Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great!
arrived in good time and worked well, no problems. a great movie and worth the money for sure, glad i bought it.
Published 3 months ago by westcoast21

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What can I say that hasn't already been said?
While this may be among the worst of the mid-80s-to-mid-90s action flicks produced by Joel Silver (the Lethal Weapon movies, Die Hard), I find it one of the more entertaining entries in the guy's canon of shoot-'em-ups. Now I'd go over some of the ridiculous moments, corny dialogue, horrid one-liners that try to pass themselves off as "witty", over-the-top antics, and...
Published on Jan. 12 2004 by Zagnorch


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great!, Dec 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
arrived in good time and worked well, no problems. a great movie and worth the money for sure, glad i bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, April 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
I got it within 2 weeks. Like the product. I recomand this to everybody. I will order again for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!!, Feb. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pain don't hurt!!! Neither does this movie. I've seen this many times on my old VHS and now decided to add it to my blu-ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roadhouse, Jan. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wanted it for my collection of Patrick Swayze movies that I enjoy that I tried to record from MPIX on Bell TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars roadhouse, June 24 2009
By 
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie although panned by the critics, has become a cult favourite. This is a revenge action movie. This movie is worth multiple watchings. What can go wrong with Patrick Swayze, Ben Gazarr and Sam Elliot in the cast, especially with Jeff Healey playing the music.? There is no hidden meaning in the movie and you don't need a critic to tell you what's wrong with the movie. Also at the end you know the movie is over and what happened.
patrick Swayze plays a tough cooler in an upscale bar. The owner of a tumble down bar, hires Swayze to help enhance his clientele and image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Road House, June 5 2010
By 
Cliff R. Hand (Labrador city, NL. CDN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of those movies that you can enjoy time and time again. Great tunes by Jeff Healy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HE'S ONE TOUGH S.O.B., July 21 2004
By 
The Critic "Movie Maniac" (Windsor, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
What guy hasn't gone into a nightclub or bar with his buddies at some point and thought to himself that bouncer's not so tuff. In this high octane action B flick, Patrick Swayze (Dalton) shows us size really doesn't matter and he's definitely not afraid to mix it up. This film appeals to the tough guy in all of us and as far as action goes, it delivers the goods. Patrick Swayze does a good job as Dalton, but even better is the performance by the much underrated Sam Elliot as Dalton's amigo (Wade). Together Dalton and Wade kick butt and show that their bond is unbreakable. Not surprising, Ben Gazzara's character makes you want to reach through the TV screen and pound him to a pulp. There is a spectacular fight scene between; wait I don't want to spoil it for anyone. There is also some really good music in this movie from Jeff Healey. Overall this movie is non-stop action and good entertainment for fight film fans. The DVD has a good picture and stereo sound but really nothing more than that. I give the movie itself 5 stars, but some kind of cast interviews or commentary would have been nice.

DVD Features:
Original theatrical trailer
English: Stereo surround
French: Stereo surround
Spanish: Mono
English, French, Spanish & Portuguese language subtitles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars response to "what hasnt been said before", March 28 2004
By 
David A. Topping "Gambler" (Montego Bay Jamaica) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
like everyone says its a guy flick that does not disappoint. however like the other reviewer i also notice little mistakes and the biggest one in this movie is when Dalton is "asked" to attend a meeting with Brad over breakfast......when dalton walks in there is pool table with NO pockets! jeez you'd think the set guys coulda borrowed a real pool table for the shot?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A film that delivers just what it promises -- that's rare!, Feb. 29 2004
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
Mike Nelson, one of the brains behind the television comedy ´¿Mystery Science Theater 3000´¿ wrote in his hysterical book ´¿Mike Nelson´¿s Movie Megacheese´¿ that ´¿ ROAD HOUSE is the single finest American film. Certainly it stinks, but I believe the filmmakers meant it to, and succeeded grandly.´¿
It´¿s hard to argue with this logic once you´¿ve seen ´¿Road House.´¿ It´¿s trash. It´¿s sleazy. It´¿s often ludicrously stupid. The characters may talk philosophical bilge, but when it comes down to it they solve everything with their fists and shotguns. But that´¿s what the filmmakers wanted, and that´¿s what they deliver. (What do you expect from a director named ´¿Rowdy´¿?) Looking for a good time along those lines? Just want some butt-kickin´¿, naked girls, barroom brawls, monster trucks, things going BOOM, Patrick Swayze mouthing silly lines and wrestling mean sweaty ugly guys while near naked, yet still getting up for his tai-chi in the morning? Well, ´¿Road House´¿ has got all that and more, and you´¿re going to have a good time. There´¿s trashy purity about this film that´¿s rather refreshing.
The plot? Yeah, it´¿s got one ´¿ just enough of one. Patrick Swayze (in what is really the defining role of his career) plays Dalton, a famous bouncer with a degree in philosophy, an attitude like a motivational speaker, kick-boxing moves, and who practices tai-chi. Dalton is one of the damned silliest characters in action film history, but you gotta love his outrageousness. Dalton comes to the town of Jasper outside of Kansas City to help clean up the Double Deuce bar, possibly the meanest bar in cinema history outside of a Western. Dalton whips the place into shape, romances local doctor Kelly Lynch, but then has to face the evil town boss, Brad Wesley (Ben Gazzara!), who won´¿t release his financial grip of fear he has on the town. (I believe this was the plot of every A-Team episode, wasn´¿t it?). Every few minutes, people pound each other with their fists, the band plays a loud blues tune, somebody takes off their clothes, and then they knock back some ´¿suds. Oh, and Sam Elliott´¿s in the film too!
The action scenes are pretty darned wacky, along the lines of ´¿gee, imagine if he had hit him!´¿ and plenty of strange martial arts moves, but they´¿re loads of fun. Get a group together with the right mindset, and this is once great party flick.
The DVD has no extras except for a trailer. Imagine what this would have been like with some audio commentary from director Rowdy? I would love to hear his philosophical approach to this film. I´¿m sure he didn´¿t have one, but wouldn´¿t it have added to enjoyment of what Mike Nelson calls ´¿the finest American film´¿ to hear him just make one up?
At this point, I´¿m sure you know if ´¿Road House´¿ is a flick for you. And if you know, go for it. It doesn´¿t let you down. If it delivers the goods it promises, it gets four stars in my book. Even if it really isn´¿t that good. But I think that´¿s the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That's right. FIVE stars., Feb. 15 2004
This review is from: Road House (Widescreen) (DVD)
Road House is the sort of movie that critics reflexively dismiss as being a cheesy, corny, poorly written, moronic action movie, but I see it differently. It is kind of cheesy, with Dalton being a famous traveling bouncer with only one name, but it shines in every other area. The dialogue is good enough, the story is involving, Patrick Swayze and Sam Elliot are truly great actors, there's a nice amount of gratuitous female nudity, and the fight scenes are some of the best I've ever seen. This is the ultimate guy movie. And as far as Joel Silver's work goes, I think Road House is better than the Matrix sequels. I've seen it at least 10 times and it hasn't gotten old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbcfe9590)

This product

Road House
Road House by Rowdy Herrington (VHS Tape - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 10.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews