Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Day Cinderella
Actors here are Brilliant, my thumbs are way up! I can watch this film over and over again.
If Disney's Cinderella are every girls dream. Pretty Woman maybe every boys dream,Why? Because when Richard Gere discovered that He's working so hard to pin down other competitors in business, at the same time his Attorney (Jason Alexander)benefits from it, Money wise...
Published on June 3 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars is for Richard Gere
I cannot understand the hype about Julia Roberts. May be it is beacuse I am not American.In this movie she plays a warm, honest, compassionate prostitute with good moral values. How this happens?Prostitution on the streets must be quite tough, dealing with dangerous men,etc and some girl cannot get away with it with innocent huge eyes and being sweet. A movie does not...
Published on Oct. 28 2003 by delila30


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Day Cinderella, June 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (VHS Tape)
Actors here are Brilliant, my thumbs are way up! I can watch this film over and over again.
If Disney's Cinderella are every girls dream. Pretty Woman maybe every boys dream,Why? Because when Richard Gere discovered that He's working so hard to pin down other competitors in business, at the same time his Attorney (Jason Alexander)benefits from it, Money wise.
Richard decided to follow his heart and continue falling in love with the Pretty Woman. So sad, Julia Roberts is a prostitute here but a good one, she even have several colors and flavors of condoms to choose from,That's safe sex!
This is a great story plot a millionaire meets his match a prostitute with a golden heart.In reality prostitutes deserves a little break. As for the Pretty Woman this is a big break, Kudos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a birthday gift, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pretty Woman (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a gift for a friend in August so I have not viewed it yet.. Hopefully, it will be ok when opened .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Love, April 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (VHS Tape)
In the 1990 classic Pretty Woman starring Julia Roberts and Richard Gere you cannot find a more unlikely pare to fall in love. There is Edward the millionaire executive who is down on his love, then there is Vivian the lady who comes to Hollywoood to chase a love and ends up becoming a hooker for a living. Vivian is outspoken and very untactful. Edward has class and manners and knows good table manners. When edward hires Miss Vivian to accompany him on a week business trip he had in Hollywood he never thought he would fall in love and grow to need her. Vivian only accepted the job for the money he was paying her to be his date on several business dinners and parties. Vivian changes Edwards view on life and he starts to be more free spirited and outgoing. Vivian realizes money is not everything and decides to get more out of life. When it is time for Vivian to leave Edwards life the two unlikely people have a hard time dealing with the consequesces of their actions. Pretty Woman is an amazing love story that anybody men or women are sure to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Is a Fairy Tale - And it has a moral, April 16 2004
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (DVD)
There seems to be two schools of thought regarding this movie. There are those who are unable to see past Julia's profession, and all it might entail, and there are those who see how someone who clearly had to make a bad choice one day realized it, and along the way helped someone else realize the bad choices they had made. It's all a charming fairy tale that I have watched over and over again.
Julia Roberts does play a prostitute. However, as the movie unfolds we find out why. Further, we also find that Julia is, as she must be, human, and has the same core values that most of us have. Richard Gere helps her realize during their discussions that she made a poor choice, and eventually Julia realizes that she can be and wants to be more than she is.
During Julia's journey of discovery she also makes Richard Gere question the path in life that he has chosen. Richard buys companies, takes them apart, and sells the pieces for more than he paid for them. While it has made Richard a very wealthy man, Julia questions the value that Richard brings to the world. As Julia realizes that she wants more self-fulfillment in her life, Richard realizes that he wants to be constructive instead of destructive.
Julia's character could have been played in an exploitive way that demeaned her character, and her character's profession. Instead, I thought the subject was handled sensitively and well. Julia several times could have behaved just as Richard would have expected someone in her profession, and yet, she showed that she had pride and values, and she stuck to them, even to her detriment. Ultimately Richard Gere, and the audience, comes to admire Julia Roberts as a strong woman with an incredible will.
In addition to Julia Roberts and Richard Gere is an outstanding supporting cast, including Laura San Giacomo as Julia's friend and roommate, and who gives Julia no end of despair in her choices. Hector Elizondo plays Barney Thompson, the hotel manager, and he makes the role and steals every scene in which he appears. Jason Alexander plays a rather despicable right hand man to Richard Gere, calloused, ruthless and crude. Ralph Bellamy is the head of a business that Richard Gere is attempting to take over, and who gives Richard the best compliment in the entire film, marking a turning point in Richard Gere's attitude about what he does. There is a long list of other actors that made so many of the scenes in this movie funny and sometimes poignant. Better you should watch this movie and find out for yourself.
This movie is one of Richard Gere and Julia Robert's best films. We have both the video tape and the DVD, and have watched both multiple times, and will likely watch the DVD many more times. Funny and often touching, this is a wonderful film for adults with a soft spot in their hearts for underdogs and believing that good things happen to good people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Fear and Trembling, March 9 2004
By 
Maginot "It Just Doesn't Matter" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (DVD)
Blessed was the day, the day that Vivian Ward (Julia Roberts) chose to sell her flesh for coin.
Blessed was the day, the day, that after having sold her flesh to countless sinners, Vivian Ward met a really good looking and wealthy sinner named Edward Lewis (Richard Gere).
Blessed was Edward Lewis, the ruthless tycoon who performed leverage buyouts of all his rival's companies beginning with his hated father's but not ending there.
Blessed was the leverage buyout, an exclusive and cutthroat mode of business operations in which private equity firms specialized in the high-risk process of accumulating capital from very wealthy investors and subsequently using it to buy failing companies and then selling off their parts for gains of up to 25% or, for staggering losses of equal or greater proportion.
Blessed was the metaphor of the leveraged buyout since blessed Edward Lewis, used his massive accumulation of capital to "buy out" blessed Vivian Ward's body for the night.
Blessed was Philip Stuckey (Jason Alexander), Edward's heinous attorney, whose crass request and subsequent forceful demands for Vivian's flesh-selling services aptly contrasted Edward's more gentlemanly approach thus making him look like a sweet guy instead of a villain for subjecting Vivian's flesh to a leveraged buyout.
Blessed was the fact that this film made flesh selling actually look pretty cool since it could land a gal in a pretty nice hotel with a wealthy, handsome, but somewhat morose and deeply misunderstood leverage buyout tycoon.
Blessed was flesh selling which might be my next career if I get canned from my completely un-cinematic job for authoring documents such as this one.
Blessed was the way that Edward didn't really save Vivian from the streets since, once it looked like their brief affair was over, she pretty much opted out of that lifestyle anyway.
Blessed was the fact that there wasn't a pimp in the film to slap her around and say, "You think you're getting out of this racket just like that? Get out there and go make me some more money!"
Blessed was the fact that flesh selling had not ravaged Vivian's body nor subjected her to countless potentially lethal forms of sect-chew-Ali transmitted ills.
Blessed was the fact that Vivian really had more of the intelligence and personality that suited her to garden parties than to a life of flesh selling on the streets.
Blessed was the way that Vivian transformed Edward from a morose and heartless destroyer of other people's livelihood into a saint who would gladly fork over some investment capital to try to make a failing business succeed.
Blessed was the fact that this capitalized on the hooker-with-a-heart-of-gold stereotype that's been with us since biblical times.
Blessed was the fact that this film ended.
Blessed was the fact that I never saw it again.
Blessed was the fact that my students in Taiwan really liked it and asked me what I thought of it.
Blessed was the fact that I said, "Well, I think it teaches girls that hooking is a pretty viable career choice."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Movie, Feb. 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (DVD)
Does this movie glorify being a hooker? That's what Roseanne thinks. But who cares what she thinks anyway! This is a great movie, and even though it does kinda sorta glorify being a hooker (with the hopes of falling in love with a rich guy), you can pretty much say that every movie glorfies something that shouldn't be glorified.
Julia plays Vivianne, a relatively inexperienced hooker. Right away she meets Edward (Gere), who is rather coy around Vivianne, but invites her up to his room anyway. This leads to a week long agreement that she will be his arm piece for social functions and at the end of the week, she'll get $3,000 big ones.
She has rules to avoid attachment, but can Vivianne resist this hunky rich guy who (even though he says he isn't) is sweeping her off her feet?
This movie is truly wonderful. Roberts innocence shines through her character. There are lots of great one-liners in this movie, some true laugh out loud moments. Don't let the premise scare you away... it's much tamer and sweeter than alot of people make it out to be. So see this movie. It's cute, funny, sweet, and genuine-- a combination that's hard to find in any movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Woman: the best movie in the entire pretty world!, Jan. 29 2004
By 
Emmy M "billmcbill2" (Madison, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty Woman (DVD)
Everyone knows this story, whether they've experienced certain parts of it, or just love it pure & simply because it's terrific. And if you haven't seen it, why not?! Go out and get it now. Go on!
This is the one Julia Roberts film that can never be out-done. No amount of Erin Brockovich's can beat this movie. This catapulted Julia into the big-time, mainstream movies, and she's now one of the highest paid actresses. I dunno whether something like Pretty Woman was never done before this, or whether I'm just sick of Julia Roberts now, but she won't come across a script as good as this again. Not even the supposed "sequel", with Richard Gere & Julia reteaming (they could go all the way and do a Meg Ryan/Tom Hanks) with Garry Marshall and Hector Elizondo for Runaway Bride. Nowhere near as good. But that's a different movie.
The actors are great, and I think it's the only Richard Gere movie I've ever seen - apart from Runaway Bride. The night elevator operator's face (Patrick Richwood) is an absolute picture most of the time, and he makes you laugh just by looking at him.
Of course, everyone knows that Julia's character, Vivian, turns from a poor hooker, into a rich lady. I much prefer Vivian as the hooker. When you first meets Edward (Richard Gere), she's fine, she's cute, and he gives her all this money, and she turns into a frumpy, awkward lady. The clothes are ill-fitting and really don't suit her.
In a few years, when Julia Roberts is old and grey (Richard Gere already was old & grey in this!), this will be considered a classic.
Watch out for a very much blink and you'll miss him role of the detective, played by Hank Azaria. I've seen this movie a hundred times, and it's the first time I noticed him!
The songs are terrific in this, from Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman" to Natalie Cole's "Wild Women Do" (the video is not impressive though). The best song is of course, Roxette's "It Must Have Been Love", played as Vivian leaves Edward. It's a very poignant scene, and I always play this song if I'm feeling down about something. The lyrics match any relationship problem perfectly, and matches the scene in Pretty Woman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fairytale, Jan. 18 2004
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (DVD)
Everyone knows this story, whether they've experienced certain parts of it, or just love it pure & simply because it's terrific. And if you haven't seen it, why not?! Go out and get it now. Go on!
This is the one Julia Roberts film that can never be out-done. No amount of Erin Brockovich's can beat this movie. This catapulted Julia into the big-time, mainstream movies, and she's now one of the highest paid actresses. I dunno whether something like Pretty Woman was never done before this, or whether I'm just sick of Julia Roberts now, but she won't come across a script as good as this again. Not even the supposed "sequel", with Richard Gere & Julia reteaming (they could go all the way and do a Meg Ryan/Tom Hanks) with Garry Marshall and Hector Elizondo for Runaway Bride. Nowhere near as good. But that's a different movie.
The actors are great, and I think it's the only Richard Gere movie I've ever seen - apart from Runaway Bride. The night elevator operator's face (Patrick Richwood) is an absolute picture most of the time, and he makes you laugh just by looking at him.
Of course, everyone knows that Julia's character, Vivian, turns from a poor hooker, into a rich lady. I much prefer Vivian as the hooker. When you first meets Edward (Richard Gere), she's fine, she's cute, and he gives her all this money, and she turns into a frumpy, awkward lady. The clothes are ill-fitting and really don't suit her.
In a few years, when Julia Roberts is old and grey (Richard Gere already was old & grey in this!), this will be considered a classic.
Watch out for a very much blink and you'll miss him role of the detective, played by Hank Azaria. I've seen this movie a hundred times, and it's the first time I noticed him!
The songs are terrific in this, from Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman" to Natalie Cole's "Wild Women Do" (the video is not impressive though). The best song is of course, Roxette's "It Must Have Been Love", played as Vivian leaves Edward. It's a very poignant scene, and I always play this song if I'm feeling down about something. The lyrics match any relationship problem perfectly, and matches the scene in Pretty Woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Suspend your disbelief several times...very fluffy, Jan. 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (DVD)
I am making it a point to view several popular films this year, films I somehow missed in the past. I'm starting out 2004 with "Pretty Woman", a film I've seen displayed on many home video shelves over the past decade.
I guess I don't like fairy tales about adults. If you have lived just a little bit and know anything about men, women, sex, money, class structure, human nature, etc. you might find this film to be quite silly. I do find it to be quite silly. However, in my teens I might have liked it much more. It probably seems like a very sexy film if you don't know too much about the real world, or you don't care much about the realities of wealth, sex, class, men, women... I give it two stars for nice sensual scenes.
By the way, I can't get over the offense Julia Roberts (a prostitute, and a streetwalker at that) takes when a wealthy Jason Alexander wants to "screw her". That is her job, but "love" changes everything in her world within the space of a few days. She's completely transformed, as is Richard Gere. If you like that kind of magical thinking, you will probably like this film.
The VHS version is currently sold along with "Mrs. Doubtfire" at a discount by Amazon. I don't think that these two films should be put together in a combo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Just About Perfect Hollywood Romance, Dec 2 2003
By 
Duane Thomas (Tacoma, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty Woman (DVD)
Straitlaced millionaire Edward Lewis (Richard Gere) picks up Hollywood Boulevard hooker Vivian Ward (Julia Roberts in her star maker role) and hires her to be his companion for a week. Roberts is wonderful as Vivian. One great moment among many: when Vivian wakes up in Edward's palatial penthouse suite "the morning after" and he offers her breakfast instead of making her leave immediately, her pleasure and surprise are touching. She grabs a roll off the breakfast table like a starving waif, as if she almost doesn't dare and is afraid it'll be snatched away. It's impossible not to like Vivian, and to root for her. She's irresistible.
A solid cast benefits from Garry Marshall's surefooted direction. Elinor Dohanue (Betty Anderson/"Princess" from Father Knows Best) shines in a bit part. Jason Alexander, who would go on to fame and fortune in later years as George Costanza on Seinfeld, leaves a slime trail across the screen as Edward's lawyer, Phil Stuckey. Laura San Giacomo is completely believable as Kit De Luca, Vivian's fellow streetwalker and roommate. Hector Elizondo is outstanding as Bernard Thompson, the wise, polished, compassionate hotel manager who first helps Vivian then approves of her. Really, there are no slackers in this cast.
And, in true Hollywood romance fashion, in the end the girl gets the guy for a wholly satisfying payoff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pretty Woman 10th
Pretty Woman 10th by Garry Marshall (VHS Tape - 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews