Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding
Another great read again from an imaginative and fine author. Can not wait to read the next book and the rest of the series.
Published 18 days ago by Kevin MacDonald

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Siege Of Diarrhea.
Coming back to Drizzt after I've acquired a broader range of taste for literature was a not-so-refreshing step into the past. R.A Salvatore's books are devoid of any depth what so ever. They present a very predictable dichotomy of Good VS Evil and fail to deliver a good story in any sense of the word. Drizzt is morally infalliable. Wulfgar is childish and irritating, and...
Published 5 months ago by Lucas


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, April 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another great read again from an imaginative and fine author. Can not wait to read the next book and the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Siege Of Diarrhea., Nov. 8 2013
By 
Lucas - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Coming back to Drizzt after I've acquired a broader range of taste for literature was a not-so-refreshing step into the past. R.A Salvatore's books are devoid of any depth what so ever. They present a very predictable dichotomy of Good VS Evil and fail to deliver a good story in any sense of the word. Drizzt is morally infalliable. Wulfgar is childish and irritating, and Bruenor battle hammer servers as comic relief.

Siege Of Darkness is easily one of the worst books I have ever read. R.A Salvatore is capable of writing some good one-on-one fight scenes (nothing great, but good), however when it comes to larger battles things quickly fall apart for him and it becomes a mess, and considering that most of this book is one, drawn out, boring battle with a very predictable ending, it comes as no surprise that it sucks.

The plot in this book is almost non-existent, with the story switching to the 'evil Drow' to explain they're going to do something 'evil' every once in awhile. The very unrealistic siege takes place as the Drow (who are incapable of dealing with the suns light) decide they want to begin conquering the surface. The Drow are supposed to be a cunning, intelligent race; however this quickly goes out the window due to the stupid motives that go against everything else in the book.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who has read more than 2-3 books willingly during their entire life time, otherwise you're going to want to throw this awful piece of shit out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Aug. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like any previous book from the Drizzt series, this is a must read. This is another adventure in the series that keep your coming back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unrealistic., July 9 2007
By 
sheila bezeredi "bez" (surrey, bc, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite this book's unrealistic siege by the drow (COMEON!! eight thousand to 3-4 thousand!!) it was still the second best in the disappointing series. You can tell that Salvatore didn't put his soul into this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Drow attack the Dwarves, Jan. 20 2007
Siege of Darkness, book 9 chronologically in the Drizzt series, finally gives what the last few books have been leading up to: the epic battle as the underground drow attack Mithril Hall, home of King Bruenor Battlehammer and his clan of dwarves. The battle turns epic when the forces of the barbarians, the Riders from Silverymoon and Nesme, and even the svirfnebli join forces with the dwarves against overwhelming odds.

The first part of the book cleans up the mess left in Menzoberranzan, home of the drow, after Drizzt and co.'s escape and destruction of House Baenre's temple. A side story includes the temporary halt of all magic through some battle of the gods, which lets us see more of Lolth the Spider Queen and the Monster Errtu (whom Drizzt and Wulfgar defeated in an earlier book), and this so-called "Time of Troubles" is a useful device in several plots...they have little to do with the epic battle, but they either continue previous story lines or assumingly lay ground for the next book.

Writing battle scenes is one of Bob Salvatore's greatest skills, and the battles in the caves and out in the valley are some of the best written in this series.

There is also a plot line involving Berkthgar, the barbarian who takes over as king for the fallen Wulfgar. He initially believe he needs Aegis-fang, the weapon King Bruenor crafted specifically for Wulfgar, and Catti-brie and Drizzt convince him otherwise, that he needs to build his own name in battle and not rely on Wulfgars. In the battle scenes, he certainly does that. He becomes an interesting character, hopefully there will be more from him.

Lots of groundwork laid for the next book, including the mysterious prisoner the Lolth gives to Errtu to help him get back to the Material Plan and go after Drizzt. I assume this will be the focus of the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, June 5 2004
By 
L Gontzes (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Siege of Darkness (Hardcover)
Definitely GREAT Fantasy epics and my personal favorites, The Dark Elf Trilogy-Homeland, Exile, and Sojourn, as well as The Icewind Dale Trilogy- The Crystal Shard, Streams of Silver, and The Halfling's Gem bring to life the story of the good hearted dark elf ranger Drizzt Do'Urden and his adventures in the magical World of Faerun. Legacy, Starless Night, Siege of Darkness and Passage to Dawn are the continuation of these adventures in a way that you keep coming back for more and more and more... The books are all so incredibly well written that the reader feels that they have been transported to another universe and are actually present among the characters, seeing what they see, feeling what they feel, sensing what they sense. RA Salvatore has truly outdone himself and has presented us with a masterpiece of literature the likes of which we have seen only in JRR Tolkien's work and in authors Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends trilogies. Duty, honor, bravery, magic, and swordfights are all about. A great trilogy indeed and a "must read" along with RA Salvatore's The Icewind Dale Trilogy! One should seriously start thinking about maybe turning them into movies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, May 1 2004
By 
Allanon86 (Wichita Falls, TX) - See all my reviews
3.5 stars
There's nothing really spectacular about his book. The main problem is that it takes too long to rev up. When you write a book that's only 300 pages, you have to fill it with action from the start to finish to make it good. Salvatore spent a good deal of pages as exposition. I don't mind the amount of exposition, as long as there's enough action for the rest of the story. Obviously, in a book this short, that can't happen. (I have noticed that down the line the books are getting progressively longer, and this pleases me.) This book should be called Attack of Darkness, instead of Siege, because that's what is. It was very entertaining when it happened, but the rest of the book was a little bland. The first portion is filled up with this event called the Time of Troubles, something that really seemed to have no relation to the rest of the story. It came and it went, and everything was the same again. I later found out that this incident was BORROWED FROM ANOTHER AUTHOR. Also, there's still a little too much silliness in this book. When I first came across such things in the Icewind Dale Trilogy, I dismissed them as by-products of Slavatore's inexperience as a writer. I can no longer say such, since these book follow on the heels of the Dark Elf Trilogy. There was no silliness in those books. They were dead serious. But here I've noticed different occasions where characters act a little childish at times. Never Drizzt. Most of the characters in this book still don't stand up to Drizzt's characterization. The Harpells stand as prime examples. And their magic is too silly, also. I just can never seriously consider a man being able to switch his brains with his ass. I just can't do it.
So, despite the good story, this book was mediocre. As was the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Book by a Great Author, June 26 2003
By A Customer
Another good tale told by a master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The return of the evil drow, Feb. 17 2003
By 
Photopro "Mike" (purcellville, va United States) - See all my reviews
This is the 3rd book in "The Legacy of the Drow" series. In this book the evil drow city finally plans a good attack against the Drizzt and his friends. The war that was started in "The Legacy" continues, but now the biggest battle begins. The Drow make it to the surface and all hell has broken loose. The evil spider queen is now living only to see the traitor Drizzt dead. The Drow now flow to the surface and attack where the companions of the hall least expect it. From under them. Now the drow flow to the surface and make an attack that few will get out of. This is a must have for the series and for any fan of Drizzt or the Drow. Dont miss this great part of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. This is one of the best., Aug. 24 2002
By 
WingcommanderIV, (Spirit Soaring, Fauren) - See all my reviews
I thought this book was...well...one of the best. I loved how it spent most of the book perparing for a giant battle, and in the end, the battle was everything it was meant to be and more. It was almost more climatic then Star Wars episode VI ending battle (almost). None the less, if you are a fan of R.A. Salvatore, or a fan of Forgotten realms, or a fan of Drizzt Do'Urden, I advice you get this book. If you are a fan of Drizzt, make sure you read the other books before this one (in chronological order). If you don't know if you are, read this book it might make the dicision for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb425fdd4)

This product

Siege of Darkness: The Legend of Drizzt, Book IX
Siege of Darkness: The Legend of Drizzt, Book IX by R.A. Salvatore (Mass Market Paperback - June 3 2008)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews