Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Salvatore's gem...
I have read most of Salvatore's books and I have to say that I have enjoyed this series the most. Legacy of the Drow - C.E. contains The Legacy, Starless Night, Siege of Darkness, and Passage to Dawn. This edition is a cohesive collection and can stand on it's own. I believe this series to be the diamond in the rough for Salvatore. I'm glad to have read it...Can't wait to...
Published on April 24 2008 by JD

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of adventure - very little else
This is a collection of previously published adventures of Drizzt Do' Urden assembled into a single volume. Urden is probably Salvatore's most popular character. A 'Dark Elf', born and raised in an underground city dedicated to the worship of an evil spider queen, Urden has rejected the ways of his people to become a sort of knight errant, usually seen in company with...
Published on July 12 2004 by Alex Frantz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of adventure - very little else, July 12 2004
By 
Alex Frantz (San Leandro, ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a collection of previously published adventures of Drizzt Do' Urden assembled into a single volume. Urden is probably Salvatore's most popular character. A 'Dark Elf', born and raised in an underground city dedicated to the worship of an evil spider queen, Urden has rejected the ways of his people to become a sort of knight errant, usually seen in company with human and other friends he has gathered in his journeys.
As shown by other reviews here, some readers really go for this style of fantasy, but I was largely unimpressed. My main problem was that with the elaborately balanced cast of characters - Elf, Dwarf, Barbarian, Thief, Cleric, Assassin, Priestess, and various magical weapons and items - it often felt more like an RPG scenario than a novel. That was especially true in the first book; the sequels were better but still not terrific.
The characters and dialogue are thin. The surprises are few, the prose not particularly striking, character development entirely unknown, battles innumerable. In general, the book seemed aimed at the teen market that is the heart of the RPG industry.
The first three volumes of the tetralogy tell the story of an attack from Menzabarranzan, Drizzt Do' Urden's place of origin, against the dwarves of Mithril Hall. The final volume is a bit tacked on, not really the same story as the earlier books, although it it further adventures of the same characters.
Any of these four novels can be read as a stand-alone, although they do contain numerous spoilers for prior Urden novels. The 2nd through 4th also contain spoilers for the earlier novels in this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Salvatore's gem..., April 24 2008
By 
JD (B.C. CDN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
I have read most of Salvatore's books and I have to say that I have enjoyed this series the most. Legacy of the Drow - C.E. contains The Legacy, Starless Night, Siege of Darkness, and Passage to Dawn. This edition is a cohesive collection and can stand on it's own. I believe this series to be the diamond in the rough for Salvatore. I'm glad to have read it...Can't wait to continue with the Paths of Darkness C.E.

I would still recommend The Legend of Drizzt C.E. (Homeland, Exile, and Sojourn.) as a starting point and a great read. Also The Icewind Dale C.E. (Crystal Shard, Streams of Silver, and The Halfling's Gem) is also recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The legacy of the drow, July 13 2004
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
This was the best series of books describing the adventures of Drizzt and his companions. There is great description, inovation and action in each of the four books in the series. My favourite book was the siege of darkness, the characters are all superb, the draven battles with the drows are great, and Jarlaxe uses his ussual guile to come out on top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of work, April 29 2004
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
This was the first set of RAS books I read. I read his NY Best seller, Sea of Swords, first.
This set of books is packed with very interesting characters, epic conquest, fatal flaws, but probably no redemption. Its a solid book I thoroughly enjoyed reading. I consider it, with all due respect and understanding of course, to be a better story than Lord of the Rings.
Even if this is your first of the Drizzt books, its still a good place to start as enough background is given to allow the characters actions to make sense. If you later read Dark Elf Trilogy it will explain more.
This is a quite nice read which I thouroughly enjoyed so much so that I gave it to my sister for her to read. It contains very small bits of character humor, but no silliness. Its a serious book that is a lot of fun, thought provoking to some degree. Its not jam packet with spells and D&D-ish things. Its a real story focused more on characters than dice rolling confrontations. Which is not what I expected from a book based on a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVO R.A. SALVATORE!!!, Feb. 22 2004
By 
L Gontzes (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Definitely GREAT Fantasy epics and my personal favorites, The Dark Elf Trilogy-Homeland, Exile, and Sojourn, as well as The Icewind Dale Trilogy- The Crystal Shard, Streams of Silver, and The Halfling's Gem bring to life the story of the good hearted dark elf ranger Drizzt Do'Urden and his adventures in the magical World of Faerun. Legacy, Starless Nights, Siege of Darkness and Passage to Dawn are the continuation of these adventures in a way that you keep coming back for more and more and more... The books are all so incredibly well written that the reader feels that they have been transported to another universe and are actually present among the characters, seeing what they see, feeling what they feel, sensing what they sense. RA Salvatore has truly outdone himself and has presented us with a masterpiece of literature the likes of which we have seen only in JRR Tolkien's work and in authors Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends trilogies. Duty, honor, bravery, magic, and swordfights are all about. One should seriously start thinking about maybe turning them into movies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for fans of the renegade Drow, Drizzt Do' Urden!, Nov. 25 2003
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
If you're a Drizzt fan, and have not yet read this series, do so! Don't be intimidated by the length, you won't be able to put it down. R.A. Salvatore brings a new depth to my favorite fanatsy hero, Drizzt. Always soul searching, looking at life from an idealistic point of view, the innocent, yet wise, Dark Elf discovers himself and his place in the world. I didn't want it to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of Salvatore's best collections, Nov. 24 2003
By 
Jason (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
After reading the Dark Elf trilogy, this book provides further stories of what happens to Drizzt. The epic story is in-depth so I would not read through it fast. Overall, it satisfies your desire of wanting to know what happened in Menzoborrean when Drizzt left. Although it is a good collection of books, I would not rate it perfect because it is time consuming to read it all. And when you are finished with just this collection you are hooked and want to read the all other collections. I would recommend this collection of books only for Drizzt fans, unless you read the other books before this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Salvatore at it's finest!!!!!!!, Oct. 11 2003
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
Wow! I have read some really good books before but the whole Drizzt Do'Urden series takes the cake for my new favorites. And the Legacy of the Drow is a collection of some of the best in that series. Enough advanced writing, vocabulary and hidden meanings to make you think, and so much action that you will not be able to put it down! Literally, you will try and find some time, no matter how brief to read just a bit more. The kind of story you will read at 2:00 AM when you get up at 7. No collection is complete without it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Drizzt was old news a long time ago, Oct. 2 2003
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
Since Salvatore's first two trilogies (Icewind Dale and Dark Elf) there has been absolutely NO development in his ramrod character, Drizzt Do'Urden. For well over a decade, now, Drizzt has just been the ho-hum "I'm a bad@$$ invincible swordsman who can never be defeated." Wulfgar has developed a bit, but precious little, Cattie-brie and Bruenor none, and only in the latest novel, The Thousand Orcs, has Regis done any growing or maturing. I flipped through this series, reading about every other page, and even then just skimmed through those, and I didn't feel like I had missed anything crucial. Through the last 10 books, NOTHING has happened to the star of the show; he has not matured, nor has he grown stronger (or weaker, for that matter), or smarter, or anything. He knows only what he knew at the end of the Halfling's Gem, and uses only what he has wielded since defeating Icingdeath, and feels the same about everything that he has felt since Exhile. No character development = no story. Great book for juvenile fans of Rambo, Blade, and two-dimensional cardboard-cutout comic book heroes, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great pice of fantasy., Sept. 8 2003
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
This book is really a masterpiece for the fantasy fan. You should read the "The Dark Elf"-trilogy and then the "Icewind Dale"-trilogy first, by the same author, though. Have a nice reading (if you buy the book of course).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition
Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition by R.A. Salvatore (Paperback - Jan. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 6.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews