Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Day Cinderella
Actors here are Brilliant, my thumbs are way up! I can watch this film over and over again.
If Disney's Cinderella are every girls dream. Pretty Woman maybe every boys dream,Why? Because when Richard Gere discovered that He's working so hard to pin down other competitors in business, at the same time his Attorney (Jason Alexander)benefits from it, Money wise...
Published on June 3 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, funny, and silly, yes, but enjoyable
Feel-good film extraordinaire. Sure, it's a suspension of reality. It's an improbable set of events. But, that's movie watching sometimes. You must agree to believe the set of reality they have laid out for you. Once you allow yourself to believe the premise is true--at least in the context of the movie--then you can sit back and enjoy the movie for the saccarhine...
Published on Nov. 14 2003 by Alicia Walker


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Day Cinderella, June 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (VHS Tape)
Actors here are Brilliant, my thumbs are way up! I can watch this film over and over again.
If Disney's Cinderella are every girls dream. Pretty Woman maybe every boys dream,Why? Because when Richard Gere discovered that He's working so hard to pin down other competitors in business, at the same time his Attorney (Jason Alexander)benefits from it, Money wise.
Richard decided to follow his heart and continue falling in love with the Pretty Woman. So sad, Julia Roberts is a prostitute here but a good one, she even have several colors and flavors of condoms to choose from,That's safe sex!
This is a great story plot a millionaire meets his match a prostitute with a golden heart.In reality prostitutes deserves a little break. As for the Pretty Woman this is a big break, Kudos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a birthday gift, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a gift for a friend in August so I have not viewed it yet.. Hopefully, it will be ok when opened .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty woman, Sept. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pretty Woman [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is in englis only i dont know how verify if the movie is in french on your site
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Movie, March 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I mean who hasn't seen Pretty Woman? And who doesn't love it? It is a great film that I could watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, funny, and silly, yes, but enjoyable, Nov. 14 2003
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (DVD)
Feel-good film extraordinaire. Sure, it's a suspension of reality. It's an improbable set of events. But, that's movie watching sometimes. You must agree to believe the set of reality they have laid out for you. Once you allow yourself to believe the premise is true--at least in the context of the movie--then you can sit back and enjoy the movie for the saccarhine sweet puff it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Day Pygmaelion, July 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Pretty Woman [Import] (DVD)
Pretty Woman is a great movie. When Julia Roberts acted in this 1990 classic, she was sexy, vibrant and cute. In her latest movies she seems to have lost her charm, and appears awkward and frumpy.
It is a romantic comedy about a lovable prostitute Vivienne (Julia Roberts) hired by a spoiled, jaded billionaire, Edward (Richard Gere) for a highly unusual assignment.

Needless to say, this encounter irreparably changes both of their lives forever. Thouroughly a story that is funny, touching and engaging,
The change is Vivienne from a streetwalker to a lady mirrors a Pygmalion/My Fair Lady type of theme.
As the voice at the end reminds us, sometimes your dreams come true and sometimes they don't but you are always free to dream!
Some pretty memorable stuff in this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awful!!!, March 24 2003
By 
Diogenes "tlhm" (Park Ridge, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (DVD)
Ah yes, the movie that convinced us that prostitutes have a heart of gold and a rich businessman is so hard up for love that he would fall madly in love with a total airhead. This may not be the worse movie ever made, but it as close as they come to it! And it's also the movie that proves that Julia Roberts has more teeth than Francis the Talking Mule (who, come to think of it, was a much better actor, also). In short, a movie that only gets worse with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A message of hope for our children, June 23 2001
By 
Robert Bezimienny (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (DVD)
I learned so much from 'Pretty Woman'. Previously I considered prostitution to be a symptom of many of the ills in society, like loneliness, emotional neglect, addiction, inequalities in wealth and access to education, but now I know that prostitution can be fun - in this movie it's fun for the prostitute and it's fun for the client. Also, in the past, I suspected that there was more to life than money and good looks, but 'Pretty Woman' set me straight on that one: boy, was I wrong! Money is the most important thing in the world. It even makes love possible. Having been taught so many important lessons about life, I think it only fair that we, the viewing public, reward the producers and stars of this film with many millions of dollars - it might even be fair to call them prostitutes too, and to consider ourselves, the audience, as their clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nauseating, June 6 2001
By 
M. S. Butch (Katonah, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (VHS Tape)
Don't get me wrong, I love Julia Roberts. But i was sickened by the message of this film. (1) Prostitution is just another job -- look, someone as perfect as Julia's character does it. Come ON, arent we past romanticizing a profession that degrades both purchaser and seller? (2) Even more nauseating: Happiness is a credit card. The worst scene in the movie -- which i vividly remember 10 years later -- is that the great gift that Gere gives to Roberts is not love or self-respect -- it's the ability to wave his credit card in the faces of the snooty salespeople who looked down on her. THIS is what gives her self-respect -- the ability to spend someone else's money. I find this grossly offensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Boring, Sept. 22 2000
This review is from: Pretty Woman 10th (VHS Tape)
For ten years I avoided this until now-- I should have waited. A romantic comedy without the romance or laughs. I am not a big Roberts fan, and she is terrible here. Leave it to Hollywood in the era of AIDS and STDs to make prostitution seem glamorous, and how a hooker with a heart of gold can change one of those jerk billionaires who is ruining it for the rest of us. So much of the film took place in the hotel suite, I thought I was watching some kind of nightmarish stage play. You may not like this review, but I sure did not like this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaad60a50)

This product

Pretty Woman 10th
Pretty Woman 10th by Garry Marshall (VHS Tape - 2004)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 7.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews