Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Phone Is Ringing....Relax, I'll Get It."
This is my all time favorite Pink Panther film. I think that I like it the best of the series as is dwells so totally on Herbert Lom's madness, which is, of course, entirely caused by Clouseau. The opening scene of the film sets the pace, with the brilliant slapstick 'Dreyfus in the lake' segment (I am particularly fond of the role of the rake in that scene.)
The...
Published on July 4 2004 by Robert I. Hedges

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but something is wrong
In this fourth Pink Panther film, Inspector Clouseau is running for his life because his ex-boss Dreyfuss, driven mad by Clouseau's incompetence, is threatening to destroy earth with a death ray unless Clouseau is terminated.
When I first saw this film, I thought it was pretty good. Clouseau pulls off some hilarious, over-the-top gags and Dreyfuss is fun to watch in...
Published on Aug. 5 2003 by Dave Capo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Phone Is Ringing....Relax, I'll Get It.", July 4 2004
By 
This is my all time favorite Pink Panther film. I think that I like it the best of the series as is dwells so totally on Herbert Lom's madness, which is, of course, entirely caused by Clouseau. The opening scene of the film sets the pace, with the brilliant slapstick 'Dreyfus in the lake' segment (I am particularly fond of the role of the rake in that scene.)
The characterizations of Dreyfus and Clouseau are totally wonderful in this film. Watching Dreyfus descend into total madness is one of the all time greatest comic performances. Sellers as Clouseau is wonderful playing off of Lom, in such great segments as the 'hallucinatory dentist' and the 'hunchback and the bomber' scenes. This film is much less subtle than my other favorite from the series "A Shot in the Dark", but what it loses in subtlety, it gains in situational humor unrivalled in any other comedy ("Does your dog bite?"..."No."..."I thought you said your dog did not bite."..."That is not my dog.") Only Sellers could make these scenes work, and work they do, brilliantly so.
There are so many great scenes and lines that I couldn't possibly list them. Some of the best lines ever written for a comedy are in this film. To go with the brilliance of the script, the excellent direction from Blake Edwards, the always entertaining animated credits, the beautiful sets, the acting from everyone, led, of course, by Sellers and Lom, is letter perfect.
The DVD is an excellent transfer, and very pleasant to watch. The only real options are language and subtitle related, though there is an original trailer. I would have loved to have seen some outtakes as extras. Reportedly the cast frequently broke up laughing during the filming of this movie, and there is no wonder, given how funny the material is.
I first saw this in the theater when I was a kid. I loved it so much then that I went back several more times, and never tired of it. Now, almost thirty years later, I still never tire of this film. If you haven't seen "The Pink Panther Strikes Again", by all means do so at once. If you have, it's time to get reacquainted with a brilliant old friend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bumbling Inspector Clouseau's Best Movie, Feb. 10 2004
This is the Pink Panther I remembered as a kid. Peter Sellers as the bumbling inspector Jacques Clouseau. Herbert Lom as Dreyfus, the former chief inspector that's been committed to a mental institute due to Clouseau's ineptitude. While there's no stolen diamond (as the previous "Pink Panther" movies usually had), this movie centers around the two main characters. A simple plot... Dreyfus wants to stop at nothing to rid the world of Clouseau. Memorable scenes: the opening scene at the mental institute with Dreyfus falling into the lake time and time again; Clouseau trying on his new hunchback disguise followed by an explosion; Clouseau disguised as a dentist working on Dreyfus' tooth; many failed attempts to get into Dreyfus' castle by Clouseau; and the apartment entry fight scene between Clouseau and his trusted Asian servant Cato. Memorable lines: "What kind of Bomb was it? ("The exploding kind"); "Does your dog bite? ("No") -the dog bites Clouseau- "I thought you said your dog doesn't bite?" ("That's not my dog"). Director Blake Edwards did a wonderful job guiding Sellers and then letting him go off on his own when needed while the camera was rolling. I can see where this movie was inspired by the James Bond series. As well as this movie proved to be a big inspiration to anything Austin Powers ever did. This movie has very few extras... a trailer, an 8-page booklet with some insight from the director, and your choice of full/wide screens. Picture is clear and sound is (only) average. Good movie overall and still fun to watch after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Clouseau, April 21 2004
By 
Unlike the other Panther films, which still mix in some of director Blake Edwards' skillful subtle comedy ala "Breakfast at Tiffany's," this Panther outing is strictly high caliber slapstick. The plot, which is far-fetched, exists simply as a framework to get star Peter Sellers out of one comic situation and into another. This is not a bad thing - some of the funniest comedies are the ones that have the skimpiest storytelling. I've seen all the Panther films many times, and this is the one that I always laugh the loudest at. It's hard not to enjoy Peter Sellers as Inspector Clouseau and how he unintentionally outwits his former superior Dreyfus (Herbert Lom). The DVD release contains both the widescreen and fullscreen versions of the film (though no real extras)and is a step up from the old VHS release. It's always nice to have this choice on a single disc. I honestly don't know what extras could be included as most of the outtakes were unfortunately recycled in the inferior "Trail of the Pink Panther." I recommend this DVD to anyone who enjoys a slapstick approach to comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Pink Panther, May 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I beleive this is the funniest of them all. If you can get everyone to focus on the story line it has a lot to offer in the line of comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By Far the Best in the Series, Feb. 17 2004
By 
M. Katayama (Santa Monica, CA) - See all my reviews
Since there have been other reviewers here who have taken the time to write in detail why this movie was so good, I will just agree in saying that it is indeed an excellent film! It is by far the best in the entire Pink Panther series and will have you laughing the entire time. If you enjoy this film, be sure to check out the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Sept. 7 2003
By 
J. T White (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Only five films should really be considered a part of the Pink Panther/ Inspector Clousseau series: 'The Pink Panther', 'A Shot in the Dark', 'Return of ...', '... Strikes Again, and "Revenge of ...". Forget the Alan Arkin 'Inspector Closseau' movie and the films that postdate Peter Seller's death; they are all terrible and not worth your time. The first two, the original 'The Pink Panther' and 'A Shot in the Dark' are very entertaining, incredible comic masterpieces - well worth inclusion in anyone's DVD collection. Not coincidentally, these two were made within a year of each other when both Sellers and producer/ director Blake Edwards were at the their top form. Unfortunately, when the pair reunited a decade later for the first of three sequels, something was lost. While the final three films were financially more successful than the earliest two, each sequel in succession (starting with 'Return of ... ') increasingly diminshed in quality in every way - in the writing, direction, acting, plot, and comic charm.
While '... Strikes Again' does have its moments, it is hardly an excellent film, let alone one of the better 'Panther' or Sellers movies ... Much of the comedy just does not work, especially most of the (former) Chief Inspector Dreyfus' Bond-like mad villian plot, and the Gerald Ford scenes which may have been topical at the time (and was probably a SNL/ Chevy Chase rip-off), but certainly do not pass the test of time. I blame much of the failure of this film on the sub-par writing and direction.
As mentioned in several other reviews, this film was inspired by the James Bond series and in turn proved inspiration for the Austin Powers series (and I do not intend that to be a compliment). It's unfortunate that Mike Myers was not inspired more by the Seller's and Edwards' better work in the earlier films. I would suggest that you rent 'The Pink Panther Strikes Again' before purchasing it. I recognize that one's taste in films is subjective, and if you thought the Austin Powers movies were hilarious, you'll love this one as well. (By the way, 'Revenge of the Pink Panther' - the last sequel - is worse than '... Strikes Again'.)
The picture quality of the DVD was extremely disappointing. While MGM's 'The Pink Panther' and 'A Shot in the Dark' appear to be remastered/ restored versions, '... Strikes Again' appears to be merely transferred from a VHS edition of the film, and not a very good one at that. Also as other reviewers have pointed out, this DVD version probably is not the complete film but an edited version (perhaps for televison or a revised theatrical release). This is surprising because MGM is marketing their four Panther/ Clousseau DVD's as a series. You would think that more care and consistency would be made for each one. Perhaps someone decided that this entry in the series just was not worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but something is wrong, Aug. 5 2003
By 
Dave Capo "nighthawk86" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
In this fourth Pink Panther film, Inspector Clouseau is running for his life because his ex-boss Dreyfuss, driven mad by Clouseau's incompetence, is threatening to destroy earth with a death ray unless Clouseau is terminated.
When I first saw this film, I thought it was pretty good. Clouseau pulls off some hilarious, over-the-top gags and Dreyfuss is fun to watch in his unhealthy mental state. However, I look on this movie now and see a few things wrong. One is that the movie is bizzare at times. I mean, Dreyfuss in a castle wielding some out-of-this-world death machine? And a hunchback costume? A bit too outlandish, don't you think? Also, the humor is not as charming in this movie as it is in previous Pink Panther films. Everything Clouseau does seems to be crash-and-bang. It can be funny, but the delightful, little zip he displayed before is missing here (see A Shot in the Dark and you'll see what I mean).
As for the DVD, it isn't that good. I can see them not including a making-of-documentary since the films star (Peter Sellers) is dead, but they could have included more than just a theatrical trailer and an 8-page booklet.
Overall, The Pink Panther Strikes Again could have been a better film. It's big, busy and noisy, but not as charming as its predecessors. Still, if you like a good slapstick comedy, check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, average DVD, July 30 2003
By A Customer
I've always been a fan of the Pink Panther films and I got this one on DVD recently. The film was as funny as ever but sadly this DVD is not as good as it could be. I choose to watch the widescreen version in stead of the pan'n scan version (I don't know what idiot had the idea of pan'n scan anyway) but it surprised me that the widescreen image is cropped and measures more like 2.20:1 but not 2.35:1 (?), but inexplicably the main titles are in 2.35:1. I kept noticing those irritating editing splices that distract from the picture, and the picture is not even anamorphic and looks rather soft. It could have been much worse, but the folks at MGM have just chosen a wrong print of the film and given it a wrong treatment. Now the sound isn't all that bad, but I was shocked to see, at that editing mess in the chapter "Painful interrogation" (the funniest chapter), the sound goes out of synchronization (!?). It could just be my copy of the DVD but still it's awful. I had to look at those lips moving with the sound coming a bit afterwards. The extras are also pretty weak. The pan'n scan version looks much better than the widescreen image, which is a shame. Great fun, a four-star movie with a 2 star DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of an excellent breed, June 1 2003
By 
Sam W. Pemberton (Darien, CT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Pink Panther series is one that is well worth collecting for those gems that you just can't help watching time and again. This movie features classic scenes such as the parallel bars stunt "Nothing like a good warm up, when you're on the case you know", the superb priceless Steinway interrogation and lines such as "Does your dog bite?...".
A little predictable? Yes.
Laugh-out-loud funny? Yes.
Worth adding to your collection? Definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film in the Pink Panther Series, Feb. 28 2003
By 
Truth Seeker (Minnesota, UsA) - See all my reviews
I agree with a few of the other reviewers -- this is the best of the series in terms of comedic moments. From the opening scene the laughs never stop. If you only watch one Clouseau movie, this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pink Panth.Str.Again
Pink Panth.Str.Again by Blake Edwards (VHS Tape - 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 8.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews