Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent tribute in words and pictures, July 19 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
This magnificent tribute to Ronald Reagan is introduced by William Buckley Jnr and contains a foreword by Nancy Reagan. It recounts the story of this beloved leader's trials and triumphs in over 500 splendid black and white and full-color photographs of people, places, events and memorabilia.

The section An Emerging Voice deals with the years 1911 to 1932: From Dixon to the Gridiron. There are pics of Reagan as a baby, the Reagans' first home in Dixon and Reagan as a handsome youth and attractive young man.

An Aspiring Voice 1932 to 1954: Always The Performer covers the Hollywood years, his time as a broadcaster and as an actor. It includes a double page spread of movie posters from 1937 to 1964.

His years as governor of California are covered in A Voice For California 1954 to 1980: The Citizen-Politician and includes reproductions of fascinating political billboards, posters and buttons.

A Voice For America 1981 to 1984: Casting A New Vision deals with the presidential years and contains reproductions of amusing cartoons and magazine and newspaper covers. My favorite photograph here is the one of Reagan dancing with Princess Diana.

A Voice For The World 1985 to 1988: Triumph Over Evil contains many pics of world leaders, including a poignant one of Ronnie kissing Maggie. This section also contains covers of magazines like Time, Newsweek, Life, National Review and many others.

An Enduring Voice 1989 to present: A Legacy For Tomorrow deals with the twilight years and his legacy, including the presidential library. It also includes a reproduction of Reagan's handwritten note to the nation announcing his illness.

The impressive visual history chronicled in these photographs is elucidated by the captivating text and about 200 quotes from world leaders, actors, journalists, family and friends.

The book is a stunning work of devotional art that may be opened at any page to find inspiration from the life of this great leader who revived America and whose vision led to the liberation of millions of people.

I also recommend the 5-CD set Speaking My Mind: Selected Speeches With Personal Reflections, and the books When Character Was King by Peggy Noonan and Ronald Reagan: How An Ordinary Man Became An Extraordinary Leader by Dinesh D'Souza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Absorbing!!!, July 7 2001
By 
ZAZA SIAMASHVILI "Reaganesque Republican" (Tbilisi, Republic of Georgia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
I will start by saying that I have to admit that I am biased while writing this review as I have been a Reagan admirer and fan for more than two decades. Especially, I am NOT an American citizen! I am from Georgia, one of the constituent republics of the former Soviet Union, i.e. Evil Empire and belong to the millions who were liberated by this Cowboy President. President Reagan is a true hero and his values, his vision and his voice always reached us. This books will absorb you by its contents and fabulous pictures. There is also an interesting thing that you will notice - the book will remind you of the published version of some video titles about Ronald Reagan!! I have every video titles about him and never get tired by watching them! Buy this book and you will be absorbed by the vision, values and goals he had set as objectives when he came to the office. You will also share the humor he always had. I have many books about him and some of them are illustrated but none of them is so exhaustive as this one. I am truly appreciative of the work the Reagan Foundation has done to publish this book. It is NOT honoring just our beloved President, it is honoring US - by keeping us aware of what we are and what we happened not to become. We got rid of so many tragedies and catasrophs, just because there was always a man who never was afraid of bear!! Thank YOU Mr. President and Thank you for those wonderful things you envisioned!!! Thank you for your ideals, for your vision and your everlasting optimism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding and Touching Work About Our Nation's Greatest, June 27 2001
By 
Colin M. Kelly (Annapolis, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
I must begin by admitting that I am greatly biased and this book is certainly a glowing tribute to our 40th President. That aside, the quality of this book is absolutely captivating. The narrative history put in a brief capsule format allows the focus to remain on the Pictorial that leads you through the life of Ronald Reagan. The reactions that the people of this country have to President Reagan vary from one end to the other, but one cannot deny the captivating way that this leader rose through the depression in Tampico and Dixon Illinois to become the one responsible for the end of the Cold War. As an avid reader and collector of the history of Ronald Reagan, this book was a welcome addition that allowed me to not get wrapped up in deep analysis and text, and to just sit back and enjoy the life of the Greatest President of my lifetime. This book is a must have addition to any collection for those of us who are fans, as well as a great way to familiarize those who don't truly know of the fascinating life of Ronald Reagan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Photo Album for President Reagan, June 25 2001
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
Summary: This book is a pictoral biography of President Reagan accompanied by brief essays. The photographs present the former president in his most appealing images and give the impression of a larger-than-life personality and set of accomplishments. Fans of the former president and his wife, Mrs. Nancy Reagan, will treasure this book as a keepsake.
Review: Gorgeous, glamorous photographs (usually in color) sprawl across oversize pages and portray character, emotion, and rugged handsomeness in unforgettable ways. The most magnificent ones explode across two-page spreads. The book's design is almost as fine as the photographs are, and creates the kind of fairy tale feeling that great heroes evoke in their followers. The details of the images are lovingly reproduced so that nuances of expressions and thought are obvious to the viewer. In this form, you will capture new meaning from photographs that you have seen many times before in black-and-white versions produced in smaller sizes. The photographs come with very well selected quotes that encapsulate their messages. You will enjoy reading these quotes very much.
The book is divided into the following sections: Emerging Voice; Aspiring Voice; Voice for California; Voice for America; Voice for the World; and An Enduring Voice. Each section has its own brief essays. The ones about President Reagan's youth will add details that you may be unfamiliar with. For example, there was a dangerous undertow in the swimming beach where he was a lifeguard. As a result, he had the opportunity to rescue more than 70 people over the years he worked there. Before him, no one had wanted the responsibility of guarding the beach. The personal asides are typically modest. He tells about being delighted when a pretty young woman who had drawn his interest waved at him one day. Only after her head went under water did he realize that she was calling for aid, rather than being friendly. He rescued her.
Looking at this book helped me to appreciate more about the process whereby our presidents go from being ordinary mortals to larger-than-life heroes striding across history's stage as time passes. With the victory in the Cold War, the Reagan years and President Reagan's legacy are intact for all time. This book symbolizes his ascension into the gallery of our most memorable presidents.
After you have had a chance to enjoy this remarkable volume, you should think about what the founding fathers were really like, if you had known them as a contemporary. How much glitter has been attracted because their noble experiment with representative government has been so successful? How much of that glitter is needed to help keep the ship of state moving forward? Great institutions need great heroes . . . and vice versa.
Step forward to meet the challenges you see around you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The New American Coffee Table Centerpiece, June 24 2001
By 
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
This compendium of pictures and narative covers the life and times of Ronald Reagan, Americas 40th President. It is an excellent review of the many differnt stages that Ronald Reagan stood on and from which he influenced so many people. It contains pictures of Gene Kelly and Frank Sinatra and many others from his Hollywood days, as well as pictures from his days as Governor and President. Of course, there's a picture or two of his soulmate Nancy. Something I found interesting was the inclusion of a page of pictures of the various political buttons and paraphenalia from his political campaigns.
There are many books published on the life and the presidency of Ronald Reagan. However, this book contains no right wing or liberal slant. It is a wonderful book for a young adult to pick up on a rainy afternoon and browse through. The changes that occurred in America and the world during Reagan's years in the White House, the love affair that Americans and others around the globe had with this charasmatic leader of the 80's, are all captured here. It brings history alive and .... it belongs on your coffe table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Portrait Of Character, Nov. 5 2001
By 
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
If you enjoyed reading the most important book on understanding the philosophy of character, "West Point" by Norman Thomas Remick, that Ronald Reagan would have loved, you'll certainly enjoy reading and seeing a book that is the portrait of character, "Ronald Reagan: An American Hero" by William F. Buckley. Ronald Reagan is the real-life personification of everything that Remick's book is trying to teach every American, whether liberal or conservative, educated or uneducated. Reagan is a modern-era role model for ALL of our sons and daughters to emulate. This presentation of him through wonderful pictures and inspiring words brings him to life in a way that all the past biographies of our greatest founding fathers and leaders of other generations have never done. This, like the Remick book, is a book every Mom and Dad, Grandma and Grandpa, and teacher and professor should make sure that every son and daughter of America reads and understands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Portrait Of Character, Nov. 5 2001
By 
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
If you enjoyed reading the most important book on understanding the philosophy of character, "West Point" by Norman Thomas Remick, that Ronald Reagan would have loved, you'll certainly enjoy reading and seeing a book that is the portrait of character, "Ronald Reagan: An American Hero" by William F. Buckley. Ronald Reagan is the real-life personification of everything that Remick's book is trying to teach every American, whether liberal or conservative, educated or uneducated. Reagan is a modern-era role model for ALL of our sons and daughters to emulate. This presentation of him through wonderful pictures and inspiring words brings him to life in a way that all the past biographies of our greatest founding fathers and leaders of other generations have never done. This, like the Remick book, is a book every Mom and Dad, Grandma and Grandpa, and teacher and professor should make sure that every son and daughter of America reads and understands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Reagan-Lovers, Dec 29 2001
By 
J.D. Lees (STEINBACH, MANITOBA Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book, put together by someone who knows and loves Ronnie. Most of the pictures are stunning, perfectly capturing his charm and emotions. I have Remembering Reagan, Unguarded Moments, and Ronald Reagan: His Life in Pictures, and of the four, only Ronald Reagan: An American Hero hits the nail perfectly for this true Reagan-lover. You will love to sit with this book and smile, page after page. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Tribute to a Wonderful President, Nov. 17 2002
By 
J. R Selfe (Torrance, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
This is a stunningly beautiful book for those of us who loved what Ronald Reagan did as President. I was a single mom receiving no child support. I'll never foget the hit that inflation was delivering. With the tax rebate, lower taxes and inflation sinking, thanks to President Reagan, he will forever be my hero. I love this man and all he stood for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must if you are a Ronald Reagan fan, July 13 2001
By 
This review is from: Ronald Reagan An American Hero (Hardcover)
I was only 16 when Ronald Reagan was President and I wish our current crop of politicians could be as great as him. This picture history is the best I have seen. Have read many works on the President and this is the best summary of them all. The pictures show that he was a real American and the press hates real "true" Americans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ronald Reagan An American Hero
Ronald Reagan An American Hero by Dorling Kindersley (Hardcover - Jan. 14 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 7.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews