Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie!
Okay, there are a couple of things that stink about this movie, so let's get that out of the way first. (1) Mariel Hemingway's acting sucks, (2) the cute blond kid's acting sucks, (3) Michael Pare's acting sucks slightly less, (4) the big transformation scene REALLY sucks--CGI at its sloppiest, and (5) some inane leaps in logic, like: Is Uncle Ted really so stupid that...
Published on Feb. 1 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Moon (1996)
Director: Eric Red
Cast: Mariel Hemingway, Michael Pare.
Running Time: 83 minutes.
Rated R for violence, gore, language, and sexual situations.
What begins as a fairly cheesy take on "The Howling" premise develops into a scary, enjoyable horror film that is quick, taut, and surprisingly atmospheric. Mariel Hemingway stars as a single-mom who...
Published on May 25 2004 by The Tweeder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Moon (1996), May 25 2004
By 
This review is from: Bad Moon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Director: Eric Red
Cast: Mariel Hemingway, Michael Pare.
Running Time: 83 minutes.
Rated R for violence, gore, language, and sexual situations.
What begins as a fairly cheesy take on "The Howling" premise develops into a scary, enjoyable horror film that is quick, taut, and surprisingly atmospheric. Mariel Hemingway stars as a single-mom who realizes that something is happening to her distant brother (Michael Pare). Although he as always been a little different, Hemingway decides that the best thing she can do is support him--so she allows him to stay in his trailer park on her property--bad idea. Her brother is a flesh-eating werewolf.
Michael Pare is adequate as the mysterious man-turned-werewolf, showing that haunting despair of knowing that he is inflicting horror on those he loves. The special effects are adequate and the acting is solid; director Eric Red does a nice job of slimming the film down and taking out the useless material to reveal a good horror film with the bare essentials. "Bad Moon" received no critical acclaim or publicity, but it is a much better motion picture than expected. Not quite "The Howling", but not far off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie!, Feb. 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Moon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Okay, there are a couple of things that stink about this movie, so let's get that out of the way first. (1) Mariel Hemingway's acting sucks, (2) the cute blond kid's acting sucks, (3) Michael Pare's acting sucks slightly less, (4) the big transformation scene REALLY sucks--CGI at its sloppiest, and (5) some inane leaps in logic, like: Is Uncle Ted really so stupid that he thinks "family love" will cure him?
But I still gave it five stars. Why? Two main reasons: One, I love the idea of presenting the plot largely through the eyes of the dog, Thor. Thor acts circles around his human costars, and if, by the end of the movie, you aren't cheering him on as he races home to confront the werewolf, you must have a heart of stone. Two, the werewolf costume is fantastic. It is easily the best-looking, least-fakey werewolf I have ever seen. Despite the idiotic transformation scene, this werewolf looks ten times more impressive--and scary!--than any other. (Okay, the one in the big attack scene in the doctor's office in "The Howling" is a close second.)
Yes, you will groan at some of the dialogue. Yes, you will want the werewolf to rip off the cute blond kid's head. Yes, you will laugh heartily as you watch Ms. Hemingway struggle with the proverbial paper bag. Yes, there is an obligatory "final scare" which is totally stupid. But if you're in the mood for a fun little horror flick with some gore, an awesome monster, and a heroic dog, look no more! Need any more encouragement? This movie was written and directed by Eric Red, the genius who also gave us possibly the best vampire movie of all time, "Near Dark."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tree Hugging Werewolf, Nov. 21 2003
By 
Ryan Costantino (Nowhere, Special) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Moon (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie right here is one of the overlooked gems of the often forgettable 1990's so called "horror" genre. A very quick film (under 80 minutes!) that doesn't bloat itself with too much back story and keeps the action pretty much centered on Ted (the werewolf) and Thor (the protective German Shepherd)focusing on their standoff (which is well shot, save for the obviously "stuffed" Thor for some over the shoulder thrashing). Really well acted (Michael Pare as Ted really stands out)and the idea of having a werewolf film that is about 70% based on a dog's point of view is quite original. Some terrific creature design and gore help with the intensity. The actual transformation scene seems a little dated but this movie wasn't exactly big budget fare and besides any horror fan should know that most of the really good flicks come from genuine heart in the production, not deep pockets. All in all this is one of my favorite werewolf movies, it's short, sweet, and to the point. It probably doesn't hurt that I've owned two German Shepherds in my lifetime either. If you like horror or werewolf movies check this one out.
"All of a sudden you've got a 200 lb. wolf at the door."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There Are Spooky Things In The NorthWest, April 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Moon (VHS Tape)
This is a film I fell blindly into, only knowing Mariel Hemmingway was starring which made my world stop! But all kidding aside, this is a neatly packaged little BC, Canada made film which takes advantage of all the creepiness of the darkness of a rain forest night.
It is also one of the most clever takes I have seen of the werewolf story put onto film. Something that occured to me was that this could have been a real disaster but through clever timing and editing <particularly the scenes with the Shepard and the cuts fast away from the monster, though extremly well done, lends more to the terror>, this is a mini-masterpiece.
Mariel is beautiful as always but you will quickly start to sweat about what is in that dark forest <Shushwap Lake, BC, frighteningly close to me, with true life mysteries of it's own> that will have you glued to the screen.
A wonderful, creepy and sometimes gory little piece, it is not gratuituous and is well balanced and timed with a marvelouse ending I cannot give away . Be sure to watch from beginning to end. This film is particualarly good compared to other contemporaries like "Gator" and "The Lake".
Turn off the lights and snuggle close because things get viscous. The interaction between the German Shepard and the brother/werewolf are very well thought out and well done, as well as the animal handling in the filmaking.
Great spooky, scary and sometimes gory fun with a very cohesive story !!!
Lots of popcorn and drink of your choice for this one <also note great soundtrack> but also recommend age 13+; also there are <simulated> scenes of animal brutality. If you can overlook this, I guarantee a chill and even a thought provoking ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad - not bad at all!, July 3 2002
This review is from: Bad Moon (VHS Tape)
Bad Moon has a very cheesy box cover. I also don't remember it ever going to the theaters. And that's a shame, because this is really quite a good werewolf movie. It is far superior to most of the other films of its type. Why? Most werewolf movies feel the need to be gory for the sake of horror, and they do so with aplomb. I guess if you really like excessively gory films then such releases as "The Howling" and "An American Werewolf in London" (both of which I think are good films too) are right up your alley.
Bad Moon isn't a gory film. It doesn't operate on a thin script and isn't mired down by bad acting or filming. This is actually a really nicely made film with B list actors.
Decent acting can only get you so far though. If the script isn't any good, it doesn't matter. In this case, the script is one of the best I've come across for a horror film. The script takes the horror to an emotional level rather than a graphic level. The werewolf is someone we care about and the victims are people we care about. But this film is less about the werewolf than it is the discovery on the part of some of the characters of WHO the werewolf is. It could be argued that everyone except the dog is too stupid to realize that there even is a werewolf.....so I ask you, would you assume that a werewolf was at work in any given situation? Of course not. And this film is developed from a sense of reality rather than in some alternate reality where the existence of werewolves is a foregone conclusion.
Oddly enough, this is a horror movie that the kids (albeit older ones) could watch with their parents. (I can't swear to it, but I think this film may have been a made-for-TV or made-for-cable film).
Try this film on for size. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The #1 Werewolf movie, Nov. 29 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Moon (Widescreen) (DVD)
I have to say that this is my favorite Werewolf movie and probably one of the better. Some things, like the fact you could tell when they used a Mechanical Werewolf to when they used a man in a costume(That man was Stunt Coordinator Ken Kirzchinger)
Other than that, this was a great film. The DVD look of it is how it should of been viewed...In the theatres. Movies like these are why I hate Critics who only like big blockbuster hits.
This film had several firsts. 1)First time a Dog was the Werewolf's nemesis. 2)First time I can think of that little kid is involved and 3)First time in which Werewolf looks like an actual wolf and not a very hairy man. This film probably has the coolest looking Werewolf than any other Werewolf before it or after it. They should of released it in the theatres and the critics should really start paying attention to small films with great potential. Funniest moment was probably where little kid is trying to free Thor and the lights come on and he says "Oh you-know-what
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This moon aint so bad . ., Oct. 29 2001
By 
Matthew Skidmore (Stourbridge, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Moon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Okay, this movie has had it's fair share knocks and bad reviews. I admit it's not the best werewolf movie in the world, but it's certainly not the worst (Just take a look at some of those HOWLING sequels). Director Eric Red has had a great genre career, what with screenwriting such 80s gems as THE HITCHER and NEAR DARK and directing the underrated BODY PARTS, he knows how to craft a decent horror movie. This movie however, suffers from what seems to be a low budget and quite surprisingly from Eric Red, an underwritten script. Lead actors Mariel Hemingway and Michael Pare equip themselves fine with the stilted dialogue and try to bring the movie out of the B movie realm. Jan Kiessers' cinematography is atmospheric and Steve Johnson's animatronic werewolf suit is great (it's just a pity the rushed CGI doesn't come up to scratch - the painful scene where Pare transforms into the creature using CGI is terrible and quite frankly, needed to be cut from the film, especially when the non-digital work in the movie is largely excellent).
Warner Bros. dumped this movie straight to tape in the UK, and we never got the chance to see the movie at the theatres. Now, with DVD I can view the movie as it was meant to be seen. It benefits greatly from the digital format, what with a bright sharp picture (highlighting that cool, autumnal look of the cinematography) and the chance to see Steve Johnson's great creature effects. Reviewers moaned about this movie when it came out, and to a point I can see why, but when other dull "horror" movies like AN AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN PARIS and the latest SCREAM rip-off are released at the cinema, this low-budget flick doesn't seem so bad after all. Granted, it's not a great film by any means, but it's not a bad one either . . . I look forward to whatever Eric Red puts out in the future, at least his horror heart is in the right place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars are people too young to remember Silver Bullet?, July 28 2001
This review is from: Bad Moon (Widescreen) (DVD)
That wasn't a good film, but it's Oscar material compared to this.
I picked it up after reading all the rave reviews...
BOY WAS I DISAPPOINTED!
Steve Johnston must have had a really tight budget as the werewolf was stiff and mechanical. The transformation scence (usually setpiece of any werewolf films) has some really tacky CG morphs that totally destroys the moment's pacing.
Equally stiff were the actors, delivering their line with all the emotion of a teleprompter. The best way to view this was to turn on the french soundtrack and read the subtitles, at least the dubbers delivers more believable emotion. But then again the script was so trite and bland, turning on the subtitles makes this into a surreal comedy.
Face it, 1981 was and is the year of the werewolf:-
An American Werewolf in London, The Howling and Wolfen.
I have yet to see a contemporary werewolf film that can captivate an audience like they could.
After 20 years, Rick Baker's work in AAWIL is still stands above the rest (Sorry Howling fans, never liked Bottin's rabbit eared lycanthropes). If you want solid acting you might as well go for Wolf which at least had Jack Nicholson, Pieffer and Spader (plus Rick Baker's rather good but more "wolfman-esque" work).
Trying to do a "straight" werewolf film these days are almost impossible, that also the German Shepard's acting is what the 2 stars are for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars are people too young to remember Silver Bullet?, July 28 2001
This review is from: Bad Moon (Widescreen) (DVD)
That wasn't a good film, but it's Oscar material compared to this.
I was about to order it but found it at a local store's discount for 9 dollars, picked it up after reading all the rave reviews...
BOY WAS I DISAPPOINTED!
Steve Johnston must have had a really tight budget as the werewolf was stiff and mechanical. The transformation scence (usually setpiece of any werewolf films) has some really tacky CG morphs that totally destroys the moment's pacing.
Equally stiff were the actors, delivering their line with all the emotion of a teleprompter. The best way to view this was to turn on the french soundtrack and read the subtitles, at least the dubbers delivers more believable emotion. But then again the script was so trite and bland, turning on the subtitles makes this into a surreal comedy.
Face it, 1981 was and is the year of the werewolf:-
An American Werewolf in London, The Howling and Wolfen.
I have yet to see a contemporary werewolf film that can captivate an audience like they could.
After 20 years, Rick Baker's work in AAWIL is still stands above the rest (Sorry Howling fans, never liked Bottin's rabbit eared lycanthropes). If you want solid acting you might as well go for Wolf which at least had Jack Nicholson, Pieffer and Spader (plus Rick Baker's rather good but more "wolfman-esque" work).
Trying to do a "straight" werewolf film these days are almost impossible, that also the German Shepard's acting is what the 2 stars are for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HOWLING GOOD FUN!, June 30 2001
This review is from: Bad Moon (VHS Tape)
When I noticed that this movie was on TNT, I thought it would be a lame werewolf flick like AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON. Boy, was I wrong! Despite the apparent editing, I really enjoyed this movie. It's a modern monster movie with a soul, like WOLF with Jack Nicholson (another GREAT film!). The acting is pretty good, better than one might expect, and the plot is good. After a werewolf attack is South America, a man named Ted moves in with his sister and her son(the kid from that Dennis the Menace movie a few years back), where he begins a killing spree as a monstrous wolfman. The only one who knows Ted's secret(until the end) is the family German Shepherd named Thor. The ending is great too! The werewolf scenes are pretty gorey, but don't let that detract you from seeing this. Mariel Hemingway(SUPERMAN 4:THE QUEST FOR PEACE)does a great job with her character of the werewolf's sister. Overall, a fine werewolf movie. The only thing I don't like is the lame title. It doesn't really stick. Oh well, who cares? Go right now and rent this movie!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Moon (Widescreen)
Bad Moon (Widescreen) by Eric Red (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 112.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews