Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars HE'S ONE TOUGH S.O.B.
What guy hasn't gone into a nightclub or bar with his buddies at some point and thought to himself that bouncer's not so tuff. In this high octane action B flick, Patrick Swayze (Dalton) shows us size really doesn't matter and he's definitely not afraid to mix it up. This film appeals to the tough guy in all of us and as far as action goes, it delivers the goods. Patrick...
Published on July 21 2004 by The Critic

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What can I say that hasn't already been said?
While this may be among the worst of the mid-80s-to-mid-90s action flicks produced by Joel Silver (the Lethal Weapon movies, Die Hard), I find it one of the more entertaining entries in the guy's canon of shoot-'em-ups. Now I'd go over some of the ridiculous moments, corny dialogue, horrid one-liners that try to pass themselves off as "witty", over-the-top antics, and...
Published on Jan. 12 2004 by Zagnorch


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars HE'S ONE TOUGH S.O.B., July 21 2004
By 
The Critic "Movie Maniac" (Windsor, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
What guy hasn't gone into a nightclub or bar with his buddies at some point and thought to himself that bouncer's not so tuff. In this high octane action B flick, Patrick Swayze (Dalton) shows us size really doesn't matter and he's definitely not afraid to mix it up. This film appeals to the tough guy in all of us and as far as action goes, it delivers the goods. Patrick Swayze does a good job as Dalton, but even better is the performance by the much underrated Sam Elliot as Dalton's amigo (Wade). Together Dalton and Wade kick butt and show that their bond is unbreakable. Not surprising, Ben Gazzara's character makes you want to reach through the TV screen and pound him to a pulp. There is a spectacular fight scene between; wait I don't want to spoil it for anyone. There is also some really good music in this movie from Jeff Healey. Overall this movie is non-stop action and good entertainment for fight film fans. The DVD has a good picture and stereo sound but really nothing more than that. I give the movie itself 5 stars, but some kind of cast interviews or commentary would have been nice.

DVD Features:
Original theatrical trailer
English: Stereo surround
French: Stereo surround
Spanish: Mono
English, French, Spanish & Portuguese language subtitles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A film that delivers just what it promises -- that's rare!, Feb. 29 2004
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
Mike Nelson, one of the brains behind the television comedy ´¿Mystery Science Theater 3000´¿ wrote in his hysterical book ´¿Mike Nelson´¿s Movie Megacheese´¿ that ´¿ ROAD HOUSE is the single finest American film. Certainly it stinks, but I believe the filmmakers meant it to, and succeeded grandly.´¿
It´¿s hard to argue with this logic once you´¿ve seen ´¿Road House.´¿ It´¿s trash. It´¿s sleazy. It´¿s often ludicrously stupid. The characters may talk philosophical bilge, but when it comes down to it they solve everything with their fists and shotguns. But that´¿s what the filmmakers wanted, and that´¿s what they deliver. (What do you expect from a director named ´¿Rowdy´¿?) Looking for a good time along those lines? Just want some butt-kickin´¿, naked girls, barroom brawls, monster trucks, things going BOOM, Patrick Swayze mouthing silly lines and wrestling mean sweaty ugly guys while near naked, yet still getting up for his tai-chi in the morning? Well, ´¿Road House´¿ has got all that and more, and you´¿re going to have a good time. There´¿s trashy purity about this film that´¿s rather refreshing.
The plot? Yeah, it´¿s got one ´¿ just enough of one. Patrick Swayze (in what is really the defining role of his career) plays Dalton, a famous bouncer with a degree in philosophy, an attitude like a motivational speaker, kick-boxing moves, and who practices tai-chi. Dalton is one of the damned silliest characters in action film history, but you gotta love his outrageousness. Dalton comes to the town of Jasper outside of Kansas City to help clean up the Double Deuce bar, possibly the meanest bar in cinema history outside of a Western. Dalton whips the place into shape, romances local doctor Kelly Lynch, but then has to face the evil town boss, Brad Wesley (Ben Gazzara!), who won´¿t release his financial grip of fear he has on the town. (I believe this was the plot of every A-Team episode, wasn´¿t it?). Every few minutes, people pound each other with their fists, the band plays a loud blues tune, somebody takes off their clothes, and then they knock back some ´¿suds. Oh, and Sam Elliott´¿s in the film too!
The action scenes are pretty darned wacky, along the lines of ´¿gee, imagine if he had hit him!´¿ and plenty of strange martial arts moves, but they´¿re loads of fun. Get a group together with the right mindset, and this is once great party flick.
The DVD has no extras except for a trailer. Imagine what this would have been like with some audio commentary from director Rowdy? I would love to hear his philosophical approach to this film. I´¿m sure he didn´¿t have one, but wouldn´¿t it have added to enjoyment of what Mike Nelson calls ´¿the finest American film´¿ to hear him just make one up?
At this point, I´¿m sure you know if ´¿Road House´¿ is a flick for you. And if you know, go for it. It doesn´¿t let you down. If it delivers the goods it promises, it gets four stars in my book. Even if it really isn´¿t that good. But I think that´¿s the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What can I say that hasn't already been said?, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Zagnorch (Terra, Sol System) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
While this may be among the worst of the mid-80s-to-mid-90s action flicks produced by Joel Silver (the Lethal Weapon movies, Die Hard), I find it one of the more entertaining entries in the guy's canon of shoot-'em-ups. Now I'd go over some of the ridiculous moments, corny dialogue, horrid one-liners that try to pass themselves off as "witty", over-the-top antics, and Patrick Swayze's pathetic attempts to emote. But since these points have been done to death in most of the previous customer reviews-- and because I'm a lazy reviewer-- I suggest you give them a read to get the gist of how monumentally hokey this mo-pic is. All I'm gonna add is when a blind musician (Jeff Healey) does a better job acting than most of the other cast members, you know you're takin' the fast track down to Cinematic CheddarVille...
But not only do I watch cheesy flicks for kicks and a laugh, I also search for flubs, continuity errors, and other weirdness. Like for instance the final part of Dalton's (Patrick Swayze) little Tai Chi workout, where you can see the shadow of the camera tracking across his back at the bottom of the screen. Then there's the part where a guy's nose is bleeding a split-second BEFORE Dalton punches him in the face. This particular moment happens pretty quickly BTW, so ya better be payin' attention. Finally, there's the weirdest moment: the closing credits sequence, featuring Jeff Healey and his band playing a number at the Double Deuce bar. Now that isn't all that weird in itself... what IS weird is that Healey's wearing an analog wristwatch!
'Late
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad action has rarely been so good, Dec 28 2003
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
Forget "Dirty Dancing": Patrick Swayze's career peaked in this and the similarly underrated "Point Break." It doesn't quite reach the stratospheric heights (or is it depths?) of Arnold Schwarzenegger's deservedly legendary "Commando," but "Road House" is still the stuff of which B-movie legend is made. Starring Swayze as the head bouncer at a rowdy Southern bar called the Double Deuce, "Road House" derives its appeal largely from the ingenious idea of having a bunch of rednecks for villains. You get to see Swayze's Dalton, perhaps the only Mercedes-driving, philosophy-majoring bouncer in history, take on a seemingly endless succession of slack-jawed inbred troglodytes as he tames the Double Deuce and ensures victory for truth, justice, and the American way.
The Double Deuce is one of the those bars where it seems half the patrons are on parole, but that doesn't stop them from throwing fists at the proverbial drop of a hat. I've always believed that bar fights held vast, untapped potential for the action genre, and this movie more than delivers the goods in that department. There are about five solid bar brawls in "Road House," with glass flying around, Dalton employing his martial-arts expertise against dimwitted thugs in tight jeans, and blind guitar whiz Jeff Healey providing some rock-solid background music. Suffice to say, if you're looking for a fair and dignified look at life in the South, you won't find it here. A trip to the Double Deuce promises to be as nasty and brutish as Hobbes's state of nature, and a lot more fun to watch.
And even for those who can think of nothing that beats Patrick Swayze as an action hero, it gets better: they got Sam Elliott, one of America's most underrated actors ever, to play Dalton's long-haired, hard-living friend Wade! With an unkempt white mane and that unmistakable Southern drawl, Wade dispenses plenty of rapier wit along with some ...-whippings before outliving his usefulness. You also get to see Ben Gazzara, slumming it as the snake-like villain Brad Wesley, somehow manage to maintain a semblance of dignity in a movie that seems committed to insulting your intelligence every chance it gets. And as Dalton's love interest, Kelly Lynch adds little in the way of plot advancement or dialogue, but she does provide some nice scenery... buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE CITIZEN KANE OF DOWN-SOUTH, PHILOSOPHER BOUNCER Films!!!, Dec 10 2003
By 
K.B. (Princeton, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
What on the surface seems like a basic 80's action film is actually hiding a film that will eventually come to be recognized as THE CITIZEN KANE OF DOWN-SOUTH, PHILOSOPHER BAR BOUNCER MARTIAL ARTS FILMS !
Every line of dialogue is a stroke of genius ("Pain doesn't hurt.."), every costume a master work (I was stunned that it didn't win an oscar just for the Pizza Hut (TM) table cloth dress that Kelly Lynch wore!) and the music probably made John Williams weep that he did not do this film.
No one, but no one could have played the Shakespearian character of Dalton but Patrick Swayze. No one.
Although watching it on DVD does not give you the necessary breaks to catch your breath from the intensity of the film like watching it on TBS does you can always pause it and breath into a paper bag for a few minutes and then go back to it.
Dismissed by many, the true fans can see beneath the surface of this film that was obviously hidden in the wrapper of an action film so that enlightenment could be passed onto the masses.
I have molded my life around Dalton's philosophies and have lived by the simple but truly wise wisdom of:
"I want you to be nice until it's time to not be nice."
Wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is so bad it has to be good, Aug. 11 2003
By 
Roy Levins (san antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie is one of those films that has a dumb plot and a worthless meaning usually I can't stand those kind of movies but Roadhouse is exceptional. The film keeps you at interest to what is going on. I like the person Swayze portrays in this film he is a philosophical bouncer who has one of the best names in a film I have ever heard of DALTON! I like the whole philosophy major turned Bouncer it is a nice idea in a film. As far as the other actors go well there is Kelly Lynch who is pure eye candy for the film and will keep any guy interested. Sam Elliot just makes you laugh his character is so dumb and rediculous but very funny. I see alot of people that have been in little films here and there in this film but really the stand out actor here is the star Patrick Swayze. It sure is not one of the greatest pieces of cinema ever created but the film is what it is it is supposed to be a action thriller but many people like myself observe this more of as a Comedy. This is a really good movie for those like myself who just enjoy funny light entertainment with a touch of sleeze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A movie so AWFUL it's GREAT!!!!!, April 20 2003
By 
C. Garcia "ackoocheemoya" (Henderson, NV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
Road House is one of the worst movies ever made--it's poorly acted, badly written and sloppily directed. But that's why it's so much fun!
Patrick Swayze plays a bouncer named Dalton who has a degree in philosophy, carries his medical history with him and is known as the best bouncer in the country. The owner of a hick bar approaches him to help him clean up his establishment since he's come into a large sum of money and wants to improve it.
Dalton's efforts lead to some of the most unintentionally funny lines ever used in movies. A bouncer having sex with a female patron in a closet tells her "Yeah, you're gonna be my regular Saturday night thing!" just before Dalton walks in on them and fires the bouncer. In another scene, a bouncer Dalton fires shoots back with "You **expletive**! What am I supposed to do?" Dalton answers "There's always barber school."
Co-starring are Ben Gazzara as a sadistic rich guy who owns nearly the entire town (a role he hams up with glee), Kelly Lynch as a doctor and Dalton's love interest (though she's really just there as eye candy) and Sam Elliott as Dalton's friend and mentor who comes to help out when Dalton realizes he's not going to pull the job off alone.
The movie is predictable and formulaic, but for fifteen bucks, it's good dumb fun. For a good double bill of movie trash, watch this with Anaconda!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars roadhouse is a winner, March 15 2003
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is one of the best action films ever made, with plenty of martial arts thrown in. This is in my opinion Patrick Swayze's best role. He plays a bouncer named Dalton who is hired by a roadhouse owner to come and fix up the place, get rid of the bad elements namely the riff-raff that occupy his establishment. Dalton succeeds in doing that and decent people come and party at the roadhouse but there is a problem left. Namely Brad Wesley.
Wesley is buying up the town and forces the townspeople to contribute to his Jasper Improvement Plan. Wesley tries to get Dalton to work for him, but Dalton is insulted over something Wesley says and tells him there is no amount of money that would make him work for Wesley. Now it's Wesley's turn to get insulted.
Wesley has a man working for him that is a martial arts expert and the fight scene between Dalton and this man is one of the most exciting of the century,especially if you're a martial arts lover like me.
Dalton has a friend played by Sam Elliot, another bouncer and when he is killed by Wesley's goons, this motivates Dalton to go after Wesley.But Dalton doesn't kill him. It's a couple of the townspeople who have had enough of Wesley that do. Their shotguns do the trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Citizen Kane of Trash Cinema, Feb. 2 2003
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
As guilty pleasures go, Road House is one of my guiltiest. Granted, it helps if you're A) male and B) drinking heavily, but I never could resist watching it when it popped up on TBS or TNT, even in a heavily-edited, pan-and-scan format. (I'm not alone, either--along with The Shawshank Redemption, Road House delivers a regular spike to the Turner stations' ratings whenever it airs; how's THAT for disparity?) This movie works on exactly the level it's intended to work, as a mindless display of gratuitous sex and slightly less gratuitous violence, and I mean that in a good way. And if you're not the sort of person who watches so-bad-it's-good films, you can take in Sam Elliott's pitch-perfect performance as Patrick Swayze's mentor. Even his worst lines sound brilliant when he delivers them in his been-everywhere-done-everything drawl. This film was produced by Joel Silver, the Jerry Bruckheimer of the late 80's, and his influence can be felt in every frame. If you're of drinking age and up for 2 hours of no-brainer action, this is the DVD to watch. I guarantee you, you'll never see a better film directed by a man named Rowdy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten things you should know about ROAD HOUSE:, Oct. 16 2002
By 
Brad Brasher "BadBrad" (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
1. It has the best fight scene by Americans, directed by Americans, in an American movie up until the Matrix (I'm forgiving the Wacowski's for their excellent choreographer, Yuen Woo Ping.)
2. An ex-BOUNCER, Rowdy Herrington, directed this movie. That is why it is so serious, so get over it all you pretentious movie snobs.
3. Yes, next to Die-Hard, this movie was the 2nd most cigarette industry plugged film ever made. But hey, it was set in a bar.
4. Kelly Lynch really is that smart, and powerful to boot. Anyone thinking that her image contributes to teen bulimia/anorexia needs to check their agenda at the door.
5. Music, good music, and people tied to good music. Red-West of the Memphis Mafia, John Doe (Pat) former lead man of the punk band X, and of course the Jeff Healey Band (where are they now?)
6. A Jumping, Spinning, Exploding, and upright landing Mercedes. Two Guns UP!!!
7. The denouement of the final action scene where two bad guys are down and you don't get to see Swayze do it. Then you get a two for one, by knife. Rambo,get a hair-dresser.
8. Marshall Teague (I know this is mentioned elsewhere.) Rarely has a bad guy actually looked better that the lead.
9. Sam Elliot singing along to George Strait. Texans everywhere are grateful.
10. And finally, the IT'S JUST A JOB speech. As much as a degree in philosophy seems so incongruous in an action setting, I worked a maximum security prison for a good long time, all the while in possession of a BFA, and let me tell you, others so degreed worked right along side me. We knew first hand that you had to out-psyche your opponent, and this element in ex-dancer Swayze's character was fitting and welcome.
11. And in the tradition of Spinal Tap, it's just a flick, so lay off the cheese remarks, you art farts.
I can have my Bergman and my Swayze too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Road House
Road House by Rowdy Herrington (VHS Tape - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews