Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gods Walk Amongst The Mortals...
This book was definately a "Must Read"!
I have read probably 20 DL novels, and this was in the top 10. This story centers on "Ayrx", direct descendant from the legandary "Kaz", during the chaos war.
This book was a page turner, with some amazing battles, in fact, lots, and lots, of battles. The minotaurs as usual fought with themselves over the virtues of Honor,...
Published on Jan. 21 2003 by Dj Toasty

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The rise of a hero with a twist. Nice but just too slow.
This is the second best in the series after Doom Brigade (so far), and Knaak's technique is good, much better than the previous three, but... Of course there is a but. It's too slow, it drags on and on without much happening. The battles are carnages, really and they get boring after the second one. These cruscateans really feel like mass-generated for massacre (which...
Published on March 7 2001 by Jiame


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Dragonlance "Saving Private Ryan", Sept. 16 2003
By 
Aaron Lohr "Visionary" (Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
Richard Knaak is a great storyteller. He knows how to keep the reader glued to the story and Reavers of the Blood Sea is a great example.
The characters are well fleshed out, and you can really understand why they feel the way they do when peculiar events take place.
The hero of the story, Aryx, is happy being a hired hand on a minotaur ship when he suddenly finds himself wrapped up with dark knights, Gods, war, political unrest, ominous horrors, and the possible destruction of his planet. What's a minotaur to do?
This book is not for the faint of heart. Unlike other Dragonlance novels, the battle scenes here are numerous and as graphic as they can get. I was reminded of Saving Private Ryan, but this book goes even further.
The portrayal of Sargonnas alone makes this book a worthy read. This is a good book, with a thrilling climax. Brace yourself for battle, and top notch adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gods Walk Amongst The Mortals..., Jan. 21 2003
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was definately a "Must Read"!
I have read probably 20 DL novels, and this was in the top 10. This story centers on "Ayrx", direct descendant from the legandary "Kaz", during the chaos war.
This book was a page turner, with some amazing battles, in fact, lots, and lots, of battles. The minotaurs as usual fought with themselves over the virtues of Honor, and Bravery, and as usual, there is another group trying to control them as slave solders..this time that group being the Knights of Tahkisis.
The Minotaurs are fighting to save their homeland from (1) The Knights of Tahkisis , and (2) The Chaos Creatures, and at the center of all of the fighting, and conquering, and politcs, is Aryx, the reluctant Hero thrust into a situation he doesn't want any part of, but The Gods "Sargonnas", and "Kiri-Jolith", simply won't have it without him.
The Pros:
(1)Sargonnas Appears in Mortal Flesh for quite some time, accompanied by the treacherous "Sword of Tears"
(2)Kaz Makes Several Appearences
(3)Kiri-Jolith Makes one appearance in mortal flesh, and one in a dream.
(4)There are some awesome battles
(5)Some very Memorable Characters
The Cons:
(1)Sargonnas seems a bit like a tired wimp, who leaves more questions than he answers
(2)Kiri-Jolith leaves more questions than he answers
(3)Kaz leaves more questions than he answers
(4)Doesn't it seem that gods, and the spirits of legends couldn't give a straight answer if they wanted to?
(5)Several Characters who you grow attached to throughout the story die.
(6)Throughought the book the Knights of Tahkisis keep speaking about a "Great Vision", and it is never really explained.
(7)The Minotaurs and knights keep battling the chaos creaturs, and never really win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chaos all around!, Oct. 12 2002
By 
Andy. Gillum (indian mound, tn) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
As with any book about minotaurs, there's plenty of honor & violence which isn't a bad thing in such cases.
This novel has many strengths: a believeable plot twist to get thing rolling(how else did you thing Takhisis would bring these prideful beasts into line without major bloodshed?), great battle scenes(including one involving a god) & memorable characters.
I only found 2 flaws: The KOT were a little crueler than portrayed in other books & the length of the book. WOW! While page wise it's no longer than most DL books, there were a LOT of words crammed on them pages. It took me 2 &  days of HARD reading to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, but not spectacular, Nov. 10 2001
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
good beginning, but a lot of bloodshed in the book. as in, a lot of fighting, most of the book is just fighting, which gets boring. the enemy is pretty different -- they're not the shadow-wights and the fire dragons you find in Dragons of a Summer Flame, but everything works out well nonetheless. well, that's all i can say for this book..
oh yeah, sargonnas plays a part in it =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The rise of a hero with a twist. Nice but just too slow., March 7 2001
By 
Jiame (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second best in the series after Doom Brigade (so far), and Knaak's technique is good, much better than the previous three, but... Of course there is a but. It's too slow, it drags on and on without much happening. The battles are carnages, really and they get boring after the second one. These cruscateans really feel like mass-generated for massacre (which is on purpose, i suppose) but there is no tension other than "oh, boy, when will *this* battle end?" Somehow the monsters feel like the bugs in Starship Troopers without the dynamics. 20% less of everything would have been enough, because this pace is just too slow - nothing really interesting happens between two conflicts (or rather, nothing interesting *enough*).
The characters are good, though, all cliché but good, especially Rand and Aryx - the human priest with a potential and the bitter minotaur warrior. The best motif of the story is the unwilling, reluctant hero, who pretty much hates being there at the right place at the right time. Kinda destroys the whole ultra-heroic myth of its genre, and feel especially cynical in the Dragonlance setting, where previous heroes were ultra-mega-heroic. I liked this anti-heroic touch very much, especially the bitter and disturbing happy end.
Still, it's too slow at most places, so I would be hard pressed to read this book a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous, May 11 2000
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
This was just one book I couldn't put down. It had a great plot, and good characters. This was one of my first DL book and still is one of my favorites. I would buy this, now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dragonlance Book?, April 22 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
I was not very pleased with this book. First off, the writer used a few words over and over, such as 'arrogant', which was rather annoying. Second, it dragged a little, with pretty much nothing but Magori fights. It lacks variety in words and for some reason, I keep forgetting that this is a Dragonlance book. Since I am a picky reader, I gave this book three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Chaos War Series, Jan. 19 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is the best of a great series and I don't say that lightly. I will even include Dragons of the Summer Flame. Although it would face competition from The Doom Brigade, DoSF, and perhaps even Mt. Nevermind (maybe) this book beats them all and more. If you like minotaurs you could say it is the best DL book ever. It is very good (keep in mind Aryx didn't know what he was talking about when he said Raistlin couln't do what Sargonnas did in that circus.
Sargonnas lives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dragonlance books I've read, Jan. 15 2000
By 
Jamil Salaam (Colorado Springs, Colorado) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
When I first saw this book I thought it wasn't going to be that good but there wasn't a moment when I thought it was boring. I couldn't put it down and I almost read the entire book straight. If you're looking for a good dragonlance book then this is definetly it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, Sept. 6 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series (Mass Market Paperback)
I've always loved Knaak's minotaur books, and this is no exception. Sargonnas is one of the few powerful gods in Dragonlance that hasn't ever gotten a good portrayal. I never understood how he could be truly honorable and evil before, but now I do. Great job all around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series
Reavers of the Blood Sea: The Chaos War Series by richard a. Knaak (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 1 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews