Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Velvet
Devious, scary, creepy, suspensfull. Keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the film. yet again, a wonderful cult classic.
Published 13 months ago by Steve S. Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BIZARRE & OFTEN SHOCKING, BUT A DARING EXPOSE..
I adore the way in which Lynch leads you into his own microcosm, each screen is more intriguing than the previous and you become involved with the characters. Blue Velvet is no exception: a simple town boy is intrigued by a woman, and following his curiosity gets drawn into her web, only to inadvertently uncover dark mysteries. We take this genuinely and often weirdly...
Published on Dec 7 2003 by Shashank Tripathi


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Velvet, March 2 2013
By 
Steve S. Morris (North Vancouver BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Velvet (DVD)
Devious, scary, creepy, suspensfull. Keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the film. yet again, a wonderful cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blue Velvet, Feb. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A good movie. A must see at least once. Dennis Hopper plays a very different and interesting role which is pretty cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frank's Fantastic Folly, Jan. 14 2012
By 
Brian Cymbaluk (Calgary, Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How do you sum up BLUE VELVET???

Hard to say... but it's safe to say that you need to prepare to be shocked and then shocked and then shocked once again!!!

Dennis Hopper's FRANK is the epitome of FREDDIE KRUGER meets DENIRO... Just that wry, twisted, sardonically sadistic personality that could scare the bejesus out of you in a dark alley...
or in a church pew when he sits down next to you in the middle of the Sunday morning sermon!!! This guy is scary... and he will make your skin crawl as his antics keep you on the edge of your seat till the very last moment...

If you want to be kept awake... even when you are exhaustively fatigued... this is the movie you've been looking for...

Sit back... take something to help you relax... and prepare to be taken to the twisted dark underbelly of the sadistic...

This movie will shock you... and oh what fun getting electrocuted in this fashion is!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkness and Beauty, Jan. 22 2008
By 
This is a very beautiful film; it captures so much about life itself. There is certainly a dark side explored here, and you cannot look away once you start watching it. David Lynch has created a piece of artwork here only he could master. The more often I watch this, the more I appreciate it. Dennis Hopper is amazing here; if you are open to more than the mundane in film, you must see this film.

Unfortunately, it is not available from Amazon.ca; get it at Amazon.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Newly discovered footage..., Dec 10 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
David Lynch's "Blue Velvet" (1986) is a surreal tale that takes place in a small lumber town which has the big city problems of murders, and gangs. Jeffrey (Kyle MacLachlan) discovers the dark side of the town as he investigates the mystery behind a human ear he finds in a field.

This blu-ray appears to be the same master as the Special Edition dvd that came out in 2002, but now seen in 1080p. Though what this blu-ray has over past releases is 50 minutes of newly discovered footage, whereas the 2002 dvd Special Edition only had about 9 minutes of still photographs that approximated the lost footage. Lynch had shot about four hours of film, which he then trimmed down to two hours for the final cut of the film. Two other things the blu-ray has over the Special Edition dvd are a few outtakes, and four vignettes, including the story behind the robin at the end of the film, which isn't what I thought it was. As in the 2002 Special Edition dvd set there is the review by Siskel and Ebert, and a documentary which is over one hour long called "Mysteries of Love".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hey neighbor, July 18 2004
I've had a weird experience with this movie. The first time I saw it, I couldn't help being disappointed having already seen some of Lynch's other films. While Dennis Hopper's performance was impressive and many of his quotes from Blue Velvet stuck in my memory, somehow things just didn't click and I more or less thought of 'Blue Velvet' as a somewhat interesting, but ultimately forgettable experience. The seemingly good vs. evil theme of the film (the robins and Sandy's dream) in particular annoyed me and the whole thing added a definite 'cheese' factor.
One night I decided to give Blue Velvet another chance and surprisingly the experience was a much richer one; in fact, I would now say that this is an excellent movie.
[Incidentally, Lynch's Lost Highway had a somewhat similar, but completely opposite effect - I went from thinking that it was a great flick to thinking it was an alright one].
I would say that it is wrong to say that this film is about 'good vs. evil' or that Lynch is trying to make any sort of a moral statement in it; the nuances of Blue Velvet are much more subtle than that and the characters more complicated. As most of Lynch's work, Blue Velvet is about obsession and obsession luring people into dark corners of the world. The film pulls the viewer (as a voyeur) into its dangerous and strange universe and relies much (as a lot of other Lynch movies) on the pure flow of images, the atmospheric experience. The sound element adds much to enriching this powerful experience and Blue Velvet as a whole invites multiple viewings.
In my opinion this is one of Lynch's fairly straight forward films in terms of the linear-time progression (along with The Elephant Man and The Straight Story) and as such might serve as a good introductory movie to those who want to become more familiar with his work. (Mulholland Drive is, I believe, so far the consummation of Lynch's previous efforts into one crowning achievement).
Also, there are many interesting bonus materials in this little DVD package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woo Hoo!, May 1 2004
By 
I just thought that I would take the time to boast that us English folk who tend to never get anything right when it comes to packaging and what not, have recently had a special edition of Blue Velvet released, and hard as this is to believe, It's better than yours. Not only is it two discs, but the really cool outer design is made out of Velvet. HOW COOL IS THAT!
Anyway, just thought some of you might be interested to know that.
"You're so F*****G suave"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie gets a love letter from me, March 24 2004
By 
Rocco Dormarunno (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Velvet (VHS Tape)
BLUE VELVET, at its core, states a simple case: all things that appear good are only good in appearance; all things evil are evil through and through. You start with the over-Kodachromed shots of Anytown, USA, with its wildflowers, fire engines, and spotless sidewalks. You conclude with a chirping robin which is a puppet, and David Lynch makes no attempt to make it seem like it's anything but a puppet. In between these elements is evil: a severed ear, shootings, bloodied and battered people, and Frank Booth. This dark world seems much more real than the sunlit Anytown, and this is David Lynch's starting point.
BLUE VELVET is going to be unwatchable for many people: it's violent, it's graphic, it's "weird", etc. But if you get beyond some of the stylization, you will find this film to be a powerful indictment of American society gone mad. And as far as movie-making goes, this movie is a magnet for the eyes. This is a visual dans-macabre: stark settings and brash lighting amid the darkness; the contrasting colors; the sweeping camera movements just keep your eyes glued to the screen. Combine this with the brilliant performances of Kyle MacLachlan, Isabella Rossellini, and, of course, Dennis Hopper, and you'll find out why this film endures, even as it nears its third decade.
If you don't get this film, you will get a love letter from me. And you don't want a love letter from me. Do you know what a love letter from me is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There's just something - off, March 21 2004
By 
This review is from: Blue Velvet (DVD)
In many respects - well, almost every respect - this is a brilliant film. The contrast between the violence and seaminess of Frank's world and the laughable banality of Jeffery's world comes across perfectly. Dennis Hopper's performance as Frank really cannot be praised enough. Sure, he's impressive when he's huffing nitrous oxide and hitting Jeffrey across the face, but his expression while listening to the old lounge songs - melancholy, regretful - is equally convincing, and he's almost sympathetic. Also classic is the moment when another character proposes to toast his health, and he mutters: 'Aw, let's drink to something else.' Jeffrey's Reeve-like blankness is a good foil for him.
That said, there's just something - something about the random imagery inserted, like subliminal shots but held for longer, images of a snuffed candle and insects - something about the pacing, the long silences and occasional anticlimax - and something about the surprising semi-happy ending - that doesn't work. I feel like I'm missing something, and maybe I just am, but I don't feel like Lynch accomplished everything he set out to do. Just when it could be frightening, it lapses into comedy. This vagueness may be part of the message - life isn't black-and-white, or clean - but still. The movie is effective, but it doesn't resonate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Disturbing Film., March 17 2004
I just recently saw this film but there have been years where people have talked about it, referenced it in conversation but I haven't seen until recently and I can say that it's a film that's had me focusing on Lynch's style of directing. This is the second Lynch film that I've seen. I saw DUNE which he wouldn't even lend his name too. In comparing both films, I would say that both seem to have a dark taint to them. Well this film had an overthetop performance by Dennis Hopper as Frank Booth, the film actually became more interesting with his performance. The surreal scene at the bordello was the highlight of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9732b84)

This product

Blue Velvet
Blue Velvet by David Lynch (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 13.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews