Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Exploring Police Use of Force
As a former corrections officer, and assistant professor who teaches Criminal Justice classes, I strongly recommend this book for those persons interested in the police and police-citizen interactions. Klinger uses interviews with 80 officers who have used deadly force -- and the results from these interviews shed considerable insight into the officer's split second...
Published on June 22 2004 by Rick Ruddell

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A redundant read
A lot of what seemed like redundant information. the preponderance of the book was interviews with police officer it became tepid to read
Published 2 months ago by Kerry Baldwin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars A redundant read, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A lot of what seemed like redundant information. the preponderance of the book was interviews with police officer it became tepid to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but could use more in-depth research, July 7 2004
By 
Wei Ho "weiho72" (San Gabriel, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pretty good book if you want to get a sense of what a cop goes through during tense situations. It's bascially a collection of stories by other police officers. Some goes into some gruesome details of shootings and wounds. Some fascinating information on what happens during shootings, like getting tunnel vision during shootings, or starts seeing events in slow motion. But what is lacking is the science of it. He tells you what happens but doesn't explain WHY it happens. It seems that some research to explain the physiological human reactions and behavior during these situations would be enlightening.
But definitely worth the purchase. And I would do it just to support a former cop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exploring Police Use of Force, June 22 2004
By 
Rick Ruddell (Chico, California) - See all my reviews
As a former corrections officer, and assistant professor who teaches Criminal Justice classes, I strongly recommend this book for those persons interested in the police and police-citizen interactions. Klinger uses interviews with 80 officers who have used deadly force -- and the results from these interviews shed considerable insight into the officer's split second decision-making -- in their own words. This book is very well written, and gives the reader considerable insight into perceptions of officers who have been involved in shootings - before, during and after the event.
More than an academic work, this book will be of interest to persons interested in the police, police-citizen encounters, and the complex psychological factors that occur when police use deadly force.
Highly recommended -- this is the type of book that you won't be able to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Kilinger's Written a Master Piece, June 12 2004
Being a cop in centralWashington State I was involved in a shooting last October. The experinces I had during the shooting seemed almost sureal due to exposure to extreme acute stress. Klingers book affirmed for me that I was not alone. The accounts from other cops involved in shootings gave me a sense of relief. This was theraputic. This book is a must read for every cop and their family members, if they've been in a shooting or not.
One of my field training officers once told me that police work is "hours of boredom spiked by seconds of absolute terror." Into the Kill Zone goes to the heart of the terror. The book also offers hope to those that have been involved in shooting. Every cop, including myself, that went into the kill zone has gone on to realize what is really important in life. Family, friends, God and life.
I implore everyone, cop or not, to read this book. It will give everyone an appreciation for those that serve in a profession that is life threatening everyday we put on a uniform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kill Zone, May 22 2004
By A Customer
The Kill Zone provides an inside look at the use of deadly force by police officers in the line of duty. I am a police officer in a large southern California police department and I have had to use deadly force several times. I can honestly tell you the author David Klinger does a good job of desribing what happens, in the officers own words and the effects that it had on them. I recommend it to other officers and members of the community who have any interest in the use of deadly force by police officers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sets a new standard, May 21 2004
By 
With the release of his new book, Into the Kill Zone, David Klinger raises the bar for writers of police non-fiction. Klinger
presents a series of first-hand accounts by those who protect and
serve of what it's like to face death at close range.The fear and raw emotion of the participants comes through in the clearly
enunciated details of life and death struggles.
As one who has been there and done that, Klinger can elicit the kind of detail and personal feeling other writers are unlikely to reach. He not only shows how police officers react to and deal with deadly threats, he also exposes the emotional impact
on their lives when they kill in the line of duty; a residual effect not seen or heard on the evening news.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand the dynamics of the ultimate encounter between good and evil, and especially to the officer who has not yet gone....into the kill zone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of A Good Story, the Authenticity of the Truth, May 11 2004
By 
G. Passantino (Costa Mesa, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I ran across this book in my local bookstore and bought it primarily for research. I was soon captivated by the author's ability to step aside from the subjects of his research and let them tell their own stories in their own ways. The book is broken down into 5 main stages any officer involved in a shooting will go through: before you become an officer, basic training, instances when you could have shot but didn't, the shooting incident itself, and the aftermath (including investigation and responses). In each case, the officers speak for themselves. The ring of authenticity is unmistakable. I commend Klinger for resisting the impulse to "clean up" the accounts to make them fit some preconceived assumptions about what an officer "should" be thinking, experiencing, or remembering. The book also gives information on how to access Kinger's complete final report (the academic exercise behind the stunning testimonies) on the Internet. This is a profound introduction for a general reader and a powerful affirmation of officer integrity for those with a special interest in the subject, especially for those who are or know officers themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10-Ring, May 7 2004
By A Customer
As a 21-year officer, I can assure you Mr. Klinger scores a bull's-eye with his book. He was able to capture the true feelings and atmosphere surrounding this sensitive issue. Unlike inaccurate depictions in the movies and reports in the media, these accounts come from real-life cops, in real-life-and-death situations, in their own words, from their true feelings.
If you want to get an accurate picture of the weight of this responsibility, turn off the remote, put down the paper, and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read......., May 2 2004
By 
Chuck Mitchell (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Into The Kill Zone was a wonderfully, powerfully written account of Police Officers experiences before, during and after the application of deadly force use. I spent 2 years as a Marine in Viet Nam. I spent my entire career as a firefighter and got to know and respect many police officers over my 29 years in public service. I wish I had the opportunity to read this years ago so I could have better understood what my Police Officer friends were and, most likely, still are experiencing in the wake of events like Dave writes about in his book. Trust me, this is a must read book. Thank you Dave Klinger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, April 30 2004
By A Customer
Ultimately, I enjoyed reading the book, and would suggest it to anyone interested in how a cop experiences deadly force. However, I thought it was lacking in exploration about current sociological/psychological trends concerning cops who use deadly force. This made the anecdotes somewhat disoriented; I wasn't able to really put them in context. The glossary at the back was a good addition, and the reading in general was smooth and engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Kill Zone: A Cop's Eye View of Deadly Force
Into the Kill Zone: A Cop's Eye View of Deadly Force by David Klinger (Paperback - Sept. 22 2006)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews