Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNCENSORED
I only have one thing to add to the other reviews. The DVD version of "Heavy Traffic" has parts of scenes restored that were cut out of the VHS version. Since this is usually a selling point I'm suprised it's not advertised as an un-cut version. Compare the "Maybellene" sequence on VHS and DVD and you'll see what I mean. It's quite a bit more, uh, graphic on the DVD. If...
Published on March 17 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nitty-Gritty
Here's a highly textured down and dirty look at the urban world through the eyes of Ralph Bakshi. Though this piece is a fine companion to the Bakshi work "Fritz The Cat" it doesn't hold a candle to his magnum opus "WIZARDS". Still, it's about as slice-of-life as Ralph gets. If you like Bakshi, you'll find this to be a must for your collection.
Published on Feb. 21 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNCENSORED, March 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Heavy Traffic (Full Screen) (DVD)
I only have one thing to add to the other reviews. The DVD version of "Heavy Traffic" has parts of scenes restored that were cut out of the VHS version. Since this is usually a selling point I'm suprised it's not advertised as an un-cut version. Compare the "Maybellene" sequence on VHS and DVD and you'll see what I mean. It's quite a bit more, uh, graphic on the DVD. If you have an old VHS copy and like the movie, getting the DVD is definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Bakshi fans!, July 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Traffic [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First I must say that this is one of my favorite films of all time - I was a little worried that it would be the r rated version, but luckily like the dvd it is the fully uncensored X rated original edit!

The bluray is in widescreen aspect ration, a major plus over the dvd and vhs releases - beautiful remaster, still has that dark 70's look but nicely cleaned up. The audio is in glorious original mono which is way better in my opinion than a "fake" 5.1 remix.

No special features, not even a chapter screen - just this beautiful piece of art. Bakshi in all his glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT! FAST!, Dec 31 2010
This review is from: Heavy Traffic (Full Screen) (DVD)
This product is great!! Your prompt contacts as well as fast shipping and low price rocked my socks for the holidays! Thanks again!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ralpah Bakshi explores the surreal fantasies of a young New York cartoonist, April 15 2009
By 
Frances L. Arsenault "lover of literature" (Nanaimo, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Traffic (Full Screen) (DVD)
Though, I usually watched family-oriented animated films; but I guess, I am like wholesome vs taboo. I first encountered Ralph Bakshi's films when I was a teenager - I don't know how old. I started with "The Lord of The Rings," then "Wizards," that film became my favorite Bakshi film. And then I watched on YouTube : "Fire & Ice," "Cool World" (live action/animated), and this film "Heavy Traffic."

Well anyway, Heavy Traffic is a film which begins, ends, and occasionally combines with live-action, explores the often surreal fantasies of a young New York cartoonist named Michael Corleone, using pinball imagery as a metaphor for inner-city life.

In the film, New York has a diseased, rotten, tough and violent atmosphere. Michael's Italian father, Angelo "Angie" Corleone, is a struggling mafioso who frequently cheats on Michael's Jewish mother, Ida. The couple constantly bickers and try to kill each other. Michael ambles through a catalog of freaks, greasers, and dopers.

Unemployed, he dabbles with cartoons, artistically feeding off the grubbiness of his environment. He regularly hangs out at a local bar where he gets free drinks from the female black bartender, Carole, in exchange for the sketches from the somewhat annoying Shorty, Carole's violent,legless barfly devotee. One of the regular customers at the bar, Snowflake, a nymphomaniac transvestite, who gets beat up by a tough drunk who has only just realized that Snowflake is a man in drag and not a beautiful woman. Shorty throws the drunk out and the bar's white manager abusively confronts Carole over this and she quits. Shorty offers to let Carole stay at his place, but not wanting to get involved with him, Carole tells Shorty that she's staying with Michael, and that they've been "secretly tight for a long time." Michael is turned on by her no-nonsense attitude and strong sense of self-reliance.

This relationship arouses his father's racist fury as well as the jealousy of Shorty. Michael moves out of his parents' house and tries to make a living, often failing...OH! that's all I could tell you folks, you will have to see the film for yourself how it ends.

I like Carole for her sassy, no-nonsense attitude. I love it how she told Michael off, after she told Shorty about her and Michael. So overall, I enjoyed this film, and also the film's soundtrack too, with the sounds of Chuck Berry ('Maybellene') and The Isley Brothers ('Twist & Shout').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, March 26 2004
This review is from: Heavy Traffic (VHS Tape)
A schizophrenic journey through the dark urban world. Michael, A young writer, comes from a dysfunctional household and uses his cartoons as an outlet. Eventually he begins to delve himself into his dark toon world and the movie is beautifully animated and stuffed full of creativity, sex, bigotry, and ultimately a true grim view of society. As dark as it sounds I found parts of this movie very amusing. Housewives, pass on this one it's not 'Finding Nemo'. If you enjoy a truly stunning visual experience and dark humor/satire I'd reccomend you watch this....A true must see for the inebriated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF BAKSHI'S BETTER ONES, March 20 2004
This review is from: Heavy Traffic (Full Screen) (DVD)
In anticipation of the upcoming DVD release of Bakshi's Wizards, I ordered several of his other films on DVD. Of the ones I ordered, this is the only one I've never seen. It's also turns out to be one of his better ones (as in as good as Fritz The Cat but way better then American Pop and Streetfight [Coonskin]). An excellent addition to your animationed DVD collection. Just don't forget about Wizards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 2-1/2 stars -- Maybe I came in late, March 10 2004
This review is from: Heavy Traffic (Full Screen) (DVD)
This part-live action, part-animated movie from 1973 seemed to get rave reviews, and I was up late one night, so I decided to check it out. But I'm sorry; I just didn't get this movie. I did understand that the main character, Michael, had a hard life and some very dysfunctional (divorced) parents. But then the movie got all twisted. By watching the movie, you can tell that was sort of the point, but it was still weird in that a lot of the scenes and secondary characters didn't seem to have anything to do with each other. Also, the "n" word was thrown around a lot, but I guess I can let that side since it was the '70s. Maybe you have to be drunk to understand this movie or something.
Anthony Rupert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic Bakshi, Oct. 13 2003
By 
This review is from: Heavy Traffic (Full Screen) (DVD)
Like Fritz the Cat and Bakshi's other works, Heavy Traffic moves into city life to show the darker side of America. Bakshi once said in an interview: "If Disney was going to animate for the middle class, I was going to animate for the guy on the street." Heavy Traffic is Bakshi accomplishing that.
The film isn't just a social statement though, it also has a lot of creativity behind that. It opens with the live action version of our main character Michael playing pinball. Michael is a cartoonist, and as he asks questions to himself he slowly dives into his world...a world similar to the one he lives in now, but a caricature of themselves. Michael deals with his crazy mother, corrupt father, a relationship with a girl, and trying to get a job - a hard task as his ideas involve events such as God getting shot in the face with a shotgun.
If you were offended or put off by the brashness of "Fritz the Cat" then you should give Heavy Traffic a try. The nudity and sex is still there, but on a toned down scale. The social satire and goofy humor is still there, and that just makes it all the more a good film.
Bakshi considered this one of the top three best films he did (next to Fritz and Streetfight). It is deservedly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars unpleasant, but not bad, Sept. 12 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Heavy Traffic (Full Screen) (DVD)
Watching Ralph Bakshi is something of a guilty pleasure. You always get the feeling that things could be a whole lot better, and yet no one else ever seems to bring animation to life with such a personal style. Heavy Traffic has a lot of faults, and may also be the best thing he's ever done (though I know there are a lot of Wizard and even Ring fans out there). Not for everyone, but fairly entertaining in its own troubled way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Bakshi's best film, May 31 2002
By 
T. Gadd "lupercal" (Tasmania, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heavy Traffic (VHS Tape)
Not my favourite Bakshi movie, mind you. That spot will always be reserved for 'Wizards', regardless of how hard the critics panned it (generally the same critics who thought the awful 'Fire and Ice' was great.)
In any event, Heavy Traffic is a more satisfying movie than Fritz the Cat, with which it probably has more in common than any other Bakshi movie. Sure you can always pick holes in Ralph Bakshi's films, but what about the strong points: his gorgeous use of dialogue. The actors sound completely uncoached and spontaneous. I've always thought the dialogue in Bakshi's films up to Wizards was masterful. I could listen to it with the picture turned off.
Heavy Traffic is probably autobiographical in part. At least, if it isn't, Ralph sure went out of his way to make it seem that way. Protagonist is a young cartoonist...
The supporting cast are almost all low-life of one sort or another; losers, psycopaths, bigots, masochistic transvestites, dysfunctional parents, alcoholics, amputees, or a combination of the above. And for the most part they're repellant and irresistable at the same time.
You might have noticed I haven't mentioned the plot. Don't worry about it. The plot isn't the thing. Just immerse yourself in Bakshi's mise-en-scene; the characterisations, the dialogue, the backgrounds, the music, the underlying dirtiness and violence - you've got to just absorp the thing as a whole.
BTW this film has, in my opinion, the most terrifying moment-of-death scene of any movie I've ever seen (also one of the longest, unless you count 'Jacob's Ladder', which is nothing _but_ a moment of death scene.)
Well anyway, I think it's a great adult animated movie. Ugly, dirty, with little socially redeeming value, but if Bakshi's version of Lord of the Rings, or 'Fire and Ice' make you cringe, you might just like this one (alternatively, if for some unfathomable reason you thought his Lord of the Rings was a classic, don't bother with Heavy Traffic. You'll probably hate it.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9234c6c)

This product

Heavy Traffic (Full Screen)
Heavy Traffic (Full Screen) by Ralph Bakshi (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 29.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews