Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Tale of Murder, Mayhem and Dessert.
In the 9th Little Goldy Book, Diane Mott Davidson whips up yet another delicious tale of murder, mayhem and dessert. With some very fresh ingredients (and no substitutions!) the recipe comes together for a very palatable mystery. Set at the Christmas season, Goldy is dealing with business troubles (again), a Testy Teen (folks, Arch isn´¿t going to be human again...
Published on June 24 2002 by Mamalinde

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty tasty
I was very pleased with this book. I put off buying it, based on my disappointment with some of her recent books and on the early lackluster reviews. This book was back to what I expect from DMD. A good story, characters that I care about, and great recipes, particularly the chocolate chunk/tart-cherry cookies! True, her son is a bit sullen, but I don't find it to be out...
Published on Nov. 17 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Goldy's on PBS live, Aug. 26 2003
By 
Karen Sampson Hudson (Reno, NV United States) - See all my reviews
In the ninth of her Goldy Bear Schulz culinary mystery series, Davidson serves up a delicious concotion of murder, Colorado skiing, marvelous recipes (don't neglect to try them!) and plucky detective work on the part of her main character, caterer Goldy.
She's appearing on a PBS cooking show, broadcast from high in the Rockies, which doesn't always go well. Someone wants her dead, as she discovers when her van is forced off the road. A wealthy man she has dated briefly is found dead on a ski run.

Fueled by expresso coffee, comforted and nourished by chocolate cookies, Goldy gets to the heart of the matter. This winter's tale is best read next to a glowing fireplace with a tray of her chocolate cookies at hand! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars --Cooking, Skiing and Murder--, Jan. 10 2003
By 
Judith Miller (Bluemont, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Diane Mott Davidson delivers another fast paced story about Goldy Schulz, caterer and amateur detective.
The name "tough cookie" is how Goldy was referred to in a newspaper article about her. Although, her catering business is at a standstill, Goldy's hosting a PBS cooking show at a posh ski resort in Colorado.
As usual, Goldy gets involved with a murder when she finds the body of a skier and one thing leads to another as she puts herself in jeopardy by trying to find the killer. The usual supporting group of characters are also in this story; husband Tom who sounds like the perfect man, reliable best friend Marla, and Goldy's son, Arch who has turned into an annoying teenager.
The author kindly provides the recipes for all of the delicious sounding foods that are mentioned in the book. A quick and fun read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Tale of Murder, Mayhem and Dessert., June 24 2002
In the 9th Little Goldy Book, Diane Mott Davidson whips up yet another delicious tale of murder, mayhem and dessert. With some very fresh ingredients (and no substitutions!) the recipe comes together for a very palatable mystery. Set at the Christmas season, Goldy is dealing with business troubles (again), a Testy Teen (folks, Arch isn´¿t going to be human again for about 6 or 8 more years - DMD raised boys, and I did too, and this is The Way It Is), the incomparable and incredible cooking cop Tom, as well as Marla, Julian, the Jerk, and some of the regulars. With her skillful whisk, Goldy whips in some wine lore, skiing and snowboarding, and survival as a wife, mom, cook, friend and TV star. It´¿s an exciting trip to Aspen Meadows, an action packed picnic on the slopes. The author really outdid herself this time, and delivered a deliciously unique cozy, that deserves 5 stars in the cozy category. Once again, Goldy gets it just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goldy is Great!, May 28 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tough Cookie (Hardcover)
This is the book that started my interest and since reading it I have purchased and read the entire series. Goldy is a great self taught cook. She is easy to relate to, except for the courage and determination to find the killer thing...i would run the other way. But, that is why I like the books, i can pretend. It is not a hard, complicated, make you think book. it IS an easy, enjoyable, quick read. i loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book in the series, May 20 2002
By 
Chel Micheline "Chel Micheline" (Southwest Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I actually started the series with this book, and I enjoyed it so much I bought the entire series. I just finished re-reading "Tough Cookie" (after reading all the books in order) and it's the best book in the series by far.
I like Diane Mott Davidson a lot, but her previous books lacked a tight focus of characters and plot (besides Goldy and Arch). This book really held everything together- the people in the book were presented in such a way that you were interested in their motives from the first page. Goldy gains a lot of self-confidence in this book- It was nice to see her out of the kitchen and not having to worry about her security system and keeping the doors locked all the time. I know it's been a major plot issue in other books, but when Goldy was able to stop worrying about her ex-husband, John Richard, showing up and beating the hell out of her, she was actually able to come out of her shell and have fun. I can only hope that "The Jerk" stays in prison for the rest of the series because I am getting sick of the constant abuse he dolls out to her and how even her policeman husband can't seem to stop it.
I sincerely hope that DMD continues letting Goldy shine the way she does in this book. I normally advise people to read series in order, but if you have a chance to read "Tough Cookie", go ahead. It's a fun read that really will keep you guessing. Viva la Goldy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty tasty, Nov. 17 2001
By A Customer
I was very pleased with this book. I put off buying it, based on my disappointment with some of her recent books and on the early lackluster reviews. This book was back to what I expect from DMD. A good story, characters that I care about, and great recipes, particularly the chocolate chunk/tart-cherry cookies! True, her son is a bit sullen, but I don't find it to be out of character for a 16 year old boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goldy hits the slopes, Oct. 5 2001
By 
Carol Peterson Hennekens (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Normally I'd start a review for a DMD book encouraging readers to read the series in order. After going through the reviews, there seems to be an unusual number of new readers who aren't bothered by a lack of background and many old readers who are bothered by a lack of new material. I still enjoy getting reacquainted with the gang in each book but would agree that there isn't much progress in their lives in this book.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. However, it had much to do with the setting - Killdeer resort. We spend lots of time in Summit County and it was great fun identifying the bits and pieces of the various resorts that Davidson borrowed to create her fictional resort. For example, The Bistro restaurant is clearly based on one of my favorite restaurants in Keystone. And, yes, all of the skiing is fun for a skier to read about.
The plot is probably more on the 3.5 star range. As usual, DMD assembles a reasonably interesting half dozen new folks and drops enough clues that any one of them could be the bad guy. I echo some of the other reviewers in our frustration with Goldy's underhanded investigative techniques and her inability to stop stupidly putting herself into peril. You'd think she'd learn to listen to Tom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like these books, Sept. 5 2001
By 
apoem "apoem" (Bosque Farms, NM USA) - See all my reviews
However, I tend to feel that too many bad things happen all at once, she finds a body, gets in an accident, her son is snotty and she has to cook for a meal. After a while, I feel that this author gets bogged down in rough times. I would like to see her son grow up a bit and be a bit more enjoyable. In the end everything seems to even out, although they are not always happy endings with everything all wrapped up in a neat bow.
However, having said that- if you want an easy to read book with yummy recipes this is a good book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast pace, good supporting characters, Aug. 20 2001
By 
K. Hill (Windsor, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the second book I've read in this series. This one is faster paced than Dying for Chocolate. Mrs. Davidson does a better job of conveying the passage of time in this novel also. It is quite evident that this is a later installment. The quality of the writing is better. Mrs. Davidson does a marvelous job of giving the reader the feeling of being in Colorado. The book is full of interesting characters. Loved "Marla" and "Arthur." The plot will keep you guess for some time. The story line wraps up quickly at the end, but I did like the way the criminal was caught. I wouldn't mind reading this one again. There are a few things that I found unbelieveable about this novel as did other readers (I read the previous reviews), but none of them ruined the novel for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goldy Rocks, July 28 2001
By A Customer
I love this whole series. I just wish Julian would come back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8a525d0)

This product

Tough Cookie
Tough Cookie by Diane Mott Davidson (Audio Cassette - Dec 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 53.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews