Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help for Dysfunctional Teams
Patrick Lencioni has written an exceptionally interesting fable on optimal team performance. He has prescribed guidelines for team success and applied them in an interesting, easy to read story with a twist. He has defined easy to follow principles that with practice can lead any group or team, large or small to be great.
The book begins with a story of a...
Published on Dec 3 2002 by Susan Ecker

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial non-"real world" advice
I am an avid reader, especially of books in the self-help and management classification. I must honestly say that in the last 10 years, this book ranks as the WORST book I have read in the area of management and leadership.
To be fair, it is well written, and an easy read. In fact I was able to read it in just two sittings during travel. Moreover, the overall...
Published on June 21 2002


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help for Dysfunctional Teams, Dec 3 2002
By 
Susan Ecker (Greensburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
Patrick Lencioni has written an exceptionally interesting fable on optimal team performance. He has prescribed guidelines for team success and applied them in an interesting, easy to read story with a twist. He has defined easy to follow principles that with practice can lead any group or team, large or small to be great.
The book begins with a story of a potentially great company with a dysfunctional executive staff. Even though this company assembled some of the best executives and attracted top tier investors (compared to their closest competitors), the company was on a downslide. Morale was slipping and key employees were leaving. The CEO (and co-founder) was relieved of his title by the board and the search for his successor began.
This company, Decision Tech, was a high profile, two years old company with much at stake. The chairman of the board pushed for hiring Kathryn, an ancient fifty-seven years old by Silicon Valley standards. Employees and the executive staff were stunned with the news of the new hire.
The story develops by weaving Lencioni's team dysfunctions into its web. The fable is enticing and not typical of your "how to produce" guidelines book. The author keeps your interest while at the same time introducing and teaching his methods.
At the end of the story, Mr. Lencioni reviews all levels of team dysfunctions and summarizes and reiterates each. Therefore reinforcing his principles and eliminating confusion.
This is the first book I have read by this author. I found it entertaining, yet very informative. I enjoyed the novel format while receiving important informational steps for success in a team or group.
I would highly recommend this book to any person or group seeking to improve or turn around the team in which they belong. It would be a great tool for corporate teams or even the local high school basketball team. All teams would greatly benefit from Mr. Lencioni's advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial non-"real world" advice, June 21 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
I am an avid reader, especially of books in the self-help and management classification. I must honestly say that in the last 10 years, this book ranks as the WORST book I have read in the area of management and leadership.
To be fair, it is well written, and an easy read. In fact I was able to read it in just two sittings during travel. Moreover, the overall concepts that the author presents are clear and seem reasonable. So why the bad review?
The fact is the author takes a far too simplistic approach to dealing with the frailties and motivations of individuals. The fictional case study is far too perfect. It is like watching a re-run of "Father Knows Best" and using that as the typical American Family. It is nice to think it, but in practice the world is not that way.
The book does not do justice to some of the real world issues in team leadership: backstabbing employees, co-dependent relationships, substance abuse, neurosis, and overall un-manageable people.
While the book presents some general principals which might work in a "laboratory setting" the leader who trys to follow this verbatim may be in for a shock at the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, June 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book, I've read other work from Patrick too. Also saw him at the 2013 Willow Creek Global Leadership Conference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Team Development Resource, May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
I found this publication to be quite helpful to me in completing an assignment on team development. Understanding the model helps identify a team's strengths and weaknesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not the best of Patrick's book, but good!, Feb. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
I had to read for a Team Building seminar at work, which introduced me to Patrick Lencioni's work. Since I have read many other of his books and others are much more interesting. Good author that can explain big ideas simply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story about teams, Jan. 1 2014
By 
Daniel Cayouette (Stittsville, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is separated into 2 sections. The novel or story section is truly captivating and engaging. The characters are well defined and you'll typically recognize people in your own workplace. This is all common sense but the dependancies of the 5 dysfunctions provides a good framework for better understanding of what a great team needs.

The second part of the book is a bit more tedious as it explains more of the theory of the 5 dysfunctions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, love this author!, Oct. 18 2013
This review is from: The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
This author is so easily readable and easy to understand - he writes like a fable or a story, so it isn't dry and you actually want to keep reading. I've found most business and management books are very very dull and are hard to get through, not Patrick Lencioni.
This was the first book I read by him and I've since read 4 more. Excellent quality, very solid management tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do your Management Team a favor. Read this book!, Sept. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
Without a doubt, this is my favorite management team book for understanding team dynamics. The situations are real, the dysfunctions are real and the suggestions for building a cohesive team are true-to-life corporate life solutions. Every senior management team I have been involved with has these dysfunctions and most organizations don't deal with them in a proactive and productive manner. I highly recommend this book for every manager and business leader. While I have other 'favourites' this is the top of its class! Easy to read, understand and implement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful book in team building... a must read..., April 21 2013
By 
Imad Jawadi "book maven" (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After reading this book, we decided to make it a mandatory read for team leads in our organization. Well written, easy to read and understand with good and realistic examples. A must read if you're leading a team or trying to change team's culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Not as easy as it sounds., March 24 2013
This review is from: The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
I thought this was a great book. It is simplistic in approach but certainly not as easy as it sounds. Ultimately the leadership and the team members must buy-in to the approach itsself and commit to overcoming the five dysfunctions. Ironically, if they do not, one might find it is because the team members suffer from one or more of the five dysfunctions described. Overall I enjoyed the book very much and would recommend to my colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable by Patrick M. Lencioni (Hardcover - April 11 2002)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 16.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews