Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of work
This was the first set of RAS books I read. I read his NY Best seller, Sea of Swords, first.
This set of books is packed with very interesting characters, epic conquest, fatal flaws, but probably no redemption. Its a solid book I thoroughly enjoyed reading. I consider it, with all due respect and understanding of course, to be a better story than Lord of the...
Published on April 29 2004 by dnoyeB

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of adventure - very little else
This is a collection of previously published adventures of Drizzt Do' Urden assembled into a single volume. Urden is probably Salvatore's most popular character. A 'Dark Elf', born and raised in an underground city dedicated to the worship of an evil spider queen, Urden has rejected the ways of his people to become a sort of knight errant, usually seen in company with...
Published on July 12 2004 by Alex Frantz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of adventure - very little else, July 12 2004
By 
Alex Frantz (San Leandro, ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a collection of previously published adventures of Drizzt Do' Urden assembled into a single volume. Urden is probably Salvatore's most popular character. A 'Dark Elf', born and raised in an underground city dedicated to the worship of an evil spider queen, Urden has rejected the ways of his people to become a sort of knight errant, usually seen in company with human and other friends he has gathered in his journeys.
As shown by other reviews here, some readers really go for this style of fantasy, but I was largely unimpressed. My main problem was that with the elaborately balanced cast of characters - Elf, Dwarf, Barbarian, Thief, Cleric, Assassin, Priestess, and various magical weapons and items - it often felt more like an RPG scenario than a novel. That was especially true in the first book; the sequels were better but still not terrific.
The characters and dialogue are thin. The surprises are few, the prose not particularly striking, character development entirely unknown, battles innumerable. In general, the book seemed aimed at the teen market that is the heart of the RPG industry.
The first three volumes of the tetralogy tell the story of an attack from Menzabarranzan, Drizzt Do' Urden's place of origin, against the dwarves of Mithril Hall. The final volume is a bit tacked on, not really the same story as the earlier books, although it it further adventures of the same characters.
Any of these four novels can be read as a stand-alone, although they do contain numerous spoilers for prior Urden novels. The 2nd through 4th also contain spoilers for the earlier novels in this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of work, April 29 2004
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
This was the first set of RAS books I read. I read his NY Best seller, Sea of Swords, first.
This set of books is packed with very interesting characters, epic conquest, fatal flaws, but probably no redemption. Its a solid book I thoroughly enjoyed reading. I consider it, with all due respect and understanding of course, to be a better story than Lord of the Rings.
Even if this is your first of the Drizzt books, its still a good place to start as enough background is given to allow the characters actions to make sense. If you later read Dark Elf Trilogy it will explain more.
This is a quite nice read which I thouroughly enjoyed so much so that I gave it to my sister for her to read. It contains very small bits of character humor, but no silliness. Its a serious book that is a lot of fun, thought provoking to some degree. Its not jam packet with spells and D&D-ish things. Its a real story focused more on characters than dice rolling confrontations. Which is not what I expected from a book based on a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVO R.A. SALVATORE!!!, Feb. 22 2004
By 
L Gontzes (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Definitely GREAT Fantasy epics and my personal favorites, The Dark Elf Trilogy-Homeland, Exile, and Sojourn, as well as The Icewind Dale Trilogy- The Crystal Shard, Streams of Silver, and The Halfling's Gem bring to life the story of the good hearted dark elf ranger Drizzt Do'Urden and his adventures in the magical World of Faerun. Legacy, Starless Nights, Siege of Darkness and Passage to Dawn are the continuation of these adventures in a way that you keep coming back for more and more and more... The books are all so incredibly well written that the reader feels that they have been transported to another universe and are actually present among the characters, seeing what they see, feeling what they feel, sensing what they sense. RA Salvatore has truly outdone himself and has presented us with a masterpiece of literature the likes of which we have seen only in JRR Tolkien's work and in authors Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends trilogies. Duty, honor, bravery, magic, and swordfights are all about. One should seriously start thinking about maybe turning them into movies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Drizzt was old news a long time ago, Oct. 2 2003
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
Since Salvatore's first two trilogies (Icewind Dale and Dark Elf) there has been absolutely NO development in his ramrod character, Drizzt Do'Urden. For well over a decade, now, Drizzt has just been the ho-hum "I'm a bad@$$ invincible swordsman who can never be defeated." Wulfgar has developed a bit, but precious little, Cattie-brie and Bruenor none, and only in the latest novel, The Thousand Orcs, has Regis done any growing or maturing. I flipped through this series, reading about every other page, and even then just skimmed through those, and I didn't feel like I had missed anything crucial. Through the last 10 books, NOTHING has happened to the star of the show; he has not matured, nor has he grown stronger (or weaker, for that matter), or smarter, or anything. He knows only what he knew at the end of the Halfling's Gem, and uses only what he has wielded since defeating Icingdeath, and feels the same about everything that he has felt since Exhile. No character development = no story. Great book for juvenile fans of Rambo, Blade, and two-dimensional cardboard-cutout comic book heroes, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Salvatore just seems to get better with age..., July 20 2003
By 
Nicq MacDonald (Sioux Falls, SD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
Authors seldom maintain the same quality of writing throughout their entire career. They either splash onto the scene with an outstanding work that proves to be their best, or they creep out, honing their skill as time goes on.
Salvatore isn't a literary genius, but the more he writes, the better he gets. Unlike Robert Jordan, who can't seem to sustain the energy or interest level in his plodding, soap-opera like epics, Salvatore keeps things simple, fast, and enjoyable. Yet, at the same time, his flagship character, Drizzt Do'Urden, only seems to become deeper and more interesting as he matures.
In "Legacy of the Drow", Salvatore takes the characters and plot threads introduced in "Icewind Dale" and the "Dark Elf Trilogy" and runs them through a thousand-page wringer. Starting with "The Legacy", we are re-introduced to Drizzt's sinister family. In the books that follow, Salvatore seemingly puts the characters through every close call and near defeat he can, finally wrapping up the books in a touching rescue/showdown where Drizzt is forced to face defeat, only to see victory ripped from it's jaws at the last moment. The author pulls off the necessary dramatic tension and pacing to keep the reader hanging on his every word and glued to the book through the whole wild ride. "Legacy of the Drow" is far darker than the merry romp of "Icewind Dale", and the reintroduction of the Drow was every bit as scary as the foreshadowing in "The Dark Elf Trilogy" promised.
Of course, the books have some weaknesses. Drizzt's family members are under-used and quickly disposed of, much like the villains in Salvatore's plodding, overly-derivative "Cleric Quintet". Characters from the Quintet were introduced to the series in a relatively heavy-handed fashion, and some characters felt under-utilized (Gromph Baenre, Gandalug Battlehammer, and Berkthgar the Bold, especially). Salvatore's writing, while better than his previous works, still lacks the detail that characterizes the works of the best fantasy authors.
All in all, however, if you liked the first six books in Drizzt's saga, you'll love these four. Throw on a nice dark soundtrack, grab a drink, and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventure, April 4 2003
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
This four book series continues the adventures of R.A. Salvatore's best known characters: Drizzt, Catti-Brie, Wulfgar, Bruenor, and Regis. It picks up where Icewind Dale left off, but it does help to have read the Dark Elf Trilogy, which predates Icewind despite its later publishing date. As the title of this collection suggests, the Drow are up to their usual nasty tricks, which does not bode well for our heroes.
Mr. Salvatore is well known for his light humor, thrilling pace, and detailed descriptions. These qualities shine in the Legacy series, which represents some of his best work. For those who can't get enough of Drizzt, this leads directly into the Paths of Darkness novels, which in turn lead into the new Hunter's Blades books. Out of all the Forgotten Realms novels published, it can't be denied that these are the most popular and well known. If you haven't read any of them, you're seriously missing out.
For those that have read the Cleric Quintet and wondered what the heck happens after the ending, you'll see some form of conclusion in this series as Drizzt & Co. make a brief stop-over in the Snowflake Mountains. Without revealing too much of the plot, it spans a vast portion of Faerun's surface, but largely centers on Drizzt's most favored places- Mithril Hall and Icewind Dale. It is a pleasure for the reader (if not the hero) to once again see such villainous villains as Artemis Entreri, Jarlaxle, and the remnants of Drizzt's evil heritage coming back to haunt him. The pace doesn't slacken throughout the series, and you'll find it hard to set this collection down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wonderful story, great vocabulary, terrible technique, Feb. 16 2003
By 
J. K. Kelley "literary mercenary" (Eastern WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This massive tome incorporates a whole series of books about the battle of a Forgotten Realms dwarf-kingdom, and specifically a number of great characters, with the wicked Drow of the Underdark.
There's a lot of great adventure, and the characters are quite well developed. The author handles the emotional byplay with good credibility, and no one has yet painted as evocative a picture of the evil dark elves and the renegade they seek to bring back for sacrifice.
So what's wrong? Simple: my head hurts after reading it. This is because Salvatore constantly falls prey to the shortcoming of weaker authors: he tells rather than shows sentiment. Thus, we are always clonked over the head with 'The character felt xxxx'. This is poor writing, and lazy; far better to show how the characters act, and let the reader infer their feelings from their actions and gestures and expressions and speech. I don't remember Salvatore doing this in the series about Drizzt's early life, so I'm not sure what happened, but the writing here is just plain amateurish despite Salvatore's obvious command of vocabulary.
If this were a book with less great adventure, I'd have put it down after ten pages. As it is, it's still worth reading for the richness of the characters and the parts that touch on life in the Underdark.
Just wear a helmet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed reading this one, Jan. 14 2003
This review is from: Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition (Paperback)
After finishing the Icewind Dale series I wanted to jump to the next series. I wanted to go with the flow of the story line so I didn't read the Dark Elf Trilogy, and instead went to this one (Legacy of the Drow). I was very pleased after reading this series. Salvatore's descriptions during fight/battle sequences are what I noticed first when reading his writing. You feel like you don't miss a single move when reading one of these scenes. Another thing I liked about this series in particular is the characters really start to come alive. Drizzt and friends have very interesting backgrounds, most of the time their pasts coming back to haunt each character. You start to understand each characters traits and you see how it effects their actions throughout the story.
I've been a fan of the fantasy genre for a while now. Whether it's movies, video games or books. Salvatore is a good author to look into if you want to start reading some fantasy fiction. I would start with the Dark Elf Trilogy or the Icewind Dale Trilogy if you are starting out. This is a definite recommendation to those that finished and enjoyed reading the Icewind Dale Trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Drizzt's past catches up with him, July 16 2002
By 
JH "hobbs_tx" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
The newest collector's edition in the R.A. Salvatore Dark Elf Series is simply put...awesome. And for those of you who got the collector's edition of The Icewind Dale Trilogy let it be said there are no typos like last time. For those of you who have not read any Drizzt novels, I would not recommend starting with this set, but even if you do you should still be able to understand what's going on, especially the way Salvatore rehashes everything that has gone on before (something that I have gotten tired of however).
The common theme in these books is Drizzt's past coming back to haunt him. He has made quite a few enemies in his days on the face of Faerun and under it. Revenge is the name of the game and it appears that every one of his enemies wants a piece of the action even if they have to team up to get it. There are lots of twists and intrigue along the way and of course Salvatore's battle sequences have only gotten better. The character development that has been improving since the Dark Elf Trilogy continues here as the heroes struggle with tragic losses and their inner demons.
The only reason I did not give this book 5 stars is because of the last story Passage to Dawn. This portion of the series was poorly written with a predictable plot and little of the great characterization that makes the others so good. The final book does tie up loose ends, but I think it also undermines some of the development in the other books. Despite this weakness, the rest of the series is great and promises to draw you into the world of the drow and the surface dwellers that give them such big headaches. Buy this book you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the beginning turn you off., April 20 2002
By 
Ryan Bancroft (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
When I started this book, everybody seemed to be against each other. This made me very angry because one of the most important aspects of the previous books was the progression of friendship between Drizzt and company. It seemed a cheap attempt at instilling conflict into the central plot. However, after about 100 pages or so the reasons behind this anger and confusion became apparent, and I realized the brilliance behind this tactic. Salvatore weaved one of his, thought lost, more interesting characters into the story with a fresh flair that was much appreciated. From this point on, the books began exhibiting the compelling aspects of their predecessors, eclipsing their seeming insurmountable set levels at points. I became, again, intimately involved with these unforgettable characters and realized coercion only after I had finished the whole collection in a mere week or two.
This story is incredibly well-written and serves as a perfect example of truly unique world-creating fantasy. If you crave beautiful character development, intense moral codes (Drizzt sticks to his like a bee to a flower), or a clean and exciting fantasy adventure, this book, its predecessors included, is a very good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition
Legacy of the Drow: Collector's Edition by R.A. Salvatore (Paperback - Jan. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 14.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews