Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and richly developed
It took me a few chapters to become absolutely hooked, perhaps more than most books seasoned with thick prose. The language of the author was very eloquent, almost ethereal at times. Not wishing to be hyperbolic, it was a bit like reading Shakespear in that you must find the rhythm of the writer, but when you do it comes to you in a natural and pleasant fashion...
Published on May 25 2004 by Matthew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Trilogy is slowly getting better (slowly)
If you are a Dragonlance fan, you know you have to read anything by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman. They are the core novels, and generally the best (not always).
Volume 2 of the War of Souls Trilogy does two things well. First it brings much needed depth to the characters from Volume 1. The knight Gerard and the elf Gilthas in particular have been given a lot of...
Published on Nov. 12 2003 by Aaron Lohr


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars no longer lost, April 11 2001
This review is from: Dragons of a Lost Star (Hardcover)
Not since the days of the Chronicles and Legends have i enjoyed reading so much. Dragons of a Lost Star is incredible! And while I had my doubts after reading the first War of Souls novel, Dragons of a Fallen Sun, rest assured fellow readers, all is right in the world of Krynn. Finally, the one God's identity is revealed! And you will kick yourselves because the answer is so obvious with all the elven wars. Qualinost under attack by the great Beryl! Once the one god is unmasked the pieces of this great and wonderful puzzle begin to fall into place. take note of the man aboard the Gull Wing, he's got alot of making up to do! do yourself a favor and run to buy this book. I promise, you wil not regret for one moment. the return of Dalamar! the secret behind the dead walking again! it's going to be a long year awaiting dragons of a Vanished Moon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keep Yourself Informed, April 11 2001
By 
Adam (Amherst, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragons of a Lost Star (Hardcover)
I'm sure that a lot of the people reading this are regular readers/posters on Dragonlance message boards and mailing lists, and the reason I gave this book four stars was mostly for their consideration. The average reader won't be able to get into this so easily, even though the book is, compared to most other fantasy novels, well written. It's not the fault of the writers or their prose that people won't get into it; this book is, more than almost any other fantasy series, a small yet beautiful and important piece of the greater picture and puzzle. One by one, the possible solutions to the question of the One God's identity fall away or are destroyed as the triumphant and increasingly cruel Mina makes her way across the continent. Substantial hints are given as to the One God's true name in this book, much more so than in Dragons of a Fallen Sun. If you've paid close enough attention you should be able to figure out who the One God is before the end. Hints are given in the other Dragonlance books, but the few that lead to the correct conclusion are buried in a rockslide of useless information. The plot twists are what make this book not only important, but fun to read, as a part of the greater story. Chief protagonists and antagonists rise and fall in ways that, except in a couple of cases, could never be predicted. It brings to an unequivocal close much of what you think you know about Krynn and its people. If you're reading the series, you're already buying this. If not, I suggest you read the book-- but only after you read the original Chronicles, Legends, The Second Generation (individual book), Dragons of Summer Flame (individual book) and Fifth Age trilogies, not to mention Dragons of a Fallen Sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragonlance is back to its original glory!, April 11 2001
By 
John Widgren (Flushing, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragons of a Lost Star (Hardcover)
I am so impressed with this book, I just love it! It was one of the best dragonlance books I had ever read. It ranks up there with the original 3. Lost Star answered a few questions I had from Fallen Sun, like is Mina and her God good, evil, or neutral. That was the largest question I had and it was answered clearly in this book. It also brought more life into King Gilthas and his wife the Lioness. Tasselhoff is great as always and he adds enough to this book to make it a favorite. This book was great and it is a must read for all dragonlance readers. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you come to expect from these great authors, April 11 2001
By 
DRWORM (Toledo, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragons of a Lost Star (Hardcover)
What a great book! It took only 8 hours to read, because I couldn't put it down. All the separate plot lines from the Dragons of a Fallen Sun come together in a unique and interesting way. We find out a lot more about Mina and her "One God" and a whole lot more. I can't wait till Dragons of a Vanished Moon comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars star, April 11 2001
By 
Marc A. Blackwood (San Luis Obispo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragons of a Lost Star (Hardcover)
After the dissapointment of Fallen Sun, Lost star is a fantastic book. The reader will come to enjoy Mina's character, and be mistified as to the identity of "the one god."
excelent reading - if you haven't picked it up yet, do so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of the True Dragonlance Universe, April 10 2001
By 
Jonathan Poindexter (Cookeville, TN (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragons of a Lost Star (Hardcover)
Finally, the remnants of the 5th Age are beginning to crumble before the brilliant story-telling of Margaret Weis and Tracey Hickman. After years of disappointing books and storylines, they've taken back the world that is so rightfully theirs and have begun to set the past mistakes of sub-par authors right.
Through the development of interesting new characters and the reglorification of old ones, a lush and rich story has begun to take shape. Thus far, only one problem still remains... We now have to WAIT for the next book to surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Disappointing, April 10 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragons of a Lost Star (Hardcover)
NO SPOILERS~
I like the apocalyptical feel to this book, but I think that the approach of using obliteration to solve situations which were viewed to be problematic was an error on the authors' part. Not that there isn't anything good about the book. In fact, there are quite a few spine-tingling moments and as my first sentence stated, I like the dark way in which it was written (well, at least as far as DL goes). Still, there are too many things missing and the feeling that this book was rushed is prevelant- especially towards the end, I'm afraid.
However, whining about this would only accomplish the fact that humans have a similiar DNA make-up to pigs tom selleck rules and I would have devoted my life to world peace if he had been the one god
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragons of a Lost Star: The War of Souls, Volume II
Dragons of a Lost Star: The War of Souls, Volume II by Tracy Hickman (Mass Market Paperback - March 1 2002)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews