Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The first Looney Tunes movie 25 years on
Chuck Jones' The Bugs Bunny/Road Runner Movie came out in September of 1979. Chuck Jones directed some of the funniest shorts in the history of filmmaking, and this 1979 feature-length compilation includes many of his best cartoons. Among the 11 shorts shown in their entirety are the classics Hare Way to the Stars, Robin Hood Daffy, Duck Amuck(quite possibly the greatest...
Published on June 22 2004 by Terrence J Reardon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars road runner vs. wile e. coyote the classic chase
In the Wile E.Coyote cartoon ''Fast and Furry-ous'' Wile E. Coyote tried a boomerang,crosswalk,rocket,fake tunnel,boulder,superhero outfit,fridge and skis,jet propelled shoes.
Published on May 5 2000 by devon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The first Looney Tunes movie 25 years on, June 22 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
Chuck Jones' The Bugs Bunny/Road Runner Movie came out in September of 1979. Chuck Jones directed some of the funniest shorts in the history of filmmaking, and this 1979 feature-length compilation includes many of his best cartoons. Among the 11 shorts shown in their entirety are the classics Hare Way to the Stars, Robin Hood Daffy, Duck Amuck(quite possibly the greatest cartoon ever made), Ali Baba Bunny, Bully for Bugs and What's Opera Doc? which are still hilarious as they were when first released well over 50 years ago. However, some viewers questioned why other greats like Rabbit of Seville were deleted. Amongst the classic cartoons is some new animation of Bugs from Chuck Jones recalling his exploits with Daffy, Marvin Martian, Elmer Fudd and Wile E. Coyote whom also has a confrontation with The Road Runner in a 20 minute montage which was also great as well. Also, the wascally wabbit's explanations of chases was hysterical. Also, the beginning credits and ending credits were funny with the That's All Folks trying to curtail the movie at start and near the end and Bugs getting irked and puts a NOT or a NOT QUITE between That's All. At the end, Bugs sits on the WB logo smiling saying "Eat Your Heart Out Boit Reynolds" and That's Really All Folks!. This movie is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the five fully animated Looney Tunes movies, June 14 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
Chuck Jones' The Bugs Bunny/Road Runner Movie came out in September of 1979. Chuck Jones directed some of the funniest shorts in the history of filmmaking, and this 1979 feature-length compilation includes many of his best cartoons. Among the 11 shorts shown in their entirety are the classics Hare Way to the Stars, Robin Hood Daffy, Duck Amuck(quite possibly the greatest cartoon ever made), Ali Baba Bunny, Bully for Bugs and What's Opera Doc? which are still hilarious as they were when first released well over 50 years ago. However, some viewers questioned why other greats like Rabbit of Seville were deleted. Amongst the classic cartoons is some new animation of Bugs from Chuck Jones recalling his exploits with Daffy, Marvin Martian, Elmer Fudd and Wile E. Coyote whom also has a confrontation with The Road Runner in a 20 minute montage which was also great as well. Also, the wascally wabbit's explanations of chases was hysterical. Also, the beginning credits and ending credits were funny with the That's All Folks trying to curtail the movie at start and near the end and Bugs getting irked and puts a NOT or a NOT QUITE between That's All. At the end, Bugs sits on the WB logo smiling saying "Eat Your Heart Out Boit Reynolds" and That's Really All Folks!. This movie is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who gives this 1 star is loonier than the movie!, Sept. 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
Chuck Jones is a master and has the funniest cartoons ever created. Bugs Bunny narrates this hilariously looney movie. This tape includes:
DUCK AMUCK-- An absolute classic! One of the best cartoons ever made! And that's HIGH praise!
WHAT'S OPERA DOC?-- Just as good! One of Bugs Bunny's finest performances, not to mention Elmer Fudd's!
DUCK DODGERS IN THE 24TH 1/2 CENTURY-- This is so funny, every second of it has you laughing at something else, if it doesn't than your still laughing at the last gag! Cartoon Network made a TV show about Duck Dodgers and it's really funny but not close to being as funny as this!
HARE-WAY TO THE STARS-- One of Marvin the Martian's funniest performance. It is topped by DUCK DODGERS IN THE 24TH 1/2 CENTURY but Daffy provides most of the laughs in THAT one.
ALI BABA BUNNY-- Every cartoon in this is funny! And this one is no exception. It is FUNNY!!!!!!
ROBIN HOOD DAFFY-- "I'm Robin Hood, and I'm very good at avoiding the sherrif's eye!" Or so Daffy says. But Porky Pig is not convinced that he's who he says he is. This biggest hoot is the gag where Daffy is swinging down to the Sherrif and planning to steal his gold, but he bumps into every tree there. Another one of the best parts is the end.
Not to mention all the Road Runner cartoons in it!
The only complaint I have is where Bugs is naming his "FATHERS" and included are: Tex Avery, Robert Mckimson, Friz Freleng and Chuck Jones. And that's all fine and dandy! But what about Bob Clampett??? He did as much as the others! And Ben Hardaway may not have directed too many cartoons with the hare (two, actually) but he was the original creator of Bugs and so she be included as one of Bugs' fathers.
Buy this! That's all I have left to say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dosent get much loonier then this, May 8 2003
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
This is the greatest bugs bunny movie ever,in it we now know that bugs bunnny has several fathers and they are Chuck Jones,Friz Freeling,Tex Avery and Mel Blanc.
The Only complaint about warner brother movies is that they dont have their opening and closing theme's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fallen Master......., March 2 2002
By 
David G. Smith (Fairfax, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
As I wrote the title Fallen Master I immediately thought of Chuck Jones standing on a cliff and falling off a cliff and getting hit by a bowling ball, an anvil, and some stuff from the acme company and then getting up again. Well, with the passing of Chuck Jones, the thing that can keep getting up is these fantastic cartoons. Chuck Jones has contributed as much to our pop cultural package as Walt Disney. There is no Jonesland, but Jones was a master. Think of the phrases of our society...That's All Folks...What's Up Doc, Suffering Succotash, beep beep. As always I see these pieces as a generational links. I watched these with my father, now my son sits here, and at four he is finding all the puns. These works are funny in many ways. And we have Jones to thank for this sort of multilevel family entertainment. I write this as a plea for you to get some Jones for your collection. If not this, then something else. And at night, don't light a candle for Jones, but maybe one of those big sparkling firecrakers he is so fond of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looney Tunes is Spectacular, Feb. 17 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
I don't care what anyone says. This movie is most likely the best movie conducted by Warner Brothers. Bugs Bunny is hip and funny. Daffy Duck is hilarious and greedy as ever. Elmer Fudd is a great addition, with a great singing voice(In his opera with bugs bunny entitled "What's Opera Doc?". And in addition, Wile E. Coyote takes many bruises from his long-lasting adversary, the road runner. This movie is a delicious blend of all the best cartoons in Looney Tune history all put together in one great movie cassete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A barrel of laughs, Jan. 17 2002
By 
"ebynoe" (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
This compilation contains many of the great Looney Tunes cartoons by the late great Chuck Jones. Included here are Duck Amuck, Robin Hood Daffy, Duck Dogers In The 24th and Half Century & Bully For Bugs (which are basically uncut), What's Opera Doc?, Operation Rabbit (although very little of it) and many more. We also get to see Bugs Bunny battling Marvin the Martian. I've watched it every weekend since I got it. The cartoons are pulled together by a narrative by Bugs himself which is pretty funny in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On With The Show This Is It., Jan. 8 2002
By 
Don McCullen (Colorado Springs, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
This movie was put during the time when CBS was carrying reruns of the Looney Tunes shorts under the title "Bugs Bunny/Road Runner Show" on their Saturday morning cartoon lineup. So it was right for Warner Brothers to give them top billing for the movie which is a collection of some of those shorts (originally the way the ought to be seen. ON THE SILVER SCREEN!), with wrap-arounds of new animation with the viewer paying a visit to Bugs's home (it's an unusual palace for a movie star to live in and I'll leave it at that. Surprised it's not a rabbit hole?)
At the beginning of the movie Bugs give a comical explanation on why people are amused by "chase scenes" and it throws in a Star Wars gag. After that Bugs pays his respect to his "many fathers" who in real life are the producers, directors, writers, and animators of the classic Bugs Bunny shorts. Also the late Mel Blanc gets a nod as well for he is the original voice of Bugs (and pretty much of the other Looney Tunes).
Then we get into the some of classics that made the Bugs and his friends famous. Include one, which is more/less, a rewrite on "Hairdevil Hare." The one with the "10,000 Instant Martians" and four of them chase Bugs. Also on the video as the original "Duck Dodgers" short, the "Duck Amuck" in which Daffy faces off with his faceless animator who gets a kick out of giving the duck a beating. Also given a nod is the "What's Opera Doc!"(famous for "KILL THE WABBIT!") which is not one of my personal favorites but is a respected short, so it had to be put in.
In between the shorts we have the Bugs wrap arounds showing us pictures of his foes in his "home" and introducing the cartoon shorts.
The Road Runner cartoons come at the very end of the film, and it's more/less a best of Road Runner gags rather than just showing us separate Road Runner shorts, but it give the viewers a longer Road Runner experience so of speak.
There are many video compilations out there of cartoon shorts, but "The Bugs Bunny/Road Runner Movie" although intended for theateral release is best one to get. Not saying the other ones are bad, but this one is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bugs Bunny and gang's Greatest Hits Vol. 1, in other words., Jan. 1 2002
By 
Daniel J. Hamlow (Narita, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
From the slightly disarranged mind of Chuck Jones, comes a compilation of old Looney Tunes shorts with new footage of Bugs Bunny, as our gracious host, introducing each short.
The Star Wars parody is obvious in explaining when the first chase started, as we are treated to a starfield scene, "A long long long...", followed by twelve rows of four "long"'s, followed by "in a galaxy far, far," and seven "far, far, far, far, far"'s and then "away." The chase of course originated on a "6th rate galaxy", on a "4th rate sun," around which circled a "10th rate planet." As a result, comedy begat chases, and chases begat chases, and this is shown via silent film clips of pratfalls and slapstick.
There's a Cold War reference in the scenes between Daffy Duck (Duck Dodgers), and Marvin the Martian, as both claim Planet X in their respective planet's names, and finally, launch the ultimate weapon against each other, which causes the planet to blow up, leaving only enough of the planet for one person to stand on. Porky Pig, hanging for his life from a root, says, "Big deal!" when Daffy claims what's left of X for Earth. In Bugs' adventure with Marvin, aside from the obvious nuclear overtones, i.e. the destruction of Earth with the Iludium Pu-36 explosive space modulator, as it obscures Marvin's view of Venus, the episode has another interesting reference. Mars and Venus, as in Men are From Mars... Makes for interesting pondering...
Bugs Bunny's adventures with the bull results in some of his classic epithets: "What a gulli-bull!", "What a nincowpoop!", "What an imbecile (pronounced by him as imbessel)" and "What an ultramaroon!"
One of the most classic segments here is "Duck Amuck," where Daffy has to face a mysterious cartoonist adversary who changes the scenery on him, paints him in garish colors, and makes his life miserable. The only line spoken by the cartoonist: "Ain't I a stinker?"
The real treat is the series of Roadrunner and Wile E. Coyote chases. The Coyote's persistence is what makes me admires him--he NEVER gives up! No doubt though, he would have brought a $60 million lawsuit against ACME Inc. for defective catapults, which never fails to launch the rock on him, or fall on top of him, a whole number of rubber bands, the earthquake pills which aren't effective on roadrunners, or the metal shield whose ratchet fails to stop the roadrunner, but which springs up at an inopportune moment for him to slam into. He comes closest to catching the Roadrunner with the leg muscle vitamins. Some of them are just downright silly, as in the Superman costume. Uh huh, SURE you can fly just by putting it on. What makes me crack up is the tiny umbrella he holds over himself just as the rocks fall on top of him.
The dated 1940's language, is what makes this interesting viewing from when I saw it as a child and seeing it now; e.g. "Thanks for the sour persimmons, cousin!", "Brother, what a way to run a railroad!" Eric Cartman, Bart Simpson, or even Blossom would never be caught dead saying that! But I see it as a nostalgic piece of Bugs and friends, realized in the original spirit of his creators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Laziest of the WB Shorts Movies, but the Best!, Aug. 2 2001
This review is from: The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie (VHS Tape)
I know, I know. It's the laziest of the bunch, but it's the best because it has better shorts than the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie
The Bugs Bunny Road Runner Movie by Phil Monroe (VHS Tape - 2001)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews