march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars213
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:$49.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 3, 2004
Actors here are Brilliant, my thumbs are way up! I can watch this film over and over again.
If Disney's Cinderella are every girls dream. Pretty Woman maybe every boys dream,Why? Because when Richard Gere discovered that He's working so hard to pin down other competitors in business, at the same time his Attorney (Jason Alexander)benefits from it, Money wise.
Richard decided to follow his heart and continue falling in love with the Pretty Woman. So sad, Julia Roberts is a prostitute here but a good one, she even have several colors and flavors of condoms to choose from,That's safe sex!
This is a great story plot a millionaire meets his match a prostitute with a golden heart.In reality prostitutes deserves a little break. As for the Pretty Woman this is a big break, Kudos!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2004
In the 1990 classic Pretty Woman starring Julia Roberts and Richard Gere you cannot find a more unlikely pare to fall in love. There is Edward the millionaire executive who is down on his love, then there is Vivian the lady who comes to Hollywoood to chase a love and ends up becoming a hooker for a living. Vivian is outspoken and very untactful. Edward has class and manners and knows good table manners. When edward hires Miss Vivian to accompany him on a week business trip he had in Hollywood he never thought he would fall in love and grow to need her. Vivian only accepted the job for the money he was paying her to be his date on several business dinners and parties. Vivian changes Edwards view on life and he starts to be more free spirited and outgoing. Vivian realizes money is not everything and decides to get more out of life. When it is time for Vivian to leave Edwards life the two unlikely people have a hard time dealing with the consequesces of their actions. Pretty Woman is an amazing love story that anybody men or women are sure to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2004
There seems to be two schools of thought regarding this movie. There are those who are unable to see past Julia's profession, and all it might entail, and there are those who see how someone who clearly had to make a bad choice one day realized it, and along the way helped someone else realize the bad choices they had made. It's all a charming fairy tale that I have watched over and over again.
Julia Roberts does play a prostitute. However, as the movie unfolds we find out why. Further, we also find that Julia is, as she must be, human, and has the same core values that most of us have. Richard Gere helps her realize during their discussions that she made a poor choice, and eventually Julia realizes that she can be and wants to be more than she is.
During Julia's journey of discovery she also makes Richard Gere question the path in life that he has chosen. Richard buys companies, takes them apart, and sells the pieces for more than he paid for them. While it has made Richard a very wealthy man, Julia questions the value that Richard brings to the world. As Julia realizes that she wants more self-fulfillment in her life, Richard realizes that he wants to be constructive instead of destructive.
Julia's character could have been played in an exploitive way that demeaned her character, and her character's profession. Instead, I thought the subject was handled sensitively and well. Julia several times could have behaved just as Richard would have expected someone in her profession, and yet, she showed that she had pride and values, and she stuck to them, even to her detriment. Ultimately Richard Gere, and the audience, comes to admire Julia Roberts as a strong woman with an incredible will.
In addition to Julia Roberts and Richard Gere is an outstanding supporting cast, including Laura San Giacomo as Julia's friend and roommate, and who gives Julia no end of despair in her choices. Hector Elizondo plays Barney Thompson, the hotel manager, and he makes the role and steals every scene in which he appears. Jason Alexander plays a rather despicable right hand man to Richard Gere, calloused, ruthless and crude. Ralph Bellamy is the head of a business that Richard Gere is attempting to take over, and who gives Richard the best compliment in the entire film, marking a turning point in Richard Gere's attitude about what he does. There is a long list of other actors that made so many of the scenes in this movie funny and sometimes poignant. Better you should watch this movie and find out for yourself.
This movie is one of Richard Gere and Julia Robert's best films. We have both the video tape and the DVD, and have watched both multiple times, and will likely watch the DVD many more times. Funny and often touching, this is a wonderful film for adults with a soft spot in their hearts for underdogs and believing that good things happen to good people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2004
Does this movie glorify being a hooker? That's what Roseanne thinks. But who cares what she thinks anyway! This is a great movie, and even though it does kinda sorta glorify being a hooker (with the hopes of falling in love with a rich guy), you can pretty much say that every movie glorfies something that shouldn't be glorified.
Julia plays Vivianne, a relatively inexperienced hooker. Right away she meets Edward (Gere), who is rather coy around Vivianne, but invites her up to his room anyway. This leads to a week long agreement that she will be his arm piece for social functions and at the end of the week, she'll get $3,000 big ones.
She has rules to avoid attachment, but can Vivianne resist this hunky rich guy who (even though he says he isn't) is sweeping her off her feet?
This movie is truly wonderful. Roberts innocence shines through her character. There are lots of great one-liners in this movie, some true laugh out loud moments. Don't let the premise scare you away... it's much tamer and sweeter than alot of people make it out to be. So see this movie. It's cute, funny, sweet, and genuine-- a combination that's hard to find in any movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2004
Everyone knows this story, whether they've experienced certain parts of it, or just love it pure & simply because it's terrific. And if you haven't seen it, why not?! Go out and get it now. Go on!
This is the one Julia Roberts film that can never be out-done. No amount of Erin Brockovich's can beat this movie. This catapulted Julia into the big-time, mainstream movies, and she's now one of the highest paid actresses. I dunno whether something like Pretty Woman was never done before this, or whether I'm just sick of Julia Roberts now, but she won't come across a script as good as this again. Not even the supposed "sequel", with Richard Gere & Julia reteaming (they could go all the way and do a Meg Ryan/Tom Hanks) with Garry Marshall and Hector Elizondo for Runaway Bride. Nowhere near as good. But that's a different movie.
The actors are great, and I think it's the only Richard Gere movie I've ever seen - apart from Runaway Bride. The night elevator operator's face (Patrick Richwood) is an absolute picture most of the time, and he makes you laugh just by looking at him.
Of course, everyone knows that Julia's character, Vivian, turns from a poor hooker, into a rich lady. I much prefer Vivian as the hooker. When you first meets Edward (Richard Gere), she's fine, she's cute, and he gives her all this money, and she turns into a frumpy, awkward lady. The clothes are ill-fitting and really don't suit her.
In a few years, when Julia Roberts is old and grey (Richard Gere already was old & grey in this!), this will be considered a classic.
Watch out for a very much blink and you'll miss him role of the detective, played by Hank Azaria. I've seen this movie a hundred times, and it's the first time I noticed him!
The songs are terrific in this, from Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman" to Natalie Cole's "Wild Women Do" (the video is not impressive though). The best song is of course, Roxette's "It Must Have Been Love", played as Vivian leaves Edward. It's a very poignant scene, and I always play this song if I'm feeling down about something. The lyrics match any relationship problem perfectly, and matches the scene in Pretty Woman
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2004
Everyone knows this story, whether they've experienced certain parts of it, or just love it pure & simply because it's terrific. And if you haven't seen it, why not?! Go out and get it now. Go on!
This is the one Julia Roberts film that can never be out-done. No amount of Erin Brockovich's can beat this movie. This catapulted Julia into the big-time, mainstream movies, and she's now one of the highest paid actresses. I dunno whether something like Pretty Woman was never done before this, or whether I'm just sick of Julia Roberts now, but she won't come across a script as good as this again. Not even the supposed "sequel", with Richard Gere & Julia reteaming (they could go all the way and do a Meg Ryan/Tom Hanks) with Garry Marshall and Hector Elizondo for Runaway Bride. Nowhere near as good. But that's a different movie.
The actors are great, and I think it's the only Richard Gere movie I've ever seen - apart from Runaway Bride. The night elevator operator's face (Patrick Richwood) is an absolute picture most of the time, and he makes you laugh just by looking at him.
Of course, everyone knows that Julia's character, Vivian, turns from a poor hooker, into a rich lady. I much prefer Vivian as the hooker. When you first meets Edward (Richard Gere), she's fine, she's cute, and he gives her all this money, and she turns into a frumpy, awkward lady. The clothes are ill-fitting and really don't suit her.
In a few years, when Julia Roberts is old and grey (Richard Gere already was old & grey in this!), this will be considered a classic.
Watch out for a very much blink and you'll miss him role of the detective, played by Hank Azaria. I've seen this movie a hundred times, and it's the first time I noticed him!
The songs are terrific in this, from Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman" to Natalie Cole's "Wild Women Do" (the video is not impressive though). The best song is of course, Roxette's "It Must Have Been Love", played as Vivian leaves Edward. It's a very poignant scene, and I always play this song if I'm feeling down about something. The lyrics match any relationship problem perfectly, and matches the scene in Pretty Woman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2004
I am making it a point to view several popular films this year, films I somehow missed in the past. I'm starting out 2004 with "Pretty Woman", a film I've seen displayed on many home video shelves over the past decade.
I guess I don't like fairy tales about adults. If you have lived just a little bit and know anything about men, women, sex, money, class structure, human nature, etc. you might find this film to be quite silly. I do find it to be quite silly. However, in my teens I might have liked it much more. It probably seems like a very sexy film if you don't know too much about the real world, or you don't care much about the realities of wealth, sex, class, men, women... I give it two stars for nice sensual scenes.
By the way, I can't get over the offense Julia Roberts (a prostitute, and a streetwalker at that) takes when a wealthy Jason Alexander wants to "screw her". That is her job, but "love" changes everything in her world within the space of a few days. She's completely transformed, as is Richard Gere. If you like that kind of magical thinking, you will probably like this film.
The VHS version is currently sold along with "Mrs. Doubtfire" at a discount by Amazon. I don't think that these two films should be put together in a combo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2003
Straitlaced millionaire Edward Lewis (Richard Gere) picks up Hollywood Boulevard hooker Vivian Ward (Julia Roberts in her star maker role) and hires her to be his companion for a week. Roberts is wonderful as Vivian. One great moment among many: when Vivian wakes up in Edward's palatial penthouse suite "the morning after" and he offers her breakfast instead of making her leave immediately, her pleasure and surprise are touching. She grabs a roll off the breakfast table like a starving waif, as if she almost doesn't dare and is afraid it'll be snatched away. It's impossible not to like Vivian, and to root for her. She's irresistible.
A solid cast benefits from Garry Marshall's surefooted direction. Elinor Dohanue (Betty Anderson/"Princess" from Father Knows Best) shines in a bit part. Jason Alexander, who would go on to fame and fortune in later years as George Costanza on Seinfeld, leaves a slime trail across the screen as Edward's lawyer, Phil Stuckey. Laura San Giacomo is completely believable as Kit De Luca, Vivian's fellow streetwalker and roommate. Hector Elizondo is outstanding as Bernard Thompson, the wise, polished, compassionate hotel manager who first helps Vivian then approves of her. Really, there are no slackers in this cast.
And, in true Hollywood romance fashion, in the end the girl gets the guy for a wholly satisfying payoff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2003
Pretty Woman was released in 1987 by touchstone pictures has a running time of 106 minutes is rated R, and is closed captioned for the hearing impaired. Pretty Woman is a movie that touches on every woman's dream of being rescued by a handsome, rich, knight that will meet our every dream. Roberts plays a call girl who finds herself employed by a wealthy businessman who needs a companion for several meetings. Gere is a cold, unhappy, rich businessman who does not want the entanglement of a relationship, but needs an companion to several meetings, and that is why he hires Roberts. He finds that Roberts is more than meets the eye. He learns that people can be and are more than they seem. All the self-serving socialites who will do anything to be his wife have hardened Gere. Julia throws him for a loop when she would rather leave than have him think she was trying to make time with his dishonest friend. Pretty Woman is truly one of the best Cinderella stories available for viewing today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2003
This 1990 romantic comedy won Julia Roberts an Academy Award for Best Actress. The stage is set in Beverly Hills for Pretty Woman. Julia Roberts as Vivian Ward is a prostitute trying desperatly to save money to go back to college. Richard Gere as Edward Lewis is a successful and wealthy corporate executive who meets up with Vivian in an unusual way -- or maybe the usual way! Edward picks up Vivian on a street corner and offers her a large sum of money to spend a week with him. She accepts and he whisks her away to the Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel, where he showers her with luxuries unknown to her. Pretty Woman is a fairytale dream-come-to-life for Vifian. For Edward it is an awakening to the innocence and vulnerability in vivian. Vivian sees Edward for himself: generous, kind, sensitive.
Their whirl-wind week turns into the romance of the century. Emotions run high as their passion and love build, with many twists and turns. Edward's attempts to build Julia's confidence in herself as a woman have you laughing and loving right along with him. Oh, Edward's secret little half smile!
I give Pretty Woman five stars. The movie is excellent. It makes you believe that fairytales can come true, that they really can happen to you. Pretty Woman will bring tears to your eyes, but will keep you laughing throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse