Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "They do nothing but give awards"
__________________
Annie Hall is one of the best films of the 1970s, in some ways it defined them. Woody outdid himself, and yet it really was just the first of his "real" movies. Without this one, well, never mind, I can't bear to contemplate that. This is often rated as one of the best American movies ever made. I'd like to warn you that it has no chase scenes or...
Published on June 23 2001 by Holy Olio

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movies - come on MGM! Utilize the DVD format!
I could go through my blow by blow account of each of these wonderful movies but I won't. If you're not a huge fan of Woody you won't buy this set it's that simple. If you love Annine Hall and Bananas but don't recognize some of the less popular titles, I'd recommend a trip to the video store before [buying] on the set. Stardust Memories seems to be his inspired...
Published on June 21 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "They do nothing but give awards", June 23 2001
By 
Holy Olio "holy_olio" (Grand Rapids, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
__________________
Annie Hall is one of the best films of the 1970s, in some ways it defined them. Woody outdid himself, and yet it really was just the first of his "real" movies. Without this one, well, never mind, I can't bear to contemplate that. This is often rated as one of the best American movies ever made. I'd like to warn you that it has no chase scenes or shootouts, no hostages get taken, no wrongly-convicted criminals try to break out of jail, and no one says "excellent" or high-fives. It's just a good film. If you don't have an ounce of heart or have a poor ability to remember premarital affairs, you may not like it. Otherwise you will.
Manhattan - Not only one of Woody Allen's best movies, one of the best movies, period. While Annie Hall is a great movie, the development of Allen's talent between AH and Manhattan is startling. The chemistry of the cast is a factor in its success. The humor is smoothly integrated into the dialogue and not distracting. The scenes are well acted, shot, and edited. It's a love story in which the only mature participant is a 17 year old.
Interiors - Not much music in the soundtrack, which contributes to the somber feel of this film. Despite some of the critical rejection of it, and despite the Bergman influence, this is one of his finest. I remember seeing this reviewed by Gene Shalit who was nearly speechless (not much of a change, since he was doing those 30 second reviews for Today back then) and in awe. The performances were natural and believable, and the cast were well chosen. This film may appear derivative, but I found it to be innovative and original, and couldn't take my eyes off it, despite the deliberate drabness.
Stardust Memories is one of Woody's most underrated films, stronger than any of his "early, funny ones" and is very cohesive, particularly with repeated viewings. The gags have more impact because most of the movie is stress and strain. There's a jail scene (a common element in Woody's films - off the top of my head, there are at least four other movies with some form of confinement), three different breakups, and its flashbacks anticipates the recent "Deconstructing Harry". Stardust Memories was in part a kiss-off to critics of "Interiors". It's shot in black and white, has a great cast and performances, has unexplained props (like a cervical collar), Laraine Newman (first cast of SNL), Brent Spiner (Commander Data in ST:TNG), and the most graceful integration of Woody's childhood memories. This is a movie best experienced more than once -- another thing it has in common with "Deconstructing Harry".
Love and Death is one that I've only seen once, and it didn't make much of an impact on me. A friend of mine considers this the best of Woody's funny movies, and he's the one who loaned it to me. I found it a little too gag-filled, although I must admit that I fell asleep a few times.
Sleeper is a more sophisticated version of Bananas. Although it also gets preachy, it looks better on the screen, has better gags, and superficially is a great send-up of science fiction of all kinds. I love the bit about health food.
Bananas is poorly shot, preachy, and not too funny, which is odd because it's one of the "early, funny ones". I know people who mistakenly think of this as his finest work. [...]
Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex but Were Afraid to Ask is one of his classic funny ones, but having seen it I don't see anything much to recommend it. The gags look like things he based on his stage act that may have been daring during the Bitter End years. [...]
Now that we know what is in the second Woody box, the main question to ask is "why?" This first box set is a far better deal, and the selections in the second box mostly mystify fans, buffs, and critics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every one a gem, May 29 2001
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
Every film in this collection is a gem. Annie Hall and Manhattan are both top notch, followed by Bananas, Everything you wanted to Know about Sex, Sleeper...heck, even Interiors was such a radical departure its worth seeing at least once or twice. But to me the real diamonds in the rough of this set are Stardust Memories and Love and Death. These two films are probably Woody's least talked about, but really, I think they are both fantastic films. Love and Death is full of the witty one liners and pratfalls that were prevelant in his "earlier, funnier" works... but you can see in the dialogue of Love and Death that Woody was maturing. And Stardust Memories, my favorite Woody film. This film says so much for anyone who fancies themselves an "artist" who is trying to figure out what they want to say...and how to say it. Maybe my one beef is the lack of extras on these DVD's... but for the money, you can't beat the price of this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy collection of the director's work, Jan. 25 2001
By 
Norman Landsburg (Chapel Hill, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
Just about anybody can enjoy a Woody Allen movie; it simply requires all your attention and intellect while viewing it. This collection shows Allen as a comedy director (Bananas, Sleeper) and his transition to deeper, more bittersweet films (Annie Hall, Manhattan). An excellent job by MGM, though Annie Hall is the only non-anamorphic title in the bunch. I look forward to more Woody Allen film collections on DVD in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For those interested in learning the MIND of Woody Allen, Dec 9 2001
By 
Puck Mackie (Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
Every movie in this collection will leave you in deep thought one way or the other long after you view them. This is the sort of collection you can own and view multiple times without tiring of the plots, and there's always something new to get out of the stories each time you see them. "Annie Hall" and "Manhattan" are more prominent and famous over the others because there are more moments where you can laugh and enjoy the characters.
"Interiors" is not a film to be viewed for uplifting entertainment, but you can still appreciate it for its unique perceptiveness into a wealthy New York family's misery. It's serious movies like this one where you can delve into the artist's mind and pick apart his brain, enjoy the neurotic journey, and later you will be able to see reoccuring themes and motifs appear in his later works. What makes "Interiors" special is that it captures the essence of a family's life that rarely any other author or filmaker would bother to examine. Through this movie you can step outside yourself and feel the raw anguish and bitter remorse of all old maids around the world, and even still have the desire to sock them in the kisser. However i must warn this movie is for people seriously interested in examining human character and family dynamics. This doesn't follow a climax/ happy ending standard.
"Everything you always wanted to know about sex But were afraid to ask" is a fun film, and one of his earliest. There are a few weak and dull moments, but there are other episodes that make it all worthwhile. Right before you want to let out a big yawn you'll choke with laughter till you cry. It's inspiring to see how much Woody Allen has accomplished since.
All in all, this collection is the most diverse in mood compared to the other collections. From silly slapstick humor to neurotic-relationship drama, and the bleak and miserable... This pack carries a sample of Woody Allen's every style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition to a well-rounded DVD collection., July 8 2000
By 
Rene (Connecticut USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
There are several reasons to buy this collection of earlier Woody Allen films. First, it's an excellent buy and an easy way to add substance to your DVD collection. More importantly, it gives you an opportunity to own several movies you will enjoy watching again and again.
Following the films chronologically you see Allen's progression from slapstick comedy to more character-driven humor. One is not better than the other, but the humor in later films, like Manhattan, is more subtle and sophisticated. Some would argue that Allen's best movies, including Hannah and Her Sisters, were made after the films compiled here. And, they may be right. But, you see here the evolution of an artist and the seed for those films. For Woody Allen fans and lovers of New York, these earlier films are required viewing.
There is something to be said for each of the films in the collection. And, full reviews of each film are available elsewhere. However, one thing that is consistently enjoyable in all of the films is the quality of the performances given. The best example is what a joy it is to watch Diane Keaton in each of the films in which she appears. She is a wonderful actor. And, for people like me who aren't big fans of Mia Farrow, this collection is "Mia free."
It is hard for me to imagine who wouldn't enjoy most if not all of the movies here. And, with the low per-film cost, there is little risk in owning them all. I look forward to a compilation in the future that includes Radio Days, Hannah and Her Sisters, Broadway Danny Rose and Mighty Aphrodite. In the mean time, I am glad to own these eight films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Response to the Below Review, July 2 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
This is in response to the below review which states that there are "No extras, no remastered sound or video, no trailers even!"
I happen to have this set, which I seriously doubt this person does, and I am very pleased with this collection. Every disk in the set does indeed have the original trailer for the movie. And with the exception of Annie Hall, all the movies have anamorphic widescreen transfers. The movies look beautiful, especially when you consider they're over 20 years old (some almost 30). The sound is presented the way is was originally recorded; seriously, do we really need a DTS soundtrack for a Woody Allen movie? And you can't blame MGM because there are no extra features; Woody Allen has stated that he wants his movies to speak for themselves, and he feels that extra features would take away from that so he does not want them included. Also, each disk does come with a 2-page booklet that lists some interesting facts about the movie.
Overall I think this is a great collection, and if your a Woody Allen fan you should definitely pick this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movies - come on MGM! Utilize the DVD format!, June 21 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
I could go through my blow by blow account of each of these wonderful movies but I won't. If you're not a huge fan of Woody you won't buy this set it's that simple. If you love Annine Hall and Bananas but don't recognize some of the less popular titles, I'd recommend a trip to the video store before [buying] on the set. Stardust Memories seems to be his inspired response to all the fans who wanted him to make the "funny, earlier movies." Just a word of warning. If you're a viewer who wants to see the earlier,funnier films, Interiors, Stardust Memories, and possibly Manhattan may disappoint.
My big problem with this set is the fact that MGM seems to be ignoring the benefits of the DVD format. I own most of these films on video and, except for a widescreen display of these movies, this appears to be the same presentation!
No extras, no remastered sound or video, no trailers even!
MGM/UA: This is a set that is clearly for the collector and really big fan. Go the extra mile!
Having said all that, of course I'll buy the set. I'm just disappointed. If you don't consider yourself a major fan - I'd recommend buying the VHS version or buying the titles you know and love already on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woody fans (like me) will scream in ecstasy, June 21 2000
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
Eight Woody-Allen-films in one DVD-collection. This is clearly a must for all collectors of great film classics. The included pictures should especially attract fans of his "earlier, funnier" work.
Most of the films on the DVD's were made in the 70's and most of them are pure comedies. "Bananas", "Sleeper" or "Love and Death" are among the funniest work by the director. It's unnecessary to say more words about the masterpieces "Annie Hall" and "Manhattan". Their place in the film history books is certain. Another film of the collection is the underrated "Interiors", which might not be funny, but a well observed, subtle, bergmanesque drama. "Stardust Memories" was also treated in an inappropriately hostile way when it was released.
I already said in my reviews of "Annie Hall" and "Deconstructing Harry", that I consider Woody Allen as one of the funniest, wittiest and finest filmmakers. It's really a pity that his latest films are all struggling to find an audience. I recently found out that his last film "Small Time Crooks" (which I haven't seen yet) succeeds to draw in customers. Maybe this is the beginning of his commercial comeback. Artisticly, he rarely let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best of the early Woody Allen!, May 21 2000
By 
Marc-David Jacobs (Portland, Oregon, United States of America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
Naturally, since I'm writing this review about a month and a half before this boxed set is released, I cannot possible base this on the actual DVDs. Hell, I don't even own a player! Hah, this review is a travesty of a mockery of a sham of a mockery of a travesty of two mockeries of a sham. If you remember that line, then I guarantee that you will love this set! These are the first eight movies that Allen directed (not counting What's Up, Tiger Lily?, which he has since called a mistake and Take The Money And Run, which is already available on DVD) and starts with his 1971 slapstick comedy Bananas (from whence comes that earlier reference for those of you struggling to remember). It moves on through 1972's Everything You Wanted To Know About Sex* (*But Were Afraid To Ask); 1973's sci-fi, Keaton- (Buster, not Diane) inspired masterpiece Sleeper; the last of his purely slapstick comedies, the albsolutely wonderful Love And Death from 1975. It then moves on to his more intellectual and move acclaimed Annie Hall from 1977 (the only one of these already available in the DVD format); his 1978 Bergmanesque drama Interiors; the 1979's lovingly made black-and-white Manhattan and finishing with 1980's Stardust Memories. I have loved all of these movies, but have hesistated to buy them until they came out on the (from what I've heard) superior DVD format. And, now they have (and, of course, for the technologically stable, it's on VHS, too!) For anyone who ever loved Woody Allen's films, books or even his plays, I can personally guarantee that you will not be let down by these films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That's what widescreen IS, Mike..., Sept. 19 2000
By 
B. Jennings (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection, Set 1 (Annie Hall/Manhattan/Sleeper/Bananas/Interiors/Stardust Memories/Love and Death/Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask) (DVD)
With the exception of 'Manhattan', all of the movies in this box set are presented in the MATTED widescreen ratio of 1.85:1, the ratio they were presented in in cinemas. The "full screen" versions are the full 35mm frames, with superfluous picture information at the top and bottom. This is the case with 95% of 1.85:1 widescreen movies, and it's a GOOD thing because it preserves the director's intended shot composition, even if there IS less picture information.
It's usually only 2.35:1 movies, like 'Manhattan', that are cropped at the sides for "full screen", and survive with more picture information when presented properly in widescreen.
Essentially, there are two basic kinds of letterboxing, that are both good, but for different reasons. The fundamental rule is that movies should be presented on home video in the same ration in which they were shown in cinemas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews