of Adon (who's been getting the short end of the stick time-wise since his scarring in the Avatar Trilogy), and Rinda and Gwydion deserved more screen time. But Denning's prose and imagination really shine in this story -- here's hoping this isn't the last! And if you (like me) have a secret crush on Mystra, then you've got to get this book dude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Horrid Writing with a even more horrid plot, Sept. 11 2001
This review is from: Crucible: Trial Of Cyri (Mass Market Paperback)
I hate it so much when other writers screw up characters that have been created by other authors. In this case Troy Denning totaly destroies the characters of Kelemvor and Midnight created by James Lowder and Scott Ciencin respectively. Troy Denning decides to turn Kelemvor into something that he would not have had Lowder written this book and had Midnight just cry about it.
Also, the way in which it was written was bad. Not that Denning is a bad writter, but writing from the first person is very difficult and he did not accomplish what he set out to in this book.

I think Denning destroyed the entire Faerunian Pantheon single handedly with this book. If you want a good ending to the Avatar Trilogy just stop reading at Price of Lies by James Lowder. It gives you a much more refreshing feeling when you are done rather than a putrid feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, July 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Crucible: Trial Of Cyri (Mass Market Paperback)
A worthy finale to the Avatar series. A certain couple's cheap death really annoyed me but overall the book is... "addictive". When I realized what Lord Death had sacrificed to restore a certain priest's faith in his deity I almost wept. A good read well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maddness at it's best, April 26 2001
This review is from: Crucible: Trial Of Cyri (Mass Market Paperback)
This novel unfolds the truth about Gods of Forgotten Realms. A reader will learn the history powers allies and true nature of each of the gods. That alone is reason enough to read it. But I feel that the most important things about this story is the point of view it's told from. A mad man, one lost in the love of his own God but not because of faith but because of power he will receive for staying in his favor. As you read this novel feel yourself as a mad man would. Cyric is the God of madness and for that reason the story is being told by a mad man. This allows the reader to truly see and feel what we will never (hopefully) feel in our lives and more importantly what Cyric truly feels. Read this novel if you true want to understand what goes on in the forgotten realms but even more importantly, when a God goes mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but..., April 18 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Crucible: Trial Of Cyri (Mass Market Paperback)
...it's told by Malik, a follower of a mad god (and I have doubts about this fellow's sanity). In fact, I have nothing against this style but then, the story is as twisted as Cyrinishad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's good but..., April 18 2001
This review is from: Crucible: Trial Of Cyri (Mass Market Paperback)
...it's, like another reveiwer said, written from Malik's pen. Not that it's bad, but to read a story viewed by a follower of a mad god doesn't agree with me. Yes, Malik is amusing, and his view of the gods is funny. But hey, it's not quite "official". i.e. Mystra told Ao she wanted to destroy Cyric because she's jealous of his power??? I've nothing against this style, but the story is too twisted. Actually, it's jsut as twisted the way Cyrinishad is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but Depressing..., Feb. 20 2001
This review is from: Crucible: Trial Of Cyri (Mass Market Paperback)
Ah the finale for the story of Cyric, Mystra, and Kelemvor. This book was interesting to read although a bit...uncomfortable. I say uncomfortable because the book is from the perspective of a follower of Cyric, and thus causes a little confusion to the reader. Hm. The ending however is something that I believe no one expected...quite a bit depressing actually. This is a worthy book overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xf160bf4)

This product

Crucible: Trial Of Cyri
Crucible: Trial Of Cyri by Troy Denning (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 24 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews