Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Bank Robbers
This is a sequel to From Dusk Till Dawn but it could just as easily be set before the first film. This one involves a bank robbery South of the border. The team is put together and they all head for a motel near the target. But one member is a little late and runs afoul of a vampire.
As a vampire, he joins the rest of the team and starts converting them to...
Published on March 29 2004 by Joshua Koppel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Old friends reunited
WARNING: This movie does not really have anything to do with "From Dusk Till Dawn." The story is completely unrelated. There are no shared characters. Even the vampires aren't really the same.

So anyone expecting a bona fide sequel to the classic horror movie is going to be very disappointed. "From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money" is best...
Published 1 month ago by E. A Solinas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars OH SO VERY, VERY LAME!, June 3 2002
By 
Matthew C. Pinkerton (Denver, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
Here's a few tips I gleaned from watching "FDTD 2" that I think should be born in mind by EVERY aspiring filmmaker:
1. Just because a camera angle or tricky move seems cool at the time does not mean you should actually use it. As soon as I saw the scene in this film shot from a rotating fan's point of view I knew I was in trouble. Take the time to make sure that camera placement and shot composition actually mean something and add something to the scene. If you can't come up with a good bit of justification, please just leave the damn camera alone.
2. When making a sequel it is advisable to actually bring something new to the story. Otherwise you are simply a hack marking time. As Joe Bob Briggs once said in regard to the first three "Friday the Thirteenth" films, "They made the same movie three times." "FDTD 2" played like a direct-to-video knock-off of the original. The plot was virtually the same with its gang of hoods running headlong into some real evil and getting caught with their pants down. Here's hoping the third entry in the series actually has something new to say.
3. Robert Patrick cannot carry a whole film by himself. I realize this is sure to fly in the face of every X-File-iac and James Cameron obsessed fan on the planet, but the man is a younger poorer man's version of Lance Henricksen and nothing more. Here his acting his negligible, his charm nonexistent and his part poorly written. Doomed from the start if you ask me.
4. In conclusion let me just say that if you intend to make a horror film you really do owe it to your audience to give them a few thrills along the way. This does not necessarily equate to dumping bucket after bucket of fluids and offal all over the characters. Rather, it means building an atmosphere of genuine tension and dread and setting the story's machinations a flying. If need be, watch "Texas Chainsaw", "Phantasm", "Dawn of the Dead" and the original cut of "The Exorcist" until it starts to sink in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great flick, May 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn 2 Texas Bl (VHS Tape)
This was just as good as the first,excellent cast,how can so many people bad mouth this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How can anyone not like this., Oct. 24 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn 2 Texas Bl (VHS Tape)
This film is totally brilliant. I am a huge fan of the original and this isn't as good but sequels never are. This one gives a great effort not to be as serious as the original. It has loadsa gore and is the best fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmmm........., July 23 2001
There are plenty of reasons why this movie sucks, but I'll concentrate on the two most impotant ones. Firstly, sequels to movies like "From Dusk Till Dawn" shouldn't be done, everybody knows they will never be as good as first ones, and FDTD 1 didn't allow a sequel with the same characters so you previously know this sequel has nothing to do with with the first one. Secondly, the Tarantino factor. Quent Tarantino had nothing to do with this movie (he didn't write, nor directed it, he didn't even make one of his classic "little appearences"), so don't expect his wicked twists, dark screenplays, ironic situations and the Kubrickian effects..., although it seems Rodriguez has learnt something of him trough this years and for little moments he hits the spot, that's the reason why I'm giving 2 stars to this sequel (1,5 would be more apropiate). I hope Rodriguez starts aiming a little higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1'ST 1 ALWAYS BETTER, July 21 2001
By 
Mitch Silveira (Ukiah, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Just like always, sequels arn't as good as the first, still enjoyed it, but spoiled by the 1'ST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Makes the Blood Curdle, April 12 2001
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn 2 Texas Bl (VHS Tape)
What an awful script - really makes the blood curdle:) I've seen better vampire movies 20 years ago. I did have a good laugh at little things like the BYTE ME car number plate and the length of the solar eclipse. Whoops! I hope I'm not giving too much away. However, I will NOT be giving away my copy of this video. It's part of my ever-growing Robert Patrick collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The most pathetic attempt at a sequel, Feb. 15 2001
By 
Claire (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn 2 Texas Bl (VHS Tape)
This movie is such an awful mistake. From Dusk Til Dawn was one of the best movies I've ever seen, to bring it down with ... like this is so wrong. If you saw the first, please, please, please do NOT see this!! The camera work is shocking, the story line is a flop and the acting (if you can call it that) is so weak that nothing could save it. Don't waste your time on this movie, try dropping a brick on your foot insted, it would be less painful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best vampires movies., Jan. 29 2001
By 
Carlos Santillan (Mexico City, Mexico.) - See all my reviews
This movie is worth the money paid, very entertaining, packed with action, blood and shootings. IMHO this movie is better than the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Patrick Rocks!, Dec 30 2000
By 
Mary (Steger, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn 2 Texas Bl (VHS Tape)
This movie was actually very good. It had a good dose of action, humor, discusting scenes of eating dead cops, and enough scenes with Robert Patrick to keep me happy for years to come!! It's really good, and it also has some petty nice lines. I would also say that you should rent it before buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars From Dusk Till Dawn 2 - Not as Good as Original, Oct. 31 2000
By A Customer
It seems Quentin Tarantino & Robert Rodrigues wanted to make a franchise series without any thought apart from trying to milk money out of unsuspecting filmgoers. This and the 3rd installment went straight to video so they knew the sequels were not up to par with the original. FDTD 2 is very predictable so there are no surprises, not even the gory vampire killings. The only reason to watch this movie (especially if you're a male) is to see Playboy Playmate Maria Checa in a brief supporting role in which she is killed in a shower scene directly ripped off from Hitchcock's PSYCHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2844b28)

This product

From Dusk Till Dawn 2 Texas Bl
From Dusk Till Dawn 2 Texas Bl by Scott Spiegel (VHS Tape - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 11.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews