Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love your heart!
I recommend you reading the book by Toni Morrison before watching this movie (which I did) because I can understand the flashbacks being confusing if you have not read the book by the Nobel winning author Toni Morrison. "Beloved" is about a woman named Sethe who was "married" to a man named Halle at the plantation "Sweet Home" during the times of slavery. Sethe escapes...
Published on Feb. 28 2004 by Elizabeth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-intentioned movie doesn't quite work
Most movies are made for purely commercial reasons. Others are a labor of love. It's easy enough to dissect the former. Those in the latter category, such as Beloved, are more challenging for a thinking critic, especially when the labor does not produce a very good movie.
Oprah Winfrey, the undisputed Queen of the TV talk shows, co-produced and starred in the film...
Published on March 23 2002 by Matthew Horner


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love your heart!, Feb. 28 2004
By 
Elizabeth (Metairie, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beloved (Bilingual) (DVD)
I recommend you reading the book by Toni Morrison before watching this movie (which I did) because I can understand the flashbacks being confusing if you have not read the book by the Nobel winning author Toni Morrison. "Beloved" is about a woman named Sethe who was "married" to a man named Halle at the plantation "Sweet Home" during the times of slavery. Sethe escapes slavery and is beaten by some white men while she was pregnant with her daughter Denver, and the white men drank her milk from her breasts. The scar from the cowhide whipping still remains on her back after many years, and it looks like a cherryblossom tree. Her husband Halle saw the whole thing and went crazy because of the experience, and she never saw her husband again. She has her baby with the help of a white girl named Amy Denver who is going to Boston to get some velvet. Amy is the one who points out that her back looks like a tree, and Sethe names her baby "Denver" after the white girl. She goes back home to Halle's mom's house, Baby Suggs, where she has hidden her children. Baby Suggs is an inspirational Christ-like character who gives sermons on loving your hands, skin, and heart because no one else will love them. Her speech scenes are done beautifully. Paul D, a man from Sethe's "Sweet Home," comes into their lives. Sethe's baby "Beloved" is haunting the house.
Beloved comes back in the body she would have been in had she lived. Sethe finally finds out that it is her baby, and she reveals that long ago when the white men came to claim Sethe's babies as property, she killed all of her children except Denver so that they would not be brought into slavery.
It is a beautiful and touching movie, and if you have never seen Oprah act, you are missing something! Glover and Winfry are both beautiful actors in this movie. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful movie, Aug. 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beloved (Bilingual) (DVD)
this movie was so different... it was sad, and happy.. made you really have to watch it to understand it.great actors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beloved, Aug. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beloved (Bilingual) (DVD)
I like this movie a lot. It`s a little creepy at times but that's what makes it great. Kimberly and Oprah make this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-intentioned movie doesn't quite work, March 23 2002
By 
Matthew Horner (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beloved (Bilingual) (DVD)
Most movies are made for purely commercial reasons. Others are a labor of love. It's easy enough to dissect the former. Those in the latter category, such as Beloved, are more challenging for a thinking critic, especially when the labor does not produce a very good movie.
Oprah Winfrey, the undisputed Queen of the TV talk shows, co-produced and starred in the film. It is based on the book by the award-winning writer, Toni Morrison. It has a remarkable cast.
Any story revolving around America just before and after The Civil War is probably uncommercial. The period may have seemed glamorous to the general public in Gone With the Wind in 1939, but that remarkable movie was made two decades prior to the Civil Rights Movement. Nowadays, that period of history is one that is painful for either race to dwell on. Slavery was rightfully ended, but equality came much too slowly.
Beloved is the story of Sethe [Winfrey], a former slave who escaped to freedom in Ohio during the war. She is forced to leave behind her family and the man she loves. What she cannot escape are the nightmare memories of her former life. Her new world is soon marred by a tragic event which will haunt her [literally] for the rest of her life.
Sixteen years after she begins her life in Ohio, another ex-slave from the same plantation shows up. He is Paul D. [Danny Glover], who knew her well then, but knows nothing of her life as a free woman. She takes him in, and he tries to bring some joy to the life of her young daughter, Denver [Kimberly Elise]. Their lives are soon thrown into turmoil by the arrival of a girl with no memory of her past. This is Beloved [Thandie Newton], who may or may not be Sethe's other daughter.
Sadly, the picture is marred by several technical flaws. The main problem is with the source material. Some authors write in a manner which is not possible to translate easily to film. Toni Morrison, for example, uses flashbacks, dream sequences and illusions. The movie's writers, as well as director Jonathan Demme, seem lost as to how to handle these important elements. The result disappoints who have read the book and is almost indecipherable to those who have not.
While I admire brevity, a quality I do not possess, I rarely care how long a movie runs, as long as it has something to say. Beloved takes nearly three hours to unfold. A more inspired production could have said it all in two hours or less.
Still, there are moments that shimmer, thanks largely to the artistic cinematography of Tak Fujimoto. Rachel Portman wrote an evocative musical score. Both Kimberley Elise and Thandie Newton are young actresses of immense talent. Both do what they can with their confining roles. Winfrey and Glover have some other great movies to their credit, and we assume they will have more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, Nov. 5 2008
By 
Stephanie T. Talbot (taylor, michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beloved (DVD)
for all of you people who think this is not a good movie, read the book...then you will understand. for those of you who are trying to sell this movie for $51.00....what are you a bunch of monkeys?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a masterpiece, June 9 2004
By 
jocobeth (Pretoria, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beloved (Bilingual) (DVD)
It took me a long time to watch the movie Beloved due to the fact that it wasn't easily available in South Africa, I truelly enjoyed this movie and was really happy with the way it stayed true to the book which is one of my all time favourites, I've read the book so many times I even know most of the lines, I mostly was anxious to see the movie cos I wanted to see how they would manage to bring such a story to life, thankfully I wasn't dissapointed, the only problem I have with the movie was the casting of Danny Glover in the role of Paul Dee, I strongly feel that he spoiled the movie,they would have done better to cast another actor to the role, If you want to see poetry in motion(which I deeply believe the book is) then you have to watch this movie, Bravo to everyone(except Mr Glover but for whom I would have given this film 5 stars)who was involved in the making of this film. Well done for an outstanding protrayal of what I truely believe must have been the hardest novel ever to bring to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Didnt do the book justice, March 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Beloved (Bilingual) (DVD)
Oprah ruined the whole essence of the book with this movie. I was expected an oscar performance and got garbage. The book was poetic and explained the relationship between the family members, the relationship that blacks have with religion each other, slavery etc etc. The movie did not catch any of that. Most of the movie did not even make sense. I was sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True to the spectacular book, Dec 24 2003
By 
Peggy Vincent "author and reader" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beloved (Bilingual) (DVD)
At nearly 3 hrs in length, Beloved has plenty of time to stay true to Toni Morrison's masterpiece, a multi-layered story that's part history, part fable, part ghost story, part family history, part mother-daughter tale. Like the book, it's bewildering in parts, the dream-like ramblings of Sethe's (played by Oprah Winfrey) slowly unraveling mind. Her mental state is caused by horrific events from her past that are gradually revealed as the story progresses.
Written and acted with the rhythms and cadences of a song or a long poem, Beloved is, at its core, a love story - but along the way the viewer gets flashbacks of mysterious and chilling doses of rage, murder, brutality, abuse and horror from Sethe's former life as a slave.
Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars all i can say is what did i just watch?, Nov. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Beloved (VHS Tape)
When i saw this in the theater it was about more then half full. by the time the movie was an hour into it about more then 3/4 of the audience had left. i thought it would get better but it just got more confusing. like other reviewers said i guess i should have read the book before seeing the movie. kimberly elise did a great job though. by the time the movie was over there were about 5 of us left in the theater and we looked at each other when we were leaving like what the heck did we just watch? maybe i should watch this again to better understand it. or read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hauntingly beautiful translation of a phenomenal book, Nov. 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Beloved (Bilingual) (DVD)
I first read Toni Morrison's 'Beloved' in a college class, and have since reread it several times. The story is thickly layered, entwined and rich with reality blending with madness, fantasy, guilt and passion. Sometimes it is hard to tell what is actually happening and what is in the character's minds....and that is part of what makes it such a fabulous gem. This is superb! The ONLY reason this movie did so poorly in theaters is that it (and the book) are way over the heads of the "Police Academy" and sitcom-esque society we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beloved (Bilingual)
Beloved (Bilingual) by Jonathan Demme (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 8.98
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews