Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins; practically perfect in every way
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always...
Published on Sept. 9 2006 by Ms. H. Sinton

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This version does not play on DVD players in Canada.
There was no information when I purchased this about it being a version meant for other than North American markets. I put it in the player and got a message on screen that it could not be played in my player, which plays many formats.
Very disappointing since I was looking forward to seeing this movie again.
Published 13 months ago by Suzanne Leece


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins; practically perfect in every way, Sept. 9 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always out with her fellow suffragettes. Mary Poppins brings magic and fun into the children's lives, something that has been sorely lacking prior to her arrival.

Julie Andrews stars as the nanny and Dick Van Dyke as the lovable cockney Bert, (just forgive his dreadful accent) who always seems to be around at the right time for an adventure. The children find themselves having outings such as jumping into a chalk picture into a cartoon world, having a tea-party on a ceiling and dancing across the rooftops of London. Stuffed to the gills with songs such as 'Spoonful of Sugar', 'Chim Chim Cheree', 'Feed the Birds' and 'Jolly Holiday', this will have you tapping your foot throughout.

This 40th anniversary edition is on 2 discs and features lots of extras such as a documentary, commentary, footage of the premieres etc. The quality of print is very high, the colours have never looked so vibrant and the picture is razor sharp. Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins (50th Anniversary Edition blu ray): Great movie, great songs, great video and audio – great for the whole family!, Dec 10 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

Mary Poppins pops onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.66:1 encode. The digital restoration by Disney is simply fantastic. Grain levels are intact and filmic. Colour reproduction is bright, bold, and accurate - especially the fanciful cartoon sequences. Contrast is dynamic and blacks are inky. Image resolution and details are excellent. Human faces and other clothing textures are impressive. You'll see individual hair follicles, wrinkles, and even makeup effects on the Senior Mr. Dawes. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Mary Poppins dances and sings its way onto blu ray with a robust English 7.1 DTS-HD MA sound mix. Dialogue is crystal clear and neatly prioritized at all times; effects are crisp and mischievous; and Richard and Robert Sherman's unforgettable songs have quite simply never sounded better, fuller or more engaging. Dynamic range is just average. There are even a few wonderful moments, like exploding fireworks during Step in Time, where all nine channels spring to life with active, almost-aggressive panning, and my two subwoofers thundered. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

In 1965, out of 13 nominations, Mary Poppins won 5 Oscars: Best Actress (Julie Andrews), Best Film Editing, Best Special Visual Effects, Best Original Song (Chim Chim Cher-ee), and Best Original Score (Richard and Robert Sherman). It was nominated for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Colour Cinematography, Best Set Direction – Colour, Best Costume, Best Sound and Best Music Score.

Mary Poppins has an estimated budget of $6 million, but grossed $102 million, which is phenomenal by today’s standards.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Mary Poppins is a top tier catalog title we've been long waiting to see on blu ray. Thanks to the film's 50th Anniversary and the biopic about the project's development, Saving Mr. Banks, the wait is finally over. The classic live action/musical/animated picture features a stunning video transfer and a lovely multi-channel sound mix. It is a totally enjoyable movie for the entire family. You will sing along with such classics, as Chim Chim Cher-ee, A Spoonful of Sugar, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (I hope I spell it correctly), Feed The Birds and Step in Time. This set is way superior to the 40th Anniversary DVD release, and is highly recommended.

I hope my review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 years and still great!, June 28 2014
By 
Margaret Taylor (Kanata, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter watched this film 100s of times in the 1980s and her daughter has watched it dozens of times in the 2010s. It is wonderful in that there are no "scary bits" which is so great for 2 and 3 year olds (and I like it too). Julie Andrews is just perfect in the role. The music is wonderful, the people are all normal sized (no skinny women), there is a plug for "votes for women" - definitely a family favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!, March 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Un film que j'écoutais étant plus jeune, enregistré en cassette, des milliers de fois, je ne me lasse pas et c'est un classique pour moi! Merci technologie de rafraîchir des films de nos jeunesses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted!, April 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie, a classic that must be seen! It even came into a slipcover :) I'm very happy of my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic remastered!, June 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's great to have this movie brought to bluray and for a new generation. Even at 3 years old, my son absolutely loves Mary Poppins; he sings along with the songs and dances with all the dance numbers. Worth every penny :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, May 26 2014
By 
Trevor B. Owen (Barrie, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the best movies of all time for both myself and my wife. It was a wonderful "Mother's Day" gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any Disney movie lover!!, May 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used to love this movie as a kid and now my kids love it too. It's so fun with an element of magic. A true classic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins, May 4 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had forgotten how good this was, on Blue Ray it is terrific. I once owned it on VHS
After seeing "Saving Mr. Banks", to purchase this was a "given"1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and entertaining movie for everyone, April 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We really enjoyed watching this movie again. My husband and I had not seen it for several years, not since our children were teens. Now we are looking forward to having our grandchildren coming to visit and watching it with us!!! There is something for everyone in this movie ... music, comedy, drama, great acting, dancing cartoons, wonderful little songs, questionable behaviour addressed in wonderful ways, etc., etc.

Although this may be considered an 'Oldie' ... It's still very much a 'Goodie' as they say ... A good option for sharing some quality time with someone. Whether it's with the kids, grandchildren, spouse, by yourself, snuggling with your cat or dog ... it'll be an enjoyable time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Poppins [Import]
Mary Poppins [Import] by Robert Stevenson (VHS Tape - 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews