Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Bibliography
You have to like mysteries about the field of mysteries or else the numerous allusions to other mysteries could be annoying. You do NOT need to have read other mysteries to read this one, however. The writer uses other titles to make comparisons, generally. I found it all fascinating and am whiling away a medical leave ordering titles I find mentioned. There are some...
Published on Sept. 27 2001 by Chutes

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor effort, tainted by malice.
A messy story with a profusion of characters and motives. Worst of all is the vicious way the authors portrays one character's weight, continually describing her with terms such as "gross," "lazy," or "greasy," and littering her living area with junk food. Feel free to give it a pass. You're not missing much.
Published 2 months ago by Margaret A. Robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Bibliography, Sept. 27 2001
By 
Chutes (East Brunswick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
You have to like mysteries about the field of mysteries or else the numerous allusions to other mysteries could be annoying. You do NOT need to have read other mysteries to read this one, however. The writer uses other titles to make comparisons, generally. I found it all fascinating and am whiling away a medical leave ordering titles I find mentioned. There are some real classics, many out of print but available used, that I never would have thought to look for. Hart's allusions extend outside the mystery field to jurisprudence, biography, and journalism, but the real meat is the mystery bibliography. The actual mystery is interesting, with lots of list writing and puzzling, livened up with eccentric characters. I particularly liked a very minor character, a befuddled student in a class on Mysteries who had never read one. One puzzle--why teach a course on mysteries in a journalism department? Only vaguely explained. An earlier reviewer mentioned bad language which puzzled me. I didn't notice any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, Dec 1 2001
By 
apoem "apoem" (Bosque Farms, NM USA) - See all my reviews
This is one of the best Death on Demand mysteries.
One of the things that Carolyn does best is combine a little bit of humor with a little bit of mystery. She does that well in this book.
Annie is teaching a class about three great mystery writers only to have her plans upset by three ladies of mystery. One is Annie's mother in law, as always, is delightful. Slightly off kilter and yet she is on the mark with most things. The other two are fans of mysteries and known for causing problesm where they go. Very good.
Although it is usually easy to figure out who did it by the end of Carolyn Hart's books, it doesn't make it any less of an enjoyable read. THis is one of my favorite Death on Demand mysteries.
As an added bonus, you get a lot of references to other mysteries that are good reads as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Annie teaches a little class on murder, June 12 2002
By 
Karen Potts (Lake Jackson, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Annie Laurance Darling, owner of the mystery book store Death on Demand, is invited to teach a class on "Three Great Ladies of Mystery" at a local college. She looks forward to the challenge until she discovers that three of her students are her mother-in-law Laurel and two of her cronies. This is only the beginning of her troubles, however, because she soon discerns serious jealousy and in-fighting among faculty members. Before it's all over, there is a suicide, a murder and a bombing. There are lots of suspects and everyone seems to have a motive, so Annie is puzzled as to who's behind all the chaos. This is one of the better books of the series and it contains a lot of humor, and an interesting resolution to the mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Annie and Max book!, Aug. 18 1999
By A Customer
I enjoyed A Little Class on Murder more than any of the other Death on Demand books, and I love them all. This one was the most enjoyable to me because Henny, Miss Dora, and Laurel are all in Annie's class together. They have all wrecked havoc in Annie's life before, but it is when these three ladies form their own manic version of the 3 Musketeers that they really shine. Being in Grad school, I enjoyed reading a mystery set at a college campus. And, as always, Annie and Max are the perfect couple. Very fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A poor effort, tainted by malice., Sept. 20 2014
By 
Margaret A. Robinson (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A messy story with a profusion of characters and motives. Worst of all is the vicious way the authors portrays one character's weight, continually describing her with terms such as "gross," "lazy," or "greasy," and littering her living area with junk food. Feel free to give it a pass. You're not missing much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable easy read., March 4 1999
By A Customer
I really enjoy Carolyn G. Hart's books and I love her characters Annie Laurance and Max Darling. A Little Class on Murder is another delightful mystery. Even though I was pretty sure of who done it before the end, I was not positive. The plot is solid and the characters are wonderful. I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Crude Language, May 9 2000
Max and Laurie Darling are delightful and Henny, Miss Dora, and Laurel are equally annoying and amusing. But, BE WARNED, if you do not like crude language, this book contains a lot of it. Numerous characters curse up a storm. If it weren't for that, I'd have given the book a much higher rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too many allusions, June 15 2000
By A Customer
I enjoyed the actual mystery of the book (finding out who the Deep Throat was) but the numerous allusions to other mysteries really made me stumble. I read many mysteries, but there were way too many references to things I didn't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh, please., Nov. 7 2002
By A Customer
A class on mysteries being taught in a journalism dept.? This absurdity strained my credibility past the point of being able to enjoy anything about the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Little Class on Murder
A Little Class on Murder by Carolyn G. Hart (Hardcover - Dec 1991)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews