Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An AMAZING sequel to an AMAZING trilogy!!!
If you enjoyed The Avatar Trilogy- Shadowdale, Tantras, and Waterdeep, you will love the Prince of Lies! The books are so incredibly well written that the reader feels that they have been transported to another plane of existence and are actually present among the characters, seeing what they see, feeling what they feel, sensing what they sense. The authors have truly...
Published on June 4 2004 by L Gontzes

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Monotheism rules!!!
Helllllooo? Was I the only one consciously reading this book? It was bad to the point of being hilarious. Of the ridiculousness of the way the Gods' and their realms are being portraied here, let me give you instructions on becoming one: You hang around when one gets killed, say "Yeah, I did it." and you take his place. Cool huh? You find that hard to believe...
Published on Feb. 27 1999 by Elaith Craulnobur


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An AMAZING sequel to an AMAZING trilogy!!!, June 4 2004
By 
L Gontzes (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you enjoyed The Avatar Trilogy- Shadowdale, Tantras, and Waterdeep, you will love the Prince of Lies! The books are so incredibly well written that the reader feels that they have been transported to another plane of existence and are actually present among the characters, seeing what they see, feeling what they feel, sensing what they sense. The authors have truly outdone themselves and have presented us with a masterpiece of literature the likes of which we have seen only in JRR Tolkien's work, RA Salvatore's The Dark Elf and Icewind Dale trilogies, and in authors Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends trilogies. Magic, Gods and Heroes are all about. In conclusion, it's what Fantasy reading SHOULD be. A GREAT book indeed and a "must read" along with Troy Denning's Crucible: The Trial of Cyric! DON'T MISS IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, Oct. 23 2003
By 
Kay Gurley (Greenway, AR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prince of Lies: The Avatar Series (Mass Market Paperback)
I frequently read Forgotten Realms books, and find them to be an entertaining way to kill some time. This was, however, far more. This follows the events in the "Avatar Trilogy" and does the job of being a sequel quite well. I must recommend that you read the other books first to understand the history preceeding this one, but it's not at all required. The plot line revolves around the struggles of the gods. Cyric plots to usurp the minds of all gods and mortals to his will, and Mystra tries to stop him. Though the plot is simple in its most basic form, the interaction of the gods, and indeed of the mortals, makes the book great. Indeed, if the struggles between the gods is the meat of this novel, it's the mortals who make it a double whopper with cheese. Throughout the book, it is the uncertainty as to their fate that will keep you reading, and the destiny that awaits them in the end that makes the reading worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harsh text but very fun indeed, Jan. 22 2002
By 
What to say about book in setting that is so dried up, that hardly any juice comes at all. Some of you sceptics, and cynics out there will surely think what I have thought first time this book came into my hands. "Another lousy piece that is meant only for Realms fanatics to buy." Well, I was wrong. I didn't read Avatar Trilogy, so I didn't know the background of this novel (maybe it is better). Basic plot (You can read it on the blurb, but nevertheless) is as follows: The Lord of Dead - Cyric is trying to create the book called Cyrinshad which would bind all mortals (and gods) to his will when they read them, Of course the good goods can not allow it, so Mystra, Torm and some others which I will not reveal form an alliance that should break the Cyrics plan. It may seem as a lousy plot, but the new thing is that main characters are Gods, so it's very interesting to see the world trough theirs perspective. For the litteral sake, the book is very poorly written, but You should put that out of Your mind. If You look for complex go and read Tolstoj, and if You just want to have some fun for a few afternoons, and do not want to break head on the matter what was author trying to say, buy and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing follow up, Oct. 21 2001
This is a great book, which finishes where the avatar trilogy leaves off. I could not imagine anyone who read the avatar tiliory not reading this book. This is one of the greatest reads i'd had in a while, Lowder does it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good follow-up to the Avatar Trilogy, Aug. 19 2001
*Prince of Lies* is the 'sequel' to the Avatar trilogy by Richard Awlinson. It's approximately ten years later, and Cyric has become God of Murder, Death and Strife and plans to take over all of the Realms with the release of his history, the Cyranishad. Unfortunately, he has been unable to find a scribe capable of drafting this fictional account of his rise to power.
Meanwhile, Midnight, now Mystra, Goddess of Magic and the other Gods are doing their best to stay on top of Cyric's evil practices day-by-day. Kelemvor, the hero of the Avatar trilogy, is hiding somewhere in Hades, and Cyric has assigned all of his best denizens to task of locating him. And a fighter named Gwydion has been trapped in Hades though he is a follower of Torm. With the assistance of Mask, Oghma and Mystra, Gwydion may be the key to the undoing of Cyric.
There are many subplots in this novel, and it's enough to keep the reader entertained for the duration. It's a definite must read if you want to know what happened after the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, July 26 2000
First of all, I must say that if you haven't read the Avatar trilogy, do it, becouse without it, this book (and Crucible, the Trial of Cyric de Mad) hasn't much sense. This is a great novel, sequel of the Avatar trilogy. The plot is great, and so the characters. It keep me reading untill I finished. The thing of making the gods the fundamentals characters of the book is a great idea, and the plot of each god seing only his vision and all the things derivated (can't say without telling you the whole book) is great too! . Strongly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, July 26 2000
First of all, I must say that if you haven't read the Avatar trilogy, do it, becouse without it, this book (and Crucible, the Trial of Cyric de Mad) hasn't much sense. This is a great novel, sequel of the Avatar trilogy. The plot is great, and so the characters. It keep me reading untill I finished. The thing of making the gods the fundamentals characters of the book is a great idea, and the plot of each god seing only his vision and all the things derivated (can't say without telling you the whole book) is great too! . Stringly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cyric, the God I love to hate, or hate to love. . ., Feb. 6 2000
By 
De Mario (Atlanta, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
If you have not read the avatar trilogy (shame on you) do yourself justice and read it before this book. It is a very good book if you have not read the trilogy, but it is spectacular if you have. I enjoyed the perspective the author had for the Gods. You would think at the dawn of time the goods Gods would band together and imprison the evil Gods the moment they try something evil. That would destroy the balance and eliminate evil from the world. But the Gods are limited by their perspective, thus they can only fight the evil Gods if they threaten their own sphere of influence. What a great concept!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a twisted tale, Dec 21 1999
James Lowder, the editor for Richard Awlinsons "The Avatar Trilogy", returns to the realms with his best outing (or so I think). The twisted story of Cyric, the man who would be a god continues. The Sewer rat made bad, continues to vie for power amidst the Fearunian Pantheon; but his schemes don't go unchecked. Mystra, Lady of Magic, and his old mortal friend fights him at every turn. Mr. Lowder does a marvelous job with the characters, especially Rhinda, the lowly scribe, and both of the major deities (Cyric and Mystra). I recommend this book whole heartedly. However, the characters in this book are dependant, to a degree I fear, on the foreknowledge gained in reading the Avater Series. I recommend you start there. But get them done so you can read this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite an excellent read after rereading the Avatar trilogy., Oct. 22 1999
I remember getting this when it came out about four or five years after the Avatar trilogy. I started to read it but couldn't get into it, and its been resting on my shelf since. Recently, I decided to reread the Avatar trilogy because it was my favorite of the ADnD series I used to read when I was younger.
Unfortunately, the Avatar trilogy did not fare as well with time as I had hoped. It was in no way bad after ten years, but it didn't live up to the high regard I had for it when I read it the second time.
Prince of Lies, on the other hand, was a great deal of fun. I started reading it right after finishing Waterdeep and it kept me interested until the end. The political intruiges of the gods as well as the battles and the extreme characters all made it quite interesting.
I'd reccomend this to anyone who has read the Avatar trilogy. If you haven't, though, you might not be as interested in some of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prince of Lies: The Avatar Series
Prince of Lies: The Avatar Series by James Lowder (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews